Sharing meh experience...car painting

youthman

Re: Sharing meh experience...car painting

Postby youthman » May 26th, 2015, 11:31 pm

Every body blamin painters straighteners but t truth is every day cars crashing. Need to fix.man have a lil scrape he want to fix dats no problem but d main issues with all straighteners is WORKERS.there in no youth want to learn this trade.yet everyone want a best paint.n most pple says dem want a flash ova is d same paint u hada buy prices of material dont get cheaper wen u go n tel dem in d paintshop u doin a flash ova...

nos_specialist

Postby nos_specialist » May 27th, 2015, 7:46 am

D main problem with straightners or other tradesmen...is themselves...

Professionalism is a hard thing for ppl to have.. they just out for big money for quick wuk

When this guy came and saw my car and quoted his price...I did not ask for any discount...I said ok. He knew what the job is about and wat is required so if workers was his problem then he shouldnt of even look to take this job...and probably go work in a grocery somewhere.

I do construction jobs as well..and I take what I can handle..if I cant...I dont take it its that simple.

Postby skylinechild » May 27th, 2015, 12:40 pm

nos_specialist wrote:D main problem with straightners or other tradesmen...is themselves...

Professionalism is a hard thing for ppl to have.. they just out for big money for quick wuk

When this guy came and saw my car and quoted his price...I did not ask for any discount...I said ok. He knew what the job is about and wat is required so if workers was his problem then he shouldnt of even look to take this job...and probably go work in a grocery somewhere.

I do construction jobs as well..and I take what I can handle..if I cant...I dont take it its that simple.

very much true....professionalism is the hardest thing to have...ppl jus out there for the quick $$$$

my own experience WRT to painting wasnt that bad. i told the guy EXACTLY what i wanted done... tell him i wanted it to look original - do not cut up or paint up any of my wire harness - otherwise you will be cleaning it out after.....went by almost every evening to see the work done...
(i had to pass there everyday to go home)

got back my car one week later.....did the wiring of headlights / indicators myself...installed coolant and bled rad myself....no issues.

i always evaluate a person before letting them do any work for me....a recommendation could only go so far eah......

nos_specialist

Postby nos_specialist » May 27th, 2015, 2:27 pm

I will be having that same mentality in the future...very very specific on what I want done..

Well update...the new painter showed up...says he is gonna push hard to paint this car today....jus went for his compressor and headin home

nos_specialist

Postby nos_specialist » May 27th, 2015, 6:02 pm

New painter provin himself...prepped today...ton of work to fix the crap the last painter did...

Throwin paint has begun..
1432764119247.jpg

megadoc1

Postby megadoc1 » May 27th, 2015, 6:07 pm

dais what we talking about

nos_specialist

Postby nos_specialist » May 27th, 2015, 7:09 pm

Hold ah update...

Painter goin as best as he cud...but encountering some issues...he gonna try a ting..
Its gonna be a long nite..

Postby Ted_v2 » May 27th, 2015, 7:15 pm

wogard that ad looking wet.

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » May 27th, 2015, 7:19 pm

Ted_v2 wrote:wogard that ad looking wet.

Ad yuh say?

nos_specialist

Postby nos_specialist » May 27th, 2015, 7:30 pm

Ad? Buh wah d royal bumbohclat...

This is a Y11 wingroad rider...

And a nice lookin one too....now without lambo doors tho...been there done dat lol
1432769411800.jpg

Postby Ted_v2 » May 27th, 2015, 7:37 pm

racedriverpro wrote:

Ad yuh say?

Wa you sayinnnn

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » May 27th, 2015, 7:39 pm

Ted_v2 wrote:
racedriverpro wrote:

Ad yuh say?

Wa you sayinnnn

Daiz not an ad... Just by looking at the fenders it's obvious.

nos_specialist

Postby nos_specialist » May 27th, 2015, 7:57 pm

nick639 wrote:dan dan as usual where the essar???

Ohh ah sorry...the reason it went down...

Ayeeee look a fridge....

Last edited by nos_specialist on May 27th, 2015, 9:31 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Twin Isle Cars n' Parts

Postby Twin Isle Cars n' Parts » May 27th, 2015, 8:45 pm

nos_specialist wrote:D main problem with straightners or other tradesmen...is themselves...

X 2...

Not to mention those who take down payments for various jobs, spend out the monies and leff everyone hanging!
Experiencing that right now with a freelancer/hustler from Jerningham, Cunupia...

Had another experience with a reject from Basta Hall area...arranged with him to bring back my ole skool, made all the arrangements, bought $2k in materials & another car as a donor, even bought a 15 X 15 party tent to cover my vehicle. Then he danced me over and over and over, till the car has deteriorated badly now!!!

Both ah dem cut rass book...!!!

cherrypopper

Postby cherrypopper » May 27th, 2015, 9:37 pm

Laad I hope that hustler from jerningham cunupia not the same fella I had to get a lawyer for. ..

