Where has the best Gyros/Burgers/ Street food in T&T?

Postby AllTrac » September 13th, 2008, 11:37 pm

equipped2ripp wrote:what about Grill On De Hill in Marabella?

anyone ever had there?

yuh best friend Saood was telling me bout dem, he say dey supposed to be good, i think since beti outta de picture, the 3 of us need to go up together and do a full review of the bbq

RapToR
Location: Wholesaler & Reseller --- FREE Delivery<--Almost Anywhere!

Postby RapToR » September 13th, 2008, 11:37 pm

Grill on the hill

in marabella

best bbq

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » September 14th, 2008, 10:43 am

#1 Original BAR-B-QUE (HUT) Cipero Rd., Victoria Village, San Fernando.
#2 Duncan Village
#3 El Pecos, Ariapita Ave., Woodbrook, POS
#4 Irie Bites, Ariapita Ave., Woodbrook, POS
#5 The Beef Eater, any location
#6 El Socorro
#7 Curepe
#8 Central Connection, Monroe Rd., Cunupia
#9 Grillers, Independence Square, POS
#10 Rib House, WMR, St. James
#11 New BBQ Tent on paved section QPS (East), POS

Postby joker » September 14th, 2008, 10:57 am

opposite santa flora quikkeshop
de bbq dey :scrambleup:

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » September 14th, 2008, 1:18 pm

^^actually........it is quite interesting that you would say that because there is a debate on the difference between grilled chicken and BARB-B-QUE chicken. Do you care to point out the difference for me?

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » September 14th, 2008, 1:19 pm

BTW people, Original BBQ Hut on Cipero Road is open on Wednesday's to Sunday and not Monday and Tuesday due to obvious reasons for both.

Postby equipped2ripp » September 14th, 2008, 1:23 pm

they open from tuesdays now

RapToR

Postby RapToR » September 14th, 2008, 1:24 pm

x2floor wrote:#1 Original BAR-B-QUE (HUT) Cipero Rd., Victoria Village, San Fernando. river scented bbq
#2 Duncan Village
#3 El Pecos, Ariapita Ave., Woodbrook, POS
#4 Irie Bites, Ariapita Ave., Woodbrook, POS
#5 The Beef Eater, any location
#6 El Socorro
#7 Curepe
#8 Central Connection, Monroe Rd., Cunupia
#9 Grillers, Independence Square, POS
#10 Rib House, WMR, St. James
#11 New BBQ Tent on paved section QPS (East), POS

somehow ah think you dunno what bar b que supposed to taste like

it is NOT steamed chicken pasted in sauce :|

Postby pugboy » September 14th, 2008, 1:25 pm

everybody in the list with the exception of Irie Bites would be
boiling/parboiling/precooking their chicken then dropping them on the grill with sauce

Iries Bites is jerk chicken done slow cooked jamaican style totally different than them other places.

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » September 14th, 2008, 1:59 pm

equipped2ripp wrote:they open from tuesdays now

that has since been revoked, i know ive been there yesterday plus the new box says so.......remember they close on monday for stock taking then tuesday now since its for ramadan.

raptor...river scented bbq? i never smell no river yet!, tell me where do you purchase your fast food regularly since it seems "environmental smell" is a big priority?

RapToR

Postby RapToR » September 14th, 2008, 2:12 pm

x2floor wrote:
equipped2ripp wrote:they open from tuesdays now

that has since been revoked, i know ive been there yesterday plus the new box says so.......remember they close on monday for stock taking then tuesday now since its for ramadan.

raptor...river scented bbq? i never smell no river yet!, tell me where do you purchase your fast food regularly since it seems "environmental smell" is a big priority?

you shold ask pioneer to

pioneer wrote:yeh but i dunno who advised bbq hutt...but puttin it next to cipero river was NOT a good idea :?

i buy there a few times

f'in mc chicken wasnt cooked properly

waste of $ there

now grill on the hill in marabella

BEST bbq here

cooked properly

you should try grill on the hill instead of the river bbq

RapToR

Postby RapToR » September 14th, 2008, 2:17 pm

pioneer wrote:ummm that river always smellin stink padna

if you like to eat food and de place nasty...thaz u

las time i went ah cockroach run across de table :|

last time i decide to give it 1 more try

cockroach run across floor

just get back in car an went marabella

Postby AllTrac » September 14th, 2008, 3:23 pm

grill on the hill open today?

