pugboy wrote:Breaking in for food ?
Come nah man, there are so many ppl looking to hire honest hard working ppl to not have to break in for food.
And don't do the classic retort of asking back "what you do etc" to divert the point in typical trump/Trini style of straying from a point.
Slartibartfast wrote:All I'm saying is I don't know his motive.
The Paleontologist wrote:Dizzy28 wrote:I always heard people say once your head fit through an opening your body would fit through as you can contort to suit.
Guess that's not true
Thats for cats bro
Slartibartfast wrote:Why the need for hypothetical situations to defend the immoral desires of the posters here?AstonMartV wrote:Slartibartfast wrote:Yes I also think it is best to stoop to the level of the criminals that we bash on a daily basis and assault him without provocation. There is absolutely no chance that the man seeing some hard times already and getting a little desperate.
And if this happened in your home, you would welcome him to your dinner table? Offer him a shower and a place in your bed? Allow him to continue doing whatever it was he went for?
It did not happen in the home of any of the individuals here (or any home for that matter of fact) and yet everyone in this thread either poking fun at the man or wishing him harm. Why is that? Take a good look at the picture again and tell me if that man looks like the embodiment of success?
My argument is that it would be better to get the facts surrounding the situation than just blindly wishing the man harm. Everyone complaining about criminals' lack of empathy but not acknowledging their own lack thereof. I am merely pointing out the hypocrisy of it all.
Slartibartfast wrote:So much "if's" in everyone's arguments. What if you guys actually approached the situation in front of you with an unbiased mind.
It seems to be everyone's first reaction to approach the man as a "lost cause" because lots of criminals seem to be. I understand the appeal of that point of view because there is no need for difficult thought or for one to step off their moral high horse for a moment and remember that the criminal was born just as much a person as they were.
Like I said before and I will repeat again; I don't know the circumstances of the man's situation. The man might be a last cause or he might not. I don't know and shall therefore not treat him as such. However, the surest way to ensure someone becomes a lost cause is to treat them like one which is all allyuh highfalutin tuners seem to want to do.
But good job. Hit him a planass. Do your part to fight crime
If the tuners on this thread are any indication of how "normal" think and react then the reason why criminals so nasty these days are because they are trini. They are a subset of our society and of our society. Garbage in garbage out I'm afraid.
Slartibartfast wrote:If you ever wanted to have a sit down meeting though, I would argue that would be ideal circumstances. You guaranteed to have his undivided attention.... just saying.
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:I think I understand where Slartibartfast is coming from
The Dutch prison ministry notes that it now has one of the lowest incarceration rates in Europe, with 57 out of 100,000 citizens imprisoned, second only to Finland at 54 per 100,000. Sweden's prison population fell from 5,722 in 2004 to 4,500 in 2014, and the country has also had to close some underused prisons. Experts who spoke to the Guardian in 2013 suggested that the humane and comfortable nature of Swedish prisons had led to a better chance of rehabilitation for prisoners.
https://www.washingtonpost.com/news/wor ... y-prisons/
The same quick-fix heartless "shoot now think later" approach that would-be-criminals are using to convince themselves that it is ok to rob and kill and rape, is the same we as citizens want to adopt to protect ourselves against crime. It becomes a senseless spiral without rehabilitation or reform.
Slartibartfast wrote:Yes I also think it is best to stoop to the level of the criminals that we bash on a daily basis and assault him without provocation. There is absolutely no chance that the man seeing some hard times already and getting a little desperate.
but two wrongs don't make a right.toyota2nr wrote:Slartibartfast wrote:Yes I also think it is best to stoop to the level of the criminals that we bash on a daily basis and assault him without provocation. There is absolutely no chance that the man seeing some hard times already and getting a little desperate.
Seriously? You making excuse for someone committing crime? No matter how much hard times he seeing that's no reason to do what he did. I would connected a car battery to the bars or a blowtorch. People must realise that there's a consequence to crime.
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:but two wrongs don't make a right.toyota2nr wrote:Slartibartfast wrote:Yes I also think it is best to stoop to the level of the criminals that we bash on a daily basis and assault him without provocation. There is absolutely no chance that the man seeing some hard times already and getting a little desperate.
Seriously? You making excuse for someone committing crime? No matter how much hard times he seeing that's no reason to do what he did. I would connected a car battery to the bars or a blowtorch. People must realise that there's a consequence to crime.