LF capacitor for 12k BTU inverter unit

Re: LF capacitor for 12k BTU inverter unit

Postby Strugglerzinc » May 9th, 2017, 5:19 pm

Based on the above, a 12k conventional unit at TTEC average cost of $0.32/kWh used for 8hrs a day costs roughly $1200 a year to run.

Daikin says their inverter is 30% more efficient, so that's $360 cheaper for the same usage.

Given that an inverter system is around $2500-$3k more expensive to install, that means i recouping that in just under 7 YEARS? Assuming it stays alive that long.

pjfred

Postby pjfred » May 9th, 2017, 7:14 pm

Strugglerzinc wrote:Based on the above, a 12k conventional unit at TTEC average cost of $0.32/kWh used for 8hrs a day costs roughly $1200 a year to run.

Daikin says their inverter is 30% more efficient, so that's $360 cheaper for the same usage.

Given that an inverter system is around $2500-$3k more expensive to install, that means i recouping that in just under 7 YEARS? Assuming it stays alive that long.

Logistically it not making sense to purchase in the first place

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » May 9th, 2017, 7:39 pm

And Daikin is now a sticker brand, there is no more 20 year lifespan AC being made that level of quality stopped in the 90's

So an inverter is pretty much useless.

Premchand1976

Postby Premchand1976 » May 9th, 2017, 8:32 pm

I agree 100% guys. I did the same maths and realised it makes no sense as what you save later on in electricity consumption, you pay it upfront in the exorbitant cost for the unit itself. Only reason I bought it was 5 years or so earlier, I got it for less than half the cost price.....and it came brand new and sealed in box, with the plastic kinda strap around it and I got 6 mo the warranty from seller......so I had to grab it

Postby nervewrecker » May 9th, 2017, 8:42 pm

As I was saying....ImageImage

Fluke true rms.
Measurements accurate as f**k
Last edited by nervewrecker on May 9th, 2017, 8:42 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby nervewrecker » May 9th, 2017, 8:48 pm

Strugglerzinc wrote:Is that startup or running? Doesn't inverter systems vary current draw based on need?

Would love to know running amps on a conventional 12k.

Running.

Start up is approx 6A.

Lennox.

Inverter units are better built than conventional ones and I really dont knkw who quoting those insane prices ($2 & $3k more to install). Have to be salesmen without ethics. "Dey saving current so charge dem more to install". Really disgusting behavior.

Not sure about op unit or them internals. I know my way around the board I posted.

Not advertising btw.
My choice will be an inverter.
Not really giving out much info here as to why for flyby night techs to scoop it up and market themselves. Didn't pay to advertise so what I say will get deleted.

Warranty on the samsung inverter compressor is 10 years so that supoosed to say something.

Sorry I cant help you gentlemen further.

Premchand1976

Postby Premchand1976 » May 9th, 2017, 9:07 pm

My issue with some sellers of inverters is they offer 5 years on compressor. Some regular type gives the same 5 yrs and their unit costs about 60% less than the inverters.

Premchand1976

Postby Premchand1976 » May 9th, 2017, 9:08 pm

Nervewrecker, your board looks very similar to the one on my whirlpool boi.......maybe we can link ?

Postby nervewrecker » May 9th, 2017, 9:11 pm

Premchand1976 wrote:My issue with some sellers of inverters is they offer 5 years on compressor. Some regular type gives the same 5 yrs and their unit costs about 60% less than the inverters.

Read the fine print.
Is 1 year on compressor, 5 years on parts for the regular units.

Lol at 60% less cost. They aren't that expensive, men real ripping people off.

Postby nervewrecker » May 9th, 2017, 9:15 pm

Premchand1976 wrote:Nervewrecker, your board looks very similar to the one on my whirlpool boi.......maybe we can link ?

Its not mine..
Belongs to the school.
Only trainer for inverter units in the caribbean.

Scrapped it, gutted it, put it back together.
Another team did the removal and relocation of the board. I did some fine adjustments to the wiring here and there (nothing major) and measured parameters. Current, volts, impedance, etc etc (cant say all what I measured, come nah)

Premchand1976

Postby Premchand1976 » May 9th, 2017, 9:15 pm

Lol

Premchand1976

Postby Premchand1976 » September 18th, 2017, 8:19 pm

Update - 17/09/2017

Unit powered up today, compressor didn't come on only blower, after about 10 mins, the fan on condenser came on and lines felt really cold. Checked inside and temperature seems to be cooling ....then after about 10 seconds....compressor cut off and blower remained on. We let it run for about 20 mins.....fan motor came on and compressor......again....lines felt cold and cut off after about 10 seconds again.

Gonna dump all gas and vaccum lines soon and properly weigh the amount of gas being put in ( amount as per spec sheet on unit ).

Leaning towards the opinion that too much gas was topped up initially and not enough was dumped. Coupled with about 5 rings of coiled copper behind unit that would vibrate occasionally ( to suggest maybe too much gas in unit )

At this point, I'm trying it all because first technician seems to have put too much gas in, second technician seemed to have not dumped enough together with not having a clue in repairs , third technician changed a capacitor on board and we changed the two sensors on evaporator and he too didn't know how much gas to dump, even though he seem to think also that there was too much gas in system. This last technician I have alot of faith in and so far, we seem to be getting results ....little bit at a time.

He did see some lights blinking on and off in the condenser circuit board which seems to suggest searching for a signal or something of the sort.

I'm just sharing so if anyone else has an inverter issue, this may help them. Not because locally most dont have a clue to service / repair inverter units doesn't mean they aren't good .....

Postby nervewrecker » September 18th, 2017, 8:31 pm

I was looking at mine some time back and seems there is something blinking inside it.
Where you said you from again?
If I around I dont mind taking a look.
What were the suction gas pressures measured at full throttle (60hz) btw?

Postby nervewrecker » September 18th, 2017, 8:43 pm

You do NOT check refrigerant pressures on an inverter unit without measuring frequency afaik. Can use current draw as a reasonable estimate.
Pressures vary widely because of how the compressor varies the speed and flow. You CANNOT, I repeat CANNOT check refrigerant pressure on an inverter unit at random and determine if the system is properly charged.

Premchand1976

Postby Premchand1976 » September 19th, 2017, 6:49 am

San Juan

Postby nervewrecker » September 19th, 2017, 9:58 pm

Pm me your number, anytime I on that side ill take a look.

Postby RBphoto » September 20th, 2017, 1:25 pm

That is just a line filter. I bet your thing would work if you jumper it out (not recommended tho)

Premchand1976

Postby Premchand1976 » September 20th, 2017, 2:10 pm

RBphoto wrote:That is just a line filter. I bet your thing would work if you jumper it out (not recommended tho)

Talk to meh.....what to do and why not recommended ?

Postby RBphoto » September 22nd, 2017, 10:49 am

Premchand1976 wrote:
RBphoto wrote:That is just a line filter. I bet your thing would work if you jumper it out (not recommended tho)

Talk to meh.....what to do and why not recommended ?

It is not an active component. It stops electromagnetic noise from feeding back into the rest of your house. You ever run a blender and see your TV get static? It will do the same thing abut worse to your other small electronics. I said "I Bet" the thing would work if you jumper that out of the circuit with thick enough copper wire, but I do not recommend it to prevent long-term damage to your equipment and other unrelated equipment in your house.

holo

Postby holo » September 23rd, 2017, 5:09 pm

this is EMI filter