BP TRINIDAD

Re: BP TRINIDAD

Postby Dizzy28 » January 26th, 2015, 9:00 am

acesinghit wrote:Study BP.....what will happen to triple D's?

Between the Leasing, trucking and hardware I'm sure they go live.

Postby supercharged turbo » January 26th, 2015, 9:09 am

acesinghit wrote:Study BP.....what will happen to triple D's?
How do they come into this?

Postby RBphoto » January 26th, 2015, 9:10 am

Wonder if they will be taking on more contract positions as consultants now?

mitch1980

Postby mitch1980 » January 26th, 2015, 10:27 am

many trinis are reading too much of "the sky is falling"
this is normal for companies when Oil production is not realizing the profit margin
2000, 2008 it happened and 2015 it happening again.
BP BG and several MNCs' will trim down.

part of a company Business Life Cycle

jm3

Postby jm3 » January 26th, 2015, 11:38 am

mitch1980 wrote:many trinis are reading too much of "the sky is falling"
this is normal for companies when Oil production is not realizing the profit margin

still worrying though.

mitch1980

Postby mitch1980 » January 26th, 2015, 11:51 am

jm3 wrote:

still worrying though.

I am not saying it owrrying but some idoits on the radio say the cmpanies closing down etc and we in depression is over exaggeration

realistically oil cannot be sustained @ 100/per barrel...

new technology and shale exploration will cause oil to be explored cheaper....companies just have to adjust accordingly

Postby Rainman » January 26th, 2015, 12:12 pm

crazybalhead wrote:Rainman, you could geha wokk for me in Bp?

Cya geh wuh i mighten hah dan.

Postby MG Man » January 26th, 2015, 12:16 pm

yeah but when they have huge 30 year mortgage and car loan that eating up an entire above-average salary, plenty of them are royally fhuqed

Postby MG Man » January 26th, 2015, 12:17 pm

I saw your resume.....saw nothing about roti-making skills, else I would ahve had an opening for you :wink:

Cantmis

Postby Cantmis » January 26th, 2015, 12:25 pm

yeah but when they have huge 30 year mortgage and car loan that eating up an entire above-average salary, plenty of them are royally fhuqed

Can use this to my advantage. Cheap house land and vehicles.

Postby MG Man » January 26th, 2015, 12:27 pm

I broke regardless, so I cya capitalize :-/

Postby pete » January 26th, 2015, 12:31 pm

Only thing that might go cheap are vehicles. I don't see property going much below market value unless there is a complete real estate crash.

Postby tr1ad » January 26th, 2015, 12:33 pm

Property value decreasing ? HA!!!!!

Cantmis

Postby Cantmis » January 26th, 2015, 12:44 pm

tr1ad wrote:Property value decreasing ? HA!!!!!

True dat . But still hoping.

Postby tr1ad » January 26th, 2015, 12:45 pm

Economy has to crash for that to happen...

Postby Dizzy28 » January 26th, 2015, 12:46 pm

The last downturn in the global oil industry(2008) did not affect the property market significantly in Trinidad. If anything properties maintained the usual appreciation rates. Granted the country as a whole only experienced 1 year of decline in Economic growth.

Postby MG Man » January 26th, 2015, 12:46 pm

sooner or later, people gonna start defaulting on loans

Postby pete » January 26th, 2015, 1:16 pm

Even when you default on your loan, the bank is going to try to get market value for the property and I believe they give you the difference between what's left on the mortgage and what they get for it.

Postby MG Man » January 26th, 2015, 1:22 pm

pete wrote:Even when you default on your loan, the bank is going to try to get market value for the property and I believe they give you the difference between what's left on the mortgage and what they get for it.

Postby 88sins » January 26th, 2015, 1:23 pm

doh laugh too hard nah.
if owing on a mortgage, owners may be motivated to sell low to avoid foreclosure, eviction & negative credit stigma. As well as to get something to start over with. Homes might sell for just enough to cover the mortgage & late fees, & any other pressing/critical debts they may have accumulating at the time + a lil cushion for themselves. This usually happens when ppl livin to spend they salary, & not spending they salary to live. They end up w/o a cushion, & in these kinda situation hadda resort to drastic measures. Not sayin ppl go sell a million dollar property for 250K, but to get it to move fast the selling price might drop to 750-800K

Desperation is a hella ting sometimes.

Postby tr1ad » January 26th, 2015, 1:36 pm

Refer to comment above

Postby 88sins » January 26th, 2015, 3:04 pm

tho the banks may try to get market value, there's no guarantee that they will. In the mean time, until it is sold & mortgage closed, the debt remains the responsibility of the home owner, & said debt can & will continue to accumulate interest. thus decreasing any excess received from the sale of the property that could be passed to the mortgagor.

