Machel Mafia and Road March 2017

forgeniebob

Re: Machel Mafia and Road March 2017

Postby forgeniebob » February 28th, 2017, 6:02 am

You know I am not into Carnival but it's true I have noticed a trend but honestly Machel has a manager and who that might be?

Mercenary

Postby Mercenary » February 28th, 2017, 9:36 am

Price of peas remains unaffected

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » February 28th, 2017, 9:37 am

Mercenary wrote:Price of peas remains unaffected

Hahaha

Postby sMASH » February 28th, 2017, 9:47 am

i hear license officers went on the stages and charged the trucks with the bands

cosmo

Re: RE: Re: Machel Mafia and Road March 2017

Postby cosmo » February 28th, 2017, 9:51 am

sMASH wrote:i hear license officers went on the stages and charged the trucks with the bands

Hmmmm anything to make money....

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » February 28th, 2017, 10:32 am

Full Extreme overload at Savannah

"Please play other soca music and not only Full Extreme."

That was the plea from the Master of Ceremonies on the public address system at the Queen’s Park Savannah (QPS) yesterday as Carnival celebrations 2017 took place.

The DJ played the most popular road march contender Full Extreme, which was recorded by MX Prime and the Ultimate Rejects, as the masqueraders appeared on stage, forcing the master of ceremonies to request that other songs be played.

Full Extreme is the favourite for the Road March competition this year.

“There must be others songs this carnival. You are making it sound as though there is only one song in Trinidad for this Carnival,” the MC said over the public address system.

Moments later the DJ heeded the call and played another song. But it was not as popular as the MX Prime song, causing the crowd and masqueraders to display less excitement.

The DJ then reverted to Full Extreme reviving the excitement and energy among the crowd and masqueraders.

This continued for the entire morning and into the afternoon, stopping only when certain characters required specific songs to be played during their presentations.

The large, medium and small bands appeared after 1 pm yesterday.

http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/2017-02- ... d-savannah

Postby sMASH » February 28th, 2017, 10:54 am

isnt that a competition? how can they ask people to play something they dont want to play?

Postby supercharged turbo » February 28th, 2017, 10:59 am

Like you eh read through this thread

Postby sMASH » February 28th, 2017, 11:02 am

me, i woulda watch the man straight in his face and play some ole chune.. then buss out the same song he didnt want to play.

Postby hydroep » February 28th, 2017, 11:33 am

sMASH wrote:isnt that a competition? how can they ask people to play something they dont want to play?

When yuh see dat is level cutarse for Machel and the rest of them. They're probably trying to influence the figures so the final tally doesn't look like a total blowout.

Postby tr1ad » February 28th, 2017, 12:37 pm

i'm thinking they'll make some adjustments and it'll look neck and neck

nijo

Postby nijo » February 28th, 2017, 2:36 pm

I feel Full Extreme will certainly be the Road March this year.

When I heard first heard it I thought it could be Road March but as it came out soooo early I was concerned about its staying power.. then Your Time Now came on the airwaves,I was a lil concerned for MX Prime as Your Time Now is a hot tune...but somehow Full Extreme is going the distance/still at full strength.

MX Prime is a successful distance runner this year - he really hold dem and wuk dem!!

Love Machel, however, I think his offerings for this year (apart from Your Time Now) were not as well received as usual. Machel has all those foreign Carnivals to "beat the road" and "buss head" and thing....he will catch up...perhaps

nutty4u2c

Postby nutty4u2c » February 28th, 2017, 8:40 pm

V2NR 3.0 wrote:
eurotuner wrote:"FULL EXTREME" - Love
"BEAT IT" - ok 5/10

When you in the street pumping/reach d Savannah/the stage/last lap, you want speed and hype.
Full Extreme, the chorus is the only part that hypes you up (you'd notice if yuh seen them performed live)
Beat it, is SPEED riiiiight through, the song is not "better" but is more suited for d road. So with that said, Machel MAY win,
we'll know ash Wednesday....but all in all, who really cares :lol: :lol: .

Signed,
Seasoned Masquerader.

You do.

You still don't understand Road-march and Stage-march. we for the past few years have been getting some tunes which people jump to on the Stage and can't remember the tune come ash Wednesday. Look at for Bass Man from Shadow, A road-march all those years ago and you can still remember it. You cant even remember what was the Road-march from last year. A road-March sticks in yuh head like a lesson you never forget.

Postby eliteauto » February 28th, 2017, 8:48 pm

correct

dude2014

Postby dude2014 » February 28th, 2017, 9:16 pm

Plenty truth in dat. Cannot remember who won last year much less what the song was.
So much for local culture, cant play any tune after Carnival .........

Postby Monk BANzai » February 28th, 2017, 10:23 pm

forgeniebob wrote:You know I am not into Carnival but it's true I have noticed a trend but honestly Machel has a manager and who that might be?

Its a Team really. Che Kothari. Tony Chow Lin-On and his Mother. Che is his Creative Director as well.

https://www.instagram.com/chekothari/

I did visuals with them for Hollywood Carnival for both 2015 and 2016.

Postby tr1ad » March 1st, 2017, 1:38 pm

well now....

from boom champions

Congrats to our very own MX PRIME (Ultimate Rejects) "Full Extreme" = 556 times for first place - 2nd Machel Montano "Your Time Now" = 72 times and 3rd Montano again "Beat It" = 18 times

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » March 1st, 2017, 1:53 pm

yup

Trinidad & Tobago Road March 2017 results

Postby Chimera » March 1st, 2017, 1:58 pm

daz real lix

Daran

Postby Daran » March 1st, 2017, 2:48 pm

Lol @ long live Kaiso

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » March 1st, 2017, 3:01 pm

So much for the point of this thread. Mafia can't help you if your song not at least catchy. By same token I would say he earned his previous wins too.

Already getting excited for next year's soca.

Postby K74T » March 1st, 2017, 3:25 pm

OP is now bluefoldup.

daas

Postby daas » March 1st, 2017, 3:45 pm

Lock thread. Ban OP.

Regards,

xhex