TriniTuner.com | Latest Event:
The only acceptable analysisDizzy28 wrote:MG Man wrote:how do y'all ascertain the effectiveness of treatments? Borescope inspection? Injector bench tests before / after etc?
Before treatment - Less Fyahz
After treatment - Moaar Fyahz
As my defensive driving instructor said:maj. tom wrote:Ent modern gasoline formulations already have ethanol (octane rating) and cleaners already added? And nowadays with direct injection there is less build up now compared to port injection because the fuel burns more efficiently on proper timing without knock on each cycle. Plus I have read how people put ATF fluid and even vodka in the gas tank to mix and claim it cleans the pistons as well. Yeah vodka ethanol has a percent water in it and the vehicle still running, there are youtube videos. Modern cars not carburetors.
Anyway I think for those GumOut type cleaners to work as advertised you need to use it at every tank refill. There is no way one single treatment is going to clean and clear up any deposits significantly in real world trials.
nervewrecker wrote:I've never used a fuel treatment in my life. Worked in a gas station when I finished school and most people swore by the qmi fuel treatment but since I driving I have never used one. Proper maintenance and your vehicle works good.
And yes, I saw TD47 vid on the transmission oil. The only thing I know transmission oil to work for in fuel is to quiet down the noisy injector pump a bit. It had some effect but it's just a plaster for a sore.