road from arima to north coast

Re: road from arima to north coast

Postby sMASH » March 31st, 2019, 7:59 am

looking more awesome at 1.5x speed. dogs looking like power-ups.

Postby joker » April 2nd, 2019, 8:43 pm

Road was graded .... used 4wd to navigate 2 bends ... stock hilux ... dirt trail ...
3 weeks ago

ryan666

Postby ryan666 » April 3rd, 2021, 11:33 am

4a70 wrote:Any of you guys used this road recently and can say if its passable? Thanks in advance...

I know this is an old thread but I passed there yesterday with my stock new model Mazda 3. Wasn’t that bad tbh! Similar to going Matelot. There were a couple spots where the road had no pitch at all and a couple spots where the holes turned in to craters. All in all, was a fun drive on a very narrow road with lots of corners. WATCH OUT FOR THEM PICKUP MEN WHO SPEEDING AROUND THEM CORNERS!

Postby alfa » April 3rd, 2021, 11:37 am

ryan666 wrote:
4a70 wrote:Any of you guys used this road recently and can say if its passable? Thanks in advance...

I know this is an old thread but I passed there yesterday with my stock new model Mazda 3. Wasn’t that bad tbh! Similar to going Matelot. There were a couple spots where the road had no pitch at all and a couple spots where the holes turned in to craters. All in all, was a fun drive on a very narrow road with lots of corners. WATCH OUT FOR THEM PICKUP MEN WHO SPEEDING AROUND THEM CORNERS!

Did it couple of weeks aback. Nice drive very doable with a van. For narrow roads with lots of corners try paramin for a real challenge

agent007

Postby agent007 » April 4th, 2021, 3:36 am

Take a clap for being a brave person. If I had a car like yours, furthest I was going would be asa wright and back. How's your alignment?
ryan666 wrote:

Postby eliteauto » April 4th, 2021, 7:18 am

Lol " brave person " either you can't drive or don't know the road up there.

Postby Kenjo » April 4th, 2021, 7:27 am

eliteauto wrote:Lol " brave person " either you can't drive or don't know the road up there.

Huh ? A normal car shouldn’t be able to navigate there? I never made that drive so just enquiring

Postby adnj » April 4th, 2021, 7:47 am

Postby alfa » April 4th, 2021, 8:30 am

Anyone ever did the mount hololo/cumberland Hill drive, is it passable?

hindian

Postby hindian » April 4th, 2021, 8:59 am

Kenjo wrote:
eliteauto wrote:Lol " brave person " either you can't drive or don't know the road up there.

Huh ? A normal car shouldn’t be able to navigate there? I never made that drive so just enquiring
Yes it can. I've done it many times even before they fix the road. Even then it was doable with a car.

agent007

Postby agent007 » April 4th, 2021, 10:01 am

Lol last time I was there, I used an Almera back in 2011. Got some under bumper scratches and had to go mileage mack after.

The man say he have a new Mazda 3, that sweet ride if it were mine probably would never see any bad road cause I find that front bumper too low.

shaha87

Postby shaha87 » April 4th, 2021, 10:07 pm

Did this drive today from Blanchisseuse to Arima, road was very drivable despite a few narrow spots but nothing to worry about. Traffic wasn’t too bad. Definitely worth it. Will be going again next weekend if possible.

Postby goalpost » April 5th, 2021, 6:19 am

shaha87 wrote:Did this drive today from Blanchisseuse to Arima, road was very drivable despite a few narrow spots but nothing to worry about. Traffic wasn’t too bad. Definitely worth it. Will be going again next weekend if possible.

How long did it take?

Keyser Soze

Postby Keyser Soze » April 5th, 2021, 7:39 am

goalpost wrote:
shaha87 wrote:Did this drive today from Blanchisseuse to Arima, road was very drivable despite a few narrow spots but nothing to worry about. Traffic wasn’t too bad. Definitely worth it. Will be going again next weekend if possible.

How long did it take?

complete run usually takes about 2.5 hours.
maybe more depending on the vehicle, definitely less if you from up there and know the road.

Postby Kenjo » April 5th, 2021, 8:19 am

Waze for sure when making that trip if you have never made it before

shaha87

Postby shaha87 » April 5th, 2021, 9:52 am

Not many turn offs on the road, shouldn’t really need Waze but I’d recommend google maps for its offline mode since I didn’t have service for a lot of that trip. Took me 3 hours but seems doable in 2.5hrs. You’ll definitely want to stop and take in some of the views there. Went Blanchisseuse with the hope of catching a few waves but the facility had the main gate closed while someone was charging people to enter the beach a little further down.

Postby Dizzy28 » April 5th, 2021, 10:36 am

Reads this post Ramischandly!!
shaha87 wrote:Not many turn offs on the road, shouldn’t really need Waze but I’d recommend google maps for its offline mode since I didn’t have service for a lot of that trip. Took me 3 hours but seems doable in 2.5hrs. You’ll definitely want to stop and take in some of the views there. Went Blanchisseuse with the hope of catching a few waves but the facility had the main gate closed while someone was charging people to enter the beach a little further down.

