Explain your wealth legislation” is coming soon

Re: Explain your wealth legislation” is coming soon

Postby De Dragon » July 6th, 2016, 10:24 am

SR wrote:What exactly does imbert do for a living........

He is a professional boor.

Postby j.o.e » July 6th, 2016, 10:50 am

He owns an engineering company , does engineering consultancy and is a top expert in contruction/contract law

Postby De Dragon » July 6th, 2016, 10:59 am

j.o.e wrote:

He owns an engineering company , does engineering consultancy and is a top expert in contruction/contract law

Not sure if serious...........

Postby j.o.e » July 6th, 2016, 11:00 am

Just answering the question from what I've interacted with him on .... That's what he's known for I can't judge his proficiency

Postby De Dragon » July 6th, 2016, 11:04 am

j.o.e wrote:Just answering the question from what I've interacted with him on .... That's what he's known for I can't judge his proficiency

I was just wondering considering how he and Emile Elias had that court battle (which Imbert lost), over the Grenada Stadium contract.

Miktay

Postby Miktay » July 6th, 2016, 11:48 am

streetbeastINC. wrote:Seems communist to me,,,, doubles man show me receipts,

In B4 eliteauto...........
Trying to look tough on corruption requires Lie-Wari to puff up and appear threatening now and then. What will ultimately come of this is nothing, just like politicos, chairmen, board members who have not declared their assets for years without any sanction whatsoever under the Integrity in Public Life Act. This will be fiercely resisted by the Opposition, as the PNM will want their people in charge of deciding who gets audited, just like the SSA Act.
There will of course be some token seizures of regular folks' assets just to show that it is "working" but like drugs, small fry will be the sacrificial lamb for the Mr. Bigs, which ironically a past PM claimed to know the identity of.

Anybody could find out the identity of local Mr. Big(s). Just go in a rum shop. The right rumshop.

Why u thing Patos put two army barracks right next to the house he was renting when they was renovating the PMs residence?

Postby rspann » July 6th, 2016, 12:08 pm

Let them make legislation to jail thieving politicians for life one time too.

Postby mero » July 6th, 2016, 12:11 pm

Should have a explain your weight legislation

Postby De Dragon » July 6th, 2016, 12:31 pm

mero wrote:Should have a explain your weight legislation

EH???

Miktay

Postby Miktay » July 6th, 2016, 12:49 pm

*channelling ZR*

The treasury running low. The PNM trying everything. No matter how dotish.

Thiz just a weak attempt 2 tax small bidnezz & lick up small time illicit drug dealers.

Mr. Big(s) will remain unfettered by these regs...should they pass.

Postby j.o.e » July 6th, 2016, 12:56 pm

Miktay wrote:*channelling ZR*

Thiz just a weak attempt 2 tax small bidnezz & lick up small time illicit drug dealers.

If you wanna really channel ZR have to put In something about ' war against hard working Indians' and ' Indian tax'

Postby 8695 » July 6th, 2016, 1:01 pm

See
How
Everyone
Realize
Our laws
Need improvement

Re: RE: Re: Explain your wealth legislation” is coming soon

Postby mero » July 6th, 2016, 1:42 pm

mero wrote:Should have a explain your weight legislation

EH???

If you have no acceptable reason as to being a fat boops, tek charge or jail. Right way to fight obesity/heart disease etc tbh

Miktay

Postby Miktay » July 6th, 2016, 1:44 pm

j.o.e wrote:

If you wanna really channel ZR have to put In something about ' war against hard working Indians' and ' Indian tax'

It only have one...original ZR.

Thiz will create red tape & confusion if enacted. Nuff market vendor...doubles men...bar men...car parts/mechanic...grocery...roti men...hardware owner are millionaires. Can u picture them explaining how...for example...they transform channa...aloo and flour into million$?

And lets not mention expats...retirees and oil people. Experienced oil men was raking it in during the oil & gas boom.

Al Rawi self w/have explaining 2 do.

Hyperion

Postby Hyperion » July 6th, 2016, 1:55 pm

Agreed, the laws
Need improvement
As soon as possible.
No
Denying it.

Hyperion

Postby Hyperion » July 6th, 2016, 1:58 pm

Realistically speaking
Our laws need
Overhauling.
Definitely
Agree with the
Legislation

Postby De Dragon » July 6th, 2016, 2:35 pm

j.o.e wrote:

So would Rowley have to explain his OWP apartment? Will hinds have to explain his? Will this be a transparent process so we can see that only people with huge discrepancies in income vs lifestyle are being targeted? Or will the high and mighty be exempt as usual? Will we hear anything about this after today, or having gotten his sound bite/15 minutes Al-Wari go get amnesia?

cherrypopper

Postby cherrypopper » July 6th, 2016, 2:40 pm

If this law comes into effect and is unbiased, then parliament would be empty .

Miktay

Postby Miktay » July 6th, 2016, 4:16 pm

j.o.e wrote:

So would Rowley have to explain his OWP apartment? Will hinds have to explain his? Will this be a transparent process so we can see that only people with huge discrepancies in income vs lifestyle are being targeted? Or will the high and mighty be exempt as usual? Will we hear anything about this after today, or having gotten his sound bite/15 minutes Al-Wari go get amnesia?

Kamala may have 2 explain the pink palace....Moneylal....Peters...Anil...Jack & children...will also need to account.

And leave no stone un-turned & re-open the SCOTT drug report while we are scrupulously uncovering corruption.

