Re: 600 lose jobs at Arcelor Mital

Postby tr1ad » December 8th, 2015, 9:13 am

safe on repsol?

d firetruck i reading

Postby Redman » December 8th, 2015, 9:20 am

the man didnt specify that he felt safe on Repsol.

EmilioA

Postby EmilioA » December 8th, 2015, 9:21 am

desifemlove wrote:so you have good financial management...cool for you, eh? thing is to link how a big global industry operates to a PM in a small country is bull. these job losses are part of this firm's global retrenchment, little else. I only responding in dis thread cos it funny to see de UNCs and them cite economic illiteracy.

the general trend is dis is symptomatic of a bad PNM econonmic management...no lol. http://www.meps.co.uk/World%20Carbon%20Price.htm leh Dr. Keith tek the blame, cos UNCs tink he should.

If you did not know it was first ISCOTT an all owned PNM government steel plant, built with tax payers money.
That went bust in the mid 1980s and then it was leased by NAR to ISPATT that made huge profits that leaped frogged Mittal to where he is today. Its was the Trinidad Plant that part built his fortune with cheap Trini labour and a weak trade union.
Mittal later brought the Plant lock stock and barrel in the mid 1990s

So in reality it was the PNM and the lazy workforce that bust ISCOTT . There was always a market for steel.

There is also one other Iron plant in Pt Lisas and they to my knowledge are still up and running with no Job cuts. This plant normally ships its good workers abroad to other plants to work.

Yes boy I like your thinking . The damn plant get sold in 1990s but somehow PNM still responsible for them.

With that kinda thinking we should be blaming Kamla for the next 30 years. :D :lol:

Cantmis

Postby Cantmis » December 8th, 2015, 9:32 am

Public sector is the place to be .

Postby RBphoto » December 8th, 2015, 9:37 am

tr1ad wrote:safe on repsol?

d firetruck i reading

I said there were some that I wore my life jacket at all times.... I thought that experienced persons would know which ones I was talking about...lol.

Postby 88sins » December 8th, 2015, 9:44 am

he who purposely fails to prepare, should be prepared to fail.

Postby RBphoto » December 8th, 2015, 9:46 am

88sins wrote:he who purposely fails to prepare, should be prepared to fail.

But going home hard any which way you take it.

Postby S_2NR » December 8th, 2015, 9:56 am

You serious right now?

HSA

Postby HSA » December 8th, 2015, 10:09 am

Best thing is to start a food business....everybody hadda eat....and once it tastin good u in ah gear

Postby MG Man » December 8th, 2015, 10:21 am

Advent wrote:Gov contract workers are being let go , also slumberJ is releasing 10,000 people as well

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

slumberJ

slumberJ

slumberJ

Postby tr1ad » December 8th, 2015, 10:33 am

slumberJ

slumberJ

slumberJ

Postby RBphoto » December 8th, 2015, 10:40 am

slumberJ goes good with a doubles.

Postby S_2NR » December 8th, 2015, 10:48 am

:rofl: still not as bad as "slumburger"

Postby 88sins » December 8th, 2015, 11:52 am

S_2NR wrote:

You serious right now?

as a heart attack
Mittal is a privately owned entity, so the owners & directorship can & will do what they deem necessary to ensure the survival of the business. If that's sending home 600 ppl, thats what it is. Gov't aint got squat to do with it.

Not saying sudden & unexpected unemployment isn't hard. It can be. But does not have to be, thats the thing. They lost their jobs, they ain't dead. Many of them would have had a chance to takes steps to ensure their employability, whether within the company or elsewhere. Whoever didn't take the time & effort to do so, whatever negative impact of this loss of employment befalls them is not anyones fault but their own.
Those that did would not be at a loss for what to do next, and would have something to tide them over for a while during the employment gap.

if persons find the taste of this flavor of logic a lil unpleasant, daiz dem biznes

Postby desifemlove » December 8th, 2015, 12:01 pm

thing is, if these peopel were smart, they would look at the world steel industry. job losses all over, laargely due to China slowdown.

