Looking to Get my First Motorbike(Your thoughts as a biker)

Re: Looking to Get my First Motorbike(Your thoughts as a biker)

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » April 21st, 2018, 11:06 pm

BTW

How much does Motorbike Insurance actually cost for first time riders?

And how many people in this country ride bikes without insurance?

Also if buying a bike what is the best way to avoid buying a stolen bike? say you buy a new bike how much does that cost?

Postby zoom rader » April 22nd, 2018, 7:49 am

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:BTW

Also if buying a bike what is the best way to avoid buying a stolen bike? say you buy a new bike how much does that cost?

To get Insurance its best you have a clean history of driving. If you are with Guardian general with a number of years then you can get easy. Expect to pay around $1600 for a 125 cc , if you got a 600cc then its around 2200 to $3000 TP.

Cant tell you how many ppl dont have bike insurance , no Stats on this. I wont do it, to much hassle if you caught.

Best way to avoid Stolen is to buy a new bike, 125cc can be around $21k, Yamaha R6 around $97k , R1 at $125K.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » April 22nd, 2018, 9:26 am

To get Insurance its best you have a clean history of driving. If you are with Guardian general with a number of years then you can get easy. Expect to pay around $1600 for a 125 cc , if you got a 600cc then its around 2200 to $3000 TP.

Cant tell you how many ppl dont have bike insurance , no Stats on this. I wont do it, to much hassle if you caught.

Best way to avoid Stolen is to buy a new bike, 125cc can be around $21k, Yamaha R6 around $97k , R1 at $125K.

Thanks didn't realize the lower the cc the lower the insurance.

Ooh and I bet a 125cc Japanese bike wouldn't be $21K

Those are probably the Bajaj Indian bikes or Chinese I take it?

Postby *KRONIK* » April 22nd, 2018, 9:37 am

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:

Thanks didn't realize the lower the cc the lower the insurance.

Ooh and I bet a 125cc Japanese bike wouldn't be $21K

Those are probably the Bajaj Indian bikes or Chinese I take it?
No
Those are actually prices are for brand new yamaha bikes from the dealer (Greenes) behind kaydonna.

The new r6 price is over 100k now tho.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » April 22nd, 2018, 10:11 am

^ WOW thanks didn't realize bike prices were reasonable.

I Assume a new 125cc Yamaha would last longer than a 9 year old used 700cc Yamaha without requiring a mechanic to repair etc

Cen-Serv Ltd

Postby Cen-Serv Ltd » April 22nd, 2018, 11:00 am

Good info.....

Postby zoom rader » April 22nd, 2018, 3:39 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:^ WOW thanks didn't realize bike prices were reasonable.

I Assume a new 125cc Yamaha would last longer than a 9 year old used 700cc Yamaha without requiring a mechanic to repair etc

The 125cc Yamaha is a never done bike, the only problem is that within 4 months of riding it you get bored of it. Its a city bike with a max speed of 60Mph. Its good for learning on.

Dont even think of buying a Chinese bike within a year parts fall off while you riding it and everything shakes.

If you want a lil zest then go for R3 which is a 300cc sports bike, cant recall the price but I think its around 45 to 50K, but I would think you get bored on it as well.

Go for the R6 you will never get bored on that, that packing everything you need in speed. The new one are more high tech than the 2016 models. Dont even try the R1 that takes skill to ride and you must have bike blood running in your viens to operated this machine.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » April 22nd, 2018, 5:16 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:^ WOW thanks didn't realize bike prices were reasonable.

The 125cc Yamaha is a never done bike, the only problem is that within 4 months of riding it you get bored of it. Its a city bike with a max speed of 60Mph. Its good for learning on.

Dont even think of buying a Chinese bike within a year parts fall off while you riding it and everything shakes.

If you want a lil zest then go for R3 which is a 300cc sports bike, cant recall the price but I think its around 45 to 50K, but I would think you get bored on it as well.

Go for the R6 you will never get bored on that, that packing everything you need in speed. The new one are more high tech than the 2016 models. Dont even try the R1 that takes skill to ride and you must have bike blood running in your viens to operated this machine.