People think it easy. Many w/have to account 4 their wealth.

And..out of curiosity...2 whom will the accountable be explaining their confidential financial details?

If thiz law passes...don't be surprised if there iza re-surge in abductions 4 profit :|

The PNM iz desperate and clutching at straws.

Postby rspann » July 6th, 2016, 4:22 pm

They making all the syrians explain their wealth ? oh gad meh belly go buss,lard oye,tha is ah good one boy Faris.

cherrypopper

Postby cherrypopper » July 6th, 2016, 5:16 pm

Brb ..gonna sell cloth and own Trinidad after

drchaos

Postby drchaos » July 6th, 2016, 5:39 pm

Yeah ... like everyone is saying. Good idea on paper but they will end up going after the lower to middle class of society while the upper echelons of society walk away scott free.

Big fish, elites and politicians already breaking a ridiculous amount of rules/regulations/laws, was one more to add to the list.

Why don't they start with making it a criminal offence and enforce it on politicians/state board members who fail to declare assets. The only thing cabinet capable of doing concerning politicians is salary increases.

Postby DVSTT » July 6th, 2016, 5:51 pm

Don't we already have an anti money laundering unit? When was the last time anyone in trinidad was charged for money laundering? It's a good initiative, but I feel as though there won't be much difference made.

bluespeed

Postby bluespeed » July 6th, 2016, 6:11 pm

zoom rader wrote:I sold cloth and ended up owning Trinidad and the present Government

Ah boy...you hit the nail on the head...

cherrypopper

Postby cherrypopper » July 6th, 2016, 6:15 pm

DVSTT wrote:Don't we already have an anti money laundering unit? When was the last time anyone in trinidad was charged for money laundering? It's a good initiative, but I feel as though there won't be much difference made.

They couldn't build cases for conviction only measly charges.

Postby De Dragon » July 6th, 2016, 6:51 pm

DVSTT wrote:Don't we already have an anti money laundering unit? When was the last time anyone in trinidad was charged for money laundering? It's a good initiative, but I feel as though there won't be much difference made.

*Ding Ding Ding*

Postby streetbeastINC. » July 6th, 2016, 10:13 pm

There is so much room for this legislation to be a 1800s christian witchunt.
A witch-hunt is a search for people labelled "witches" or evidence of ..... Christian IV of Denmark, in particular, encouraged this practice, and hundreds of people were convicted of witchcraft and burnt.‎Anthropological causes · ‎History · ‎Witch-hunts since 1900 · ‎Figurative usage

Miktay

Postby Miktay » July 6th, 2016, 11:40 pm

rspann wrote:They making all the syrians explain their wealth ? oh gad meh belly go buss,lard oye,tha is ah good one boy Faris.

Yuh understand. 

Al Rawi w/have explaing 2 do. But first & foremost not 2 the people of Trinidad and Tobago.

If thiz law passes...there will be bilnah flying in the Al Rawi household.

Postby skylinechild » July 7th, 2016, 1:24 am

drchaos wrote:Yeah ... like everyone is saying. Good idea on paper but they will end up going after the lower to middle class of society while the upper echelons of society walk away scott free.

Big fish, elites and politicians already breaking a ridiculous amount of rules/regulations/laws, was one more to add to the list.

Why don't they start with making it a criminal offence and enforce it on politicians/state board members who fail to declare assets. The only thing cabinet capable of doing concerning politicians is salary increases.

true..it sounding like a good idea on paper....execution of this and all other laws however....sorely lacking.

another true thing. the only thing i ever see govt and opposition agree on...is salary increases. :lol:

it was proven awhile back the integrity commission has no integrity....

other things i would like to see done is a law where no politician can serve more than two terms in office.(consecutively or not) make two terms and thats it - move on in life.

another one is while you are holding public office you CANNOT be involved in any private / public business...ie be a board member....trustee etc etc....either you serve the ppl which you elected to do....or serve yourself via your private business...not both.
yes this would mean that youre only collecting a govt salary..thats it...no consultancy no board member on a state enterprise...no nothing no private clinic at home....

another law i would like to see implemented is that businesses who fund the political party of their choice (privately / publicly or anonymously ) be barred from receiving govt contracts...for life.
lets see if they truly backing the candidate of their choice or curry favoring....

*awaits the tuner frothments....

baigan

Postby baigan » July 7th, 2016, 5:20 am

skylinechild wrote:
drchaos wrote:Yeah ... like everyone is saying. Good idea on paper but they will end up going after the lower to middle class of society while the upper echelons of society walk away scott free.

true..it sounding like a good idea on paper....execution of this and all other laws however....sorely lacking.

another true thing. the only thing i ever see govt and opposition agree on...is salary increases.

it was proven awhile back the integrity commission has no integrity....

other things i would like to see done is a law where no politician can serve more than two terms in office.(consecutively or not) make two terms and thats it - move on in life.

another one is while you are holding public office you CANNOT be involved in any private / public business...ie be a board member....trustee etc etc....either you serve the ppl which you elected to do....or serve yourself via your private business...not both.
yes this would mean that youre only collecting a govt salary..thats it...no consultancy no board member on a state enterprise...no nothing no private clinic at home....

another law i would like to see implemented is that businesses who fund the political party of their choice (privately / publicly or anonymously ) be barred from receiving govt contracts...for life.
lets see if they truly backing the candidate of their choice or curry favoring....

*awaits the tuner frothments....

Sounds good
But why no private business ? .-.