Trinidad the trashiest country in the world...

Twin Isle Cars n' Parts

Re: Trinidad the trashiest country in the world...

Postby Twin Isle Cars n' Parts » March 9th, 2016, 10:51 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:
Habit7 wrote:If Trinidad implement the measures needed to reduce trash amount like weighing your trash, paying for removal of large solid waste and separating recyclable materials, ppl will bawl that they against poor ppl and more garbage will end up in the river.

Utter rubbish. Ppl will be more that glad to get rid of trash in their yards.
Problem is that you have to hire your own transport to remove it.
Now and then you get council to pass round and pick up heavy stuff but that happens too few and far.
Then you have scrap dealers passing around but they want selected trash like steel and batteries. Tell them to pick up old stove and fridge and it's level cuss in yuh MC.
Solution, use Cepep and council transport for a general clean up.

But then again we have a lazy government who's only concern is PNM weddings and and holding a retreat cause they can't get their act together.

You speak the truth but sadly the PPG was no different.

So where do we stand now? seeing that both PPG and PNM just as lazy and incompetent? I mean what exactly did the PPG do that is any different from PNM when it comes to trash?

I have noticed 0 improvement in how dutty and stink this country is regardless of which political party is in power.

Present Govt, past Govt, many of it's predecessors...same ting Bro, the level of trash issues that we had/have & continue to have depicts our "good" citizens minds!!! Dutty as effin hell!!!!

Postby Habit7 » March 9th, 2016, 10:58 pm

I can imagine the outcry if TT implanted this

Postby shogun » March 10th, 2016, 12:18 am

Not to mention the immediate rise in indiscriminate dumping that will cause. We're not all sophisticated and responsible enough for that just yet.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » March 10th, 2016, 12:27 am

Twin Isle Cars n' Parts wrote:
EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:
Habit7 wrote:If Trinidad implement the measures needed to reduce trash amount like weighing your trash, paying for removal of large solid waste and separating recyclable materials, ppl will bawl that they against poor ppl and more garbage will end up in the river.

Utter rubbish. Ppl will be more that glad to get rid of trash in their yards.
Problem is that you have to hire your own transport to remove it.
Now and then you get council to pass round and pick up heavy stuff but that happens too few and far.
Then you have scrap dealers passing around but they want selected trash like steel and batteries. Tell them to pick up old stove and fridge and it's level cuss in yuh MC.
Solution, use Cepep and council transport for a general clean up.

But then again we have a lazy government who's only concern is PNM weddings and and holding a retreat cause they can't get their act together.

You speak the truth but sadly the PPG was no different.

So where do we stand now? seeing that both PPG and PNM just as lazy and incompetent? I mean what exactly did the PPG do that is any different from PNM when it comes to trash?

I have noticed 0 improvement in how dutty and stink this country is regardless of which political party is in power.

Present Govt, past Govt, many of it's predecessors...same ting Bro, the level of trash issues that we had/have & continue to have depicts our "good" citizens minds!!! Dutty as effin hell!!!!

Good thing most tourists just land here and take a plane and go Tobago. They then assume since its the same country Trinidad must be just as clean so they go back and tell all that T&T is a paradise with white sand and clear blue sea. Even though Trinidad is anything but that.

I does have to wonder where most disgusting Trinidad or India or Africa? lets not get started on the amount of raw sewage everybody in this country dumping in our drains, rivers and ravines that all go back to our drinking water.

I heard India more nasty though, they dump 12 football stadiums full of raw sewage into the Ganges river daily thousands of dead bodies floating and they wash and bathe and drink that water. So it was a bit of a surprise to hear we are the duttiest given what the competition outside has to offer.

Postby RASC » March 10th, 2016, 1:46 am

Delhi just eclipsed Beijing as the worlds worst air pollution city.

Postby ruffneck_12 » March 10th, 2016, 10:12 am

I love Trinidad.

As a DIY'er, I love when people throw away sheit that can fix easily.
Picked up plenty electronics in garbage heaps that just needed a fuse changed or a loose wire soldered.

Oil spoil we.
Ever see how rich kids grow up when they were spoiled from an early age? That's us, we are the rich kids of the Caribbean.

All we know is how to buy sheit, we can't build anything anymore.
We just throw money at our problems.

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » March 10th, 2016, 12:02 pm

^^ thats so true. Most of is never see real hard times and not being financialy blessed to just pelt out money for what we want. For those who have experienced real hardtimes, very few show resilience and develop resourcefulness. Quickest thing is try to get the cash by any means necessary.

Sent from my C6603 using Tapatalk

civicious

Postby civicious » March 10th, 2016, 11:45 pm

pugboy wrote:I have two old tires to get rid of,
Where is best legal disposal method

Ditto. Everybody have alot to say but none to help the situation. What are we supposed to do with worn out tires seeing that tire shops wanna charge you $20 each to dispose it. Which imo is ridiculous. And no, not everyone can drive in the dump....

