OWTU TO SERVE STRIKE NOTICE ON PETROTRIN

dude2014

Re: OWTU TO SERVE STRIKE NOTICE ON PETROTRIN

Postby dude2014 » December 30th, 2016, 10:19 pm

MG Man wrote:I find before they start negotiations, non-oilfield related public servants should know what wages their equivalents in Petrotrin earn first.....and then let's see who really gonna strike

This makes much sense. They are being paid more than us, the company is losing money and the OWTU has been losing grounds as a trade union. Right now the Civil Service is raking in more revenue than Petrotrin. The country can import gas from Venezuela in exchange for goods from the manufacturing sector. Here is an opportunity for Growley to take a foreign trip

And all they can do is threaten the population? There is no one in the OWTU who is willing to take a baton for Ancil. The population is no longer going to stand for this kind of Bull's Fart ........

Their are countries without oil and they are doing well.
Remember Petro Caribe and Chavez?
Remember the TCL strike and OWTU had to put their tails between their legs before it dropped off.

I say go ahead and strike, when hunger strikes, we will see who wins.

OWTU faux Parse too much to post. Get real ancil the anvil around Petrotrin's neck.

dude2014

Postby dude2014 » December 30th, 2016, 10:29 pm

hustla_ambition101 wrote:Agreed with MG......let everyone see how much they are all paid from top to bottom

Can't compare industrial workers with pencil pushers in an office.

Do you really want to approach Immigration for a passport with that attitude?
Or how about the BIR?
Just asking .........

And yes Pencil pushers are just as important especially when they are the Civil Service.

nos_specialist

Postby nos_specialist » December 30th, 2016, 10:59 pm

its just strike notice, no strike just yet

GA15DE-T

OWTU TO SERVE STRIKE NOTICE ON PETROTRIN

Postby GA15DE-T » December 30th, 2016, 11:13 pm

Is it fair that all other public servants got wage increases and back pay while the oil field workers getting the same rate since 2011. While the government keeps increasing gas prices in our nations while the same said oil field workers are the ones sweating to provide gas at the pump. Shaft the government let dem pay up. I smell vsep coming

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » December 30th, 2016, 11:21 pm

Like u is one ah dem^

And not all public servants got increases...

kjaglal76v2

Re: RE: Re: OWTU TO SERVE STRIKE NOTICE ON PETROTRIN

Postby kjaglal76v2 » December 31st, 2016, 3:04 am

DVSTT wrote:What's Roget's monthly salary?
What perks does he enjoy as OWTU loud mouth?

How exactly is this your business?

TriP

Postby TriP » December 31st, 2016, 7:33 am

President of the San Fernando Business Association wants the Oilfields Workers’ Trade Union (OWTU) to hold its hand on strike action.

She said while President General Ancel Roget had a responsibility to OWTU members, he should also consider the cost to the country.

“I would ask Mr Roget to hold his hand.

“While he is well within his rights to bargain for his employers—because the workers are his employers—he also has to look at the economic state of the country at this time,” Bartlett said.

She said Petrotrin employees were well-paid and enjoyed a number of perks as it was.

“They get a $100 meal allowance every day. I have seen people use that to buy food for their entire families,” she said.

Citing the economic downturn and rising crime rates, Bartlett appealed to Roget not to put the country under further siege.

“We are under siege from all sides as it is. We can’t get foreign exchange to do business, burning and looting of business places is becoming more prevalent. We cannot leave our homes after dark ..we don’t need the further stress of not being able to get gas to go out when we want to,” she said

http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/2016-12- ... ntry-first

TriP

Postby TriP » December 31st, 2016, 7:44 am

As he defended oil workers’ right to a wage increase - despite a stuttering economy - Roget added, “Petrotrin workers provide fuel for the nation...diesel, gasoline, kerosene, jet fuel all of which is produced at that refinery. With this strike people will not be able to go about their normal business and the economy will shut down!” He said the union’s hand was forced when after 19 hours of negotiations, both parties were nowhere close to a settlement.

“We have taken a decision that we are not going to go for any extension and next Wednesday bright and early we are going to serve official strike notice at the Petroleum company of Trinidad and Tobago.

When that happens...then and only then, the public at large will understand that when workers walk out the refinery and leave the producing fields and when workers leave offshore and all of them gather under the strike camp for the next three months, then the nation will recognize the importance of the input of these workers,” Roget stated.