Postby Monk BANzai » April 5th, 2021, 10:17 pm

shaha87 wrote:Not many turn offs on the road, shouldn’t really need Waze but I’d recommend google maps for its offline mode since I didn’t have service for a lot of that trip. Took me 3 hours but seems doable in 2.5hrs. You’ll definitely want to stop and take in some of the views there. Went Blanchisseuse with the hope of catching a few waves but the facility had the main gate closed while someone was charging people to enter the beach a little further down.

Well said. It's a good run even for a newbie OP. Just take yuh time. Enjoy the sights. If you feeling even more adventurous check out Brasso Seco Village for the chocolate and possibly (if you have time...not sure of the set up now with COvID) the waterfall.

Postby goalpost » February 20th, 2022, 4:21 pm

Drove this road (Arima to Brasso) recently. Quite drivable by pretty much anyone.
Just one or two locations before you reach Asa Wright with the steep cliffs and christophene gardens a bit scary. But just fine.

Postby SMc » February 20th, 2022, 6:00 pm

goalpost wrote:Drove this road (Arima to Brasso) recently. Quite drivable by pretty much anyone.
Just one or two locations before you reach Asa Wright with the steep cliffs and christophene gardens a bit scary. But just fine.

I did it in again December from the North Side and only one small landslide/ tree was blocking the road which only took about 10 minutes to clear. Saw the road mapping people along the way (the ones with the cameras on top the car) they stopped me to ask if it was passable. Other than that 2 old but immaculate 626 near Gramps, one jimney near the Brasso Seco junction and no other cars, good drive and not as scary as many think

agent007

Postby agent007 » February 20th, 2022, 8:03 pm

Thanks for that update. Mere days ago I drove to Matelot and I drove to Icacos Point Beach. Both locations can be visited with a regular car.

From Couva to Matelot took just under 3 hrs and from Couva to Icacos Pt took about 2.5 hrs. Make sure and walk with your dslr camera, cutlass and maybe a tall boots if you like to walk in some of those wet/muddy trails for bird watching etc. Don't forget to walk with water containers to wash off feet or footwear etc. so that you don't dirty your floor mats excessively.

Postby hustla_ambition101 » February 20th, 2022, 9:27 pm

agent007 wrote:Thanks for that update. Mere days ago I drove to Matelot and I drove to Icacos Point Beach. Both locations can be visited with a regular car.

From Couva to Matelot took just under 3 hrs and from Couva to Icacos Pt took about 2.5 hrs. Make sure and walk with your dslr camera, cutlass and maybe a tall boots if you like to walk in some of those wet/muddy trails for bird watching etc. Don't forget to walk with water containers to wash off feet or footwear etc. so that you don't dirty your floor mats excessively.
How is the road from Rousillac to Cedros, been years since Ive made the trip but was always driven and in a 4x4.

Postby Rory Phoulorie » February 20th, 2022, 9:45 pm

hustla_ambition101 wrote:How is the road from Rousillac to Cedros, been years since Ive made the trip but was always driven and in a 4x4.

Easily driveable by car. However, if you want to save time pass through Forest Reserve.

agent007

Postby agent007 » February 21st, 2022, 2:18 am

The road wasn’t anything different from what you’d expect from a main road. Some parts are bumpy and others are smooth. The route I took is from La Romaine side and past the creek etc.

Point to note though, the sargassum sea weed has infested Cedros Bay and Icacos Pt. Cedros is slightly still more manageable because there are areas to park, but in Icacos, the beach is like a fisherman’s depot. There are no paved parking so you would be on sand unless you stay on the road which is impractical because it’s narrow and the beach itself is infested with boats on the sand so you will have to park and walk past the boats to access the shoreline. There is also a small Venez community living on the beach itself under impoverished conditions.

Whilst at Icacos, I heard the TTCG vessel sounding its alert/horn and rapidly intercepting a smaller vessel which I saw. The fishermen present whom I managed to strike a convo with told me that sometimes when venez boats do not comply, the CG fires warning shots.

Alternatively, the drive to Matelot was not bad. They did some paving fairly recently but just before Grand Riviere, the road was a bit bad. The issue is land slips on some bends where some chunks of road are actually breaking off and sinking. Just be careful and take your time. The Matelot police post is a container where an officer sits outside by his desk doing work. The nearby river is on the road to the right and it’s a steep decent for a short period. You will then come across the bridge and you can park by the community college.

The beach by the river is basically yours to enjoy as hardly anyone goes there. The place was clean and free of any debris or sea weed. I took my rc boat by the river and had lots of fun. I should mention that on your way to Matelot, you should visit Grand Riviere river and shark river. You can actually walk all the way to the sea from the bridge in Grand Riviere as the water will not pass your knee.

Sorry for the story guys…but these local drives are quite enjoyable. T&T is really a beautiful place, it’s just the people is the problem.

Postby hustla_ambition101 » February 21st, 2022, 1:09 pm

Excellent write up though, thanks

Postby timelapse » February 21st, 2022, 1:54 pm

Nice drive through mamoral / Tabaquite
IMG_20210425_115817.jpg
IMG_20210425_115701.jpg