Flying through Miami or Ft Lauderdale....and difference?

Re: Flying through Miami or Ft Lauderdale....and difference?

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » June 5th, 2016, 3:19 pm

Xplode wrote:If i'm traveling alone to FLL I go tru MIA , using CAL one way ,cheapest day possible plan, low as $128 us or use my miles .Image
ImageImage

can save couple hundreds ,take the train out of MIA or free bus ride out of MIA to the TRI station in Hialeah then pay less than $6 USD to go pass FLL,enjoy the train ride and scenery ,friends always pick me up @ Boca Ranton.

A lot of ppl don't know about this cheap train service large seating area with power outlets ,a/c,toilets and free wifi .

Just to add to this...op if you decide to go the Miami route you can get the tri rail from the airport which is located one floor below the metro rail...if you feel to ride the metro rail you will have to use the southbound train and stop at Earlington heights. From here you would take a northbound train to the tri rail stop. You walk down the stairs buy a one way ticket to fort Lauderdale for about $5. Most times you head across to platform two..the tri rail runs every hour...enjoy..

Postby pete » June 5th, 2016, 3:27 pm

Aren't most of the toll roads cashless? The overnight in fll might be a good idea as it would allow you to go to a Publix and get a sunpass for the tolls. Also if you're going with kids that is a lot of travelling for one day from pos to Mia to Orlando.

TriniAutoMart

Postby TriniAutoMart » June 5th, 2016, 5:21 pm

Fll Hollywood Airport is a low traffic Airport so you would tend to get through immigration a lot easier.

Miami is bigger and has a lot more options for shopping but you tend to take a lot more time to get out.

It depends on what you want at the end of the day.

greggle71

Postby greggle71 » June 5th, 2016, 5:55 pm

FLL is hit and miss sometime, depending on when CAL arrives at the gate you can be the first international arrival or the third arrival as there is a Barbados and a Haiti flight that comes in within a 30 minute window. I've been out of FLL in 20 minutes and I've also been there for 3 hours. Miami is a more standard 90 mins on average. I like to fly southwest within the states as I get two checked bags free so I will continue with FLL and connect from CAL. CAL still feeds you regardless of your class of travel

Nexus

Postby Nexus » June 5th, 2016, 6:11 pm

About them tolls, seeing that fll to orlando has some cashless ones and i will need to use transponder from the rental? Can I just go into a pharmacy and buy the sunpass instead then?

Postby De Dragon » June 5th, 2016, 6:12 pm

I've passed through both without much hassle. Get terminal maps for Miami to better navigate as the place is huge. Hollywood is much smaller and easier to get around.

Re: RE: Re: Flying through Miami or Ft Lauderdale....and difference?

Postby pete » June 5th, 2016, 6:30 pm

Nexus wrote:About them tolls, seeing that fll to orlando has some cashless ones and i will need to use transponder from the rental? Can I just go into a pharmacy and buy the sunpass instead then?

Yes but depending on the rental company they may need to unregister their plate from the sunpass system. I have driven from MIA to orlando without using toll roads but it takes longer and its not all freeway, thats up through Sebring etc.

Honestly wouldnt recommend it. Long stretches without food and restrooms whereas the turnpike has stuff every 45mins of driving and signs telling you how far the next one is before the one youre currently passing.

Postby SR » June 5th, 2016, 8:39 pm

3hrs from fll to orlando driving no toll

Postby pete » June 5th, 2016, 8:43 pm

How much for the speeding tickets? Lol

Postby SR » June 5th, 2016, 8:44 pm

Within speed limit garmin gps and non stop

Postby MaxPower » June 6th, 2016, 4:10 am

Deportee ppl problems

Postby pugboy » June 6th, 2016, 5:15 am

I recall going to FLL many years ago via a Travelspan charter flight
when FLL was now starting to take on international flights
place wasn't ready for the numbers of passengers
immigration took 3 hours, never took travelspan again

Postby Dizzy28 » June 6th, 2016, 9:11 am

Tri Rail is a pretty cheap way to get from Mia all the way up to West Palm beach but gosh that thing is slow.
They stop at all stations and those diesels take a long time to get up to speed by which time they have to slow back down for the next station. And from the stations you would need to take public transport to get where your going but there are free shuttles at the FLL Airport Station to the Airport.

But if time is not an issue for you then it is a cool option.

I await the day there is high speed train from Mia to Orl.

Postby cinco » June 6th, 2016, 9:56 am

Fly to fll rent a car and reach orlando in 2.5 hrs, the fare difference you pay vs a direct flight to orl is usually more than enough to cover the car rental anyway.
FLL is easier to get in and out of in my experience and Jetblue by far as more leg room than AA.
Im also biased against AA because they have cancelled on me 3 times and temporarily lost my luggage once

Postby Chimera » June 6th, 2016, 12:22 pm

https://www.sunpass.com/rentalcar

i bought a sunpass (the one with the suction cup that can move from car to car) a few months ago but never got around to opening it or registering it

if you going to be renting a car for more than 2-3 days then buying the sunpass is worth it.

that miami airport immigration line does be a realll pain

my past few trips ive always spent atleast 2 hours in the immigration line

a night i spend about 3 hours....superbowl night...a lot of people didnt come to work/call in sick so that was hell

i only fly AA because i have platinum status for the next two years as well as admiral club membership

it takes a lot of the headache out of airport waiting

Miktay

Postby Miktay » June 6th, 2016, 12:36 pm

CAL arrives at Terminal 4 in FLL. The dog section. No real amenities. They have two luggage conveyors. Jet Blu has a rep in the area to guide arriving passengers to the correct conveyor. Some of them are trini.

