Sandals Thread!

Re: RE: Re: Sandals Gets 40 Year Tax Holiday in Barbados!

Postby Dizzy28 » January 11th, 2017, 7:10 pm

eliteauto wrote:Hyatt is currently in the last stages of renovation whilst they stayed open as well, Hilton's retrofit was grossly over priced, some of the rooms remain dated, I used the presidential suite in late November and the furniture on the patios was peeling, the mini freezer needed defrosting the jacuzzi in the master bath is oldish and the furniture and tv in the living area was similarly dated, the executive suite is in much better condition and the furniture there is unchanged in the last 3 years where I've used that suite about 6 times , so that makes the PS at least 5 years old or more, even the lobby changes aren't that noteworthy

The PS Suite was renovated and completed for chogm and summit of the America's. The second named event was eight years ago so that's how long those suites were renovated.

Where the Sandals MOU ?

Postby RedVEVO » October 31st, 2017, 9:19 am

http://newsday.co.tt/2017/10/31/hosein- ... t-answers/

" ...Rowley first announced the MOU was signed on October 12, during his contribution to the budget debate in the House of Representatives .. "

Where is the signed MOU on Sandals Tobago ?

Anybody see it :D

Re: Where the Sandals MOU ?

Postby Dizzy28 » October 31st, 2017, 9:23 am

RedVEVO wrote:http://newsday.co.tt/2017/10/31/hosein-charles-want-answers/

" ...Rowley first announced the MOU was signed on October 12, during his contribution to the budget debate in the House of Representatives .. "

Where is the signed MOU on Sandals Tobago ?

Anybody see it :D

Its probably in the same filing cabinet with the Alutech and Alutrint agreements.

Postby RedVEVO » October 31st, 2017, 9:27 am

A memorandum of understanding (MOU) is a nonbinding agreement between two or more parties outlining the terms and details of an understanding, including each parties' requirements and responsibilities. An MOU is often the first stage in the formation of a formal contract.

Zetski

Postby Zetski » October 31st, 2017, 9:56 am

Sandals is ah great investment for promotion of tourism in Tobago... Loudest voices is d ones complaining.. nothing wrong with it.. it go bring revenue

Re: Sandals Gets 40 Year Tax Holiday in Barbados!

Postby The_Honourable » February 26th, 2018, 8:56 pm

Sandals resorts international is says that it has no secret deal with this country's government. Sandals say it does not make demands from any government but insist T&T must meet certain criteria before a deal can be sealed.

Postby The_Honourable » May 10th, 2018, 8:11 pm

PM's office: Sandals project to be given priority

The Government is progressing with its plans for the construction of a Sandals resort in Tobago.

A statement by the Office of the Prime Minister today said that on Wednesday 9 May, 2018 the Minister in the Office of the Prime Minister and Minister in the Ministry of the Attorney General and Legal Affairs, Stuart Young, along with the Cabinet-appointed negotiating team comprising of Wilfred Espinet, Conrad Enill and Waltnel Sosa, met with the Sandals Resorts International team lead by Adam Stewart - Deputy Chairman, Geehard Rainer - Chief Executive Officer and Shawn DaCosta – Chief Operations Officer to discuss the progress of the proposed Sandals Tobago Project.

The parties discussed the way forward for the Tobago project and the settling of a timeline with milestones for progressing the project.

The statement said there was mutual agreement that the project should be given priority.

The statement said the Government looks forward to progressing this project and will provide further details as and when milestones are met.

Source: http://www.cnc3.co.tt/press-release/pms ... n-priority

Galvatron

Postby Galvatron » May 10th, 2018, 8:19 pm

RedVEVO wrote:
Its probably in the same filing cabinet with the Alutech and Alutrint agreements.

Doh get tie up eh. Plenty ting goes on that we ain't know bout. Alutrint company was actually formed. With a few staff getting paid for years when no plant existed. Men hired as IT manager and ting...and breezing in an office in central, getting thousands of dollars for the month!

Postby bluefete » May 10th, 2018, 8:41 pm

That video.

If MY tax dollars are used to build the hotel, I would expect that 100% of Sandals would be owned by the government and the normal management / branding contract would be signed by Sandals.

Postby RedVEVO » May 10th, 2018, 11:24 pm

bluefete wrote:That video.

If MY tax dollars are used to build the hotel, I would expect that 100% of Sandals would be owned by the government and the normal management / branding contract would be signed by Sandals.

Why ?

So Gov't can destroy private business ?

Postby zoom rader » May 11th, 2018, 3:59 am

Wait it will soon come to trini . Rowley in charge.

fatboy slim

Postby fatboy slim » May 11th, 2018, 5:12 am

PNM is going to screw us all over like previous administration and blind supporters will wine on it.

Postby eliteauto » May 11th, 2018, 5:49 am

I think it's that model being used as done before with mixed results

Postby teems1 » May 11th, 2018, 11:32 am

eliteauto wrote:

In the US, taxpayers money is used to finance new mega stadiums for the NFL, however the already wealthy team owners/NFL make the real money afterwards.

The process is also done very shadily, in that they threaten the city to move the team elsewhere unless their demands are met.

Postby De Dragon » May 11th, 2018, 11:28 pm

teems1 wrote:
eliteauto wrote:

In the US, taxpayers money is used to finance new mega stadiums for the NFL, however the already wealthy team owners/NFL make the real money afterwards.

The process is also done very shadily, in that they threaten the city to move the team elsewhere unless their demands are met.

