screwbash

Re: Job help for recent graduate

Postby screwbash » July 8th, 2017, 7:01 am

RedVEVO wrote:
screwbash wrote:
Drea wrote:I know tuner is filled with persons of many talent....

Trying to help out a young friend who just finished his degree at UWI, where or what type of jobs would be available for to him as he completed his degree in Geomatics engineering (spatial analysis) and also land management. I provided him with some internships that I saw but would like maybe specific companies that he can apply to directly in this field.

If yuh yung fren parents voted PNM in 2015 he hadda thank dem and let them as the mp for help tuh get ah wuk, probably on a state board. Before 2015 ah sure he cuda get ah wuk as the head of some covert agency with that uwi degree. I hav a padna with a masters which he got after degree stright from cxc and is about 5 years and he cyah get ah wuk in he masters field and he buy a kia 2700 van an wuking transport delivering juice to shops. AH degree is ah waste ah time.

A product of PNM's education at it's very best today - in black and white :D

:D :rofl:

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » July 8th, 2017, 2:24 pm

As someone mentioned before UWI world of work, things like that work best during good economic times. Now with a depressed economy where they are relying on corporate sponsors things will be difficult.

For instance if you speak to your supervisors or professors they would or could forward you job postings from companies.
Now though these are few and far between. Now UWI itself doesn't post as much jobs. There just aren't any.

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » July 8th, 2017, 2:30 pm

The only other option is to work abroad, you could sign up for a job posting service from one of the international companies and follow through when you see a job offer.

As I said the local market not really set up to take full advantage of tertiary qualified folks.

It would do well to employ them but there is a reason why the talent ultimately leaves.

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » July 8th, 2017, 2:42 pm

Can he function as a surveyor?
There was someone asking for a surveyor's assistant or some such post on Trini Tuner.

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » July 8th, 2017, 2:46 pm

Has he tried the EMA if they have any coastal engineering projects.

Any companies that do seismic interpretation.

What about companies that do city or urban planning and land management.

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » July 8th, 2017, 2:56 pm

Be warned though in this climate surveying, construction and geographing services are on the decline.

ruffnek

Postby ruffnek » July 8th, 2017, 8:18 pm

Op, how about employment agency?

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » July 8th, 2017, 8:51 pm

^^^ Don't always work.
Since being on Caribbean Jobs the number of postings have significantly declined, very few in the engineering field, I get very little new notifications.

I did try an agency but....how should I say....no dice. I assume the issue isn't the application to the agency it's the placement.

You could check the UTT website and see if they have any vacancies for assistants or technicians. I did get an interview for an assistant position but no luck.

You could try RigZone, occasionally they do post jobs located in Trinidad, but if you're willing or qualified to go abroad you can get updates for jobs in the region of your choosing

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » July 8th, 2017, 9:47 pm

I forgot to ask does he know code like JAVA or Javascript or such, if so he could try web or app development.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » July 9th, 2017, 10:48 am

police op....once crime like how it is,he go rake een good overtime

Monkey Man

Postby Monkey Man » July 10th, 2017, 11:49 am

and allyuh does wonder why people does end they self.

some cant cope with this hard news.

death365

Postby death365 » July 10th, 2017, 12:10 pm

short term ... u can wok ah taxi ... pos to sando is $17 ah person...

good money till you get some thing better

Postby tr1ad » July 10th, 2017, 12:21 pm

Drea wrote:
Monkey Man wrote:...Packing grocery shelf. Totally serious this time around.

Thanks banana man... waiting for other suggestions.

Junior Sammy has a project in Galeota, two actually; one for Bechtel - terminal upgrade (all civil) and bp - bluff wall repair

hand deliver the cv to claxton bay office.

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » July 10th, 2017, 1:27 pm

You could try Fircroft, Kaizen or Coastal Dynamics.

Also as I said before keep in contact with UWI or UTT they may have tutoring positions.

konartis

Postby konartis » July 10th, 2017, 1:35 pm

The easiest thing to do is actually delivering a resumé and application to companies to apply for positions or internships. Do research and apply

gencon

Postby gencon » July 10th, 2017, 1:40 pm

duck farm 300 per day
factory work 150 to 225 per day
uber driver work.

pm me for details.

