The Sir Solomon Hochoy Highway - Cable Barrier Racket

ingalook

Re: The Sir Solomon Hochoy Highway - Cable Barrier Racket

Postby ingalook » February 18th, 2015, 2:21 am

RBphoto wrote:^^ and how many of those drivers who crash because of roadworks were actually obeying the speed limit? I am of the opinion that if you drive at the speed limit on all roads and exercise due caution and care, you will NEVER cause an accident. Of three major accidents I have been in, one was a person who rear ended me because he was following too close and on the phone. I should have slowed down instead of trying to put distance between him and I. The other two times I blame on fatigue and making terrible judgement (Expecting the other driver to be courteous) and falling asleep. Drive within the posted speed limit, stay alert, and drive defensively.

You say people would not have crashed if they observed the speed limit yet, by your own admission the 3 accidents you were involved in were all caused by every other factor EXCEPT speed :?

nismoid

Postby nismoid » February 18th, 2015, 5:03 am

Cable Barriers here to stay, How allyuh expect Fuad Khan's Brother (PRM) to eat ah food?
Not only do they make money in the supply and installation of the barriers, EVERY TIME there's an accident, its big money to repair it.

Postby UML » February 18th, 2015, 5:08 am

U want dem to repair it for free? No wonder ur a headless chicken!!

I'm sure it still easier and cheaper than waiting months to get a NAPA bulb from China

Postby zoom rader » February 18th, 2015, 5:08 am

leelad wrote:Who foots the bill for repairing damage to the barrier tho???
a. the person who damages it
b. insurance company
c. taxpaying citizens

B and A if you don't have insurance, knew a guy that hit one of those high way lamp post and T&TEC sued him at a cost of $35k a few years ago. Insurance paid up he skidded off the road in wet weather.

Postby pugboy » February 18th, 2015, 6:56 am

serious ?
I didn't know TTEC goes after people, cable barriers not under ttec though
they should be making plenty money

Postby RBphoto » February 18th, 2015, 8:22 am

ingalook wrote:
RBphoto wrote:^^ and how many of those drivers who crash because of roadworks were actually obeying the speed limit? I am of the opinion that if you drive at the speed limit on all roads and exercise due caution and care, you will NEVER cause an accident. Of three major accidents I have been in, one was a person who rear ended me because he was following too close and on the phone. I should have slowed down instead of trying to put distance between him and I. The other two times I blame on fatigue and making terrible judgement (Expecting the other driver to be courteous) and falling asleep. Drive within the posted speed limit, stay alert, and drive defensively.

You say people would not have crashed if they observed the speed limit yet, by your own admission the 3 accidents you were involved in were all caused by every other factor EXCEPT speed :?

"if you drive at the speed limit on all roads AND exercise due caution and care"

"I should have slowed down instead of trying to put distance between him and I" =Speed

Read child.. read.

York

Postby York » February 18th, 2015, 8:33 am

RBphoto wrote:
ingalook wrote:

"if you drive at the speed limit on all roads AND exercise due caution and care"

"I should have slowed down instead of trying to put distance between him and I" =Speed

Read child.. read.

The best advice is to take advice from those who have the fruit on the trees...

Postby RBphoto » February 18th, 2015, 8:37 am

Bess I tell men Speed, carelessness and fatigue caused my accidents, but that is ok... will never happen to you. 80kmph is for imps.

York

Postby York » February 18th, 2015, 7:35 pm

Men doh fall asleep below 80kph. Wait, sleep have a speed limit?

Postby desifemlove » February 18th, 2015, 7:44 pm

mrs. kamla/dr. rowley - take note...........

this is global standard...not rope ting...

dtrinishy

Postby dtrinishy » February 18th, 2015, 8:30 pm

Nismoid get your facts correct prmc was never involved in that contract

Postby rspann » February 18th, 2015, 8:44 pm

I always thought they had the first contract and then lose it to unisure, ....... maybe I was wrong.

ingalook

Postby ingalook » February 18th, 2015, 9:34 pm

RBphoto wrote:
ingalook wrote:

Read child.. read.

So you saying that you let a man wile you up and press out and break de speed limit then?

