Are we ever satisfied with our lives?

Re: Are we ever satisfied with our lives?

Postby alfa » September 1st, 2024, 8:18 am

Unfortunately for the current generation coming into the workforce in this country most may never own a home unless inherited much less be able to plan for illnesses later in life or comfortable retirement

Postby zoom rader » September 1st, 2024, 9:13 am

alfa wrote:Unfortunately for the current generation coming into the workforce in this country most may never own a home unless inherited much less be able to plan for illnesses later in life or comfortable retirement
In modern day and age, u limit the number of offsprings u have. Have a more than 2 offsprings is costly and makes no sense.

Even marriage does not benefit men. Marriage is bad for a man financially

Postby pugboy » September 1st, 2024, 10:15 am

that is a reality for many countries
look at any big city
few persons will own a property there
rent all their life unless they retire and move out of town

alfa wrote:Unfortunately for the current generation coming into the workforce in this country most may never own a home unless inherited much less be able to plan for illnesses later in life or comfortable retirement

Bad Dog

Postby Bad Dog » September 1st, 2024, 10:26 am

When you are young, strong, healthy, and employed nothing matters as you feel that you are invincible. Money in your pocket to buy the things you want, to be able to go where you want and do things that you want. Note the "want" factor. But as you age and health begins to fade you reflect on the important things that you "need" in life as family, friends and financial security your perspective shifts. Sometimes its too late.

Postby VexXx Dogg » September 1st, 2024, 10:34 am

AlphaMan wrote:I've been thinking about life lately and I'm asking myself what really matters.
The big house.
Fancy Cars.
Wealth accumulation.
Women.
When we die we all leave this behind.
What really matters to you?
Wealth accumulation to offset ur aging health potential issues.

A dwelling from homelessness.

A hobby that occupies time & mind.

Those are all that you need

Powerful insights bro.

Postby alfa » September 1st, 2024, 10:46 am

Something that I've been thinking about lately. We have an aging population and live expectancy can expect to increase in the future. Most folks I know have one kid if so much, so when these only children reach old age what is their plan regarding dealing with illness and infirmity. It's not like long ago where one kid stayed back in life to take care of parents, even in present day it doesn't happen much.
Not sure how developed countries who have already reached that stage deals with it but it's a big problem for the upcoming generations locally especially with the modern feminist movement who encourage women to put off having children until it's to late
Even in my middle age I know lots of people who aren't married, probably never will and the women are long past fertile stage

Postby pugboy » September 1st, 2024, 11:12 am

it’s a worldwide problem
and most country’s pension systems are collapsing hence increasing retirement age

ppl need to invest from the start of their working career if they can and practice good financial hygiene
to be able to have alternative income sources later on

otherwise you only making them alcohol companies and fast food richer

in mid ninety’s nigel romano used to write investment articles in the guardian
some of the best advice i ever read and glad i followed from then

doh mind he turn out to be a pnm party hack

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » September 1st, 2024, 11:45 am

One of the complaints I read online of people not having children is that they "don't want to raise the future corporate slaves". When you think about it, it makes alot of sense because there's a very likelihood that is what's going to happen to their future offspring. Now people never used to think like that but with all global inflation making life more difficult to live except for the corporate rich folks it emboldened people to think like that. Look at who is the ones telling people to have children as much as they can, its the same corporate folks yet they are the ones hoarding all the wealth from the ones who they want to have children which will be their slaves in the future. Make it make sense.

Postby zoom rader » September 1st, 2024, 11:49 am

alfa wrote:Something that I've been thinking about lately. We have an aging population and live expectancy can expect to increase in the future. Most folks I know have one kid if so much, so when these only children reach old age what is their plan regarding dealing with illness and infirmity. It's not like long ago where one kid stayed back in life to take care of parents, even in present day it doesn't happen much.
Not sure how developed countries who have already reached that stage deals with it but it's a big problem for the upcoming generations locally especially with the modern feminist movement who encourage women to put off having children until it's to late
Even in my middle age I know lots of people who aren't married, probably never will and the women are long past fertile stage
Bro

Wealth accumulation is a must to offset ur aging health potential issues.

A dwelling from homelessness.

A hobby that occupies time & mind.

Those are all that you need.

Kids come and go, some dont see or care about thier parents.

A life partner may help you but these are long ago.

Postby zoom rader » September 1st, 2024, 11:52 am

DMan7 wrote:One of the complaints I read online of people not having children is that they "don't want to raise the future corporate slaves". When you think about it, it makes alot of sense because there's a very likelihood that is what's going to happen to their future offspring. Now people never used to think like that but with all global inflation making life more difficult to live except for the corporate rich folks it emboldened people to think like that. Look at who is the ones telling people to have children as much as they can, its the same corporate folks yet they are the ones hoarding all the wealth from the ones who they want to have children which will be their slaves in the future. Make it make sense.
Don't have kids untill ur are financially secure and you are willing to put in the work & responsible with kids.

