Possible food shortage due to forex shortage

Re: Possible food shortage in 3 months due to forex shortage

Postby M_2NR » March 15th, 2016, 7:54 pm

Are we willing to pay more to support our local agriculture industry?

If the answer is yes, by all means, bring on the local produce. :D

playerskrew

Postby playerskrew » March 15th, 2016, 9:18 pm

how GREAT IS THE PNM now

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » March 15th, 2016, 10:39 pm

I don't see the issue, why would anyone buy foreign food which is considerably more unhealthy than locally grown? I mean sure it makes sense to buy thing like rice and flour but why buy orange juice? you want vitamin A well instead of apple there are lots of other alternatives locally that gives you the same nutrition.

No such thing as food shortage in a tropical country like this where literally everything you need to survive can be grown without the need of a greenhouse.

The only real issue we have here is water shortage in the dry season. But we not planting sheit like rice and thing so farmers won't need that much water.
Last edited by EFFECTIC DESIGNS on March 15th, 2016, 10:42 pm, edited 2 times in total.

WarrLordd

Postby WarrLordd » March 15th, 2016, 10:40 pm

Postby X2 » March 16th, 2016, 12:07 am

Former gov't financeeeers still buying fancy cars with cyash... what dem worry ?

So... I wonder if anyone is ever going to understand what and why 'buy local' is important...

I hope we don't run out of rum and coconut water...

jahs0ldi3r

Postby jahs0ldi3r » March 16th, 2016, 12:53 am

roadhog wrote:I see Venezuela

This!

Postby 1UZFE » March 16th, 2016, 5:11 am

desifemlove wrote:so less flour, pizza, ice cream, fried chicken, and ready cook macaroni in the stores...and less obesity...yep, we sad.. :?

Nfm , flavorite/bees/all dem home made, kfc, Trini fried chk ,japs ,Jo sing who have abt 1yr ah raw materials.

megadoc1

Postby megadoc1 » March 16th, 2016, 5:30 am

If it was ANR Robinson as prime minister, they would never talk that nonsense

Twin Isle Cars n' Parts

Postby Twin Isle Cars n' Parts » March 16th, 2016, 5:44 am

Habit7 wrote:Yeah I have a supplier friend who is saying that they are going to call on govt to stop importing cars so that more forex can go into importing food. But then the car importers from new to RORO will cry out.

But we need to stop importing grapes, apples, pears and other things we have alternatives to here.We might want to have a free market but govt has to come in and influence the habits of their citizens.

Well said...

RORO dealers with Licence for multiple vehicles, can pay in JPY instead of USD. The Single Importer can pay in USD, as their amt would be minimal compared to a Dealer...

We have Franchises for many US based fast food outlets and all basically have fries available on their menus, and yet still we need to import fries from foreign, won't it be better if planted our own potatoes & processed for local consumption... A simple lil twist of cassava chips or wedges even...

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » March 16th, 2016, 4:52 pm

plantain chips is the best ting since slice bread

Postby desifemlove » March 16th, 2016, 5:10 pm

1UZFE wrote:
desifemlove wrote:so less flour, pizza, ice cream, fried chicken, and ready cook macaroni in the stores...and less obesity...yep, we sad.. :?

Nfm , flavorite/bees/all dem home made, kfc, Trini fried chk ,japs ,Jo sing who have abt 1yr ah raw materials.

T&T does grow wheat? you forgot coke, pepsi, crisps, and most peopple still does buy foreign ice creams like haagen dazs and nestle.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » March 16th, 2016, 7:30 pm

so.....brace for more increases......we red and ready

Postby 1UZFE » March 16th, 2016, 7:42 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:so.....brace for more increases......we red and ready

I doubt. The govt hav a plan..
Spills drink...
Then lick it bak up knowing i mite not be able to afford it soon.

WarrLordd

Postby WarrLordd » March 16th, 2016, 8:42 pm

1UZFE wrote:
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:so.....brace for more increases......we red and ready

Spills drink...

You're absolutely right they are smart however must hand them that, they know it hardly have any north educated children who aren't qualify enough to become doctors in this country so pnmnites want to keep the new hospital closed until they can find a few who can corrupt it and give paracetamol to patients and say buckle yuh belt doh get me started on the big mampi nurses who does rest they belly on top u when giving you sleeping injection.

Whats all the fuss about? Just now brian lara stadium go fill people belly cause KFC does have real promotion when any events takes place there so allyuh juss be patient and wait red and ready

Postby desifemlove » March 17th, 2016, 12:13 pm

lol...trinis thick as two planks..

we have so many local foods, but then we eat a sheit load of flour, and salt, and foreign junk. the west like the USA and Europe is obese for a reason. due to how they developed, they have far less homegrown foods, like how many markets do people buy from in the UK or USA? not much. i support this, too many freaking obese doubles/KFC eaters around...

