Satanic Temple opened in Detroit USA

Re: Satanic Temple opened in Detroit USA

Postby Chimera » July 30th, 2015, 1:06 pm

Slartibartfast wrote:AFAIK, that "religious" group does not worship satan but uses the "worship of satan" as a front to highlight issues of religious bias within the states. They choose satan because the majority of religious folk (especially those with power) are catholics/christians..

They probably made the boy child look black to highlight that they are about equal rights seeing that there are ongoing fueds between blacks and whites. Also notice one child is a girl to show that they also fight against bias of sex.

Now they probably choose children to show the ill taste of indoctrinating children while they are young, impressionable and innocent.

So the statue was to be used to fight against the ongoing religious bias, however they highlighted that they are for racial and gender equality while also showing their disapproval for indoctrinating children.

the right hand signalling the gun in the air, is a jamaican goat?

make meh care

Postby make meh care » July 30th, 2015, 1:17 pm

how does anyone know how satan looks especially if they haven't seen satan personally.

Postby Slartibartfast » July 30th, 2015, 1:22 pm

Probably a mocking of the hand gesture Jesus used when he was bestowing blessings upon his followers (as depicted in art). Maybe Habit7 could chime in on if I'm making sense here

Postby ruffneck_12 » July 30th, 2015, 1:30 pm

Al-Ameen wrote:how does anyone know how satan looks especially if they haven't seen satan personally.

you could say the same about literally any deity, hindu/christian/greek etc

Postby Les Bain » July 30th, 2015, 1:42 pm

Al-Ameen wrote:how does anyone know how satan looks especially if they haven't seen satan personally.

Some divorcees could challenge that statement.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » July 30th, 2015, 1:44 pm

the statue is of Baphomet, not Satan.
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Baphomet

make meh care

Postby make meh care » July 30th, 2015, 1:48 pm

the statue is of Baphomet, not Satan.
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Baphomet

Thanks Duane for the clarification

York

Postby York » July 30th, 2015, 2:15 pm

Slartibartfast wrote:AFAIK, that "religious" group does not worship satan but uses the "worship of satan" as a front to highlight issues of religious bias within the states. They choose satan because the majority of religious folk (especially those with power) are catholics/christians..

They probably made the boy child look black to highlight that they are about equal rights seeing that there are ongoing fueds between blacks and whites. Also notice one child is a girl to show that they also fight against bias of sex.

Now they probably choose children to show the ill taste of indoctrinating children while they are young, impressionable and innocent.

So the statue was to be used to fight against the ongoing religious bias, however they highlighted that they are for racial and gender equality while also showing their disapproval for indoctrinating children.

The use of"probably" articulates uncertainty. What do you know to be facts?

Satan doesn't discriminate, from a religious point of view he would whisper to all who are on the rich path to lead them to hell with him. The person makes the decision, not Satan.

God is the Creator who made man and Satan with free will. Satan didn't create anything, he is himself created by God.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » July 30th, 2015, 2:28 pm

York wrote:

Satan doesn't discriminate, from a religious point of view he would whisper to all who are on the rich path to lead them to hell with him. The person makes the decision, not Satan.

God is the Creator who made man and Satan with free will. Satan didn't create anything, he is himself created by God.
http://www.freep.com/story/opinion/columnists/nancy-kaffer/2015/07/27/why-satanic-statue-really-isnt-devil/30739597/

It is about equal rights. The fact that they pressed to have this statue in Oklahoma resulted in the removal of the Ten Commandments from the Capitol Building.

TIME Magazine: "The American Civil Liberties Union sued the state of Oklahoma (for placing a six-foot marble slab engraved with the Ten Commandments in the State Capitol); the Satanic Temple fought fire with fire. If the Christians could chisel their credo onto public property, the argument went, why couldn’t they?

The state didn’t agree, and rejected the Satanic Temple’s petition to place Baphomet’s statute on legislative property. The point is now moot, though: a month ago, the Oklahoma Supreme Court ruled that the Ten Commandments monument violated the state constitution, a judgment that will probably stick"

What makes what you claim to be fact?

Postby Slartibartfast » July 30th, 2015, 3:16 pm

York wrote:

Yup. Go ahead and read it again and you will notice that everything stated there is my interpretation. I think it would be great if my interpretation were correct but it being my interpretation does not make it so.

Here is an article that shows where they helped a lady with her "pro choice" decision which they believe to be relevant to woman's rights
http://www.washingtonpost.com/news/acts-of-faith/wp/2015/05/04/a-satanic-temple-member-says-an-abortion-waiting-period-is-against-her-religion-would-a-court-agree/

So I knew the don't tackle just religious issues. That's why I was able to extend my interpretation further.

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » August 2nd, 2015, 6:22 pm

Satanic Temple unveils Baphomet statue.

Dozens of protesters gathered in Detroit to protest the unveiling ceremony of a controversial bronze Baphomet statue by the Satanic Temple. When the one-ton goat-headed statue was finally exposed, supporters welcomed it, and cheered "Hail Satan!"
The Satanic Temple kept the location of the unveiling of the colossal monument secret until the last moment, emailing the information to ticket holders only. The group received threats that protesters would allegedly blow it up or burn it down, according to the Raw Story.