Mercenary

Postby Mercenary » March 12th, 2016, 10:20 am

K .

Postby Habit7 » March 12th, 2016, 10:44 am

SWMCOL: World Bank's calculations off; we're not the worst in the world for waste

Date: Friday, March 11, 2016

The Solid Waste Management Company Limited is garbaging claims that this country is the worst in the world per capita where solid waste is concerned.

SWMCOL says the World Bank miscalculated the figures that caused it to come to that conclusion.

The following is SWMCOL's statement:

"The Trinidad and Tobago Solid Waste Management Company Limited (SWMCOL) wishes to clarify information circulating in the media about this country’s waste generation.

We were first made aware of the error following a documentary, “The Big Picture with Kal Penn” that aired on National Geographic’s cable channel in April 2015, one that cast a cruel spotlight on Trinidad & Tobago as the world’s largest daily producer of waste. SWMCOL realized immediately that someone somewhere had got their facts very wrong. As manager of Trinidad’s three (3) landfills we would need several more landfills to cope with waste of that magnitude.

Our investigation led us to the organization that supplied the waste generation data to the World Bank – PAHO/WHO. The World Bank’s 2012 publication: “What a Waste – A Global Review of Solid Waste Management” claims to have sourced their data from PAHO’s 2005 Report on the Regional Evaluation of Municipal Solid Waste Management Services in Latin America and the Caribbean.

Although PAHO’s 2005 report is accurate, the World Bank made an inadvertent miscalculation when they divided Trinidad & Tobago’s total daily waste of 2082 metric tonnes (2,082,000 kgs) by a total urban population of 144,645 rather than by the country’s total population of 1.4M. The more realistic and accurate figure is 1.5kgs (3.2 lbs) per person per day.

Our findings were reported to PAHO/WHO Trinidad & Tobago who confirmed that the World Bank’s data is wrong and have been actively pursuing a correction on behalf of this country.

While we dislike the negative publicity brought about by these erroneous reports, particularly as it affects the image of our country, the concern that has been awakened by hundreds of individuals regarding the current state of waste management is certainly a positive outcome. SWMCOL will continue its public education efforts and work with local government to develop improved waste collection strategies, and continue to urge every citizen to be more proactive at reducing, reusing and/or recycling their waste."

http://www.cnc3.co.tt/press-release/swm ... orld-waste

Xplode

Postby Xplode » March 13th, 2016, 9:09 am

Sue world bank MC they tarnish we sweet T&T.

Postby zoom rader » March 13th, 2016, 12:37 pm

I say bring back Charlie, but few men on here will know of Charlie campaign

crock101

Postby crock101 » March 13th, 2016, 8:56 pm

People here just stink, last year I was standing next to the river and a guy next to me throws an empty red bull can in the river , I go get it and place in the bin, everybody there looks at me like I'm the muffler bearing who is trying to make the litter bug look bad.
I have a dash cam in my pick up ,so everyday I have footage of people just throwing garbage out of their cars,it's sad to look at.

Postby rspann » March 13th, 2016, 9:05 pm

Why the Guardian put the article about the correction so far down in the back today? They divided the waste output by the urban population instead of the population which is about ten times more and that was how they got us up at the top.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » March 13th, 2016, 11:19 pm

Can't believe some of you really believed the initial findings. It didn't correlate with day to day observations. Men just be quick to put down anything local so will believe anything from foreign.

Postby zoom rader » March 14th, 2016, 2:48 am

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:Can't believe some of you really believed the initial findings. It didn't correlate with day to day observations. Men just be quick to put down anything local so will believe anything from foreign.

Get real, this is nasty country with nasty minded ppl.

Men will stop anywhere and piss and spit. Throw garbage anywhere, out of cars, block rivers with old stove ect. When u try to confront these nasty ppl is level cuss cause they have nasty minds.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » March 14th, 2016, 6:07 am

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:Can't believe some of you really believed the initial findings. It didn't correlate with day to day observations. Men just be quick to put down anything local so will believe anything from foreign.

Get real, this is nasty country with nasty minded ppl.

Men will stop anywhere and piss and spit. Throw garbage anywhere, out of cars, block rivers with old stove ect. When u try to confront these nasty ppl is level cuss cause they have nasty minds.

I will agree that you are nasty.

Trashiest country in the world though? Not a chance.

Postby zoom rader » March 14th, 2016, 7:35 am

^^^ Trini is a nasty place and its not only trash. Its nasty minds

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » March 14th, 2016, 7:45 am

zoom rader wrote:^^^ Trini is a nasty place and its not only trash. Its nasty minds

I see it each day especially on these forums.

By the way you might need a new keyboard bro.

Postby zoom rader » March 14th, 2016, 8:20 am

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:
zoom rader wrote:^^^ Trini is a nasty place and its not only trash. Its nasty minds

I do it every day especially on these forums.

By the way you might need a new keyboard bro.

Fixed