The cities do benefit from the stadia though, unlike here where we spent a billion dollars on a fete match stadium that isn't up to international standards, and needs frequent cleaning. :roll:

INHUMAN

Postby INHUMAN » May 12th, 2018, 1:37 am

teems1 wrote:
eliteauto wrote:

The cities do benefit from the stadia though, unlike here where we spent a billion dollars on a fete match stadium that isn't up to international standards, and needs frequent cleaning. :roll:
Link meh a 5 mil contract to pressure wash d brian lara stadium again dehsah

fatboy slim

Postby fatboy slim » May 12th, 2018, 5:25 am

I wish I can get a 40 year tax holiday too. :cry:

Postby The_Honourable » July 18th, 2018, 1:14 am

Minister in the Office of Prime Minister, Stuart Young, has confirmed that the Government is seeking to finalise the deal with Sandals by the end of the year.

Postby Redman » July 18th, 2018, 12:17 pm

fatboy slim wrote:I wish I can get a 40 year tax holiday too. :cry:

Well bring something that is worthy of the holiday.

Whats the justification for the tax holiday?

Postby teems1 » July 18th, 2018, 3:08 pm

Redman wrote:
fatboy slim wrote:I wish I can get a 40 year tax holiday too. :cry:

Well bring something that is worthy of the holiday.

Whats the justification for the tax holiday?
Providing employment and encouraging tourists to the island.

lovescience1234

Re: Sandals Thread! August 2018

Postby lovescience1234 » August 24th, 2018, 7:50 pm

Why must the voters be in the dark, not knowing where our taxes lie? Only to The PM telling press today no agreement has been signed off yet.
Why the suspence?

Re: Sandals Thread!

Postby De Dragon » August 24th, 2018, 10:50 pm

Do people really realize that next to nothing is known about almost any aspect of the Sandals deal?

hassanvoyeau

Postby hassanvoyeau » August 25th, 2018, 4:35 am

eliteauto wrote:Hyatt is currently in the last stages of renovation whilst they stayed open as well, Hilton's retrofit was grossly over priced, some of the rooms remain dated, I used the presidential suite in late November and the furniture on the patios was peeling, the mini freezer needed defrosting the jacuzzi in the master bath is oldish and the furniture and tv in the living area was similarly dated, the executive suite is in much better condition and the furniture there is unchanged in the last 3 years where I've used that suite about 6 times , so that makes the PS at least 5 years old or more, even the lobby changes aren't that noteworthy

I stayed in a place in Tobago and defrosted my own fridge. Was fun. Also, I am used to cleaning the places where I stay.

Postby 88sins » August 25th, 2018, 8:27 am

Anybody find it odd that so soon after this NIF debut baldilocks & co. openly stating they giving priority to this project? they say due to the deficit they don't have $$$ for recurrent expenditures thus the reason for the NIF, but somehow they have enough confidence in where the $$ coming from to say they giving this project priority. Happy coincidence? I eh feel so

& wtf is with this bald-headed burros fixation about golf? so much so that he want to use Sandals as a springboard to develop Tobago into a golfing destination? is little white balls & long stiff shafts he like so much?

Postby sMASH » August 25th, 2018, 8:32 am

Mc and dem, use tax money to buy over clico assets(essentially) , then sold those assets in the firm of bonds to those same taxpayers.

Postby Redman » August 25th, 2018, 8:38 am

sMASH wrote:Mc and dem, use tax money to buy over clico assets(essentially) , then sold those assets in the firm of bonds to those same taxpayers.

Rinse Lather Repeat.

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » August 25th, 2018, 7:57 pm

The government has no business in the hotel industry...Just like they have no business in the aviation industry. They have continued to show that they are completely out of their depth when it comes to these sort of investments.

Why Sandals? Didn't they lose Hilton in Tobago because of poor management and failure to properly keep it up to standard? If you already can't manage one then why go get another. Magdaelna Grand was basically Sandals light....so why go for the same type of resort/hotel when there are many different ones.

All they are looking to do is build another hotel overlooking a beach so that people can spend all day laying by the pool sipping drinks. Then they wonder why tourism cannot work. There entire business models are seriously off. All Sandals is bringing to the table is a Hotel on a beach. That is all...Nothing more.

A hotel on a beach is not differentiation. We still have to convince Sandals customers to come this far down south and bypass Jamaica, St Lucia, Barbados etc....These people are clueless.

We might as well build something like this... At least no where else in the Caribbean has it.

Postby sMASH » August 25th, 2018, 8:04 pm

Hoss, that not coming out of their pockets. When imbert say, pay every year, or we repossessing ur house, that is why they could spend Willie nillie.

The reason why they want to do those things is, u know how much money they get to pass the contracts?

Nuff greasing goes on

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » August 25th, 2018, 8:11 pm

sMASH wrote:Hoss, that not coming out of their pockets. When imbert say, pay every year, or we repossessing ur house, that is why they could spend Willie nillie.

The reason why they want to do those things is, u know how much money they get to pass the contracts?

Nuff greasing goes on

We know all of this but at least pass some contracts for a proper resort nah...Oh gosh, maybe one with a casino and an underwater aquarium etc. It's like we being governed by cavemen. They can't be so devoid of ideas. Imagine they basically begging Sandals to come here. Ent that should tell them that the project not viable seeing that Sandals didn't take it upon themselves to seek out a location here....Jeez

Postby sMASH » August 25th, 2018, 8:40 pm

hoss, when the place inefficient, moar money could 'expectedly' disappear.