As he continued to state the oil workers’ case for a salary increase, Roget said that for the past six years, Petrotrin had offered zero- zero-zero, denying workers of any wage adjustments. Stating that the ongoing wage negotiation was a political issue because the former People’s Partnership administration refused to settle “out of spite”, Roget claimed the ruling PNM should make the political decision to settle. He lashed the PNM accusing it of bad governance and continuing the victimisation of its predecessor, the PP.

http://www.newsday.co.tt/news/0,237871.html

Postby Redman » December 31st, 2016, 8:12 am

GA15DE-T wrote:Is it fair that all other public servants got wage increases and back pay while the oil field workers getting the same rate since 2011. While the government keeps increasing gas prices in our nations while the same said oil field workers are the ones sweating to provide gas at the pump. Shaft the government let dem pay up. I smell vsep coming

Petrotrin uses the oil produced to refine...that oil is owned by the state(read the people on TnT ).
also the employees are in reciept of significant benefits beyond wages that are subsidized by the people when they make the losses....
Arguably when you can say that Petrotrin workers get multiple bites of the apple from each BBL of OUR oil that they touch..
Wages,Benefits and Subsidized gas.

1)Oil workers are paid well because it is a risky job. OWTU makes sure that the public is aware of the importance of labor in this process-and they are correct..Labors contribution to the production of oil is inescapable..

2)
Screen Shot 2016-12-31 at 7.36.25 AM.png

Petrotrin produces about 45000 BOPD...with 5000 employees (these are Petrotrin numbers) which means that Petrotrin produces 9 Barrels of oil per day...per employee.
Based on the chart above ...thats abysmal.
Saudi Aramco produces 158 per employee.

3) The forbes link indicates that TnT oil workers are the 3rd highest paid....and they are only 2000 USD PER YEAR off of #1.

SO
We have the highest paid group of workers in TnT (3) striking for higher pay while being the pivotal asset(1) in Petrotrins overall terrible performance(3)

So we paying best in (world) class wages for worst in (world) class performance..

what of labors contribution to this woeful level of productivity????

What we ALLOW will continue.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » December 31st, 2016, 8:25 am

Redman normally you're well informed on most topics so maybe it's a small oversight but Petrotrin doesn't use 5000 workers to produce those local barrels.

Exploration and production is about 1700 persons so you can do over the calculation.

Also not seeing the chart you referred to for the Saudi Aramco figures. Well at least in Tapatalk. Haven't checked on a PC.

Slyvester

Postby Slyvester » December 31st, 2016, 8:42 am

Enough is enough, public servants etc have been enjoying increases over the years which comes from oil dollars and we who produce the oil get offers of 0% compared to 10 to 14% for public servants, fair is fair

Sent from my SM-T310 using TriniTuner mobile app

Postby Redman » December 31st, 2016, 8:49 am

Input /Output

All the numbers are based on the total employees in the CO -not isolated to the E&P divisions.
The company is a single organism....and its life blood is the BOPD.
Its deliberately done since the union defends the inefficiencies in Admin as much as the E&P.

So they are forcing the co to support 5000 workers with 45k BOPD.

http://www.economist.com/news/business/ ... -unfixable
While the chart are 2012 numbers... Exxon for example 2015 TOTAL employee base is now 75000.

So the chart is also total employees vs BOPD

Saudi Aramco s numbers are off of the web.
Co related articles....

Postby Redman » December 31st, 2016, 8:52 am

Slyvester wrote:Enough is enough, public servants etc have been enjoying increases over the years which comes from oil dollars and we who produce the oil get offers of 0% compared to 10 to 14% for public servants, fair is fair

Fair is identifying your benefits package.
Fair is comparing your take home value vs comparable employees outside petrotrin

Fair is saying whether you should be striking when you take home significantly higher salaries....isolated from the Performance of the CO.

yours is a weak selfish argument

nos_specialist

Postby nos_specialist » December 31st, 2016, 9:17 am

Redman wrote:
Slyvester wrote:Enough is enough, public servants etc have been enjoying increases over the years which comes from oil dollars and we who produce the oil get offers of 0% compared to 10 to 14% for public servants, fair is fair

Fair is comparing your take home value vs comparable employees outside petrotrin

Fair is saying whether you should be striking when you take home significantly higher salaries....isolated from the Performance of the CO.

Its not my fault i decided to become qualified to work in a refinery...while others depended on service commission to get government office jobs. We are serving strike notice due to AGREEMENTS made with company and UNION... people gettin 14% increase on our work...and we are gettin 0%..bad business...

This is our battle for our betterment..whether we get through or not.