On Saturday, about a hundred people reportedly gathered across the street from Bert’s Marketplace, where the Satanic Temple had originally planned to unveil the statue. It’s a vexed issue that has driven a wedge between local residents.

"The last thing we need in Detroit is having a welcome home party for evil," Reverend Dave Bullock, a pastor at Greater St. Matthew Baptist Church in Highland Park, Michigan told Reuters.

“This unveiling will not happen in the City of Detroit on my watch,” Bishop Corletta Vaughn of the Holy Ghost Cathedral in Detroit told the Free Press at Saturday’s protest. “I’m here to stand against this being in the City of Detroit. We will not turn over our city to Satanists. It’s a violent spirit that’s moving to the city and infiltrating that place. We will drive them out of Dodge.”

“Satan has no place in this city, or any other city,” another protestor, James Bluford of Rochester Hills, added.

Photos by the Free Press feature some protesters wearing T-shirts with the caption saying “Jesus.” Martin C. Tutwiler of Oak Park reportedly said the Satanic Temple was forcing the statute on the city because “they think we’re down as a city.”

On its website, the Satanic Temple said the statue “is intended to complement and contrast the Ten Commandments monument that already resides on Oklahoma State Capitol grounds.”

Temple spokesman, Lucien Greaves, explained in a statement earlier this year that the monument would serve "as a beacon calling for compassion and empathy among all living creatures." He added that it will also have a certain "functional purpose" – as a chair where "people of all ages may sit on the lap of Satan for inspiration and contemplation."

Although the statue of a winged Baphomet was originally meant to stand alongside the Ten Commandments monument in Oklahoma, the state Supreme Court there ruled earlier this month that the statue must be removed on the grounds that a government property cannot be used to show support for any religion.

The director of the Satanic Temple Detroit chapter, Jex Blackmore, said group members planned to transport the sculpture to Arkansas. In April, Arkansas Governor Asa Hutchinson signed into law a bill instructing the state to erect a privately funded Ten Commandments monument on the State Capitol's grounds.
https://www.rt.com/usa/310781-satanic-temple-detroit-unveiled/

lol at those posers. the baphomet is not a satanic symbol. purpose defeated..

FAIL

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 2nd, 2015, 8:39 pm

bluesclues wrote:

Dozens of protesters gathered in Detroit to protest the unveiling ceremony of a controversial bronze Baphomet statue by the Satanic Temple. When the one-ton goat-headed statue was finally exposed, supporters welcomed it, and cheered "Hail Satan!"
The Satanic Temple kept the location of the unveiling of the colossal monument secret until the last moment, emailing the information to ticket holders only. The group received threats that protesters would allegedly blow it up or burn it down, according to the Raw Story.

On Saturday, about a hundred people reportedly gathered across the street from Bert’s Marketplace, where the Satanic Temple had originally planned to unveil the statue. It’s a vexed issue that has driven a wedge between local residents.

"The last thing we need in Detroit is having a welcome home party for evil," Reverend Dave Bullock, a pastor at Greater St. Matthew Baptist Church in Highland Park, Michigan told Reuters.

“This unveiling will not happen in the City of Detroit on my watch,” Bishop Corletta Vaughn of the Holy Ghost Cathedral in Detroit told the Free Press at Saturday’s protest. “I’m here to stand against this being in the City of Detroit. We will not turn over our city to Satanists. It’s a violent spirit that’s moving to the city and infiltrating that place. We will drive them out of Dodge.”

“Satan has no place in this city, or any other city,” another protestor, James Bluford of Rochester Hills, added.

Photos by the Free Press feature some protesters wearing T-shirts with the caption saying “Jesus.” Martin C. Tutwiler of Oak Park reportedly said the Satanic Temple was forcing the statute on the city because “they think we’re down as a city.”

On its website, the Satanic Temple said the statue “is intended to complement and contrast the Ten Commandments monument that already resides on Oklahoma State Capitol grounds.”

Temple spokesman, Lucien Greaves, explained in a statement earlier this year that the monument would serve "as a beacon calling for compassion and empathy among all living creatures." He added that it will also have a certain "functional purpose" – as a chair where "people of all ages may sit on the lap of Satan for inspiration and contemplation."

Although the statue of a winged Baphomet was originally meant to stand alongside the Ten Commandments monument in Oklahoma, the state Supreme Court there ruled earlier this month that the statue must be removed on the grounds that a government property cannot be used to show support for any religion.

The director of the Satanic Temple Detroit chapter, Jex Blackmore, said group members planned to transport the sculpture to Arkansas. In April, Arkansas Governor Asa Hutchinson signed into law a bill instructing the state to erect a privately funded Ten Commandments monument on the State Capitol's grounds.

FAIL
what was the purpose that was defeated?

Postby ruffneck_12 » August 2nd, 2015, 9:35 pm

bluesclues wrote:lol at those posers. the baphomet is not a satanic symbol. purpose defeated..

FAIL

http://vigilantcitizen.com/hidden-knowl ... sbaphomet/

Then why do Laveyan satanists use it as a satanic symbol?

