Official House Fan Thread

Re: Official House Fan Thread

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » March 21st, 2016, 12:17 pm

nick639 wrote:The most important thing for that remote is making it spin... And u know the dam fans doh have it, only speed control
by "spin" you mean oscillate? cause there is an on/off button on the Lasko fans

In fact the remote fans work with IR and can be controlled with a Harmony home hub and a smartphone. Or any SIRI or Google Now device

If your fan does not have a remote use a Belkin WeMo switch to use your smartphone as the remote. Plug the fan into it and control from your phone, setup a schedule for when the fan comes on or off or if you have an Amazon Echo you can say "Echo turn the fan on" and it comes on.
Also see how much power the fan is using. App available for iOS and Android.

http://www.belkin.com/us/F7C029-Belkin/ ... EC8EC91CD/

Postby *KRONIK* » March 21st, 2016, 12:29 pm

Duane rel techyboidanboidogboi...

I never knew all dem kinda ting in existence

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » March 21st, 2016, 12:35 pm

*KRONIK* wrote:Duane rel techyboidanboidogboi...

I never knew all dem kinda ting in existence
yes dan

I use a Harmony Home hub to control my AC unit in the living room and office. Can work for a fan that uses IR too like those Lasko remote fans.

Postby *KRONIK* » March 21st, 2016, 12:41 pm

Lol

I use the IR in my phone to control my tv/cable and a/c

Never knew they had these little IR hubs for non-IR devices

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » March 21st, 2016, 12:47 pm

*KRONIK* wrote:Lol

yeah but you have to point your phone at the device and be in the same room by using the IR on your phone.
These hubs let you be anywhere in the world and control your devices, no need to point at it. Plus you can setup macros, so lets say you do "Watch TV" it can turn on the TV, turn on the AC or fan, turn on the cable box, set the TV to the correct input and turn down the lights.

Postby *KRONIK* » March 21st, 2016, 12:50 pm

Wow...great stuff

Will look into getting one of those thingys sometime in the future

cornfused

Postby cornfused » March 21st, 2016, 4:26 pm

Some recent upgrades to the ANR Airport were some BigAss fans . They keep the place cool to lukewarm for the entire day it seems . At home I have some Hunters ceiling and Lasko standing for day time use .

aidan

Postby aidan » July 26th, 2016, 8:31 pm

Looking for a decent wall mount fan for a room with limited space
Any recommendations?

Postby sMASH » July 26th, 2016, 10:29 pm

had a square box ground lasko, gave a few years. after i got a standing lasko 16" gave a couple of years. now i have two windmachines, one of which doesn't get switched off.

Postby sMASH » July 26th, 2016, 10:37 pm

*KRONIK* wrote:Lol

yeah but you have to point your phone at the device and be in the same room by using the IR on your phone.
These hubs let you be anywhere in the world and control your devices, no need to point at it. Plus you can setup macros, so lets say you do "Watch TV" it can turn on the TV, turn on the AC or fan, turn on the cable box, set the TV to the correct input and turn down the lights.

like a universal remote, but for every thing, and controlled with an app... ok ok.

Postby nervewrecker » July 26th, 2016, 10:54 pm

Gaiz, buy a split type ac and done nah.

jehusaunders

Postby jehusaunders » June 4th, 2018, 10:22 am

Anybody knows where I can get a replacement remote control for a hunter ceiling fan?

Postby Spitfir3 » June 4th, 2018, 12:30 pm

i got one of those big metal industrial fans like what you saw in primary schools a long time ago
over 30 years and it still kickin

Postby supercharged turbo » October 13th, 2020, 12:24 pm

Anyone has a contact number for the place that sells the Big Ass Fans brand?

Postby Dave » October 13th, 2020, 12:28 pm

Isn't it Abel Building Solutions?

Postby maj. tom » October 13th, 2020, 12:29 pm

Postby eliteauto » October 13th, 2020, 12:53 pm

supercharged turbo wrote:Anyone has a contact number for the place that sells the Big Ass Fans brand?

Abel was the agent https://buildwithabs.com/big-ass/