Slyvester

Postby Slyvester » December 31st, 2016, 9:25 am

Comparable to world wide standards those in the oil sector earn more, the risk alone is one of the reasons ,I think there should be a tour for those outside our sector, "a day in the life of an oil worker" and I'm sure a lot of you would say we are mad and suicidal.

car

Postby car » December 31st, 2016, 9:44 am

Slyvester wrote:Comparable to world wide standards those in the oil sector earn more, the risk alone is one of the reasons ,I think there should be a tour for those outside our sector, "a day in the life of an oil worker" and I'm sure a lot of you would say we are mad and suicidal.

Damn right. Almost everyone working there especially in the refinery has or is going to get some form of cancer.
The proof for what I say is there.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » December 31st, 2016, 10:00 am

Holding the country to.ransom is not at ethical approach.
They could do a work to.rule or go slow or something else....

All trade union leaders real beat up and when they enter into politics it's a completely different story with them.....Errol....Jennifer....all is d same....

nos_specialist

Postby nos_specialist » December 31st, 2016, 10:12 am

*$kїđž![emoji769] wrote:Holding the country to.ransom is not at ethical approach.

All trade union leaders real beat up and when they enter into politics it's a completely different story with them.....Errol....Jennifer....all is d same....

And thats individuals you are pointin out...not the entire union...if you all kno what we does hadda go thru in a refinery..trust me it not nice...it have a guy say in here big money for minimal work.. reallllyyy now....when we hadda start up a plant 3am in the morning up and down sweating..orr even so just doin routine rounds checks etc while you sleeping comfortable..that is what we get paid for...compare our salaries to other oilfield workers and tell me what you get...

So to that guy GTFO

Sunic

Postby Sunic » December 31st, 2016, 2:00 pm

I went inside that pap refinery already. It is alarming to see operators and maintenance ppl dealing with those aging equipment that management seem not to be bothered about, except profits for govt friens and families

Postby Redman » December 31st, 2016, 2:08 pm

And they say complaining without providing a solution is called whining.
and whining is for beyotches.

Be that as it may....you get paid for the risk....and the facts remain that the variables have changed and now are such that the COUNTRY had to make adjustments...when your oil went from 100 to 30 ...no mid 50s.

World wide the industry cut about 350,000 jobs....Petrotrin cut how many???

This has nothing to do with your ENTITLEMENT to the agreed increases ....its about perspective and timing.

Your position is:
even though
Oil workers are already among highest paid.
Oil is 50% below when agreements were made.
And production is lower than when agreements were made.

You are willing to make the population suffer so as to get yuh money.

You compare yourselves to public servants but public servants dont get time and a half,double time and triple time....PS workers dont get excellent medical from AGLH, and they dont get food vouchers to buy anything at Gils, just for a double...

So Forbes says TnT oil workers get well paid on an international standard...yet your COSTS are local based...comparatively your cost of living is lower but your compensation is internationally competitive.
Thats what makes expats so happy here-international compensation ..local expenses.

Ive asked several of YOUR cohorts in Refinery ,E&P and oil stocks and Admin .....and all say that the union is stifling the company...the first thing they would do is get rid of the union...

Again it isnt about WHETHER you earned,deserve or worked for x(point in fact I think you have)...what the union seems to have missed is that they are asking for an increase to be delivered when there is real economic stress...and are HAPPY to make others in the gen population suffer in order to get it.

In forcing the issue as they are now...it is pushing the public perception towards privatization
The more money Petrotrin loses in order to pay your increases ....the more of our tax dollars are spent bailing Petrotrin out.

There are better ways to do this.

But Tell me ..

what responsibility do the workers accept for the poor production numbers?

Whats the unions position on worker productivity ???

neilsingh100

Postby neilsingh100 » December 31st, 2016, 2:32 pm

Privatize and fire all them workers. If the workers are as valuable as they claim they should have no problem finding another job.

Petrotrin reminds of GM in the US (i.e. the only way to get rid of the union and their ridiculous demands was to bankrupt the company).

mitch1980

Postby mitch1980 » December 31st, 2016, 3:38 pm

nos_specialist wrote:
*$kїđž![emoji769] wrote:Holding the country to.ransom is not at ethical approach.

And thats individuals you are pointin out...not the entire union...if you all kno what we does hadda go thru in a refinery..trust me it not nice...it have a guy say in here big money for minimal work.. reallllyyy now....when we hadda start up a plant 3am in the morning up and down sweating..orr even so just doin routine rounds checks etc while you sleeping comfortable..that is what we get paid for...compare our salaries to other oilfield workers and tell me what you get...

