Automotive AC Services

Re: Automotive AC Services

Postby rspann » July 20th, 2016, 9:34 pm

I watch how the ac guy does do it, you hook up the vacuum pump,clear out every thing,connect up the tank of gas ,start up the engine ,turn over the gas bottle a little bit, put your hand by the vent . If it cold,you good to go. If it leak out after a while, come back and he will look for the leak. Simple, all this set of argument.

Btw ,what cylinder blues clues talking about?

Postby skylinechild » July 20th, 2016, 10:11 pm

rspann wrote:I watch how the ac guy does do it, you hook up the vacuum pump,clear out every thing,connect up the tank of gas ,start up the engine ,turn over the gas bottle a little bit, put your hand by the vent . If it cold,you good to go. If it leak out after a while, come back and he will look for the leak. Simple, all this set of argument.

only he know wha cylinder he talkin abt....a few mths ago he wanted to sell us an idea for income generation....in these hard economic times....
a few weeks ago he was seekin AC help...

a few days ago he was seekin help.....and now he talkin about cylinders

Crazydriver

Postby Crazydriver » July 20th, 2016, 10:56 pm

usually do my ac work by these guys in balmain, and I ask a lot of questions.. they refill until the pressure drops to 25psi, while engine on and ac on.. and throwing water on the condenser at the front. I think its standard to 25 psi or thereabouts. I had to top up recently and the psi was @50something and I would get cold air @night only. but yeah 25 is like a standard range +/- a couple psi

my 2 cents

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » July 21st, 2016, 12:06 am

Quoted from the site

Air Conditioner or Heat Pump Refrigerant Equalization Pressure - System-OFF refrigerant pressures

When you measure heat pump or cooling system pressures makes as much difference as where you measure it. When an air conditioning or heat pump system has turned off and been off for some time (30 minutes or more) pressures equalize throughout the system between the high and low sides.

At that point the refrigerant pressure in both the high side and low side of the air conditioner or heat pump system will be in accordance with the ambient air temperature and the properties of the particular refrigerant gas present.

The static or equalized system refrigerant pressure will be defined by the refrigerant gas type ( which defines its boiling point and pressure at various temperatures ).

For example with that cute old R12 refrigerant, as long as there is just about any refrigerant in the system - enough so that there is some liquid refrigerant, i.e. it's not all just gas) then in equalized condition at 70 psi ambient temperature the refrigerant pressure will be 70 psi.

With a temperature correction chart you can read the static or equalized refrigerant pressure for any refrigerant gas and the actual ambient temperature.

Reminder: this refrigerant gas behavior means that if you use pressure test gauges (GAUGE, REFRIGERATION PRESSURE TEST ) to measure the refrigerant pressure in the static or equalized air conditioning or heat pump system, the gauges only tell you the refrigerant pressure, not the quantity of refrigerant that is present in the system.

So u see the pressure guaging method does not tell u the quantity(volume). If u want to be accurate, u need that temperature correction chart for the specific gas u using(or u could calculate it how i suggested above if u want to make ur own chart). That should tell u the volume the gas will occupy at different temperatures and corresponding psi for the particular system.

Postby nervewrecker » July 21st, 2016, 7:51 am

rspann wrote:I watch how the ac guy does do it, you hook up the vacuum pump,clear out every thing,connect up the tank of gas ,start up the engine ,turn over the gas bottle a little bit, put your hand by the vent . If it cold,you good to go. If it leak out after a while, come back and he will look for the leak. Simple, all this set of argument.

Which brings us back to the first post, how do we know when its enough gas? :D

But then as I posted, we can use pressure and temp to determine when its enough. If we plug in our manifold gauge and the readings are off then we diagnose. If a leak suspected we look for the leak.
Have other things that can cause an ac to not function properly besides lack of / too much gas and can appear as such.

I ac men look to do all you mention for every vehicle that comes in and hope they come back their jobs will be very hard as they doing it by guess. :drinking:

Postby rspann » July 21st, 2016, 10:19 am

I see you get the moral of my story. They do it by guess and you pay again when you come back. Some of them, as you reach ,'the dryer bottle and the evaporator bad de boss, it go hadda change'.

Postby nervewrecker » July 21st, 2016, 11:03 am

My ac gave trouble once. The guys I went by knew what the problem was before even plugging in the gauge or doing anything. They sort the problem easy easy.
I guess not all techs are equal. Esp with the rise of ac men on every corner.

Postby skylinechild » July 21st, 2016, 2:21 pm

rspann wrote:I see you get the moral of my story. They do it by guess and you pay again when you come back. Some of them, as you reach ,'the dryer bottle and the evaporator bad de boss, it go hadda change'.