Monkey Man

Postby Monkey Man » July 10th, 2017, 1:46 pm

men calling out suggestions here like it that simple.

it eh really have nuttin out there unno.

gencon

Postby gencon » July 10th, 2017, 1:47 pm

For those who are willing to work there is always work. I learnt that the hard way.

Monkey Man

Postby Monkey Man » July 10th, 2017, 2:03 pm

what u highlighted is actually practical.

but....

You could try Fircroft, Kaizen or Coastal Dynamics.

Also as I said before keep in contact with UWI or UTT they may have tutoring positions.

chances very bleak

Postby tr1ad » July 10th, 2017, 2:08 pm

employment agencies suffering from requests dwindling rapidly ... unfortunately

Postby Trini Hookah » July 10th, 2017, 2:49 pm

Numb3r4 wrote:You could try Fircroft, Kaizen or Coastal Dynamics.

Yeah bai I hear dem places is pay tops.

Drea

Postby Drea » July 10th, 2017, 4:18 pm

tr1ad wrote:employment agencies suffering from requests dwindling rapidly ... unfortunately

Requests from who companies or candidates?

gencon

Postby gencon » July 10th, 2017, 4:26 pm

Drea wrote:
tr1ad wrote:employment agencies suffering from requests dwindling rapidly ... unfortunately

yeh your response seems a bit unclear.

dude2014

Postby dude2014 » July 10th, 2017, 4:30 pm

Getting educated is not a waste of time. You got an education and feels the rest of us owe you something? I got cuss for reaching early and leaving late and taking work home. It sometimes is very hard and the education you got ought to guide you.

The UWI graduate probably does not know how to use a computer. Even before he went to get a degree he would have google it and figure out the rest ..........................

While looking for a job in Geomatics, is there something else he could do so we can help him?

Postby tr1ad » July 10th, 2017, 4:32 pm

Drea wrote:

Requests from companies to fill positions

Drea

Postby Drea » July 10th, 2017, 4:34 pm

tr1ad wrote:
Drea wrote:

Requests from companies to fill positions

I agree, I still see a few but its for certain industries more than others. For as long as I have been registered with 3 different agencies only been on one interview and that was last month. And in the end they ended up filling the position internally :roll:

Drea

Postby Drea » July 10th, 2017, 4:58 pm

Numb3r4 wrote:I forgot to ask does he know code like JAVA or Javascript or such, if so he could try web or app development.

Not sure but can find out, i'm passing along all suggestions.

Miktay

Postby Miktay » July 10th, 2017, 5:02 pm

What computer languages does thiz person know?

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » July 10th, 2017, 7:57 pm

Like I say things are hard out there and right now the economy and labour market isn't really set up to handle tertiary skilled workers on account that it is expensive and there aren't many or any jobs out there that demand the skill. It's not the graduate's fault thus far, what he chooses to do from now on with this knowledge well up to him.

If you have a good marketable skill (welding, electrical or plumbing) maybe you might last a little longer, but if the construction market starts to go south, well with land rices and cost of construction being what it is, well brace yourself. I know a young welder starting up and getting enough jobs, as to the finances don't know, his operations is still a home one but he gets jobs. It's something in this economy.

If that doesn't work out then there is always general labour and retail, but you may have to deal with people, that can be exhausting at times. Maybe you could find out which stores hire night shift workers to pack shelves if you want to get your foot in. Night work is physically harder but you probably don't have to deal with customers.

True with the programming language he can try to get something but in Trinidad I'm unsure of any companies that need this, maybe the guys on the site can offer some assistance.

Now if he wishes to go abroad good luck, seriously best wishes, be warned the posting now are getting tougher to come by he will start at the bottom, which means he may be working in winter conditions soon anyway or by the time things come through. With the UAE, last time I heard or saw anything it said the market was getting "saturated", from personal experience some of the companies that operate in these regions 1) let go of younger workers and 2) brought back some of the workers that they had positioned abroad.

In only one case do I know of a guy who was working locally and got a posting abroad, but he was with the company for, I think, 4yrs., he is a mechanical engineer though.

gencon

Postby gencon » July 10th, 2017, 9:41 pm

tldr....:lol: