Mobile-Authority

Postby Mobile-Authority » September 17th, 2009, 2:00 pm

novastar1 wrote:
I dont know why everyone dont realise this means an increase in everything

ie. Grocery , utilities, you name it

You think that businessmen just going to ABSORB the extra tax?
This will be passed on to the consumer

Humes

Postby Humes » September 17th, 2009, 2:03 pm

If rental rates are what determine tax rates, lower rent equals lower rates.

If all landlords just get hyper and start to increase rent rates to make up for the tax they have to pay, there'll be an across-the-board effect of higher taxes...and the risk of people not renting or leaving for somewhere cheaper. And that leaves you with a higher rent rate and no tenants paying rent.

The only real choice now is to be more realistic about how much you're charging for rent.
Last edited by Humes on September 17th, 2009, 2:04 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Mini

Postby Mini » September 17th, 2009, 2:04 pm

it's no secret that rental rates are inflated right now (as are property values)... if a "expert assessor" for the purpose of taxes assesses a property (say a 2br 1 bth, apt, etc.) for say $2000 .... then the tenant shouldn't be asked to pay much more than this... (currently such a place may at present go for TT$3000 to as much as US$1000)

evo-STI-k

Postby evo-STI-k » September 17th, 2009, 2:08 pm

landlords have already started to raise rentals!

sorry for those who didnt have a contract and were rentign month to month basis!

You really think landlords are going to accept and buffer the taxes???

gunsmoke

Postby gunsmoke » September 17th, 2009, 2:16 pm

we paying for them fun. when you pay these taxes, they take it and build more cepep houses, Brian lara stadium and other big government projects.

the money low now, so we have to pay for their sheit

illumin@ti

Postby illumin@ti » September 17th, 2009, 2:58 pm

Mini wrote:it's no secret that rental rates are inflated right now (as are property values)... if a "expert assessor" for the purpose of taxes assesses a property (say a 2br 1 bth, apt, etc.) for say $2000 .... then the tenant shouldn't be asked to pay much more than this... (currently such a place may at present go for TT$3000 to as much as US$1000)

how dare u try to speak sense here... :lol: :lol: :lol:

property values / rental rates right now horrific... and way beyond sensible explanation... It may send rental rates and property values down as owners try to brakes from the taxes,,,, OR ,, they can do just as they have always done,, pass on the expense to the less fortunate and stuff it up the arse of the consumer... the problem here is big business and morally bereft small businessmen who have no ethics nor compassion for the other ppl in trinidad. They only seek another reason to help widen the divide between the have and have nots.. They dont care. once dem money running they dont care..

Mini

Postby Mini » September 17th, 2009, 3:46 pm

evo-STI-k wrote:landlords have already started to raise rentals!

sorry for those who didnt have a contract and were rentign month to month basis!

You really think landlords are going to accept and buffer the taxes???

see that's where the grey area is....

many places are not being rented legally... as it is now... if your property is being rented legitimately... your mortgage rate and insurances are different than if you lived there....

where I rent is a new building... but i can guarantee it's not approved by town and country, or even the fire services as a tenantable property ... so i can only guess if and how much taxes are currently paid...

IMPREZZING

Postby IMPREZZING » September 17th, 2009, 3:57 pm

<embed src="http://www.liveleak.com/e/8ff_1249764767" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" wmode="transparent" width="450" height="370"></embed>

aR&D

Postby aR&D » September 21st, 2009, 7:57 am

Trinidad Guardian Newspaper. 21st September 2009

A long read, but an interesting one.

I have seen comments by a few misguided souls on the latest property tax imposed in the last budget. The sole argument is that most countries in the world (with special reference to the US) have property taxes that run into the thousands of dollars annually, so why not T&T? One Afra Raymond of a prominent valuation firm in Port-of-Spain went so far as to say that these taxes are 50 to 60 years overdue. I suspect that in the case of Raymond, since he has a vested interest in the business of property ownership and had learnt all that he knows from schooling at one of the universities in the West, this has twisted his view.

However, I find it incredible that educated men could be so myopic and single-minded when it comes to the bigger picture. Now, on the other hand, I suggest that in arriving at the cost of property tax, one should measure a basket of other costs (and benefits if any) that citizens must bear (or receive). To arrive at this figure, it may be necessary to compare property tax (and benefits) to other Western countries, notably the US, that we so like to compare ourselves with so much. We should analyze some of these costs and benefits as follows:

What personal tax rate is currently applied in, say, the US, what exemptions are there if any. In Trinidad, all income over $60,000 a year is taxable.

