Wage freeze for public servants

boxy

Re: RE: Re: Wage freeze for public servants

Postby boxy » November 3rd, 2016, 2:30 pm

cueball1990 wrote:
pugboy wrote:If that is true then you should not be working there not even the half day.
Better you try and reskill yourself and get another job elsewhere
Dontt sit and complain and think you can't do anything about it or you are being forced to work there
You may need to make sacrifices but comlaing will not help.

In a perfect world what you say makes sense but it is never that easy. Money is not free and education is not free either. I am not complaining about anything. I merely stating that instead of bashing public servants, try to see it from our perspective. We are humans also. We need jobs to be able to live. And to work in a decent environment is the right of any skilled worker. Also apparently jobs are easy to come by the way you making it sound

:idea:

Re: Wage freeze for public servants

Postby pugboy » November 3rd, 2016, 3:07 pm

In North America it IS the norm for high school kids to have part time jobs

Wage freeze for public servants

Postby MaxPower » November 3rd, 2016, 3:31 pm

Cueball1990 whimpering too much...too much to quote...same sheit i talking about. U muthafukrs acting like its only yall working in poor conditions and low wages...why cant you find a better job then with a fancy building? U really feel tax payers think raising your salaries going to change anything? Allyuh will get worse so dunno who u fooling.

There are alot of people out there who will perform exceptionally well even under harsh working conditions...we need to hire those people and fire u and your lazy incompetent clan members...
Last edited by MaxPower on November 3rd, 2016, 3:31 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Postby Dizzy28 » November 3rd, 2016, 3:36 pm

MaxPower wrote:Cueball1990 whimpering too much...too much to quote...same sheit i talking about. U muthafukrs acting like its only yall working in poor conditions and low wages...why cant you find a better job then with a fancy building? U really feel tax payers think raising your salaries going to change anything? Allyuh will get worse so dunno who u fooling.

There are alot of people out there who will perform exceptionally well even under harsh working conditions...we need to hire those people and fire u and your lazy incompetent clan members...

TBH there are hardworking Public Servants however I always wondered though...........does the stability of permanent work for the Government which is relatively easy make sitting and griping for their whole life worth it as opposed to betterment in the Private sector that requires some hard work?

Postby MaxPower » November 3rd, 2016, 3:42 pm

^ you are right, there are hardworking public servants, i know a good few well, unfortunately that is not enough to satisfy the public....people need to be hired and fired.

Cueball talking a asspack of how if u treat workers better they will perform...niga plz, look at those politicians, best of conditions, allowances, benefits etc...are they performing? Look at the state of the country....

Its a mentality problem in this country...raise allyuh salaries and thats more money for allyuh to spend on unnecessary things and frig away with the public.

Postby Redman » November 3rd, 2016, 4:17 pm

So Minister of Finance comes out and says -any one that wants a raise-we starting the negotiations at ZERO...which seems to be exactly what every employer starts at when starting wage negotiations.

so what s the noise about?

cueball1990

Postby cueball1990 » November 3rd, 2016, 4:35 pm

MaxPower wrote:^ you are right, there are hardworking public servants, i know a good few well, unfortunately that is not enough to satisfy the public....people need to be hired and fired.

Cueball talking a asspack of how if u treat workers better they will perform...niga plz, look at those politicians, best of conditions, allowances, benefits etc...are they performing? Look at the state of the country....

Its a mentality problem in this country...raise allyuh salaries and thats more money for allyuh to spend on unnecessary things and frig away with the public.

If you using politicians as an example to determine the productivity of workers then it seems that you talking more sheit than me

cherrypopper

Postby cherrypopper » November 3rd, 2016, 4:43 pm

Okay so the increase in wages should not apply to all public servants but entail some form of job appraisal so that increases should be solely granted by merit.

Postby pete » November 3rd, 2016, 4:45 pm

Redman wrote:So Minister of Finance comes out and says -any one that wants a raise-we starting the negotiations at ZERO...which seems to be exactly what every employer starts at when starting wage negotiations.

If it's the norm then why tf make that a public statement as if it's not?

cueball1990

Postby cueball1990 » November 3rd, 2016, 4:48 pm

MaxPower wrote:^ you are right, there are hardworking public servants, i know a good few well, unfortunately that is not enough to satisfy the public....people need to be hired and fired.