RapToR

Postby RapToR » September 14th, 2008, 3:32 pm

AllTrac wrote:grill on the hill open today?

tues to sat only

Postby X_Factor » September 14th, 2008, 3:33 pm

the place after MTS u all said, u all know what times they open?
is it a lunch thing, evening or both?

Postby Gem_in_i » September 14th, 2008, 4:05 pm

Wht abt tht BBQ tht over the Highway from uwi. I heard they taste good but never tried them. They still open? Whts their name?

I don't find Cipero River BBQ is all tht, although I know people who wud leave Point Fortin and come there just for tht. :?
Duncan Village I haven't eatten in a while but they not all tht to.

Wht abt tht place east side with the bbq pigtails? I never had tht before? How tht does taste?

Postby tr1ad » September 14th, 2008, 4:11 pm

ppl who buy bbq by dem fellas on cipero rd have no fackin idea of good food,

3 different family members bought there recently and got food poisoning

RapToR

Postby RapToR » September 14th, 2008, 4:22 pm

tr1ad wrote:ppl who buy bbq by dem fellas on cipero rd have no fackin idea of good food,

3 different family members bought there recently and got food poisoning

call health inspector

Postby tr1ad » September 14th, 2008, 4:26 pm

already did

strange enough the fact that they are next to a river was raised before they opened, strange up to this day that report has disappeared

Postby joker » September 14th, 2008, 4:33 pm

they ppl who was selling the land wanted 4.5 meeeeeelion for it , now if i hadda make an investment like that to sell bbq............ :arrow:

Postby equipped2ripp » September 14th, 2008, 5:19 pm

joker, they spend $18M in everything - buying land, developing it, running amenities, building a structure, making parking space, washrooms etc.

i think the land sell for more than $4.5M.

Postby joker » September 14th, 2008, 5:24 pm

@ the time i was doing real estate .....

but between you and I 18m...... for bbq?........

hmmmmm :lol:

Postby equipped2ripp » September 14th, 2008, 5:27 pm

joker, well it's an investment eh.. land prices not going down anyway yuh take it.

it would pay back for itself... but with the way that food tasting these days - i dunno yes :?

Postby joker » September 14th, 2008, 5:29 pm

land prices not going down anyway yuh take it.

i wonder bout that sometime.

soundboy101

Postby soundboy101 » September 14th, 2008, 8:43 pm

anybody notice the best Bar b Que places are Muslim owned

Postby SR » September 14th, 2008, 9:18 pm

i have yet to taste a good bbq thats commercially sold in trinidad

most of the time quality is inconsistant
lots of places start up good but as demand grows quality drops in effort to put out faster

i will always say there is nothing that beats a good home made bbq

as stated above

most steam thier chicken then let it get a lil bun on the grill/pit and slosh it in watered down bbq sauce

nothing is wrong with steaming the chicken but it still needs to finish on the grill properly and not jsut "heat up"

as well as a bbq sauce does not consist of ketchup, water, green seasoning and pepper

most people's bbq sauces make you want to vomit

ImprezaDriver

Postby ImprezaDriver » September 14th, 2008, 9:26 pm

Or BBQ De Lites aka Lee's in Curepe :wink:

I am ImprezaDriver, and I approve of this message. Seriously good sheit from Lee's.

Postby Maserati » September 14th, 2008, 9:39 pm

SR wrote:as well as a bbq sauce does not consist of ketchup, water, green seasoning and pepper

what should a good BBQ sauce consist of?

Postby SR » September 14th, 2008, 9:55 pm

worcestershire sauce
tomato paste/ tomato sauce /tomato
salt
black pepper
garlic
paprika
chili powder
maybe some cayanne pepper
as some basic ingredients
there are others

sauce needs to be simmered not jsut mixed in a pot and heated up

sauce needs to have a thick consistency so it stays on the meat and not just drip down but it can be too thick like a paste either

sauce should be applied when the meat is almost fully cooked
so it jsut needs to caramalise on the meat and then its done

sauce only needs to be applied once to the meat

if its a basting sauce then that needs to be thinner and applied to the meat at least 4 times during th cooking process

this can consist of the juices left back if the meat was steamed

Postby AllTrac » September 14th, 2008, 10:20 pm

Gem_in_i wrote:Wht abt tht BBQ tht over the Highway from uwi. I heard they taste good but never tried them. They still open? Whts their name?

BBQ Connection?
Thats the most disgusting bbq ever!