Ooh thanks I think I will go for the 125cc yamahas and them. For around $21K that would be a great price I also think that HONDA has bikes around this price range as well.

Yeah I don't think I am willing to go fast on a motorbike nah I think it is too risky, 60mph is pretty fast if you ask me thats over the speed limit.

And yeah them Chinese bikes is real dog sh!t my father had one of them QiPai and boy was that filth. Within just 1 year the gear box start giving trouble and thing ROFL

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » April 22nd, 2018, 6:09 pm

From a non biker...I thought that engine type made more of a difference than displacement. Like it might be more beneficial to get a 600 parallel twin than an inline 4.
And when I say that I don't mean to flat out ignore displacement as a factor.

I thought that something like a 250 inline 4 might be more of a handful than a 600 parallel twin

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » April 22nd, 2018, 7:37 pm

Damn the Yamaha R3 looks so sexy its like 321 cc

I wonder how much that would cost new in Trinidad? watch how nice this thing looks nah WTF

I am guessing this might cost like a $40K new?

Keyser Soze

Postby Keyser Soze » April 22nd, 2018, 8:52 pm

bredren take your size into consideration as well when you buying a bike eh. And i think you should test ride a couple types to see which model you more comfortable on...
I'm 6'4 around 260 lbs so litter bikes ain't making sense to me again. Had an 06 gsxr 1000 and a 2010 zx10 and preferred the gsxr
as it was more comfortable imo. have an 08 busa now and my pardna's 07 R1 is also in my garage and I wont ride that R1 unless is to move it from one area to another.
I also endorse what zoom raider said about the smaller cc units, you will get bored with then in no time and wonder why you didn't buy a higher cc unit. i consider 600 cc litter bikes to be mid range units and ideal starting point units for novice riders who have riding experience but limited road experience. The natural progression from there is 750's or 1000 cc units. bear in mind also that smaller CC bikes are harder to sell when you want to upgrade.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » April 22nd, 2018, 10:04 pm

But while bigger engine sizes is more fun wouldn't it also be significantly more deadly? like say you slide on gravel in the road or you hit a pothole or something. Wouldn't it then mean that the 125cc small bike would be a lot safer if you riding that around 100KM/H?

Just asking as I never ride a motorbike I am 5' 11" BTW

The idea of riding a bike at over 250KM/H seems crazy to me but I dunno. What would happen if you fell of a bike at that speed though? on the highway

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » May 4th, 2018, 12:11 pm

I was watching this, honestly amazed at how careless some drivers are. It is as though they do NOT notice motorbikes, I don't understand this because I notice motorbikes from a mile away. How can anyone miss a bike with head lights on and a loud ass muffler?

Riding Motorbikes look like the most dangerous thing you could do yes. People just fcking turn on you just like that as if they are blind.

Re: Looking to Get my First Motorbike(Your thoughts as a bik

Postby RedVEVO » May 4th, 2018, 2:09 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:
Keyser Soze wrote:read here first. viewtopic.php?f=25&t=227765
Do you have any driving experience? yes, i asked driving experience.
A big part of riding is anticipating what drivers are doing on the road..... that's where driving experience comes into play.
Ride at your own capability.
Be courteous on the road. A large percentage of road users hate the fact that motorcycles can lane split and get to their destination faster than them.... plenty of them show this by bad driving etc.
Also note that every rider will go down eventually. Proper riding gear and a new helmet in most cases is the sole difference between life and death. most cases. No amount of riding gear can protect you from an impact at high speed or some car hitting you unexpectedly.

there's a lot more advice i can give and its purely from an experience point of view but i'll let others chime in here.

Quite a few times as I cycled from Work to Home I noticed drivers in Trinidad purposely try to stop me on my mountain bike by pulling to the far left of the road when they see me approaching. I never actually realized that this was the reason, I always thought they were just bad minded and evil for no reason at all, didn't realize that they were trying to stop me from getting home faster than they can.

ED how you feeling ? All Ok ?

Maybe you should drive on the right hand side and show dem who is Boss :D