Take comfort we're not as bad as Trinidad

Re: Take comfort we're not as bad as Trinidad

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » March 3rd, 2016, 2:42 am

antlind wrote:All this back and forth. The bottom line is that our murder rate is scary and the corresponding conviction rate is a joke. Trinidad is no longer the paradise it once was. Given the choice I'm willing to bet 9/10 Trinis would prefer to live in Barbados.
not when they see the prices of things there.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » March 3rd, 2016, 2:42 am

88sins wrote:this comparison is a joke.
they have a smaller land mass, lower population, & a higher rate of bullers vs straight men than T&T, so a lower homicide rate is to be expected.
LOL what?

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » March 3rd, 2016, 3:03 am

VII wrote:
bluesclues wrote:
redmanjp wrote:what's the PER CAPITA murder rate of barbados & trinidad? that would be a better comparison
Barbados had 28 murders in 2015 and a population of 285,000 people

but that wasnt his point. his point was leaning more on the fact that they catch the murderers and bring them to justice. we have 4x the population of barbados but experience 16x the murders.. also instead 90-95% of murder cases dont get closed. allyuh doh forget the family that get home invaded and daughter raped in bathroom during SOE. even that was a catastrophic failure. as far as i know they neva ketch them fellas.

Be careful our rate last year was just under 3 times Bim's. In other words if they had our rate last year of 30.4 they would have had around 86 murders and not x 16 times. and if we had theirs we would have had 144 which was unthinkable less than 20 years ago right here in T&T,Bim's murder rate is just over 10 times the UK's rate btw.

In a small place like Bim that rate can tun up in a couple weeks. Great detection rate if true though,but then again the place is 166 square miles lol,and our population is actually 4.8 times theirs,not that it matters in typical per-capita calculations,but we have many different crime and social dynamics at play that just simply cannot be explained by mere numbers,plenty 'good bad guys' killing bad bad guys for robbing and terrorizing people too,plenty work to be done in plenty places..

is just, where we heading this year with the numbers.. 87 in 60 days looking like we squaring for the 16x this year. yes even among the badboys it have a code of ethics. crossing that code is tantamount to destroying the peace(ful relations). men become targets for not dealing straight and for unjust disrespectfulness towards the wrong man brother, cousin or sister. it is true, if you are a known straight player, neither side of any war will mess with you. but innocent ppl just need to be in the wrong place at the wrong time when a badboy need money and is robbery and murder cuz you see they face. that is why ah want random citizens to have concealed carry at a higher ratio.. so when random things happen where the police cant be everywhere all the time, luck might have it that a responsible/disciplined concealed carrier could save the day with surprise answerbacks.

link

Postby link » March 3rd, 2016, 6:39 am

antlind wrote:All this back and forth. The bottom line is that our murder rate is scary and the corresponding conviction rate is a joke. Trinidad is no longer the paradise it once was. Given the choice I'm willing to bet 9/10 Trinis would prefer to live in Barbados.

I guess it's because criminals living just as good inside as well as outside..........???

Postby zoom rader » March 3rd, 2016, 8:23 am

antlind wrote:Did Barbados ever pay back Trinidad that loan they got from PNM back in the Eric Willilams era?
Time to tally the interest and call in that loan. Mudder Arse Bajans and dem.
But the man does have a point though......

No they did not, the loans was written off.
I told ppl some time ago the only Airport PNM ever built was in Barbados.

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » March 3rd, 2016, 10:09 am

Monkey Man wrote:As bad as the situation is i dont appreciate some small island,'first world' tourist ass licker speaking like that..
He can go shove a flying fish up his aids invested bajan ass..

we look for that. if you startin to feel shame then that i would say is a first step in the right direction

Postby teems1 » March 3rd, 2016, 10:28 am

Monkey Man wrote:As bad as the situation is i dont appreciate some small island,'first world' tourist ass licker speaking like that..

whoa, ease up bro

you honestly don't think T&T falls in that category also?

