Re: List of items no longer zero-rated for VAT

Postby tr1ad » January 12th, 2016, 8:37 am

meh....

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » January 12th, 2016, 9:10 am

im pretty unhappy about the mushrooms. i gonna have to pay a full $1+ for a tin of mushrooms now. but, based on a skimmed analysis of both lists, my opinion is that based on current structure, any adverse effects will be negligible.

they messed up by making cornbred more expensive tho. that is lifeline to lower class and in particular youths trying to take care of themselves.

iimbert just did his job as re-arranger. i have to do a more detailed analysis to see where most of the vat collection is going to come from. no doubt mof already has that information and that is how they targetted items.

grapefruit juice for example. trinidad stretch tinned grapefruit juice is a product in high demand. always getting sold out. i personally have been using 1-2 tins a week.

if was to make a guess, based on the previous adjustments made by this government, that vat collection will be greatly increased, but with only about a $15 increase in grocery bill per week. or $60-$100 a month per person, for basic necessities. if u have luxury import items in your regular shopping that figure will be more.

so so far. imbert has increased the rate of circulation slightly, implemented extra stages to generate redundant vat collection. lowered the vat but reclaim much more than the loss through small increases and redundancy at the pump. and then increased vat collection at the supermarket targetting the most frequently bought non-essential items(though forgetting to exempt kiss cornbred on the basis of necessity and not just because it has high sales).

then property tax comin..

at this stage i would say that vat collection is the target. so far with minimal apparent increase in our bill at various outlets. with all the re-arrangements i suppose it can be said that we could be collecting by a 20-30% rate increase. meaning it is as though vat itself was raised to 20% from 15% instead of lowered to 12.5%. but with its current structure it can be marketted as lowered vat with a higher collection rate.

further targetting of the collection rate could lead also to something like luxury tax for certain imported items and foodstuffs at around 2-2.5%. a seperate tax to be calculated in addition to vat. but then is if imbert willing to pay extra himself for croutons and shelless crab and crab back. lol
Last edited by bluesclues on January 12th, 2016, 9:20 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby The_Honourable » January 12th, 2016, 9:17 am

After all this noise, if people still buying... we will continue just being complainers :|

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » January 12th, 2016, 9:22 am

SR wrote:Honestly not really affected.....but oh goarrr peanut butter man.........

yeah peanut punch is affected.

Postby Habit7 » January 12th, 2016, 9:40 am

The_Honourable wrote:After all this noise, if people still buying... we will continue just being complainers :|

This so true. Prices raise 34% under the PP and no one bat an eye. http://www.guardian.co.tt/business-guar ... five-years

The zero rating of 7000 food items didn't reduce food prices http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/2013-06- ... food-flops

But lower VAT on cars, utilities bills, hardware material, clothes, imported goods and other things we buy and it would seem like nobody is counting that.

Postby zoom rader » January 12th, 2016, 9:40 am

Wey de PNM tuners to defend this bag ah chit.

Habit7 and Rasc must be eating lobster by Rowely and well we know we cant see Rfari

EmilioA

Postby EmilioA » January 12th, 2016, 9:43 am

Taxing orange juice and herring ? Butter ? Coffee? Ketchup / I thought the PNM had more sense than that.

This is a tax aimed at hurting the middle and lower class and leaves the upper class in the clear.

trinigamer

Postby trinigamer » January 12th, 2016, 9:43 am

Computers, computer parts and books now vatable

Postby Habit7 » January 12th, 2016, 9:44 am

10 years ago when I was a student in Jamaica paying 17.5% GCT (VAT) only after I see the total at the register, I would tell my friends from Barbados and Jamaica we pay 15% and it is already included in price tag and they though T&T was an oil rich paradise.

Chickens come home to rouse now.
Last edited by Habit7 on January 12th, 2016, 9:54 am, edited 1 time in total.

EmilioA

Postby EmilioA » January 12th, 2016, 9:44 am

Taxing orange juice and herring ? Butter ? Coffee? Ketchup / I thought the PNM had more sense than that.

This is a tax aimed at hurting the middle and lower class and leaves the upper class in the clear.

Postby zoom rader » January 12th, 2016, 9:46 am

EmilioA wrote:Taxing orange juice and herring ? Butter ? Coffee? Ketchup / I thought the PNM had more sense than that.

The greatest Con Job of all time.

I warned you all

uncle sam

Postby uncle sam » January 12th, 2016, 9:53 am

I didn't know people liked cornbread so much.. hmm

EmilioA

Postby EmilioA » January 12th, 2016, 9:54 am

EmilioA wrote:Taxing orange juice and herring ? Butter ? Coffee? Ketchup / I thought the PNM had more sense than that.

The greatest Con Job of all time.

I warned you all

You warned us the the PP would leave the PNM with massive debt ? When ?

The greatest con job was Kamla.