So to that guy GTFO

nos_specialist wrote:
Redman wrote:

Sent from my SM-T310 using [url=<a class="vglnk" href="http://r.tapatalk.com/byo?rid=639]TriniTuner" rel="nofollow"><span>http</span><span>://</span><span>r</span><span>.</span><span>tapatalk</span><span>.</span><span>com</span><span>/</span><span>byo</span><span>?</span><span>rid</span><span>=</span><span>639</span><span>]</span><span>TriniTuner</span></a> mobile app[/url]

Its not my fault i decided to become qualified to work in a refinery...while others depended on service commission to get government office jobs. We are serving strike notice due to AGREEMENTS made with company and UNION... people gettin 14% increase on our work...and we are gettin 0%..bad business...

Petrotrin in the RED for a few years consecutively.
any sensible person can see you can only increase your salary if you make profit.
fighting for a wage is increase is their right but only if they make profit.

does not matter if you are qualified or not u cannot spend more than u make
wake up and be thankful u have a job

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » December 31st, 2016, 3:40 pm

mitch1980 wrote:
nos_specialist wrote:

So to that guy GTFO

nos_specialist wrote:
Redman wrote:

Sent from my SM-T310 using [url=<a class="vglnk" href="http://r.tapatalk.com/byo?rid=639]TriniTuner" rel="nofollow"><span>http</span><span>://</span><span>r</span><span>.</span><span>tapatalk</span><span>.</span><span>com</span><span>/</span><span>byo</span><span>?</span><span>rid</span><span>=</span><span>639</span><span>]</span><span>TriniTuner</span></a> mobile app[/url]

Petrotrin in the RED for a few years consecutively.
any sensible person can see you can only increase your salary if you make profit.
fighting for a wage is increase is their right but only if they make profit.

does not matter if you are qualified or not u cannot spend more than u make
wake up and be thankful u have a job

Agreed.

neilsingh100

Postby neilsingh100 » December 31st, 2016, 4:23 pm

nos_specialist wrote:Its not my fault i decided to become qualified to work in a refinery...while others depended on service commission to get government office jobs. We are serving strike notice due to AGREEMENTS made with company and UNION... people gettin 14% increase on our work...and we are gettin 0%..bad business...

Well go find a job in another refinery that could afford to pay you what you are worth. I am no defender of government workers but "people gettin 14% increase on our work" is not true. Last time I checked Petrotrin was making a loss and cannot repay their debt when it becomes due i.e. Petrotrin is on the brink of bankruptcy. You all need to get the facts and face reality before Petrotrin end up like ArcelorMittal Trinidad.

nos_specialist

Postby nos_specialist » December 31st, 2016, 6:34 pm

neilsingh100 wrote:
nos_specialist wrote:Its not my fault i decided to become qualified to work in a refinery...while others depended on service commission to get government office jobs. We are serving strike notice due to AGREEMENTS made with company and UNION... people gettin 14% increase on our work...and we are gettin 0%..bad business...

Well go find a job in another refinery that could afford to pay you what you are worth. I am no defender of government workers but "people gettin 14% increase on our work" is not true. Last time I checked Petrotrin was making a loss and cannot repay their debt when it becomes due i.e. Petrotrin is on the brink of bankruptcy. You all need to get the facts and face reality before Petrotrin end up like ArcelorMittal Trinidad.

okkk so do you think the OWTU is responsible for the Profits or Losses of Petrotrin?.... Petrotrin's MANAGEMENT is responsible for that...WE are the workers, and we have to fight to ensure we get what is ours..and what we worked for. Also, what point are you attempting to make by telling me "well go find a job in another refinery"... why cant we fight to get the same treatment in this one??.... isnt that why a union is there??...

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » December 31st, 2016, 6:39 pm

Would love to hear in detail what you guys think is the reason for losses in consecutive years.

Joshie23

Postby Joshie23 » December 31st, 2016, 6:45 pm

neilsingh100 wrote:Privatize and fire all them workers. If the workers are as valuable as they claim they should have no problem finding another job.

Petrotrin reminds of GM in the US (i.e. the only way to get rid of the union and their ridiculous demands was to bankrupt the company).

