Best way to keep moss from growing on concrete?

York

Re: Best way to keep moss from growing on concrete?

Postby York » November 17th, 2015, 11:42 am

or pressure wash twice per rainy season and yuh good to go...

Postby MG Man » November 17th, 2015, 11:46 am

nah jed, once rain falling, is more like every 2-4 weeks

INHUMAN

Postby INHUMAN » November 17th, 2015, 3:19 pm

"a rolling stone gathers no moss"

York

Postby York » November 18th, 2015, 7:57 pm

INHUMAN wrote:"a rolling stone gathers no moss"

and rolling concrete?

INHUMAN

Postby INHUMAN » November 18th, 2015, 9:24 pm

Well i yet to see that...cept on tv via earthquakes

Postby De Dragon » November 18th, 2015, 11:02 pm

beetee wrote:hey nerve,

i have a large concrete yard. moss is an ongoing problem for me.

i buy chlorine powder from ramlagan hardware in couva for $10 a pound.
sprinkle it on wet yard and leave overnight.

It cuts most of the moss, then u can spray it off with a pressure washer or hose.

Bleach also works if you can't find chlorine powder.

Wet the surface, sprinkle the sodium hypochlorite granules, spread it around with your yard broom, and then wash off. I don't soak overnight and it comes off easily anyway. The only concrete that I have seen to not get mossy is the really high strength pre-mixed from ReadyMix.

Postby nervewrecker » December 2nd, 2015, 6:03 pm

Well I bought some of that muriatic acid and that dealt with all the moss brisk brisk.

Got the concrete sealer from Sherwin Williams and applied some to a spot to see how it goes. So far water dont penetrate the concrete in that spot. No wet surface should = no moss I suppose. Lets give it a few months and see how it goes.

antlind

Postby antlind » December 2nd, 2015, 6:12 pm

How much did the concrete sealer cost you? Hope you don't mind me asking.

Postby nervewrecker » December 2nd, 2015, 8:29 pm

Its $275.00 or something so for a gallon. Really bounce my head and should have bought the second gallon when they had the $40% off sale.

Will post pics when its daytime, was busy today.

antlind

Postby antlind » December 2nd, 2015, 9:07 pm

I thought so. It's very expensive.

Postby nervewrecker » December 2nd, 2015, 9:11 pm

I was just passing by the place and bought a gallon. Didnt call the place Rory recommended. Perhaps someone can give them a call and see what they have to offer. We can compare prices here (if we are allowed).
The stuff I bought available in different colors btw (they asked me what color).

Postby nervewrecker » December 3rd, 2015, 9:23 am

Sent from my Nexus 4 using Tapatalk

Postby nervewrecker » December 3rd, 2015, 9:26 am

I throw some water on two spots there, the third pic shows where the sealer end and the concrete starts to wet at the top almost center.

York

Postby York » December 3rd, 2015, 10:55 pm

Ramlagan's Hardware has something similar. Plus there are floor coatings that are similarly priced, from Sherwin Williams too.

What's the coverage from the gallon for the Concrete Sealer?

Postby pugboy » December 4th, 2015, 7:46 am

penta have big sale in grand bazaar
but thers would be coloured concrete floor paint