Postby pete » March 17th, 2016, 12:24 pm

Enfamil gone up 8% this week.. :(

Been trying to switch my daughter to klim 1+ but will probably try to speed that up..

Postby timelapse » March 17th, 2016, 12:25 pm

desifemlove wrote:
1UZFE wrote:

T&T does grow wheat? you forgot coke, pepsi, crisps, and most peopple still does buy foreign ice creams like haagen dazs and nestle.

If you have money to be eating Haagen Dazs, recession shouldn't be bothering you.
Flavourite to the world

Postby S_2NR » March 17th, 2016, 1:00 pm

haagen dazs is of much greater quality than flavourite. hence why alot of people prefer it over flavourite.

BRZ

Postby BRZ » March 17th, 2016, 1:19 pm

basic staples shouldn't really bother most people too much, those of you who cook home and not buy out every other day, But where I know a lot of people will feel it is in the Foreign MEATS. The local meats just not cutting it ..............

WarrLordd

Postby WarrLordd » March 17th, 2016, 2:47 pm

desifemlove wrote:freaking obese doubles/KFC eaters around...

But ent that is what ya man and dem does buy for u to get ah brush :drinking:

TEMPO

Postby TEMPO » March 17th, 2016, 2:57 pm

pete wrote:Enfamil gone up 8% this week.. :(

Been trying to switch my daughter to klim 1+ but will probably try to speed that up..

Nah! u serious

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » March 17th, 2016, 3:20 pm

WarrLordd wrote:
1UZFE wrote:

Spills drink...

You're absolutely right they are smart however must hand them that, they know it hardly have any north educated children who aren't qualify enough to become doctors in this country so pnmnites want to keep the new hospital closed until they can find a few who can corrupt it and give paracetamol to patients and say buckle yuh belt doh get me started on the big mampi nurses who does rest they belly on top u when giving you sleeping injection.

Whats all the fuss about? Just now brian lara stadium go fill people belly cause KFC does have real promotion when any events takes place there so allyuh juss be patient and wait red and ready

yuh cud get grape seejink with that too oar?

Twin Isle Cars n' Parts

Postby Twin Isle Cars n' Parts » March 18th, 2016, 1:34 pm

S_2NR wrote:haagen dazs is of much greater quality than flavourite. hence why alot of people prefer it over flavourite.

Well ppl just need to differentiate quantity for monies worth in these times, as compared to superficial quality...

Postby X2 » March 18th, 2016, 2:21 pm

Bai... doubles is $5.00 now...

IS TIME TO PROTEST !!!

Doubles vendors does be hoarding up all we TTD in cash... they crashing the system !!

Cantmis

Postby Cantmis » March 18th, 2016, 3:30 pm

Stick with enfamil !

kjaglal76v2

Postby kjaglal76v2 » March 18th, 2016, 4:22 pm

idk how ppl complaining abt local vendor prices nah.

I went market for the 1st time in my life a few weeks ago & my car was filled for less than $300, some of the stuff i aint even use yet.

i used to buy all the market stuff in tru value i. trincity, not a fack a dat anymore

Postby eliteauto » March 18th, 2016, 4:27 pm

kjaglal76v2 wrote:idk how ppl complaining abt local vendor prices nah.

I went market for the 1st time in my life a few weeks ago & my car was filled for less than $300, some of the stuff i aint even use yet.

i used to buy all the market stuff in tru value i. trincity, not a fack a dat anymore

market > supermarket

but as you go more often you'll see why there are complaints, sometimes that same quantum you got might run you $200 and another time $400 and yuhnno Trinis quick to cuss and question @ $400 today what was $300 yesterday, the nice thing about market is it's way more price flexible than the supermarket

Postby Dizzy28 » March 18th, 2016, 4:44 pm

Where you buy Enfamil Pete? I use the Enfamil gentlease which I get in Pennywise. So far the price went up once by the 12.5 percent in Feb to account for it being vatable. Other than that the price has remained the same.

air wick

Postby air wick » March 18th, 2016, 5:47 pm

Where you buy Enfamil Pete? I use the Enfamil gentlease which I get in Pennywise. So far the price went up once by the 12.5 percent in Feb to account for it being vatable. Other than that the price has remained the same.

Check Brydens for wholesale prices in Enfamil, min purchase is 1 case (4 big or 6 small tins)

Postby pete » March 18th, 2016, 6:04 pm

Infant formula isnt vatable. Using the soy toddler transitions and it was 125 in massy on Saturday and 135 yesterday.

Sent from my MotoG3 using Tapatalk