Postby The_Honourable » September 1st, 2024, 12:11 pm

DMan7 wrote:One of the complaints I read online of people not having children is that they "don't want to raise the future corporate slaves". When you think about it, it makes alot of sense because there's a very likelihood that is what's going to happen to their future offspring. Now people never used to think like that but with all global inflation making life more difficult to live except for the corporate rich folks it emboldened people to think like that. Look at who is the ones telling people to have children as much as they can, its the same corporate folks yet they are the ones hoarding all the wealth from the ones who they want to have children which will be their slaves in the future. Make it make sense.
Don't have kids untill ur are financially secure and you are willing to put in the work & responsible with kids.

Correct...

To me it is a sin bringing children into the world knowing fully well you don't have the money and resources to take care of them. But then again, raw is law for men and biological clock ticking for women.

These days i'm seeing adults asking why their parents brought them into the world that has so many tribulations. That question is getting louder each passing generation as the world seems not to be improving.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » September 1st, 2024, 12:20 pm

The_Honourable wrote:

Correct...

To me it is a sin bringing children into the world knowing fully well you don't have the money and resources to take care of them. But then again, raw is law for men and biological clock ticking for women.

These days i'm seeing adults asking why their parents brought them into the world that has so many tribulations. That question is getting louder each passing generation as the world seems not to be improving.

You know, I didn’t really think much about having kids until almost too late. I wasted plenty of time in relationships that just didn’t work out. Now I wish I had started a family earlier. People always talking about how the world going downhill—climate change, crime, and all that—but honestly, things getting better in plenty ways. Technology making life easier, poverty going down, and even though houses might seem expensive, we living better now than 30 years ago. Yeah, there are problems, but who say the future go be bad? Bringing kids into this world is about hope, not selfishness.

Plus, when you think about it, having kids makes sense economically too. Birth rates dropping, and we need a new generation to keep things moving. Kids are our future, and they go be the ones to fix the problems we couldn’t. And don’t forget, raising children now means they’ll have better tools to make the world even better. So, yeah, I regret not having kids sooner, but it’s never too late to invest in the future, for ourselves and for the world we leaving behind. Simple as that.

INDAVID WORKSHOP

Postby INDAVID WORKSHOP » September 1st, 2024, 3:32 pm

Guys,

Got news today a family members worked tirelessly and built his business, due to health issues Doctors cannot help save him no money value option available ( person passed away today) my advise is always take care of your body to be sure to ensure all your gain in the twilight years of your life- Old adage-- Your HEALTH is your WEALTH.

Postby MaxPower » September 1st, 2024, 3:35 pm

Deteriorating health does lick up savings severely especially if you don’t have good insurance coverage.

Postby zoom rader » September 1st, 2024, 4:38 pm

INDAVID WORKSHOP wrote:Guys,

Got news today a family members worked tirelessly and built his business, due to health issues Doctors cannot help save him no money value option available ( person passed away today) my advise is always take care of your body to be sure to ensure all your gain in the twilight years of your life- Old adage-- Your HEALTH is your WEALTH.
Sorry to hear,

There are many more in this same situation, i had family members that were in this same situation.

Postby zoom rader » September 1st, 2024, 4:47 pm

I have seen it countless time where folks retire after 40 yrs from thier job and they die within 5 - 10yrs.

Most of these folks after retirement do absolutely nothing, they sit around watch TV , have no hobbies or even a social life. All they knew was work.

When u retire u have to keep active, even it if means planting a lil garden. There are lots a person can do.

Joining a gym after 60 is never too late.

Postby pugboy » September 1st, 2024, 5:41 pm

very common, it usually happens to ppl who worked hardtheir entire life or are selfmade
their brains are not wired for the sudden shift of "not working"

persons who worked in govt public sector and always doing the bare minimum dont have this problem

unless you are a multi multimillionaire
remember you are always one sickness away from being close to bankrupt

zoom rader wrote:I have seen it countless time where folks retire after 40 yrs from thier job and they die within 5 - 10yrs.

Most of these folks after retirement do absolutely nothing, they sit around watch TV , have no hobbies or even a social life. All they knew was work.

When u retire u have to keep active, even it if means planting a lil garden. There are lots a person can do.

Joining a gym after 60 is never too late.

triniterribletim

Postby triniterribletim » September 2nd, 2024, 2:23 pm

If you can manage to retire early and live life how you want, then that's as close to being fully satisfied that I've seen. Don't spend your life chasing the dollar and fattening other people's pockets instead of seeking your own interests and enriching yourself. Even if it has to be that way, never accept that it is a permanent situation and be ready to jump on any exit strategies that arise. Time is something that you will never get back and experiences are often more valuable than tangibles, depending on where you are at in life.

Postby zoom rader » September 2nd, 2024, 2:47 pm

triniterribletim wrote:If you can manage to retire early and live life how you want, then that's as close to being fully satisfied that I've seen. Don't spend your life chasing the dollar and fattening other people's pockets instead of seeking your own interests and enriching yourself. Even if it has to be that way, never accept that it is a permanent situation and be ready to jump on any exit strategies that arise. Time is something that you will never get back and experiences are often more valuable than tangibles, depending on where you are at in life.