I not too sure where u does go to have your AC work done but proper procedure is once an AC system is exposed to the environment for any lengthy period of time.... the drier bottle will need to be replaced...

that's my problem.. why you have to do it "by guess"???
so every technician place of work is a revolving door for customer wallets.
who dunno better is dem who does get catch.
if that is the case I now see why certain places doh ever go out of business...the price too good to be true..... :lol:

rpsann youre a repair technician (straightener) by trade...when you repairing a customer vehicle after a collision do you "guess" where you have to heat to release the spot welds.....??? do you "guess" the space and clearance gap when you lining up the bumper to fender to bonnet...???? or do you put on all the parts test fit...remove....make adjustments line back up again...check measurements and clearances....and go again..?

nervewrecker wrote:My ac gave trouble once. The guys I went by knew what the problem was before even plugging in the gauge or doing anything. They sort the problem easy easy.
I guess not all techs are equal. Esp with the rise of ac men on every corner.

you NOW realize not all techs equal....??? :lol: :lol:
the same thing cud be said for tint shops... audio installers.... mechanics of the mango tree variety.....and of course electricians with their cheap code reader purchased from amazon / ebay / jb tools

btw certain trouble symptoms can be traced back to one faulty component - not every time u hav to hook up gauges an check.... :idea: an experienced AC tech will know what to look for and check without ever needing to reach for the gauges...

everyone was a bess price but not willing to pay for the work...so they will quicker go by the corner shop and get it done.

Postby nervewrecker » July 21st, 2016, 5:36 pm

A tech never leaves a system open so no need to change the drier really. (nothing wrong with changing it btw)
So happens my drier needed changing

R.P.J

Postby R.P.J » July 22nd, 2016, 10:29 pm

Guys Could you recommend ac technican who are up to date in their trade and also has the most up to date tools when doing a work

Postby rspann » July 22nd, 2016, 10:52 pm

I have had AC. Techs tell me parts needed changing and I told them just gas up, and it worked perfect after. I am very experienced in auto repair ,so it hard to catch me.

Lol at heating to release spot welds though. Skyline, if you see me line up a car ,you might just be amazed,and that is no boast.

Postby skylinechild » July 23rd, 2016, 1:44 pm

rspann wrote:I have had AC. Techs tell me parts needed changing and I told them just gas up, and it worked perfect after. I am very experienced in auto repair ,so it hard to catch me.

Lol at heating to release spot welds though. Skyline, if you see me line up a car ,you might just be amazed,and that is no boast.

tru :lol: :lol: I sure some fool goin to try a welding torch to remove a spot weld.... :lol: :lol:

one of dese days maybe I'll see ur work first hand...

bluesclues

Re: RE: Re: Automotive AC Services

Postby bluesclues » July 27th, 2016, 9:15 am

rspann wrote:I have had AC. Techs tell me parts needed changing and I told them just gas up, and it worked perfect after. I am very experienced in auto repair ,so it hard to catch me.

Wah is ur garage? Lookin for a new body works place because the last one i deal with fail all how and loss a cash payin customer tryin smart ting. And i hope u as good as u toutin to be eh.

Re: RE: Re: Automotive AC Services

Postby skylinechild » July 27th, 2016, 11:40 am

bluesclues wrote:

Wah is ur garage? Lookin for a new body works place because the last one i deal with fail all how and loss a cash payin customer tryin smart ting. And i hope u as good as u toutin to be eh.

Rspann eah no pleb...hadda show u he work for freee..just like how you wanted to charge tuners for a "economic plan to "Weather the storm" soo too he does charge ppl for viewing his work...for potiential customers....

he not goin to waste he time showing a complete car when he hav work to do on another car....think man...!!!

bluesclues

Re: RE: Re: RE: Re: Automotive AC Services

Postby bluesclues » July 27th, 2016, 6:39 pm

skylinechild wrote:
bluesclues wrote:

Rspann eah no pleb...hadda show u he work for freee..just like how you wanted to charge tuners for a "economic plan to "Weather the storm" soo too he does charge ppl for viewing his work...for potiential customers....

he not goin to waste he time showing a complete car when he hav work to do on another car....think man...!!!

Aye punani u see me ask to see his work? I ask what is his garage...name, location etc.

Rspann pm me d details if u dont have a ps account here. I have tings i wanna do soon. A clear coat redo and buff and some other lil tings here and there.

Postby rspann » July 27th, 2016, 8:56 pm

Nah bai, unless you crash and coming through one of the companies I work for, I can't take you in .I have some of my own vehicles and can't even touch them. Sorry about that.

Postby Ted_v2 » July 27th, 2016, 9:00 pm

i know of a tech with a machine.
connect it up and walk away, come back and disconnect and collect $$.
machine vacuum, inserts proper amount of gas via weight punched in via user. also inserts dyes.

as it is, i need a gas up who could link that?

Postby rspann » July 27th, 2016, 9:29 pm

Ted_v2 wrote:i know of a tech with a machine.
machine vacuum, inserts proper amount of gas via weight punched in via user. also inserts dyes.