Fact is - I'll take and experienced FOCUSSED driver in a well maintained car doing 120kmph over a inexperienced driver studying what he boss tell him yesterday driving at 80km any day

tripplediamond

Postby tripplediamond » February 18th, 2015, 9:50 pm

They should have the persons who damage the barriers PAY for the repairs. Simple fix, you will see how the will deter ppl from hitting it. It's only when we feel it in our pockets we stop being reckless... blasted trinis.

Postby j.o.e » February 18th, 2015, 10:04 pm

tripplediamond wrote:They should have the persons who damage the barriers PAY for the repairs. Simple fix, you will see how the will deter ppl from hitting it. It's only when we feel it in our pockets we stop being reckless... blasted trinis.

I don't think ppl crashing into barriers stop to consider the financial implications and actively decide if to hit the barrier or not...but that's just me

ingalook

Postby ingalook » February 18th, 2015, 10:42 pm

j.o.e wrote:
tripplediamond wrote:They should have the persons who damage the barriers PAY for the repairs. Simple fix, you will see how the will deter ppl from hitting it. It's only when we feel it in our pockets we stop being reckless... blasted trinis.

I don't think ppl crashing into barriers stop to consider the financial implications and actively decide if to hit the barrier or not...but that's just me

Postby RBphoto » February 18th, 2015, 11:50 pm

ingalook wrote:
RBphoto wrote:
ingalook wrote:

Read child.. read.

So you saying that you let a man wile you up and press out and break de speed limit then?

Not really. I was not that experienced a driver. Man speeding up then mashing brakes behind me jerking his van aggressively. It was in Union hall and when I rounded a corner, a lady came over on my lane from behind a parked car. I slammed on the brakes and the guy behind me did not even get a chance to touch brakes.

Fact is - I'll take and experienced FOCUSSED driver in a well maintained car doing 120kmph over a inexperienced driver studying what he boss tell him yesterday driving at 80km any day

You kinda slow, ad I don't mean your car.

ingalook

Postby ingalook » February 19th, 2015, 1:09 am

Again, "speeding" WAS NOT a factor in your crash, you did possibly antagonise the driver behind you who was already acting like a moron, you could not call him to pass around the corners in union hall... he was following way too closely...

What is the No.1 cause of accidents?

Speeding?
Drunk driving?
Fatigue?
Cell phones?
Teenaged drivers?

Nope - lack of focus, when driving you must think about driving and driving alone... a car is a deadly weapon, the minute you loose focus someone ends up dead or badly injured

Unfortunately there is no way to legislate that you don't think about your gyul slamming the door in your face etc. when you are driving.

Our driving "test" is probably the first thing that needs an overhaul though

Postby DVSTT » February 19th, 2015, 5:06 am

I've seen the barriers stop a loaded truck already so I wouldn't call them ineffective.

nismoid

Postby nismoid » February 19th, 2015, 6:04 am

rspann wrote:I always thought they had the first contract and then lose it to unisure, ....... maybe I was wrong.

They subbed it to them,,, at least that's what I was told

nismoid

Postby nismoid » February 19th, 2015, 6:09 am

dtrinishy wrote:Nismoid get your facts correct prmc was never involved in that contract

Prove me wrong

Postby DVSTT » February 19th, 2015, 7:43 am

j.o.e wrote:

York

Postby York » February 19th, 2015, 8:29 am

ingalook wrote:Again, "speeding" WAS NOT a factor in your crash, you did possibly antagonise the driver behind you who was already acting like a moron, you could not call him to pass around the corners in union hall... he was following way too closely...

slowing down while indicating left and pulling aside to let the moron pass was not an option because RBPhoto was inexperienced.

Doh worry, 3 major accidents and he's experienced now...

York

Postby York » February 19th, 2015, 8:32 am

no, they should put mirrors instead of cable or steel barriers...that way ppl would not pull into cars (their own) and if they do, they will have to pay for the broken mirrors to be replaced.

Postby sliderz1 » February 19th, 2015, 9:33 am

desifemlove wrote:Image

mrs. kamla/dr. rowley - take note...........

this is global standard...not rope ting...

lol@global standard