Re: Subaru WRX 2015

Postby A172 » October 16th, 2015, 3:52 am

if u cud afford to spend 500k on a subaru doubt warranty is a concern

Lance

Postby Lance » October 16th, 2015, 7:03 am

A172 wrote:if u cud afford to spend 500k on a subaru doubt warranty is a concern

I don't see your logic.

Care to explain?

Is it that the person has money and 500k? If so, does that mean than 3rd party insurance is the logical choice as well?

Postby j.o.e » October 16th, 2015, 7:34 am

Lance wrote:6months on a half million dollar vehicle is a bit ludicrous IMHO.

I agree ..... What about a WRX means that there wouldn't be manufacturers defects ? Yes it may have some more performance than a regular family car but the buyer should be protected once it's not a situation of abuse and misuse...... Dealers get away with murder down here.

Postby Aaron 2NR » October 16th, 2015, 8:34 am

the dealer is maybe protecting their selves against customers who modify their cars and screw it up? how would the dealer know if a vehicle is retuned?

when i got the quote on mine i was getting 2 years warranty as a corporate account holder...

based on some posts here tho guess one won't buy a GTR cuz they aint getting warranty

Postby Aaron 2NR » October 16th, 2015, 8:38 am

Lance wrote:
A172 wrote:if u cud afford to spend 500k on a subaru doubt warranty is a concern

I don't see your logic.

Care to explain?

Is it that the person has money and 500k? If so, does that mean than 3rd party insurance is the logical choice as well?

3rd party?? you are aware based on your relationship with an insurance company you can get fully comprehensive...
if someone is buying a car thru bank financing you are aware the bank would negotiate fully comprehensive as well to protect their property?

Postby A172 » October 16th, 2015, 8:47 am

Lance wrote:

I don't see your logic.

Care to explain?

hv a new 2015 gtr coming in as a personal import no warranty no foqs given by d owner and yh dah going 3rd party
same go apply if u hv 500k to throw on a subaru for fyaz

meeno wah illogical abt dah

Lance

Postby Lance » October 16th, 2015, 9:04 am

A172 wrote:
Lance wrote:

I don't see your logic.

Care to explain?

hv a new 2015 gtr coming in as a personal import no warranty no foqs given by d owner and yh dah going 3rd party
same go apply if u hv 500k to throw on a subaru for fyaz

meeno wah illogical abt dah

Well if you are doing a personal import then you are aware of the risks. But you accept the risk based on the fact that you will be benefiting from cutting out the Massy's markup (if they were to bring in the GTR). So its an opportunity cost logic.

It's probably just me but I have a problem with paying a middle man a sizable markup and still not being able to have a respectable warranty.

Postby Aaron 2NR » October 16th, 2015, 9:05 am

ok.....

Postby A172 » October 16th, 2015, 9:06 am

well if u en like it doh buy

Lance

Postby Lance » October 16th, 2015, 9:08 am

Aaron 2NR wrote:
Lance wrote:

I don't see your logic.

Care to explain?

3rd party?? you are aware based on your relationship with an insurance company you can get fully comprehensive...
if someone is buying a car thru bank financing you are aware the bank would negotiate fully comprehensive as well to protect their property?

I think the comparison I was making might have eluded you. I'll try and break it down next time.

It was regarding the correlation between being comfortable of having no warranty and willingness to use 3rd party coverage.

Trying to make a comparison between a self imported (not available locally) vehicle to the case of this STi (which can be acquired from both markets) doesn't really make sense.

Postby Aaron 2NR » October 16th, 2015, 9:10 am

and how does no warranty automatically mean 3rd party??

what is the relationship between warranty and insurance coverage, if any exist at all?

Postby Chimera » October 16th, 2015, 9:13 am

Lance just out of curiousity.....you ever had reason to deal with a firm for a warranty issue locally? How it went?

Lance

Postby Lance » October 16th, 2015, 9:24 am

Aaron 2NR wrote:and how does no warranty automatically mean 3rd party??

what is the relationship between warranty and insurance coverage, if any exist at all?

I ask A172 for his view because I wanted to find out :seeing that he didn't seem to have an issue.

Clearly there should be some relationship though.

If I buy a new STi from Massy and don't care that I have no recourse if I drive off the lot and spin a bearing then I should probably also not be too concern about someone stealing a 2015 STi (statistically lower) or me rear ending someone else.

I was just trying to understand the conditions under which you would have no problem buying a highly marked up vehicle from Massy (with no warranty) and still be willing to insure it fully comprehensive.

Over a 2 year period, you would probably quicker experience a mechanical failure (that would be cover-able under warranty) than having to face your insurance company for a problem that you caused.