Ueli

Re: What Really Matters?

Postby Ueli » September 2nd, 2024, 7:21 pm

AlphaMan wrote:I've been thinking about life lately and I'm asking myself what really matters.
The big house.
Fancy Cars.
Wealth accumulation.
Women.
When we die we all leave this behind.
What really matters to you?

If you really want to achieve all of the above Godspeed brother. If you feel fulfilled could be having a lot fancy cars, get those cars bruh. Do what you feel is right for you. Don't let anyone tell you how to live your life.

What really matters is if you lived a good life.

A little word of financial caution to prevent stressssssss:
A big house: $$$$$$$$
Regular car: $$$$
Wealth Accumulation: $$$
Women: depends ($-$$$)
OR
Regular house: $$$$$$
GTR: $$$$$$
Wealth Accumulation: $
Women: still have to spend here ($-$$$)

Pick your struggle.

Postby Country_Bookie » September 4th, 2024, 7:36 pm

alfa wrote:Something that I've been thinking about lately. We have an aging population and live expectancy can expect to increase in the future. Most folks I know have one kid if so much, so when these only children reach old age what is their plan regarding dealing with illness and infirmity. It's not like long ago where one kid stayed back in life to take care of parents, even in present day it doesn't happen much.
Are you suggesting children be expected to forego their life and career to take care of their parents? Isn't that selfish of the parents? Children need to be grateful and help their parents of course..... but it's not like long time where children will drop out of school or stop working to take care of a parent full time.

People also need to stop this thinking that they can rely on children to take care of them when they get old..... plenty of the current generation of young adults eh care about their parents. These parents would have been better off investing in health and critical illness insurance for themselves and building retirement savings so they can afford a geriatric nurse when they can no longer do for themselves.

Postby paid_influencer » September 4th, 2024, 9:46 pm

yea plenty people getting ketch in that middle zone with seeing about aged parents on one side and seeing about young children on the next side.

in many cases the old-aged parents demand and expect to be seen about first since they have the property and can throw you and yuh pygmy out. is really not a choice because of low wages, economic stagnation, high rents and cost of living. the middle zoned parent have to make sacrifices on both ends and pay for both elderly and childcare costs.

the real joke is the people that get ketch in that trap does normally get screwed anyway. the aged-parent either doh leave a will (siblings fighting for land scene) or give it to the favourite instead of the one that wipe they bottom and dey on beck and call. rarely you see the one who actually do all the work get anything.

AlphaMan

Postby AlphaMan » September 8th, 2024, 11:14 am

paid_influencer wrote:yea plenty people getting ketch in that middle zone with seeing about aged parents on one side and seeing about young children on the next side.

in many cases the old-aged parents demand and expect to be seen about first since they have the property and can throw you and yuh pygmy out. is really not a choice because of low wages, economic stagnation, high rents and cost of living. the middle zoned parent have to make sacrifices on both ends and pay for both elderly and childcare costs.

the real joke is the people that get ketch in that trap does normally get screwed anyway. the aged-parent either doh leave a will (siblings fighting for land scene) or give it to the favourite instead of the one that wipe they bottom and dey on beck and call. rarely you see the one who actually do all the work get anything.

Truer words have never been spoken.

Postby timelapse » September 10th, 2024, 8:51 am

What if you are too satisfied with your life and lack motivation to do anything?

Postby zoom rader » September 10th, 2024, 10:14 am

timelapse wrote:What if you are too satisfied with your life and lack motivation to do anything?
Thats suicide

Postby mero » September 10th, 2024, 10:35 am

If you died before achieving your "goals " ,is that considered being a failure?

AlphaMan

Postby AlphaMan » September 10th, 2024, 10:39 am

mero wrote:If you died before achieving your "goals " ,is that considered being a failure?

No.
That's considered an unfortunate circumstance.

Postby mero » September 10th, 2024, 11:18 am

In who's eyes? Is success/ worth/ happiness according to others perception of you?

Say all u wanted was to build/acquire a house for your family/get your degree/get married / start your business and all these ppl depended on you and that was your missing and purpose in life, then u just dead...

You'll technically be a failure...not so?

Postby bluefete » September 10th, 2024, 5:48 pm

zoom rader wrote:Don't have kids untill ur are financially secure and you are willing to put in the work & responsible with kids.

THIS!!! Glad I waited. Too many people are not emotionally or financially ready to have children.

Also, live below your means but always remember that one day, you will be feed for worms or ashes for the air.

Sometimes, the simplest things make life worthwhile. The parrots squaking in the afternoon, the breeze coming through your home, the laughter of children, harvesting your home grown cassava or pigeon peas., enjoying a sunrise on the beach and above all - GOOD HEALTH! No amount of money can buy the satisfaction that comes from those things.

Great thread.

one eye

Postby one eye » September 11th, 2024, 10:25 am

All you need in this life is God and the Holy Bible.

The rest will take care of itself.