One of the best guys who worked for me has a machine like that ,he could have taken out the gas to do repairs ,and put it back in after.

Postby Ted_v2 » July 27th, 2016, 10:35 pm

Correct. The machine does it all.

Postby nervewrecker » July 27th, 2016, 10:50 pm

rspann wrote:
Ted_v2 wrote:i know of a tech with a machine.

One of the best guys who worked for me has a machine like that ,he could have taken out the gas to do repairs ,and put it back in after.

A recovery unit. :drinking:

viedcht

Postby viedcht » July 28th, 2016, 10:13 pm

A.c. blowing almost warm about ah month or two now... Went by de man today. He bring ah cylinder ah r134, ah guage setup, screw up the lines to the car, open de cylinder n adjust pressure / whatever, check to see when it blowing cold, detach he business, collect he hundred and talk done.
So how it supposed to really go down fellas? He should vacuum de lines n ting? Check pressures before reading up?

Postby nervewrecker » July 28th, 2016, 10:23 pm

viedcht wrote:A.c. blowing almost warm about ah month or two now... Went by de man today. He bring ah cylinder ah r134, ah guage setup, screw up the lines to the car, open de cylinder n adjust pressure / whatever, check to see when it blowing cold, detach he business, collect he hundred and talk done.
So how it supposed to really go down fellas? He should vacuum de lines n ting? Check pressures before reading up?

If it was short on gas it has a leak.

You gunna be seeing him same time next month for a "top up"

viedcht

Postby viedcht » July 28th, 2016, 10:30 pm

Well i figured he might check for leaks. Whil aback I carried a y10 by him twice n he gas up (same procedure) though the initial time he change out o-rings n put in oil. Second time when gassing up he explained if I don't use the a.c. often it does escape. That sounding right?

Postby nervewrecker » July 28th, 2016, 10:47 pm

Its a closed system, how can gas escape?

viedcht

Postby viedcht » July 28th, 2016, 11:19 pm

Same thing I thinking. Some ah these a.c. men pulling ting outta dey rectum.

Postby skylinechild » July 29th, 2016, 11:38 am

viedcht wrote:Same thing I thinking. Some ah these a.c. men pulling ting outta dey rectum.

You NOW realize that... :lol:
same thing u cud say about these $100 diagnostic scanning places....
same thing u cud say about these $250 tint places....

but the deed is done...u pay for what you cud afford...as nerve rightly said...you'll be seein him soon.
THEN he might hit yuh for 6...

viedcht

Postby viedcht » July 29th, 2016, 1:20 pm

Boy... is ah fellah in the neighbourhood and I does always rather support locally... but is ah lil too much shtt going on now. No kinda diagnostics or troubleshooting self.
Btw anybody ever try the a.c. men opposite aquarium restaurant in coceyea?

Postby skylinechild » July 29th, 2016, 2:03 pm

viedcht wrote:Boy... is ah fellah in the neighbourhood and I does always rather support locally... but is ah lil too much shtt going on now. No kinda diagnostics or troubleshooting self.
Btw anybody ever try the a.c. men opposite aquarium restaurant in coceyea?

me eah mind supporting "the guy down the street"
but at LEAST know what youre doin nah man....
in all aspects of different trades there WILL always be "a guy down the street" or "a padna" or "bess price"
me eah mind but when they start takin shortcuts that's where I hav the problem.

[cool story time]
these $100 scanning places their scan tool is crap - some cant even pick up on manufacturer specific codes...even worse they cant interface with all systems only the ECU....

when my trans went.. the tech I went to had the proper equipment and was able to scan & identify the issue immediately - i'm not soo sure these other places would be able to do the same. not only that - the tool was able to capture all live data from the vehicle while on a test drive and show exactly where the fault was - in addition to the manufacturer specific code...

[/end of cool story]

I live in Freeport and I went quite up to arima to have my ac serviced - PROPERLY.
nerve knows where I live -so he will tell you that's far - and to be honest...it was a toss up between king kool in barataria....and K Wilson auto tech in Arima. the deciding factor was a phone call - I kid you not...the person at king kool answered the phone like if its she house phone.

Price wasn't a declining factor as i'm PAYING for the work done... i'm not askin for a discount.
I'm PAYING for quality work. The place also gives warranty / guarantee their work and when I DID have an issue an took it back to them, the repair job AND new seals AND gas was free...... no questions asked.

Postby nervewrecker » July 29th, 2016, 2:26 pm

Have a guy down siparia road side I can recommend

viedcht

Postby viedcht » July 29th, 2016, 6:33 pm

Hmm well tbh mih neighbour ent cheap coz only half mile away the same Speedy Gonzalez gas up is $60... is de shortcut wokk men putting down n feel dey is 'Technician' status/ entitled to buss price.