Its just a question of risk propensity. No need to think its a pissing match.

Postby A172 » October 16th, 2015, 9:25 am

lance u aware it hv ppl wud just buy sumn cus dey like it and dey can?
if yur bearin spin fix it

Postby Aaron 2NR » October 16th, 2015, 9:29 am

therefore no relationship between warranty and insurance coverage....

persons buy because they can

persons insure based on what they choose to do...some people think insurance is a waste and go 3rd party no matter what...others want the peace of mind if something happen they have coverage...
Last edited by Aaron 2NR on October 16th, 2015, 9:30 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Chimera » October 16th, 2015, 9:30 am

Yup and plenty ppl calculate that it cheaper to have 3rd party and save to 10 to 30k every year that wudda be for fully comp.....and repair if it hadda repair.

Lance

Postby Lance » October 16th, 2015, 9:34 am

Aaron 2NR wrote:
others want the peace of mind if something happen they have coverage...

And that's the definition of warranty. So why would you want it in one aspect and not the other?

Anyhow, point noted.

Postby Aaron 2NR » October 16th, 2015, 9:37 am

hmmm insurance coverage means warranty...cool guess i learnt something today...

guess all those roro cars on fully comprehensive can send in warranty claims

Postby j.o.e » October 16th, 2015, 9:43 am

Lance talking toots. But if Massy is the dealer (and they are ) they should offer a better warranty, it's not the same as me doing a personal import and going it alone. Being the dealer they are manufacturer backed .... Why such a crappy warranty? Any car can be modified and the warranty would be voided on the modified items
In 6 months I could have barely driven 5000kms and no recourse if I have problems? Only in Trinidad

Lance

Postby Lance » October 16th, 2015, 9:47 am

Aaron 2NR wrote:hmmm insurance coverage means warranty...cool guess i learnt something today...

Insurance is the guarantee of compensation in exchange for a risk premium.

You think that warranty isn't the same thing? And the the risk premium isn't normally built into the margin structure of Massy? You think that this still isn't a part of Massy's cost structure even though they offer NO warranty? If you think that they reduced it because of this then you're very Naive.

Postby pete » October 16th, 2015, 9:48 am

If warranties are important look at what's covered elsewhere.

http://www.stanleysubaru.com/about-suba ... anties.htm

I don't see why Massy wouldn't offer the same warranty as this locally though but maybe they cut costs by reducing the warranty coverage on vehicles coming to Trinidad.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » October 16th, 2015, 9:53 am

Massy on sheit. Regardless of if you d kind to not worry about warranty. 6 months is toots even if you can just afford to buy it. Might be down to Subaru as well and not just Massy.
Last edited by Allergic2BunnyEars on October 16th, 2015, 9:53 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby pete » October 16th, 2015, 9:53 am

Also, the way warranty claims are usually done from a company standpoint is the supplier will have set rates for labour and will replace the parts. When the replacement parts come into Trinidad they would have to pay duty and therefore would lose 20% one time. That may be the reason they don't want to honour warranties.

Postby Aaron 2NR » October 16th, 2015, 9:54 am

if you attempt to bring in the unit new from japan yourself it is costing you about $60k more than buying a unit from massy....

maybe that alone tell you that they aint costing in a % for warranty on it.

ANSA also give you an option when purchasing if you do not want warranty and you can get the unit cheaper

Postby A172 » October 16th, 2015, 9:59 am

doubles thread v2

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » October 16th, 2015, 10:17 am

A172 wrote:doubles thread v2

nah

Postby tr1ad » October 16th, 2015, 11:58 am

Aaron 2NR wrote:hmmm insurance coverage means warranty...cool guess i learnt something today...

that's not what Lance is saying

insurance coverage covers incidentals accident fire and theft
warranty on the other hand covers manufacturers defects

insurance may possibly be able to cover the cost of the vehicle and you may have enough to purchase another one

warranty, allows for the replacement of defective or manufacturer issues

totally separate

but on the other hand, if i personally choose to purchase a vehicle without warranty it's my decision anything goes wrong i have no recourse

same applies to selecting full comp insurance vs 3rd party, either way i have to stand the cost in the event anything happens

Mercenary

Postby Mercenary » October 16th, 2015, 12:13 pm

fellas what could possibly justify the price ranges so high?

Postby tr1ad » October 16th, 2015, 12:47 pm

Mercenary wrote:fellas what could possibly justify the price ranges so high?

same that justifies other manufacturers prices

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » October 16th, 2015, 1:40 pm

Mercenary wrote:fellas what could possibly justify the price ranges so high?

MSRP then add on customs tax, motor vehicle tax and VAT.