I concede Zoom has a good point...in all spheres, number 1 is most important. these people laid off cyah blame PNM or Rowley. if they do, they only have primary school/nursery school education.....

Daran

Postby Daran » December 8th, 2015, 12:07 pm

Not saying this is true, but all these announcements and layoffs seem to be purposely timed with right before Christmas. Seems like they want to sabotage the Syrian xmas profits.

Postby RBphoto » December 8th, 2015, 12:31 pm

We need to kick start the agriculture sector and have young people skilled in the basic jobs. We also have to look at high tech manufacturing such as semiconductor, optics and communication systems. We have too much basic oil/gas extraction and refining of raw materials. With globalization, we can offer services remotely with a highly skilled IT force. In short, we need to diversify and we can't wait on government to do it.

Postby sMASH » December 8th, 2015, 12:44 pm

Look at how many people sell market all over. We have good food production for domestic use. It can be Cheaper but laws of supply and demand would sort that out. What we need is international marketable goods and services to bring income into the country.
We need to find things in demand externally, and satisfy those wants.

konartis

Postby konartis » December 8th, 2015, 12:44 pm

Advent wrote:Gov contract workers are being let go , also slumberJ is releasing 10,000 people as well

Government contract worker were already let go before the gov change, their contracts that ended in August wasnt renewed and they didn't know where they stand til after the election.

Postby sMASH » December 8th, 2015, 1:03 pm

We may not be able to get into the semiconductor field as it is highly specialized, but what we can do is become raw material suppliers or an American market assembly location. We can convert the oil and gas into the raw materials necessary for the plastics they use. We already do melamine and methanol, soon dme. Time to get even more intimate with plastics.

If we can get the silicon aspect developed we can then downstream even more into semiconductor avenue.

I say a one foot in front the other approach, but in a direction towards the semiconductor.

Problem is seeing Africa with so much human resources being a carbon copy of the Asian electronics within the decade. They have most of the pieces, and Google and akon helping them fit together.

Brazil is doing its thing quietly. India already has a solid base to launch. We little Trinidad need to innovate quickly and settle in.

Our biggest problem is that we have clowns voting clowns into office. We could stave that a lot if we move from Westminster government to An American arrangement. But this system benefits those in office, so I doubt we could get people who know what needs to be done, into the places they can do it.

Advent

Postby Advent » December 8th, 2015, 1:14 pm

Only non supporters of the present government will most likely be released.

actually is everyone, this is because PP/UNC brought in many redundant positions to eat ah food, the purge is in effect my brother

slumberJ

slumberJ

slumberJ

And yes i did deliberately spell "Schlumberger " as SlumberJ :lol:

konartis wrote:

Government contract worker were already let go before the gov change, their contracts that ended in August wasnt renewed and they didn't know where they stand til after the election.

Yeah, see my previous take on this up in this post..

Postby RBphoto » December 8th, 2015, 1:54 pm

sMASH wrote:We may not be able to get into the semiconductor field as it is highly specialized.

Exactly, we need to break some barriers and get kids to dream big. All Engineers are expected to do here is work in O&G, manufacturing and commercial roles. Without an R&D kick start, we won't go anywhere. There is such a thing as licencing patents and buying technology for us to get get a seed to grow.

Advent

Postby Advent » December 8th, 2015, 2:10 pm

RBphoto wrote:
sMASH wrote:We may not be able to get into the semiconductor field as it is highly specialized.

Exactly, we need to break some barriers and get kids to dream big. All Engineers are expected to do here is work in O&G, manufacturing and commercial roles. Without an R&D kick start, we won't go anywhere. There is such a thing as licencing patents and buying technology for us to get get a seed to grow.

ive been saying this for years boi RB, we could have been the Taiwan of the Caribbean sigh

Postby RBphoto » December 8th, 2015, 2:19 pm

Advent wrote:we could have been the Taiwan of the Caribbean sigh

I don't think we have enough ladyboys for that, but I could be wrong.

