Postby Arrow » February 27th, 2015, 8:44 am

i seein white and gold
2015-02-27 10.48.31.jpg

Cid

Re: What colour is this dress?

Postby Cid » February 27th, 2015, 8:45 am

i wish i cld see what u guys seeing.... all i see is a low quality pic of a blue n black dress

Toyopet

Postby Toyopet » February 27th, 2015, 8:54 am

I don't see how that could be blue black. I see white and gold. I know I few people who saw it at one colour first then it switched. What sorcery is this??

Cid

Postby Cid » February 27th, 2015, 9:06 am

i only saw the white after i googled it and saw 3 pics side by side,original pic, brighter and darker, saw the gold in the brighter version...... must be the conditions of this specific pic, the amount and quality of light on the dress, the background light and color... the amount of background shown etc etc.... Everything combines to form a huge trolling dress

Arrow

Postby Arrow » February 27th, 2015, 9:10 am

Toyopet wrote:I don't see how that could be blue black. I see white and gold. I know I few people who saw it at one colour first then it switched. What sorcery is this??

Dat happen to me. My sentiments exactly.

But like all other dresses, doh care what colour it is, it just need to be in a crumpled heap on de bedroom floor.

nos_specialist

Postby nos_specialist » February 27th, 2015, 9:25 am

Postby Spitfir3 » February 27th, 2015, 9:31 am

white & gold...........................nah but seriously darude-sandstorm

also i could be in the minority but i don't see whats the big deal here
Last edited by Spitfir3 on February 27th, 2015, 9:33 am, edited 1 time in total.

neexis

Postby neexis » February 27th, 2015, 9:33 am

This managed to break the internet? How is this even a thing?

src1983

Postby src1983 » February 27th, 2015, 9:36 am

Black and blue

Postby nervewrecker » February 27th, 2015, 10:13 am

black and blue.

Postby Slartibartfast » February 27th, 2015, 10:22 am

Trick question, there is no dress

Kiro_lee

Postby Kiro_lee » February 27th, 2015, 10:40 am

Last night I saw white and gold. I opened this post and saw white and gold. I scrolled down to read the comments and scrolled back up and now its blue and black. Shenanigans.

Postby tr1ad » February 27th, 2015, 11:02 am

dai devil ting

Postby Slartibartfast » February 27th, 2015, 11:10 am

On a real tho, copy the image to MS Paint and invert the colours and you shall see the truth ...
*Ominous Confucius type voice*

Coppershot

Postby Coppershot » February 27th, 2015, 11:28 am

http://www.wired.com/2015/02/science-one-agrees-color-dress/
Light enters the eye through the lens—different wavelengths corresponding to different colors. The light hits the retina in the back of the eye where pigments fire up neural connections to the visual cortex, the part of the brain that processes those signals into an image. Critically, though, that first burst of light is made of whatever wavelengths are illuminating the world, reflecting off whatever you’re looking at. Without you having to worry about it, your brain figures out what color light is bouncing off the thing your eyes are looking at, and essentially subtracts that color from the “real” color of the object. “Our visual system is supposed to throw away information about the illuminant and extract information about the actual reflectance,” says Jay Neitz, a neuroscientist at the University of Washington. “But I’ve studied individual differences in color vision for 30 years, and this is one of the biggest individual differences I’ve ever seen.” (Neitz sees white-and-gold.)

Usually that system works just fine. This image, though, hits some kind of perceptual boundary. That might be because of how people are wired. Human beings evolved to see in daylight, but daylight changes color. That chromatic axis varies from the pinkish red of dawn, up through the blue-white of noontime, and then back down to reddish twilight. “What’s happening here is your visual system is looking at this thing, and you’re trying to discount the chromatic bias of the daylight axis,” says Bevil Conway, a neuroscientist who studies color and vision at Wellesley College. “So people either discount the blue side, in which case they end up seeing white and gold, or discount the gold side, in which case they end up with blue and black.” (Conway sees blue and orange, somehow.)

KM_2NR

Postby KM_2NR » February 27th, 2015, 11:32 am

Think its white and gold tho, this went viral real fast.

Postby Dizzy28 » February 27th, 2015, 11:43 am

Postby 1UZFE » February 27th, 2015, 4:21 pm

1425068610142.jpg

Cid

Postby Cid » February 27th, 2015, 4:25 pm

if you see white and gold ur going to hell cuz we all know blue blue god loves u

Postby Spitfir3 » February 27th, 2015, 5:08 pm

Kiro_lee wrote:Last night I saw white and gold. I opened this post and saw white and gold. I scrolled down to read the comments and scrolled back up and now its blue and black. Shenanigans.

samething with me when i first looked at the pic it was white and gold then my co worker came across the article and showed me the pic again but it looked blue and brownish so i was like nah it hadda be different, so i came on tuner to see if the pic was tampered with an whatdyaknow it was blue and brown.....now im at my home pc and it looks white and gold again

according to 1UZFE logic i mubbe had a hard on at the time

Postby pugboy » February 27th, 2015, 9:18 pm

actually it is a flaw with lcd/led monitors
they say the brand of illumination bulb in the backlight is what causes the difference

Postby rspann » February 27th, 2015, 9:30 pm

Five of us watching the same monitor and two seeing white/gold and three seeing blue/black............... and arguing which is it.

Postby pugboy » February 27th, 2015, 9:54 pm

Try covering one eye at a time, you will see the difference
With dominant eye, Everybod has a preferred eye, eg the eye you choose to look through a camera or telescope with

Postby DVSTT » February 27th, 2015, 10:19 pm

1UZFE wrote:
1425068610142.jpg

Swag on 100

Cid

Postby Cid » February 27th, 2015, 10:23 pm

i see both now lol.... i adjust my white balance in the fly..... just focus in the gold parts and know that its actually black...

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » February 28th, 2015, 12:38 am

^ mind blown

Postby nervewrecker » February 28th, 2015, 12:59 am

Them puleece vehicles all white yes to a lot of people here yes.