What sales tax is paid in the US as opposed to what obtains in T&T. Most of the 50 states employ a sales tax of around five per cent. In Trinidad that tax is 15 per cent (VAT). So each and every day we pay some ten per cent more for what we consume because of this tax.

Of course these heartless pro-tax people can find another country with a sales tax of close to 15 per cent if they so wish to defend their ridiculous and simplistic positions. Other taxes to note are the fuel tax, health surcharge, NIS, green levy, airport tax, the old land and building tax, property transfer tax etc. These should be measured against similar taxes in the same US, not so? In calculating if we should even pay another tax (given that the Government may change the name from tax to fee), one must also consider the standard of living of the citizens in T&T compared with the target country, the US. What is the poverty level in T&T, and how many of its people will be caught by the tax, either directly or indirectly.

From what I have seen, a poor person can buy a semi-decent meal off the dollar menu (US$0.99) in most of the fast food outlets in the US. The closest T&T can get to that is two doubles for $8. It seems that even basic food is cheaper in the US, which is relevant in deciding whether to tax us again. In fact, for a third world country, Trinidad is uniquely placed where a poor person is unable to purchase a basic meal for under US$1 (TT$6.30)
In deciding whether we should be taxed again, we should compare the benefits we receive from our current taxes and compare them to those that people in the US enjoy.

For example, are our network of roads adequate or properly maintained that would compare with the US? I for one have never seen such deplorable road conditions with uneven surfaces that most certainly will cause the novice driver to loose control and kill himself/herself and probably others in what the Government may casually refer to as collateral damage. Is the quality of schooling such that it will lead our students to be more competitive with other top countries or just breed more dependency and banditry? Is the level of policing such that we can easily detect, apprehend and convict criminals who, year after year, attack our citizens fully aware that they will not be caught. Could we get immediate help like in the US when our homes are burglarised or robbed?

To the people who agree with this new tax, I ask them why over 90 per cent of T&T does not have a sewage disposal system and over 80 per cent does not have a regular supply of water. Yet they want to compare our property taxes with people who get these utilities as a matter of course. Or, to put it another way, are our current tax dollars being used effectively and in the best interest of the majority of the population? If not, then why not? Then why tax us more and separate the taxes under different guises when in truth all the monies are going into the same pool to be wasted and squandered yet again?

Further, do Trinidadians have alternatives of escaping burdensome taxes like so many do in the US? In 2008/2009, south Florida has become one of the costliest places to live in the US. This is because of the recent increase in property taxes. This has caused many people to leave Florida for less expensive states to live where the taxes are lower. Do Trinidadians have this option to relocate in order to escape these burdensome new taxes? Unless we have a degree, we can’t even move to Grenada under Caricom guidelines. There are so many more heavy taxes that we Trinidadians pay that are not borne by US citizens.

Maybe those that justify this new tax can also explain to the population why cars imported into T&T sell for more than double after the government taxes are added on. Couldn’t this money more than compensate/replace the property taxes that are being justified by the proponents? In the US, imported cars attract taxes in the single digit. And to crown it off, car transfer taxes in T&T, which were already higher than the US, were raised again. And what about the costs of houses themselves? Isn’t the average middle income house in Trinidad more expensive than those in the US?

A two-bedroom condo in a gated community can now costs Americans under US$100,000. You cannot get a gated community townhouse in T&T for that figure. Now, I ask, when taking all these factors into account, do we still want to compare T&T property taxes with that of the US?

Also, for additional reading:

Postby ~Vēġó~ » September 21st, 2009, 1:46 pm

need a tint poster like that!!!!

urabus

Postby urabus » September 21st, 2009, 2:33 pm

couple months ago...some folks were in our area, trying to get info
- how much rooms in our house
- how much bathrooms/toilets
- number of kitchens
etc

dont know if it had any bearings to this new housing tax, but i totally lied to the guy :lol:

zeeshan66

No Property Tax Increase in T&T PLEASE SIGN!

Postby zeeshan66 » September 23rd, 2009, 4:21 pm

http://www.gopetition.com/online/30947.html

In her 2010 budget presentation, the Finance Minister the Honorable Karen Nunez Tesheira proposed a review in the chargeable rate of property tax on every private and commercial property in Trinidad & Tobago. The budget has since been passed.

With all the hardships already faced by citizens within Trinidad & Tobago, many citizens are now faced with the reality that that they cannot afford this increase. This increase is deemed to be ill conceived, callous and of no real benefit to the population at large.