ADONI

Postby ADONI » January 12th, 2016, 9:59 am

Support local. I have roasted coffee beans and cocoa.

Postby Spitfir3 » January 12th, 2016, 10:02 am

ketchup and peanut butter steups.....

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » January 12th, 2016, 10:19 am

tax yuh way out recession in a hole in the bucket economy imbert.

i really hope u have some plans that need to stand on this taxing rampage u going on.

10-01

Postby 10-01 » January 12th, 2016, 10:24 am

12540869_753007958166232_7300968819289042704_n.jpg

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » January 12th, 2016, 10:34 am

tryin to find alcohol.

did alcohol benefit from a 2.5% reduction in vat and not get adjusted? so all the hennessy, crystal, johnnie walker actually cheaper now? what going on? tax payer paying for imbert luxurious sunday lunch and then still have to buy their own? ontop of which tourists coming for carnival will spend less money on cheaper alcohol? a loss of 2.5% in tourist revenues in the alcohol sector.

imported alcohol should endure a luxury tax. especially the more expensive ones.

Postby S_2NR » January 12th, 2016, 10:37 am

trinigamer wrote:Computers, computer parts and books now vatable

Wait... What

Postby Chimera » January 12th, 2016, 10:41 am

damn @ computers/tablets/books now being vatable

that sucks

Postby S_2NR » January 12th, 2016, 10:47 am

Pnm gonna tax every mc thing now awa.

gencon

Postby gencon » January 12th, 2016, 10:50 am

once cow heel don't go up, because I like my cow heel soup.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 12th, 2016, 10:51 am

Habit7 wrote:But lower VAT on cars, utilities bills, hardware material, clothes, imported goods and other things we buy and it would seem like nobody is counting that.
what people are seeing is a 2.5% reduction in VAT on those things but a 12.5% increase on basic food items.

10-01

Postby 10-01 » January 12th, 2016, 10:52 am

Habit7 wrote:But lower VAT on cars, utilities bills, hardware material, clothes, imported goods and other things we buy and it would seem like nobody is counting that.
what people are seeing is a 2.5% reduction in VAT on those things but a 12.5% increase on basic food items.

i expect doubles to hit $6 soon :|

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » January 12th, 2016, 10:54 am

it really isnt right to forgoe tourism sector revenues while taxing the people to get out of recession with a foreign exchange bleed occuring. i feel imbert missed the obvious in a blindsided attempt at textbook economic revival methods.

if he tax luxury alcohols and products he wont have to tax computers and BOOKS!

kinda mad bro. just saying. we dont tx books round here. and we behind in technological development as it is u make computer more difficult to aqcuire and the cost of setting up business higher as well.

mm mm the deeper i look the more ramifications i see cropping up over the long term that dont look good. i really hope imbert has something to compliment this taxing scheme. because by itself, it will still fail to revive the economy.

Postby S_2NR » January 12th, 2016, 10:59 am

bluesclues wrote:it really isnt right to forgoe tourism sector revenues while taxing the people to get out of recession with a foreign exchange bleed occuring. i feel imbert missed the obvious in a blindsided attempt at textbook economic revival methods.

if he tax luxury alcohols and products he wont have to tax computers and BOOKS!

kinda mad bro. just saying. we dont tx books round here. and we behind in technological development as it is u make computer more difficult to aqcuire and the cost of setting up business higher as well.

mm mm the deeper i look the more ramifications i see cropping up over the long term that dont look good. i really hope imbert has something to compliment this taxing scheme. because by itself, it will still fail to revive the economy.

Books?

Fackin books?!

BOOKS yu say?!

firetruck pnm

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » January 12th, 2016, 11:07 am

most i could tell allyuh at this point is to clamour for a luxury tax on expensive imported items. and alcohol. and get it enstated on luxury imported alcohol before carnival start.

2.5% extra on all the fancy ting. it have people who will buy those things once a month or year for celebration. and it have those who buying it every day and it dont put a dent in their pocket. u want to collect tax.. go there.

Postby ismithx » January 12th, 2016, 11:07 am

take one big steups for that list yes

Postby Chimera » January 12th, 2016, 11:14 am

lol ....first they stop kids from getting free books in schools

now they want to tax books being imported........

like they really want trinis be dotish or stay dotish

taxing computers/tablets fall in the same thing

computers are key to education nowadays.....

RED AND READY!!!!!

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » January 12th, 2016, 11:17 am

AYSN wrote:lol ....first they stop kids from getting free books in schools

now they want to tax books being imported........

like they really want trinis be dotish or stay dotish

taxing computers/tablets fall in the same thing

computers are key to education nowadays.....

RED AND READY!!!!!

i was going to say it but stopped myself. but now that u say it. it seems that pnm have a problem with a population of intelligent and educated citizens. because those move do certainly seem aimed at hampering growth and advancement on a personal level.