demented

Re: R.I.P Alex Atherton

Postby demented » March 15th, 2015, 12:56 pm

Cunupia man dies in motorbike crash
March 15 2015

A motorbike crash last night claimed the life of a Cunupia man.

According to police, the victim is 23 year old Chin Chin Road resident, Alex Atherton.

Around 11:30pm, he was driving west along the road when, on reaching a bend, lost control.

The bike ran off the road and crashed into a wire fence and then a concrete pillar.

Atherton’s body was thrown several feet into the air and landed in the yard of a nearby resident.

He died before efforts could be made to save his life.

Bacon

Postby Bacon » March 15th, 2015, 1:18 pm

RIP to a fellow biker.....

taurine

Postby taurine » March 15th, 2015, 1:46 pm

Just the other day we was kixxin and you told me you were buying a r6 and I told you invite me to the funeral.. You told me not to be so negative and we laughed it off .. Only a few days and look what happened.. Rip Bro.. You were a good one! /:

craig lee quay

Postby craig lee quay » March 15th, 2015, 1:50 pm

Great person. Was a real car guy. Very motivated. Rip my bro. He was a tuner. For all that's asking. :/

Postby zoom rader » March 15th, 2015, 2:31 pm

taurine wrote:Just the other day we was kixxin and you told me you were buying a r6 and I told you invite me to the funeral.. You told me not to be so negative and we laughed it off .. Only a few days and look what happened.. Rip Bro.. You were a good one! /:

I know it's sad, but did this guy have any bike riding skills.

Postby black start » March 15th, 2015, 2:41 pm

^judging from what I've heard and seen (tuner csi intern), doesn't seem like it!

It's real sad though, guy is just a youth! but bike men need to tone down, and drivers on the whole, need to loose some of that ego and "invincibility complex"

Postby pioneer » March 15th, 2015, 2:49 pm

Jus friday I talk to de man enno

matthewmazda

Postby matthewmazda » March 15th, 2015, 3:00 pm

this so sad, lesson for future bikers

DriveLine retailers

Postby DriveLine retailers » March 15th, 2015, 3:52 pm

RIP to a true car guy .....

Postby K74T » March 15th, 2015, 7:20 pm

R.I.P

aliman

Postby aliman » March 15th, 2015, 7:22 pm

i visited the site and spoke to a witness who said he did not turn enough with the comer , hit the curb, bike went air born into wire fence ,Alex went head on into a concrete post, broke his neck, he was wearing a helmet , he was a real kool guy, willing to help anyone, a very new rider.

Postby K74T » March 15th, 2015, 7:25 pm

Ouch :(

Postby DVSTT » March 15th, 2015, 7:50 pm

S_2NR wrote:Thing like this make me reconsider wanting a bike. RIP

kjaglal76v2

Postby kjaglal76v2 » March 15th, 2015, 7:56 pm

"doh worry, i issa rydahh"

Cantmis

Postby Cantmis » March 15th, 2015, 9:32 pm

No seat belt no airbags! No bike for me...

Postby DVSTT » March 15th, 2015, 9:44 pm

Curtms wrote:No seat belt no airbags! No bike for me...

Don't knock it til you try it

E-TECH

Postby E-TECH » March 16th, 2015, 2:02 am

Wasn't familiar with him, but it's sad and tragic all the same...... R.I.P.

TurboSingh12

Postby TurboSingh12 » March 16th, 2015, 6:40 am

RIP Buddy.

aka

Postby aka » March 16th, 2015, 10:22 am

everyday we are reminded of our mortality... RIP bro

Postby Slartibartfast » March 16th, 2015, 10:44 am

aliman wrote:i visited the site and spoke to a witness who said he did not turn enough with the comer , hit the curb, bike went air born into wire fence ,Alex went head on into a concrete post, broke his neck, he was wearing a helmet , he was a real kool guy, willing to help anyone, a very new rider.

Sounds like a case of "target fixation". It happens a lot with new riders where you see a corner you are unsure that you can make so you fixate on where you are going to run off the road. Because you are unable to look away you are unable to steer your bike away from where you are going to crash. This is something that you can only overcome with experience and it's different for everyone. This is why you never start on a big bike (start on a 250cc or smaller). Smaller bikes are more forgiving when it comes to mistakes and accidents (talking from personal experience).

Didn't know Alex, only met him once but I passed through last night to show my respects. Real sorry to heat this is the way the man had to go.