Also clan members? Seriously? I work hard in my job. I try to make the best of my situation because i have obligations. The level of your ignorance is astronomical and atypical to trinidadians .Half d time when people have problems in these offices is not because we trying to make yuh life hard. We have protocols we have to follow just like the bank or any other organisation. Often when we bend these rules to facilitate the public it usually blows up in our face when it doesnt go their way. The issue is the institution. Now i not saying it doh have lazy people because there are in all work places. But my generalizing that all public servants are unproductive is an unfair generalization

Postby MaxPower » November 3rd, 2016, 4:52 pm

cueball1990 wrote:If you using politicians as an example to determine the productivity of workers then it seems that you talking more sheit than me

Nope, u servants missing the point as usual..

It means that treating someone comfortably does not necessarily mean increased productivity.

In other words, if the govt was to give you a nice big office, fat pay check etc...you will still have your public servant mentality....

Hard workers always work hard, thats how they can be identified from others regardless of the situation.

Dont expect lazy fuks to change overnight when you give them a cookie..

cueball1990

Postby cueball1990 » November 3rd, 2016, 4:57 pm

cueball1990 wrote:If you using politicians as an example to determine the productivity of workers then it seems that you talking more sheit than me

Nope, u servants missing the point as usual..

It means that treating someone comfortably does not necessarily mean increased productivity.

In other words, if the govt was to give you a nice big office, fat pay check etc...you will still have your public servant mentality....

Hard workers always work hard, thats how they can be identified from others regardless of the situation.

Dont expect lazy fuks to change overnight when you give them a cookie..

Lol public servant mentality. Lawd fadda these people

Postby Redman » November 3rd, 2016, 5:38 pm

pete wrote:
Redman wrote:So Minister of Finance comes out and says -any one that wants a raise-we starting the negotiations at ZERO...which seems to be exactly what every employer starts at when starting wage negotiations.

Well was he answering a question?
Given the forum it is likely that somebody asked him a question..he answered.

jm3

Postby jm3 » November 3rd, 2016, 6:13 pm

This dude is single handedly destroying future votes for Pnm

cherrypopper

Postby cherrypopper » November 3rd, 2016, 6:21 pm

Not likely

Re: RE: Re: RE: Re: Wage freeze for public servants

Postby pete » November 3rd, 2016, 6:24 pm

Redman wrote:
pete wrote:

Well was he answering a question?
Given the forum it is likely that somebody asked him a question..he answered.

Could have shown some remorse but say what. It's what they need to do given the current situation and if there is any time to do it, it's in the first couple years of the administration.

Postby Redman » November 3rd, 2016, 6:38 pm

remorse from Imbert???

come nah pete..youself

cherrypopper

Postby cherrypopper » November 3rd, 2016, 6:48 pm

Lol ..imbert could probably walk over some dead bodies on the way to parliament with no emotion whatsoever.

Then he may go in the kitchen and eat his sandwich sipping on his twinnings.

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » November 4th, 2016, 1:23 am

I understand the feelings of defeat that must plague the public service, but still, if there are hardowrking servants why still can't they do something, you've never heard of those using the union to bring a note worthy point to the attention of the public or anything?

If there are permanent workers within the service (I guess they can be demoted) why can't or won't they intiate internal audits or suggest internal changes, it seems that the unions only argue for money never for a real substantive issue.

I guess they're on the take too.

Soundstream_626

Postby Soundstream_626 » November 4th, 2016, 12:18 pm

Its a headless chicken management style that gives the public service its bad rap. There arent proper appraisal systems so the bad apples arent easily weeded out. If the public service was predominantly bad, how do yall get anything done servicewise? What doesnt come to the forefront is the archaic systems that the employees have to work with also, so when you think you john public are fed up of long wait times and red tape etc for some stuff to be processed, guess what, the employees are also. Up to this day the isnt a proper computerised searchable system for its own employee records. Most of the stuff is still excel based.

Government offices with a cashier can benefit from multiple cashiers with staggered hours, but the assignments by management arent done like that. Most offices still dont accept linx.

