wetfowl

Re: Importing a boat

Postby wetfowl » February 2nd, 2016, 3:30 am

Man dont give up on your dream "

Once you belive it you could achieve it "

_ the import process is like bring in a dog from foreign
the policy is what is the problem the work ethic of the local persons is what discourages you
! ! There is hope , you can do this it just takes time and some running around et.

BRZ

Postby BRZ » February 2nd, 2016, 7:50 am

rspann wrote:Thank God for Delaware Registration. :wink:

Why Delaware you may ask?

I have been hearing a lot of talk that ALL FOREIGN Boats will HAVE TO PAY the FULL Unsubsidized fuel rates soon. that wont be pretty....
http://victoriasetssail.com/why-delawar ... -the-scam/

Postby rspann » February 2nd, 2016, 7:25 pm

All foreign boats have to pay the unsubsidized price ever since,but there are ways to get around that too.

Postby zoom rader » February 3rd, 2016, 4:59 am

OP give up of ever buying a boat this government just killed off the yachting and boating industry .

The PNM is doing its best to finally close down the whole yachting industry in Chaguaramas while at the same time talking about diversification into tourism and yachting.

Every year the yachties bring in about US$20 million of urgently needed foreign currency. The yachting sector was in decline already over the past few years due to stronger competition from marinas in Grenada, the negative image of Trinidad and Tobago due to crime, complicated procedures at Customs and Immigration, arrogant behaviour of the Immigration and Customs officers towards them and finally attacks by Venezuelan pirates on yachts on their way between Grenada and Trinidad and Tobago.

So to let the cup overflow and really show the foreign yachties how much they are welcome here, Minister of Finance Colm Imbert decided to charge them 12.5 per cent VAT from February 1 on services done to their vessels.

Since 1989 those services and materials supplied, have been duty- and VAT-free like in any other country, due to the fact that it is considered an export, since the yacht would leave the country after servicing.

This new policy will mean that this country will not see any foreign yachts visit our shores for maintenance in the future.

The same yachties, while here, are also spending lots of their hard-earned foreign money in local businesses like supermarkets, pubs and restaurants, medical services, with even the doubles and bake and shark vendors and tour guides and taxi-drivers getting their share.

The consequence will be unemployment for people mostly from the west who are now working in the boat yards. Skilled labour from the yachting sector will migrate to Grenada.

Over the last few years Grenada has taken over many hundreds of our former yachting customers and has now opened another sparkling new state-of-the-art marina with space for 300 more boats.

Overall it will be a huge loss for the citizens of T&T and the local economy. The Government will lose millions in tax revenue and foreign currency income.

So, why do you have to change a VAT regulation that was in effect for almost 30 years as an incentive to bring in foreign investment (yachties do that) and create employment for your citizens and generate tax revenue?

This is what I call real short-sighted, Minister Imbert!

February 1 will go down in the history books as the day the PNM finally executed the booming yachting industry in T&T!

Probably in future the then-abandoned places in Chaguaramas where marinas are currently located can be transformed into another amusement park, Disney World-style, for example, to go along with the water park already under construction.

Rainer Dobring

Chaguaramas

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/20160201 ... cht-sector

BRZ

Postby BRZ » February 3rd, 2016, 8:05 am

government did NOT do that to the boating Industry Zoom, the Greedy arse workers who offer their services did that to THEMSELVES.
If you are not a boat owner I don't expect you to understand how down there operates.
The way our "locals" have been operating I'm not surprised that we saw a decline in boats coming ot Trinidad.
When a "laborer" want to charge you $100 USD to pick up a bucket to move it then what else do you expect a foreigner to think?

Postby zoom rader » February 3rd, 2016, 8:24 am

BRZ wrote:government did NOT do that to the boating Industry Zoom, the Greedy arse workers who offer their services did that to THEMSELVES.
If you are not a boat owner I don't expect you to understand how down there operates.
The way our "locals" have been operating I'm not surprised that we saw a decline in boats coming ot Trinidad.
When a "laborer" want to charge you $100 USD to pick up a bucket to move it then what else do you expect a foreigner to think?

Apart from lazy ass workers and what you are saying.

They now have vat to deal with so that is the final PNM nail on the coffin

BRZ

Postby BRZ » February 3rd, 2016, 8:37 am

zoom- TRY and reason, I know its hard to be in "opposition" but oh gorsh man, its not the gubbments fault, its the workers themselves and their GReed that destroyed the yachting industry already.
And btw, what the hell was the unc doing to improve the yachting industry there?
And please forget the ryme and song about hotel and bleh bleh bleh, we all know they were putting legitimate business places OUT so that they could try to control the western areas.
HArd luck there.

Postby Redman » February 3rd, 2016, 8:58 am

Over the last few years Grenada has taken over many hundreds of our former yachting customers and has now opened another sparkling new state-of-the-art marina with space for 300 more boats.

ert!

February 1 will go down in the history books as the day the PNM finally executed the booming yachting industry in T&T!

Over the last few years....yet 12.5% is the cause for the issues...

Its being dying due to shitty customer service,corrupt officials and poor security.

12.5% isnt an issue if you getting value for money..

If you were getting good service would it matter to you??

Postby zoom rader » February 3rd, 2016, 5:07 pm

BRZ wrote:zoom- TRY and reason, I know its hard to be in "opposition" but oh gorsh man, its not the gubbments fault, its the workers themselves and their GReed that destroyed the yachting industry already.
And btw, what the hell was the unc doing to improve the yachting industry there?
And please forget the ryme and song about hotel and bleh bleh bleh, we all know they were putting legitimate business places OUT so that they could try to control the western areas.
HArd luck there.

You docking a boat?

BRZ

Postby BRZ » February 3rd, 2016, 9:58 pm

BRZ wrote:zoom- TRY and reason, I know its hard to be in "opposition" but oh gorsh man, its not the gubbments fault, its the workers themselves and their GReed that destroyed the yachting industry already.
HArd luck there.

You docking a boat?

Nun ah yuh fu€k1ng business.

Postby zoom rader » February 4th, 2016, 2:26 am

BRZ wrote:
HArd luck there.

You docking a boat?

Nun ah yuh fu€k1ng business.

Lil girl answer.

Postby K74T » February 4th, 2016, 6:44 am

cripple fight

Enquiries

Postby Enquiries » August 21st, 2021, 8:08 pm

Hey, seeing that this was posted years ago, does anyone know if the importation process has improved? If not, do you know anyone that imports boats?

sam1978

Postby sam1978 » August 21st, 2021, 9:34 pm

They don’t build boats in Trinidad?

Postby Gladiator » August 21st, 2021, 11:32 pm

Boat kicking dog right now in Trinidad.... just buy one locally much less headache.