STORM1234

Postby STORM1234 » January 26th, 2015, 3:33 pm

yeh link ah scene RM, who is u? maybe ah cud fine u on the GAL? pm me yuh name and I will message yuh on lync. :lol: :lol:

NST

Postby NST » January 26th, 2015, 5:49 pm

As long as there's money to be washed property prices will never go down.

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » January 26th, 2015, 9:18 pm

FYI BPTT employees are some of the hardest working private sector and energy sector employees in T&T. They employ many of the best and most qualified in their respective field of work. It is highly unfair to compare a BPTT salary to a lesser one since most likely it won't be a fair comparison as it is IMO, BPTT employees are not paid 50% of what they're truly worth. You think it's fair to dedicate 19+ years of studying to obtain the job of your dreams so that at the end of the day, when politicians fail to properly manage the economy we have to give up our A4's and townhouses? Is it fair to the educated professional that people don't even have a school leaving certificate getting HDC house the same way the OPDM hands out Kiss bread after a flood-out? My taxes ensure people can get free hand-outs and yet my country and govt cant sustain me in times of need?

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » January 26th, 2015, 9:46 pm

acesinghit wrote:

FYI BPTT employees are some of the hardest working private sector and energy sector employees in T&T. They employ many of the best and most qualified in their respective field of work. It is highly unfair to compare a BPTT salary to a lesser one since most likely it won't be a fair comparison as it is IMO, BPTT employees are not paid 50% of what they're truly worth. You think it's fair to dedicate 19+ years of studying to obtain the job of your dreams so that at the end of the day, when politicians fail to properly manage the economy we have to give up our A4's and townhouses? Is it fair to the educated professional that people don't even have a school leaving certificate getting HDC house the same way the OPDM hands out Kiss bread after a flood-out? My taxes ensure people can get free hand-outs and yet my country and govt cant sustain me in times of need?

How would you like for the government of Trinidad and Tobago to intervene for bptt employees? As in what specifically would you want the government to do and why?

Postby toyolink » January 26th, 2015, 10:02 pm

acesinghit wrote:

I truly understand your pain and disappointment,but a fundamental fact in the BPTT business matrix is this privately owned entity must and has always taken responsibility for its own business fortunes.
Another fact is that Amoco now BPTT have benefitted from the fiscalisation initiatives for the national patrimony (oil and gas).
Negotiations between BPTT and state entities always saw BPTT taking a firm position that their investments must yield levels of profits which meets their corporation standards.The final agreements between the parties were never based on drivers outside the realm of good business sense.
The issue of falling profits faced by BPTT I humbly submit has to do with the performance of that companies own business model coupled with a global downward trend in hydrocarbon prices.
The behavior of BPTT is absolutely no surprise given the present condition and is no different to many of the 'transnational' corporations in other energy domains with characteristics similar to what is now happening in T&T(their is enough literature to prove this).
On another note the last time there was a truly deep and sustained energy crisis in the late 70's early 80's in T&T real estate prices did plummet to the extent that outstanding mortgage loan balances were way higher than the value of properties.Actually many banks (Worker bank,Ncb and others) started their journey into self destruction.Hopefully we wont get there this time but the possibility cant be dismissed.

Postby j.o.e » January 26th, 2015, 10:06 pm

acesinghit wrote:FYI BPTT employees are some of the hardest working private sector and energy sector employees in T&T. They employ many of the best and most qualified in their respective field of work. It is highly unfair to compare a BPTT salary to a lesser one since most likely it won't be a fair comparison as it is IMO, BPTT employees are not paid 50% of what they're truly worth. You think it's fair to dedicate 19+ years of studying to obtain the job of your dreams so that at the end of the day, when politicians fail to properly manage the economy we have to give up our A4's and townhouses? Is it fair to the educated professional that people don't even have a school leaving certificate getting HDC house the same way the OPDM hands out Kiss bread after a flood-out? My taxes ensure people can get free hand-outs and yet my country and govt cant sustain me in times of need?

You are aware that BPTT is a private entity right?
You are aware that we (Trinis) have no control over the price of oil?
You are aware that so far BPTT is talking about VSEP..the V stands for voluntary by the way
You are aware that you are employed in a commodities market (oil) ..there is always an inherent risk of price instability which is directly linked to you job stability

I am afraid my friend that you leave me no choice but to tell you make a spin with this tired logic and go UDFR
You may be educated but right now you are sounding like the ghetto youth who say "But de gov't eh doin nuttin for we down here"

Cantmis

Postby Cantmis » January 26th, 2015, 10:20 pm

Should have bought a tiida instead of an a4!

Postby janfar » January 26th, 2015, 11:27 pm