TurboSingh12

Postby TurboSingh12 » March 16th, 2015, 10:59 am

^^How is his family taking this?I knew his mom was totally against the bike?

Postby Slartibartfast » March 16th, 2015, 11:14 am

We didn't want to disturb the scene and we showed up on bikes so we kind of kept to ourselves. His uncle came across and talked to us before we left and said how it hit everybody real hard. From what I heard everyone was telling him not to get into bikes because he was never in bikes or even bicycles that much before and good driving skills do not transfer to riding.
Last edited by Slartibartfast on March 16th, 2015, 1:19 pm, edited 1 time in total.

BASS MONSTERS!!!!!!

Postby BASS MONSTERS!!!!!! » March 16th, 2015, 11:52 am

RIP My young brother..........u will be missed..........

Postby 3stagevtec » March 16th, 2015, 1:46 pm

Slartibartfast wrote:
aliman wrote:i visited the site and spoke to a witness who said he did not turn enough with the comer , hit the curb, bike went air born into wire fence ,Alex went head on into a concrete post, broke his neck, he was wearing a helmet , he was a real kool guy, willing to help anyone, a very new rider.

Sounds like a case of "target fixation". It happens a lot with new riders where you see a corner you are unsure that you can make so you fixate on where you are going to run off the road. Because you are unable to look away you are unable to steer your bike away from where you are going to crash. This is something that you can only overcome with experience and it's different for everyone. This is why you never start on a big bike (start on a 250cc or smaller). Smaller bikes are more forgiving when it comes to mistakes and accidents (talking from personal experience).

Didn't know Alex, only met him once but I passed through last night to show my respects. Real sorry to heat this is the way the man had to go.

Survival reactions are a hard thing to overcome when on a motorcycle. I learned to ride / currently own a 750 Cruiser, local riding schools teach you NOTHING about how to properly handle a motorcycle! I got my riders license and didn't even know how to counter steer properly! I was totally ill equipped to be riding a motorcycle on the roads, and like almost every rider, had to learn either by myself or be taught by a friend.

I learned to ride by listening to advice given from a coworker and by watching tutorial YouTube videos (Twist of the wrist). I have been riding almost daily for the past 3 months now and I still make silly mistakes at times.. The hardest parts for me was learning to take a corner, not panicking midway through a corner and learning to avoid target fixation. My riding limits are set very low, so to avoid accidents when I do screw up.

I will have no problem recommending riding a motorcycle to anyone, but it takes a lot of time to master and a lot of self control to not kill yourself from the temptation of speed! From what I've read, he may have been going slow, but he clearly wasn't going slow enough for his skill level.. So sad to see a rider go down. He seemed like a real cool guy from the responses I see on Facebook etc. RIP

kjaglal76v2

Postby kjaglal76v2 » March 16th, 2015, 1:53 pm

was he obeying the speed limit?

Postby 3stagevtec » March 16th, 2015, 2:14 pm

kjaglal76v2 wrote:was he obeying the speed limit?

You can rider at the speed limit and still crash easily if you cannot properly steer a motorcycle..

moti

Postby moti » March 16th, 2015, 2:17 pm

RIP Bro, gone to another level.

Postby nervewrecker » March 16th, 2015, 2:20 pm

Saw it on the book of faces earlier.

Didnt know he was a tuner. RIP man, always sad to hear. :(

kdere

Postby kdere » March 16th, 2015, 5:31 pm

This indeed is a sad incident. For a guy only riding two (or 4 days according to his family and close friends) a 600 is no bike to start off on. I'm sorry this had to happen to such a young talented guy but watching that screen shot where he said he hit a pothole, why in hell was he already testing his bikes at those speeds around corners with no experience. A witness said he cracked the bike and seemed to come unto the corner way to fast for him to handle. I won't deter anyone away from bikes because I love it but pace yourself. Driving a car and riding a bike requires to completely different skill sets. Some people are called upon to ride and some people just want to. Its sad that his first touch down was fatal. He didn't even get to know the joys of riding yet. No group rides. Maracas. Las cuevas. Brasso and last night in the wake seeing how close I lived to him I'm sure he would have been riding wit my crew in no time. RIP. Wish I had gotten to meet him before and given him some advice

Postby Mark! » March 16th, 2015, 6:31 pm

kjaglal76v2 wrote:was he obeying the speed limit?

you can be within the speed limit in a car and crash and still die.

rip