MIA iza better airport but bigger and more congested.

Watch the evening arrivals at FLL. Iz a setta South American flights that packs the airport and slows clearance. Nice chicas tho.

Doh study tri-rail/metro rail. Them ting iz hit or miss. When they work they work well but when they dont iz u 2 ketch. Worse yet on a weekend. Sometimes the train doh reach.

If u hadda tek transport to a nearby waypoint in SFla use Uber. Get the phone app.

Yuh bess best iz rent a car and drive to Orlando. Plus you will have a vehicle to move around in once u reach Central FLA.

2WNBoost

Flying through Miami or Ft Lauderdale....and difference?

Postby 2WNBoost » June 6th, 2016, 2:21 pm

If you use the I95, you could avoid the toll gates and not worry with the SunPass.
It's an approximately 4 hour drive from Miami to Orlando vs 3 1/4 via Florida's Turnpike.

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » June 8th, 2016, 5:42 am

Caribbean Airline has direct flights to Orlando.
Save the hassle of driving up.
During the holiday months prepare to wait very long if going through Miami

originalbling

Postby originalbling » June 8th, 2016, 9:47 am

^^ but its over 200 USD more

Don't the rental cars come with a sunpass and can you decline to take it if you plan to buy your own?

Does it "expire" if not used for an extended period and can you simply re-activate online and top up when needed?

Re: RE: Re: Flying through Miami or Ft Lauderdale....and difference?

Postby cinco » June 8th, 2016, 11:05 am

hong kong phooey wrote:Caribbean Airline has direct flights to Orlando.
Save the hassle of driving up.
During the holiday months prepare to wait very long if going through Miami

Unless you going solo this is always me expensive because you will need a rental car when you reach Orlando.

2WNBoost

Postby 2WNBoost » June 9th, 2016, 7:52 am

I passes through MIA recently and it took approx 10 mins to clear CBP and they kept the blue and white forms.
Following CBP you collect your checked bags and exit the airport.
No need to pass through a second customs line with the bags.
Big improvement.

Be advised Orlando International is a mess to clear TSA security on your way home.
Multiple line converge at the scanners.
Set aside some extra time to clear security.

thatlife

Postby thatlife » June 9th, 2016, 8:49 am

^X2 what he said

had the exact experience with both airports

rookie

Postby rookie » June 9th, 2016, 3:51 pm

Unread postby SR » Sun Jun 05, 2016 8:39 pm

3hrs from fll to orlando driving no toll

i drove this same route from Orlando to Fort Lauderdale and back in January and i paid like about 40-45usd in tolls i can remember specifically, but 15.30$ for the longest run in between tolls all the others are like 1.00 tolls. so SR stop misleading the fella

The distance from Fort Lauderdale to Orlando is about 220 Miles and the estimated travel time
from Fort Lauderdale to Orlando is about 3 Hours and 30 Minutes to close to 5 Hours depending
on the time of day and traffic.

Postby pete » June 9th, 2016, 8:12 pm

You can do it without tolls though. I find that's very high for tolls. You were using a sunpass or cash?

I drove up US 27 but once you get to Sebring area lots of traffic lights etc and it could take 5 hours especially with a couple bathroom and food stops.

Postby S_2NR » June 10th, 2016, 1:00 am

Gem_in_i wrote:Trinidad Airport is not a backward parlour Airport.

:lol: its just very small, laid back and inefficient compared to major hubs in the US. Tobago's airport on the other hand is just shameful.
And I guess OP should have his answer by now. I also prefer AA's service to FL over CAL but delays are frequent.
I usually go thru MIA. Men complaining about size should avoid JKF, LAX, LHR

Postby Chimera » June 10th, 2016, 1:11 am

Bathroom upstairs in trinidad airport is still not working btw.

Also, can trinis use global entry or apc kiosks? As well as apply for tsa precheck

Postby Gem_in_i » June 11th, 2016, 7:28 am

Global entry is for US & Canada passport holders & for people who have ESTA

Postby Damien » June 11th, 2016, 7:11 pm

could someone give me pros and con of jetblue vs cal thanks fares about the same to go jfk

Postby SR » June 11th, 2016, 7:15 pm

Mia to daytona 5 hrs via i95 4 hrs from fll fll to orlando 3 hrs via i95 tolls on th turnpike not that expensive as stated above i not sure what tolls were paid to total 40us...

Postby cinco » June 11th, 2016, 8:01 pm

Tolls are generally 20ish in total. Unless you exiting and reentering at every toll plaza I can't see how you run 47 dollars