If however you do put streamlined systems in place with enough infrastructure, bet youd see a difference. One example is st james licensing office. I renewed my permit last week. I was in and out in an hour. Another suggestion may be to bring in independent persons to evaluate different tasks to get away from lack of accountability because " friend picking up for friend"

As a public servant, trust me these are things we discuss amongst ourselves.

killercow

Postby killercow » November 4th, 2016, 12:42 pm

Soundstream_626 wrote:Its a headless chicken management style that gives the public service its bad rap. There arent proper appraisal systems so the bad apples arent easily weeded out. If the public service was predominantly bad, how do yall get anything done servicewise? What doesnt come to the forefront is the archaic systems that the employees have to work with also, so when you think you john public are fed up of long wait times and red tape etc for some stuff to be processed, guess what, the employees are also. Up to this day the isnt a proper computerised searchable system for its own employee records. Most of the stuff is still excel based.

Government offices with a cashier can benefit from multiple cashiers with staggered hours, but the assignments by management arent done like that. Most offices still dont accept linx.

If however you do put streamlined systems in place with enough infrastructure, bet youd see a difference. One example is st james licensing office. I renewed my permit last week. I was in and out in an hour. Another suggestion may be to bring in independent persons to evaluate different tasks to get away from lack of accountability because " friend picking up for friend"

As a public servant, trust me these are things we discuss amongst ourselves.

You hit the nail on the head bro. Also what ppl must take into account is that
there are actually public servants who take pride in their job and work hard and then there
are those who are beyond terrible. What makes situation even worse however is when you have a rotten public servant
in a high position in any ministry or division. It not only causes problems for the public but even for those who work with or have to take orders from the said rotten person.
Many here are complaining (which to an extend is warranted) but in reality the actions of a bad few ruins it for many .
I'm sure if many here who were complaining were in the shoes of a public servant stuck with a f#*!ked up boss
and had to choose between pride and salary they'd choose salary (last time I checked pride doh pay d bills).

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » November 4th, 2016, 1:32 pm

Those who haven't experienced the public service as an employee should stfu. At the end of the day the public service and statutory authorities is mainly just a play pen for the pets of the politicians. Imagine I have a GM who in her introductory speech to us spoke of her political relationship and friendship of the late Mr. Manning and Dr......(refrained from typing cuss word) and that her appointment was more or less awarded to her by Dr......

Postby Slartibartfast » November 4th, 2016, 3:04 pm

Wow. I never gave any of that much thought. I think it really is just a case of a few bad apples ruining the batch. What I will say though is that I noticed that most of the time I get horrible service in a public institution it's almost always from older individuals that don't seem that educated. The kind that look as though they have been there for ever and are in it till retirement. Normally the younger people I deal with tend to be very professional, or at least try to be.

Any truth to my thoughts or are my perceptions bullsh*t?

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » November 4th, 2016, 3:20 pm

There is some truth to it....imagine urself as a computer illiterate 50+ yr old public servant who working with a Johnny come lately who have degree and handling his/herself well in the work place without the need for ur advice/33+ yrs experience.

When u understand ppl u are better able to get the most out of them generally.

Postby De Dragon » November 6th, 2016, 2:53 am

Impsbert seems to have let a cat out of the bag, hence the hastily called press conference, and public rebuke and distancing by Scarfy. I think that they fully intend to freeze wages in 2017, but we weren't supposed to know that just yet, not until after Local GE. So this sheit about "starting at zero", and "bedside manner" is a shameless, and quite frankly pathetic, attempt to smooth over the ensuing uproar Impsbert's revelation caused.
It also speaks to extreme arrogance, and an uncaring, callous attitude, when in a forum like that, a MoF could boast about basically doing what he wants with no consequence. PNM people so dotish as to not even be offended by it, and Opposition forces seemingly unable to mobilize any kind of pressure, or protest movement against it. Impsbert got carried away in his usual arrogant, aloof, boorish way, and now we know what the plan is for the next three years for the public service.
Rowley's rush to distance also indicate either of two things
1) He is desperate to get past this Local GE, and do exactly what Impsbert said knowing that he will be untouchable at that point or,
2) He is so much of a figure head that he cannot sanction Impsbert any more than his feeble "bedside manner", "in a vacuum", "no substance" rebuke. Hell if he were to fly out on one of his frequent jaunts right now, I'm sure Impsbert in like sin as PM(Ag).