Postby zoom rader » December 8th, 2015, 2:22 pm

EmilioA wrote:
desifemlove wrote:so you have good financial management...cool for you, eh? thing is to link how a big global industry operates to a PM in a small country is bull. these job losses are part of this firm's global retrenchment, little else. I only responding in dis thread cos it funny to see de UNCs and them cite economic illiteracy.

the general trend is dis is symptomatic of a bad PNM econonmic management...no lol. http://www.meps.co.uk/World%20Carbon%20Price.htm leh Dr. Keith tek the blame, cos UNCs tink he should.

If you did not know it was first ISCOTT an all owned PNM government steel plant, built with tax payers money.
That went bust in the mid 1980s and then it was leased by NAR to ISPATT that made huge profits that leaped frogged Mittal to where he is today. Its was the Trinidad Plant that part built his fortune with cheap Trini labour and a weak trade union.
Mittal later brought the Plant lock stock and barrel in the mid 1990s

So in reality it was the PNM and the lazy workforce that bust ISCOTT . There was always a market for steel.

There is also one other Iron plant in Pt Lisas and they to my knowledge are still up and running with no Job cuts. This plant normally ships its good workers abroad to other plants to work.

Yes boy I like your thinking . The damn plant get sold in 1990s but somehow PNM still responsible for them.

With that kinda thinking we should be blaming Kamla for the next 30 years. :D :lol:

When the plant was opened in the very 1980s and if it had the right people with good work ethics to run it Trini would still own the plant and make billions.

The wrong people were employed that bust the plant in mid 80s indians took it over and made billions.

You do the maths

Postby dougla_boy » December 8th, 2015, 2:42 pm

RBphoto wrote:
Advent wrote:we could have been the Taiwan of the Caribbean sigh

I don't think we have enough ladyboys for that, but I could be wrong.

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

pjfred

Postby pjfred » December 8th, 2015, 4:13 pm

PNM strikes again, fire all those mofos! We don't them for steel. We could import.
Pnm, making the breadlines grow one company at a time.

Postby zoom rader » December 8th, 2015, 4:52 pm

I hope the Government will understand that once the Steel mill is down so is Powergen and TTEC cause the Steel plant is biggest paycheck to them all.
Let me see how Powergen and TTEC gonna pay their bills now
Plus the down streamers are affected .

Meanwhile the Steel union is a bunch of fcuks that support this government. Unions can no longer be trusted. Don't get involved in unions

Daran

Postby Daran » December 8th, 2015, 5:30 pm

zoom rader wrote:I hope the Government will understand that once the Steel mill is down so is Powergen and TTEC cause the Steel plant is biggest paycheck to them all.
Let me see how Powergen and TTEC gonna pay their bills now
Plus the down streamers are affected .

Meanwhile the Steel union is a bunch of fcuks that support this government. Unions can no longer be trusted. Don't get involved in unions

yea T&TEC rates set to increase soon.

It's all fine to blame the PP for squadermania during their last years in power, but it's even more irresponsible to come into office and lower taxes during this period.

BRZ

Postby BRZ » December 8th, 2015, 5:35 pm

S_2NR wrote:

You serious right now?

as a heart attack
Mittal is a privately owned entity, so the owners & directorship can & will do what they deem necessary to ensure the survival of the business. If that's sending home 600 ppl, thats what it is. Gov't aint got squat to do with it.

Not saying sudden & unexpected unemployment isn't hard. It can be. But does not have to be, thats the thing. They lost their jobs, they ain't dead. Many of them would have had a chance to takes steps to ensure their employability, whether within the company or elsewhere. Whoever didn't take the time & effort to do so, whatever negative impact of this loss of employment befalls them is not anyones fault but their own.
Those that did would not be at a loss for what to do next, and would have something to tide them over for a while during the employment gap.

if persons find the taste of this flavor of logic a lil unpleasant, daiz dem biznes

Problem is the " trade unions " in this country quick to jump up and bawl unfair bullsh1t, they quick to support workers and camp outside , dance beat bottle and sing to make a frigging spectacle of themselves. They are so full of sh1t.