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » August 3rd, 2015, 1:24 pm

bluesclues wrote:

FAIL
what was the purpose that was defeated?

you put up a big 'satanic' church and then your main symbol representing your organisation is not satanic like... at all? how is that not a fail. they dont have a satanic church. they have a large group of idiots in one building. lol

Postby MG Man » August 3rd, 2015, 1:26 pm

^^^sounds like a christian church there, Chet

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » August 3rd, 2015, 1:38 pm

MG Man wrote:^^^sounds like a christian church there, Chet

well yeah, its not far from those who go to church to be taught by a deaf dumb and blind pastor about spirituality. wwhile pastor answers every question with 'the lord works in mysterious ways' because he doesnt know his battam from his kneecap. but he still buys a benz with all their collection money while they shout 'praise the Lord'.

one can only lol from this perched view.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 3rd, 2015, 1:49 pm

bluesclues wrote:you put up a big 'satanic' church and then your main symbol representing your organisation is not satanic like... at all? how is that not a fail. they dont have a satanic church. they have a large group of idiots in one building. lol
LOL you missed the point completely didn't you.

As stated in the articles and links posted earlier, the purpose of this is not to have a satanic church, it is to demonstrate and promote equality. If they allow one, they should allow the other.

Postby MG Man » August 3rd, 2015, 2:11 pm

bluesclueless

Postby tr1ad » August 3rd, 2015, 2:17 pm

the night time is the right time...... the night time is the right time

Postby MG Man » August 3rd, 2015, 2:18 pm

Your eyes shine bright like a Jesus nitelite
I'd like to touch your positive vibes
Indifferent eyes won't give me
the time
May I help put aside your moral fiber

Postby Slartibartfast » August 4th, 2015, 12:16 pm

bluesclues wrote:you put up a big 'satanic' church and then your main symbol representing your organisation is not satanic like... at all? how is that not a fail. they dont have a satanic church. they have a large group of idiots in one building. lol

If you think the main symbol is not satanic, you should see the "worshipers". Seriously LOL. It's like these people don't even know how to Satan.

Cantmis

Postby Cantmis » August 4th, 2015, 2:22 pm

Is satan gay ?

Postby Slartibartfast » August 4th, 2015, 3:06 pm

Idk but he is less concerned about where men stick their penises than the male Christians on tuner.

worksux101

Postby worksux101 » August 4th, 2015, 5:38 pm

so every time i curry a goat, is a little piece of satan dying inside?

on a real tho...why the beatup? I'm Muslim, and the Qu'ran says there is no compulsion in religion...people are free to believe what they wish once they're not interfering with me practising my beliefs...

Postby MG Man » August 4th, 2015, 5:44 pm

if there's no compulsion, why is my muslim family always telling my hindu family they going to hell and divali is the devil etc, and citing bits and pieces of the book that say if you not a muslim, you'll do your penance in hell and then ultimately cease to exist? Aren't muslims aren;t at least required to try and spread the word? Isn't that the same as interfering in other peoples beliefs?

The Paleontologist

Postby The Paleontologist » August 4th, 2015, 5:49 pm

AFAIK Muslims should spread the word but they shouldn't force someone. The decision to accept the message falls on the person themselves, no one else.

Postby MG Man » August 4th, 2015, 5:59 pm

yeah but keep it to yuhself....the whole idea of spreading the word (regardless of religion) wreaks of intolerance...if god doesn't care how I pray, then why do you need to 'save' me and 'show me the correct path' etc?

worksux101

Postby worksux101 » August 4th, 2015, 6:01 pm

Telling someone of your beliefs and forcing it upon them are two different things...
You talking about ole iron isnt the same as forcing every tuner to buy an old car is it? Nor does it wreak of intolerance to whatever we may currently drive. Don't stereotype a religion and its beliefs to a specific few you have dealt with.

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » August 4th, 2015, 10:40 pm

LOL you missed the point completely didn't you.

As stated in the articles and links posted earlier, the purpose of this is not to have a satanic church, it is to demonstrate and promote equality. If they allow one, they should allow the other.

yeah i remember vaguely reading about that. there's lots i can say that makes it stupid. for one, they do have that right to worship any God they want.. under democracy which is given by christianity. so they have to say, 'thanks to jesus we can create a pagan church and noone is going to kill us about it.' because everyone is left to their own means now. so it doesnt bother me or anyone what they do or how stupid it is. ti wonder what they would teach at that church.. lmao

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » August 4th, 2015, 10:43 pm

MG Man wrote:if there's no compulsion, why is my muslim family always telling my hindu family they going to hell and divali is the devil etc, and citing bits and pieces of the book that say if you not a muslim, you'll do your penance in hell and then ultimately cease to exist? Aren't muslims aren;t at least required to try and spread the word? Isn't that the same as interfering in other peoples beliefs?

inter-religious understanding is the reason. or rather.. misunderstanding. but they(muslim fam) is at least partially correct. because alot of hindus dont know hinduism and practice paganism thinking they are so spiritual. hinudism when explain and understood properly is christianity. but just like all faiths including christianity, the followers tend to do their own crap and delude themselves. its not the faith.. its the people in the faith that fail.