Twin Isle Cars n' Parts

Postby Twin Isle Cars n' Parts » May 27th, 2015, 9:40 pm

Oh, oh... might be two ah we den?
(If is d same person)
I might hadda repo a car from him too...

cherrypopper

Postby cherrypopper » May 27th, 2015, 9:59 pm

If is it the same guy he's a blasted plague. .

Twin Isle Cars n' Parts

Postby Twin Isle Cars n' Parts » May 27th, 2015, 10:13 pm

cherrypopper wrote:If is it the same guy he's a blasted plague. .

PM me. We'll discuss further.
What car does he have of yrs btw?

Postby SmokeyGTi » May 28th, 2015, 8:02 am

nos_specialist wrote:
nick639 wrote:dan dan as usual where the essar???

Ohh ah sorry...the reason it went down...

Ayeeee look a fridge....

E15ET or what?

jus joking 8-)

nos_specialist

Postby nos_specialist » May 28th, 2015, 8:45 am

Dawg buh how u meannn...

Doh need no fancy computer for dat..jus ah piece ah wire ah 10 spanner and a pliers...good to go

Postby Team Loco » May 30th, 2015, 6:40 pm

You know i got the same issue. Years upon yrs of dealing with painters that just promise. Years of begging. If u dont give them a downpayment, they not doing the job. If you give them, they dont show up because they drunk. Finally i found someone dependable. Those days for me are gone

nos_specialist

Postby nos_specialist » May 30th, 2015, 7:18 pm

I also found someone reliable.The car got painted il post up pics after I buff and reassemble.

Postby zoom rader » May 30th, 2015, 7:48 pm

One think I learn is to never send your car by painters that have a string of cars waiting for body work or painting.
If you see cars that have done some body work and hasn't been touched in a while, then walk.
Painters will take your down payment and leave you hanging. That's how they accumulate cars in their garage.
Also if no spray booth, then walk.
Always buy your paint, never give them money to buy paint on your behalf.
Painters that rent a compound to do their trade are more reliable, they need money to pay their rent and thus will work to get the car done and their final payment.
Painter that do business underneath a home are less reliable and most often will have cars all over their home or in the road. This shows a bad practice and you should take note.

nos_specialist

Postby nos_specialist » May 30th, 2015, 8:02 pm

Dawg I learned from this experience trusttt meee...this push over scene with ppl..not againn

Twin Isle Cars n' Parts

Postby Twin Isle Cars n' Parts » May 30th, 2015, 8:04 pm

zoom rader wrote:One think I learn is to never send your car by painters that have a string of cars waiting for body work or painting.
If you see cars that have done some body work and hasn't been touched in a while, then walk.
Painters will take your down payment and leave you hanging. That's how they accumulate cars in their garage.
Also if no spray booth, then walk.
Always buy your paint, never give them money to buy paint on your behalf.
Painters that rent a compound to do their trade are more reliable, they need money to pay their rent and thus will work to get the car done and their final payment.
Painter that do business underneath a home are less reliable and most often will have cars all over their home or in the road. This shows a bad practice and you should take note.

Very true!!!

Postby Aaron 2NR » May 30th, 2015, 8:16 pm

my straightener work in his yard, doesnt have a paint booth but reliable as hell....hes one of the old school type, repair a damage instead of making you buy new parts...

he doesnt take the random guys off the street tho since his main business is clients he got over the years and he need to get Maska and M Rampersad vehicles in and out asap....

don't knock all because of bad eggs....

notice bad dent on rear panel

no paint booth

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » May 30th, 2015, 10:01 pm

I really want to change mine for reasons already mentioned in the thread. Spann is a rel cool guy who is located a few blocks from me but he is booked/busy most times.

Postby zoom rader » May 30th, 2015, 10:23 pm

Aaron 2NR wrote:my straightener work in his yard, doesnt have a paint booth but reliable as hell....hes one of the old school type, repair a damage instead of making you buy new parts...

he doesnt take the random guys off the street tho since his main business is clients he got over the years and he need to get Maska and M Rampersad vehicles in and out asap....

don't knock all because of bad eggs....

notice bad dent on rear panel

no paint booth

When u get older generation folk that work on one car at a time you know that these guys take pride in their work.
Those are few.

I judge painters with the amount of cars in their yard. These guys often take on job in abundance and if they do work on your car its gonna be a hurry job for maximum money.

Never trust painter with three or more cars in their yard, unless they have staff working on all cars.

Postby pugboy » May 31st, 2015, 11:59 am

yes far and few

the only people worse than welders is straighteners and painters
part of the problem is they themselves have no idea of the time and work in the prep
so jobs already being shortcut just get held back worse and worse
plus the small jobs they taking for quick money

Postby Chimera » May 31st, 2015, 12:10 pm

I have someone reliable in perry street perseverance as well.