After all the taxes that we already pay, we the population get little returns in terms of social services, infrastructure and public utilities.

This tax increase is just another way of depending on the citizens to fund big projects that do not benefit the population at large!

While we expect the Government to seek ways to raise revenue, seeking to punish property owners for having dreams of one day owning their own property surely is not the way!

fwd on to everyone you know!

Postby janfar » September 23rd, 2009, 4:25 pm

So with this petition, will it be presented to the government after and will they accept it if more than 50% of the population signs it once only?

DTAC

Postby DTAC » September 23rd, 2009, 4:32 pm

Yeah, like people making a stand will change anything in Manning personal fiefdom.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 23rd, 2009, 4:36 pm

janfar wrote:So with this petition, will it be presented to the government after and will they accept it if more than 50% of the population signs it once only?

no there is no guarantee of that
its just a list of people

while they may use the list to lobby for a change, I don't know if an online petition holds any value in T&T since our lobby requirements may need real signatures.

Postby bluesteel29 » September 23rd, 2009, 5:03 pm

wouldnt hurt to try...

Postby janfar » September 23rd, 2009, 5:10 pm

I think its useless as the government is elected by the people and therefore speak for the people and as a result the petition will be thrown out. Besides, you all really think they care?

zeeshan66

Postby zeeshan66 » September 23rd, 2009, 8:35 pm

COME ON PEOPLE WAKE UP! CHANGE THE PESSIMIST WAY OF THINKING AND MAKE MOVES TO IMPROVE ALL OUR LIVES

Postby janfar » September 23rd, 2009, 8:38 pm

Its not pessimist, its realistic. The only way to rid this is to rid off the government completely. We are not going anywhere before that happens.

DTAC

Postby DTAC » September 23rd, 2009, 10:46 pm

Even visitors to this island within 2 weeks realise what time it is here. Once PNM grassroots happy, everyone else can go to hell. You can have a million names on a petition. Once the proletariat don't get restless, they'll use the petition to light their cigars......

Postby streetbeastINC. » September 24th, 2009, 12:16 am

well dont sign ,dont do nothing.....save up your 20,000 and 40,000 tax to pay..

every year.....

Humes

Postby Humes » September 24th, 2009, 8:50 am

Online petitions have been changing the world since their inception. Authorities never ignore online petitions.

The average homeowner is going to have to pay between $20,000 and $40,000 in property tax.

And they found some children in a container.

Postby janfar » September 24th, 2009, 9:13 am

Humes wrote:Online petitions have been changing the world since their inception. Authorities never ignore online petitions.

The average homeowner is going to have to pay between $20,000 and $40,000 in property tax.

And they found some children in a container.

How did you come to that figure???

Im seeing ppl quoting ~600-1000. Some saying bout 3000, and now 20-40k. How is this calculation really made?

Can anyone clarify, has it been done in another thread and I did not see? Anyone???

Humes

Postby Humes » September 24th, 2009, 9:17 am

janfar wrote:How did you come to that figure???

Can anyone clarify, has it been done in another thread and I did not see? Anyone???

Read the post above mine. He hadda know what he talkin about...yuh wouldn't just come on the internet and talk sheit to spread fear, uncertainty and doubt.

Postby janfar » September 24th, 2009, 9:25 am

*awaits response from streetbeastINC.*

Humes

Postby Humes » September 24th, 2009, 9:39 am

janfar wrote:*awaits response from streetbeastINC.*

Good luck.

nos_specialist

Postby nos_specialist » September 24th, 2009, 10:13 am

tuners the best way to solve our government problem is to protest for another election,

But then again who else cud we vote for?...unc destroyin demselves, and cop is well..cop

Maybe we shudda jus let the coup happen...

TINT NATION

Postby TINT NATION » September 24th, 2009, 10:52 am

have a National Standown!!!!!! :!: :
This is real madness, just think about senior citizens who receiving pension, how they would manage or afford to pay such a Tax :?: This is D worst Budget in the History of TNT :!: Citizens cannot be shaft for the Government's Deficit :!:

Postby bushwakka » September 24th, 2009, 11:40 am

janfar wrote:So with this petition, will it be presented to the government after and will they accept it if more than 50% of the population signs it once only?

no there is no guarantee of that
its just a list of people

while they may use the list to lobby for a change, I don't know if an online petition holds any value in T&T since our lobby requirements may need real signatures.

is there really such a thing as lobbying and referendum by the public it TnT?

ah say, the only time population will revolt is if dey ban carnival

Postby streetbeastINC. » September 24th, 2009, 12:11 pm

lol....good luck....