Monkey Man

Postby Monkey Man » March 3rd, 2016, 10:33 am

teems1 wrote:

whoa, ease up bro

you honestly don't think T&T falls in that category also?

The way trinis treat natural resources and the priority given to tourism excluding carnival, yes.

when you hav oil everything else seems irrelevant.

gencon

Postby gencon » March 3rd, 2016, 10:58 am

the truth always offends.

Postby Rovin » March 3rd, 2016, 11:07 am

ppl getting butthurt , trying to spin doctor figures & get all offended by d truth

whether who country, population , land mass , geography etc bigger\smaller , T&T's murder rate [among other things] is shameful ... :|

BRZ

Postby BRZ » March 3rd, 2016, 12:31 pm

VII wrote:
Habit7 wrote:He is right but it kinda hard to hide in Barbados. It is the size of Tobago and almost as flat as Caroni. Plus Trinidad, Grenada and St. Vincent all serves as buffers from Venezuelan drugs and guns.

Correct...and for a little visitor Paradise Bim has some serious gunmen and bandits..Bim much hotter than Tobago,Tobago by itself is actually one of the safest islands in the Caribbean with a murder rate comparable to many advanced societies,you can almost feel the difference just by talking to a random Tobagonian,they on a different beat.

Unless yuh white and retired from GErmany and you come to relax :roll:

VII

Postby VII » March 3rd, 2016, 12:36 pm

BRZ wrote:
VII wrote:
Habit7 wrote:He is right but it kinda hard to hide in Barbados. It is the size of Tobago and almost as flat as Caroni. Plus Trinidad, Grenada and St. Vincent all serves as buffers from Venezuelan drugs and guns.

Correct...and for a little visitor Paradise Bim has some serious gunmen and bandits..Bim much hotter than Tobago,Tobago by itself is actually one of the safest islands in the Caribbean with a murder rate comparable to many advanced societies,you can almost feel the difference just by talking to a random Tobagonian,they on a different beat.

Unless yuh white and retired from GErmany and you come to relax :roll:

I get you bro,not condoning or simplifying the tragedies or our current issues as a nation,but that sorta thing happened/happened in most popular tourist destinations around the world,even in places with the lowest murder rates in the world,even in Bim foreign tourists have been killed,and shot during robberies.

cornfused

Postby cornfused » March 3rd, 2016, 1:03 pm

I lived in Bim for a while and while the newspapers and media don't report the crime , this leads to a false sense of security . I am not getting into sources of crime information , but as pointed out before , Tobago is much safer than Barbados .

Postby timelapse » March 3rd, 2016, 1:24 pm

I still say start back cutting chirren arse in school.Them youths have no sense of consequence.And those parents that bringing up little "princes" and "princesses" creating monsters with a false sense of entitlement.Train the chirren properly and crime will deteriorate over time.It too late for the adults.

Postby De Dragon » March 6th, 2016, 5:23 pm

RASC wrote:I want to know what would be our murder rate if we subtract all the "good boys" who got killed.

What would be the net total from Jan 1- Mar 1 if we do some rough guesstimation by subtracting the "good boy" clan.

:? :?
Murder is murder soldier........

antlind

Postby antlind » March 6th, 2016, 5:30 pm

timelapse wrote:I still say start back cutting chirren arse in school.Them youths have no sense of consequence.And those parents that bringing up little "princes" and "princesses" creating monsters with a false sense of entitlement.Train the chirren properly and crime will deteriorate over time.It too late for the adults.

You have a good point.

fallen_angel

Postby fallen_angel » March 8th, 2016, 2:48 am

great is the pnm

Postby desifemlove » March 8th, 2016, 7:16 am

trinidad is a different culture. different economy, morals, and values, and our grunta quotient is higher. and Bajans does suck up to white people, and needs to cos of tourism. hence why lower murder rate. but it's a wealthier country so dey mus be doing someting right.