sam1978 wrote:Everybody has problems with other people, and feel their way is always right. Muslims complain about Hindus leaving their stuff around, but have no problem waking the whole neighborhood in the morning. Rastafarian complaining about nasty Hindus but not studying their unsanitary hair. Jehovah's witnesses are a problem, but the unscrupulous pastors who fleece their flock is not a problem. It's always the other person's sin that is wrong, never your own.
K74T wrote:*pelts dahee in thread*
AbstractPoetic wrote:Jehovah's Witnesses are the most peaceable non-political religious organization in the world. How can they ever be viewed akin to an extremist organization or a cult?
secular? really?88sins wrote:AbstractPoetic wrote:Jehovah's Witnesses are the most peaceable non-political religious organization in the world. How can they ever be viewed akin to an extremist organization or a cult?
simple, because they are a very secular religion, & their followers can be penalized for doing things that go against their secular nature.
K74T wrote:zr why yuh backpedal for bredda?
88sins wrote:yes Duane, that's right. I said & meant "secular"
Because for a group that supposedly follows the teachings of the Bible, they tend to go against many of the teachings found in it. I know more than a few Witnesses, and from what I've observed, I consider them to be secular, meaning I don't find them to be very spiritual.
For instance, if ,by some chance, a Witness happens to decide to get involved romantically with a person who practices another religion of the opposite sex that will not convert to his/her faith, its common practice that said Witness is going to be chastised by the elders and congregation to some extent for a while. Even if the person they chose to get involved with is a Christian, but worse if they are Muslim or Hindu. Some even get put out the church outright.
My view of them as being secular is just my opinion based on what I've observed over the years, and what I've been told by those that have been involved in it, and this includes a few of their elders.
I might be wrong in my interpretation of my observations of them over the years, but I doubt it.
88sins wrote:True, they won't marry a couple that if one person isn't Catholic. But I've never heard of them throwing out the one that was catholic because he/she married a hindu/muslim/pentecostal either. They might not encourage it, but they don't really penalize for it either.
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:88sins wrote:True, they won't marry a couple that if one person isn't Catholic. But I've never heard of them throwing out the one that was catholic because he/she married a hindu/muslim/pentecostal either. They might not encourage it, but they don't really penalize for it either.
If a Catholic got married to someone that isn't Catholic, it would not have been at a Catholic ceremony. Refusing the carry out the marriage is a pretty big penalty, isn't it?
BTW I'm just using Catholic as an example. Many other religions won't do inter-religious marriages.
pete wrote:Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:88sins wrote:True, they won't marry a couple that if one person isn't Catholic. But I've never heard of them throwing out the one that was catholic because he/she married a hindu/muslim/pentecostal either. They might not encourage it, but they don't really penalize for it either.
If a Catholic got married to someone that isn't Catholic, it would not have been at a Catholic ceremony. Refusing the carry out the marriage is a pretty big penalty, isn't it?
BTW I'm just using Catholic as an example. Many other religions won't do inter-religious marriages.
Just need one person to be a confirmed Catholic and say that your kids would be brought up in the Catholic Church.
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Not my experience, then again not every church.
But anyway - how is that being secular?
Redman wrote:
JW can survive elsewhere in the world...
88sins wrote:Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Not my experience, then again not every church.
But anyway - how is that being secular?
I used that specific word because based on what I've seen, even though they practice their own religion, to me their actions do not appear to be overtly or specifically religious or spiritual.
jmho, ymmv