You know, I didn't want to comment. Usually in a serious thread where men start talking lots of mess, I'd just take it in and shake my head and sometimes laugh a little but jeez. Now I understand Petrotrin workers are well paid and benefits are excellent. Let's forget about the risk factors involved in certain day to day operations. Let's forget about some employees waiting YEARS to be made permanent. The two periods in question are 2011-2014 and 2014-2017. Oil prices took a tumble in mid 2014 and it hasn't recovered significantly since, so I can understand the 0% for this period. But let's rewind back to 2011 or 2012 or 2013 or early 2014, when oil prices were much higher than they are now. I'm not politically affiliated or aligned eh but where was the money coming from to fund the numerous projects and contracts doled by the previous administration during that time? Since we seem to have a 9 day memory, remember why Dr. Moonilal told Mr. Al-Rawi to hush his stink mouth? It was when he was revealing that STATE FUNDS were used to pay lawyers to represent STATE COMPANIES in various forms. So in laymans terms, lawyers were paid almost $1 billion in taxpayers dollars to explain to a court why and how the entities can't and shouldn't fund certain things, i.e. give out retroactive payments. Disgustingly poor management of funds and other resources, both by the Govt at the time as well as Petrotrins Management and of course, the ones to endure are the ones who aren't even responsible for the situation.

I'm not a fan of the strike and I understand the economic situation is bad so again..I can agree with 0-0-0 for '14-'17 but when T&TEC employees getting their retroactive to the tune of $84,000 as Part 1 of 3, for example and some teachers getting in excess of $90,000, I find some of John Public out of place. Then again, when the TTPS or the Fire Service or other Public Sector employees demonstrated in their own ways, John Public complained too..nothing new. I've realized that as Trinis, once it's not me that's getting more, everyone else is a 'selfish, unproductive bastard jed..weeyy'. But let their bosses say 'Things were hard this year but you've earned a $50,000 bonus', you think they'll say 'Nah boss, I can't accept this..take it back and reinvest it into other projects and productive things'..Never.

Postby Redman » December 31st, 2016, 6:55 pm

What happens if the truth is that Petrotrin really CANNOT afford this?

InsanityReigns

Postby InsanityReigns » December 31st, 2016, 7:12 pm

Joshie23 wrote:
neilsingh100 wrote:Privatize and fire all them workers. If the workers are as valuable as they claim they should have no problem finding another job.

You know, I didn't want to comment. Usually in a serious thread where men start talking lots of mess, I'd just take it in and shake my head and sometimes laugh a little but jeez. Now I understand Petrotrin workers are well paid and benefits are excellent. Let's forget about the risk factors involved in certain day to day operations. Let's forget about some employees waiting YEARS to be made permanent. The two periods in question are 2011-2014 and 2014-2017. Oil prices took a tumble in mid 2014 and it hasn't recovered significantly since, so I can understand the 0% for this period. But let's rewind back to 2011 or 2012 or 2013 or early 2014, when oil prices were much higher than they are now. I'm not politically affiliated or aligned eh but where was the money coming from to fund the numerous projects and contracts doled by the previous administration during that time? Since we seem to have a 9 day memory, remember why Dr. Moonilal told Mr. Al-Rawi to hush his stink mouth? It was when he was revealing that STATE FUNDS were used to pay lawyers to represent STATE COMPANIES in various forms. So in laymans terms, lawyers were paid almost $1 billion in taxpayers dollars to explain to a court why and how the entities can't and shouldn't fund certain things, i.e. give out retroactive payments. Disgustingly poor management of funds and other resources, both by the Govt at the time as well as Petrotrins Management and of course, the ones to endure are the ones who aren't even responsible for the situation.

I'm not a fan of the strike and I understand the economic situation is bad so again..I can agree with 0-0-0 for '14-'17 but when T&TEC employees getting their retroactive to the tune of $84,000 as Part 1 of 3, for example and some teachers getting in excess of $90,000, I find some of John Public out of place. Then again, when the TTPS or the Fire Service or other Public Sector employees demonstrated in their own ways, John Public complained too..nothing new. I've realized that as Trinis, once it's not me that's getting more, everyone else is a 'selfish, unproductive bastard jed..weeyy'. But let their bosses say 'Things were hard this year but you've earned a $50,000 bonus', you think they'll say 'Nah boss, I can't accept this..take it back and reinvest it into other projects and productive things'..Never.

Yup! Thats a fact!

InsanityReigns

Postby InsanityReigns » December 31st, 2016, 7:15 pm

Redman wrote:What happens if the truth is that Petrotrin really CANNOT afford this?

Union knows they can afford. Thats why all the ex management and expats raking in the millions.