Re: Budget 2016/2017

Postby 10-01 » September 30th, 2016, 1:11 am

14480733_10207520038224212_7578136487621971885_o.jpg

from FB :lol:

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » September 30th, 2016, 3:36 am

The thing is though people voted specifically for these things, PNM gave lots of hints and they also made it quite clear that they will be firing people and cutting everything.

In all fairness the general public voted for exactly these things its not like it was a surprise or anything. People considered UNC to be too evil and so were willing to eat grass under PNM just to get them out of office. So do we blame people who vote PNM or do we commend them for being such brave souls and making such huge sacrifice?

Postby Slartibartfast » September 30th, 2016, 5:13 am

Like I said in another thread before. Only 378,447 people voted for PNM. They won with a 51% advantage with a 66% voter turn out. That means they got voted in by about 33% of the voting population.

So for all of the people that voted them in, there are twice as many saying that we didn't vote for this. And everybody complaining. So why is it only the voting minority that wanted PNM in office getting attention?

Daran

Postby Daran » September 30th, 2016, 5:19 am

PP was vilified by the media, mainly for making lots of new Indian business people rich. That is quite clearly a fact and it's what pissed of many in Trinidad. Trust me when I say, if PP were more corrupt but made a certain sector of the population rich, the out cry would have been different.

Doesn't mean it wasn't wrong, it was and it was also quite stupid. But perhaps that was intentional, PP never looked like they really wanted to win that 2015 election.

PNM by all accounts is far worse, uncaring and out of touch government. But as usually the reception and cristism of them will be mild as usual.

What happened with Calder Hart and Manning was an anomaly, with respect to the media outrage. Once PNM is unified 70% of the big media companies will have their back.

Postby Morpheus » September 30th, 2016, 5:27 am

I wouldn't call that mild nah. They got voted out before and could get voted out again.

Wait till after the budget and see if it still "mild" as you say.....

cherrypopper

Postby cherrypopper » September 30th, 2016, 6:13 am

Rah rah rah after a week everyone quiet as usual

Postby SR » September 30th, 2016, 6:15 am

Patiently awaits property tax
Turbo tax
Increase in diesel
Alcohol and cigarettes tax
Gambling tax

I agree with free healthcare to valid owners of a trinidad and tobago id card

Also enforcement stricter enforcements of work permit applications and deportations
Too man foreign nationals in this country using up resources thats meant for citizens.

Hoping for a reduction in taxes on new car vehicles as well as roll on roll off......we know new car dealors will not allow that

Conversion of all govermnent vehicles to cng. Limit on value of vehicles purchased for goverment departments .no public service dept needs to own a luxury vehicle.

Enforcement of protective services officers must be in uniform while driving a protective service vehicle thats marked as such

Oh and hinds could haul he ass on increase on speed limit fines cuz that seems to be the only thing police doing right these days

neexis

Postby neexis » September 30th, 2016, 6:37 am

SR wrote:
Oh and hinds could haul he ass on increase on speed limit fines cuz that seems to be the only thing police doing right these days

This.

Plus if they want to generate revenue from tickets... charge for allllll the other traffic violations.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » September 30th, 2016, 6:38 am

Speed limit gona remain at 80 with an increased fine..

Postby pugboy » September 30th, 2016, 6:56 am

somehow I doubt the gambling tax will be anything more than minimal
99.99999% of casinos are owned by persons of certain descent

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » September 30th, 2016, 7:04 am

Subscribed

Postby desifemlove » September 30th, 2016, 7:40 am

divest fcb, utt, hyatt

install cctv on all major highways, ketch fine bad drivers

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » September 30th, 2016, 7:44 am

I really wish that one day we are governed by persons who have the foresight and skills to actually use a budget to develop the people and not only recover deficits through taxation.
Passing on the deficits to the citizens does not solve any problems, but it can be used as a short term measure to offset deficits until a long term development plan is in place to generate more revenue...or reduce expenses.

Even so, we all know taxation is not enforced properly...it isn't logical that business who depend on imports can still turn a profit with so many overheads, while the near 40% taxes on each item can't return enough revenue for the government.
With more taxes, people will just find more ways to bypass taxes and keep their businesses afloat.

Back to reality & in one sentence...I expect this budget to be a copy and paste of the 2016 Budget with increased taxes.

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » September 30th, 2016, 12:43 pm

Live stream:

mitch1980

Postby mitch1980 » September 30th, 2016, 1:22 pm

hoping the budget is not as high as it was last year ..... hopefully closer to 50 billion and not 60 billion

2WNBoost

Postby 2WNBoost » September 30th, 2016, 1:40 pm

Livestream YouTube
https://youtu.be/LRZOpuXY48k

ADONI

Postby ADONI » September 30th, 2016, 2:22 pm

Which Tuner wrote this article... :mrgreen:
armchair.jpg

Postby bluefete » September 30th, 2016, 2:23 pm

Which article?

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » September 30th, 2016, 2:24 pm

3% property tax from 2017

Postby bluefete » September 30th, 2016, 2:28 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:3% property tax from 2017

3% of what? Annual rental value or market value?

cherrypopper

Postby cherrypopper » September 30th, 2016, 2:30 pm

Can't be market value na..that is flabbergastery

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » September 30th, 2016, 2:31 pm

he didn't say...it supposed to be rental value

Postby bluefete » September 30th, 2016, 2:33 pm

So Laventille safe then?????

cherrypopper

Postby cherrypopper » September 30th, 2016, 2:36 pm

Safest

Postby Slartibartfast » September 30th, 2016, 2:37 pm

I'm hearing

No fuel subsidy
3% property tax per year (so that's like 3000 a month if you own a 1.2mil property

They talked about diversifying the economy and shifting the focus from oil which is good.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » September 30th, 2016, 2:41 pm

How much do you have to pay if you own a house on Agriculture land?

Also most normal people have a house that is worth 1 million if you look at houses in the newspapers you will see any kind of crap anywhere being sold for a million.

So how are people going to pay $3k a month when most of them are working for about $4K a month? LOL
Last edited by EFFECTIC DESIGNS on September 30th, 2016, 2:42 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Daran

Postby Daran » September 30th, 2016, 2:42 pm

Slartibartfast wrote:I'm hearing

No fuel subsidy
3% property tax per year (so that's like 3000 a month if you own a 1.2mil property

They talked about diversifying the economy and shifting the focus from oil which is good.

3000/mo?!!! Please tell me your meant per year. Which would be $250/mo
Last edited by Daran on September 30th, 2016, 2:44 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » September 30th, 2016, 2:43 pm

^ Where is this 3% a month exactly? he talking about what Port of Spain?

How much is it for Agriculture Rural Areas?

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » September 30th, 2016, 2:45 pm

Slartibartfast wrote:I'm hearing

No fuel subsidy

it won't be monthly...

he talking about diversifying the economy and still talking about oil and gas...I still waiting for the diversification part

Daran

Postby Daran » September 30th, 2016, 2:46 pm

Well this sucks.

Property tax will workout to be almost a $1000 a month extra. And it's just for two shitty ass townhouses I own.

Oh well I'll have to increase the rent for meh partner who renting.

Will charge him an extra $1000 come February.