tdavies

Re: RX8

Postby tdavies » November 30th, 2014, 6:27 am

Btw i can change oil in the b14 for 180
Oil and filter.
Oil change on the van is 800.
(Amsoil). There are also 2 diesel filters to change.

1 tyre on the van costs 1300.....i can get a ga15 head and block for 1000.....lol

So the nav cost a lot more to maintain.
Does that mean the navara is bad.......

No sir....i love my pickup

RAJIE

Postby RAJIE » November 30th, 2014, 7:53 am

j.o.e wrote:but wait, wait...hold on..the car is not sheit. Just its not for someone who's not knowledgable, doesn't do maintenance, or wants a daily driver. Handling is amazing and it's fun ...once it's a manual Type-S.
232hp,9000rpm red line, 5.9s 0-60 is not shoddy performcance...I agree it doesn't compare to Rx-7...but with emissions laws its as good as a rotary could do

im just curious
rx8 that is imported from japan or bought from roro dealers.. although it has 232hp.. 9000rpm can it cross 180/200km/hr or does it comes with the japan top speed restrictor?

antlind

Postby antlind » November 30th, 2014, 9:32 am

Just a short note to all the rotary bashes. Back in 1991 Mazda won the 24 Hours of Le Mans with the 787. This car won due to its reliability over other competitors. So much so that the Le Mans folks banned these engines from future races. No other Japanese manufacturer has won Le Mans before or since.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » November 30th, 2014, 9:40 am

imo the rx8 with the right kit does not look bad. wrs to the rotary engine....there are several other engine options which can work in the 8...so what's the problem??

hyperdude

Postby hyperdude » November 30th, 2014, 9:45 am

hmmmp
growing up we had Rx2,Rx4 and first gen Rx7's
although they are thaught to be high on maintenence ,
we generally had no major problems with them,
but they needed to be run on a daily basis
I guess you need to understand the basic design of the rotary
as for Rx8's my old man has gotten to old for them now,
so has retired to piston power...lol...

Lance

Postby Lance » November 30th, 2014, 9:46 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:imo the rx8 with the right kit does not look bad. wrs to the rotary engine....there are several other engine options which can work in the 8...so what's the problem??

So it's perfectly ok to buy a 4 year old car with the comfort of knowing you could always change the engine?

That ain't a Sentra.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » November 30th, 2014, 9:48 am

Lance wrote:
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:imo the rx8 with the right kit does not look bad. wrs to the rotary engine....there are several other engine options which can work in the 8...so what's the problem??

So it's perfectly ok to buy a 4 year old car with the comfort of knowing you could always change the engine?

That ain't a Sentra.

obviously there is a huge cost attached to it...but men making it out to be impossible...I have seen

1jz
2jz
rb and
sr

fit in it

Postby Morpheus » November 30th, 2014, 9:53 am

Have seen some that look really good. Coworker has one and it pulls decent enough. As with any car, research, research, research. Know what you getting into.

Will not bash....

cornfused

Postby cornfused » November 30th, 2014, 10:01 am

The 787B is a Japanese Technological legend . Euro collectors note this epic piece of engineering . Now if an Rx8 could sound like this or 1/3 the performance well :D :D :D

Enjoy

Last edited by cornfused on November 30th, 2014, 10:10 am, edited 1 time in total.

konartis

Postby konartis » November 30th, 2014, 10:02 am

i personally really like it...always wanted to get one...

Postby K74T » November 30th, 2014, 10:06 am

Lance wrote:

That ain't a Sentra.

LOL

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » November 30th, 2014, 1:06 pm

this forum full of big talkers but in reality more than 1/2 cant dream to afford a newly imported roro rx8 let alone for a used one already on our roads. For those who actually got one and it put down under their upstairs only house next to a rotten down washing machine, what can I say....you can't expect to maintain such a car with the mentality you got from your father with his taxi b15 or almera and your already existing b14 budget now can you?

sufferers + rx8 = lose
enthusiast + rx8 = win

m and r imports

Postby m and r imports » November 30th, 2014, 1:25 pm

Being a 3rd gen, rx8 and rx8 r3 owner I would like to confirm that all who bad talking rotary just jealous that they doh have one

Postby zoom rader » November 30th, 2014, 2:08 pm

I always liked the Rx and still do . Came close to buying a 3 gen but I just don't have the time to drive it as it should.

Postby 1UZFE » November 30th, 2014, 2:10 pm

Pros and cons

Postby zoom rader » November 30th, 2014, 2:19 pm

1UZFE wrote:Pros and cons

Its not cons, sone ppl don't have the money and time to deal with an RX.

Ferrari, Porsche ect are all in same brackets. You have to drive them and spend money on them.
RX ant no B14

zdeternal

Postby zdeternal » November 30th, 2014, 3:06 pm

@ RAJIE... these cars are AWESOME... I tried out the new stretch of highway to debe... Windows up and A/C on, the car did 110 MPH I.e., 177.03 KPH... and wanted to still GO!!! the only reason I didn't push it was because I had the family in the car and remembered my back tyres are a little smooth....

what I DID do was decelerate i.e., take my foot off the throttle and then sink it again... the car went down to 90 mPH and back up to 110/111 Mph without skipping a beat.. no lag or waiting to go back up to speed.. I've never felt that with ANY car..and I've had quite a few (sports), including American ones...

that's my 2 cents anyway...

Lance

Postby Lance » November 30th, 2014, 4:47 pm

Ferrari, Porsche ect are all in same brackets. You have to drive them and spend money on them.
RX ant no B14

And an RX8 ain't no Ferrari or Prosche. So your comparison is a moot one.

The 8 is simply not even comparable to the older 3rd Gen. The 8 retailed for almost 14,000 pounds less than the previous model. Where didn't that cost saving go?

tdavies

Postby tdavies » November 30th, 2014, 5:18 pm

Lance wrote:

RX ant no B14

And an RX8 ain't no Ferrari or Prosche. So your comparison is a moot one.

The 8 is simply not even comparable to the older 3rd Gen. The 8 retailed for almost 14,000 pounds less than the previous model. Where didn't that cost saving go?

The rx8 was not intended to be a rx7 .....
as the sa22 or fd
Hence it was called a 8 not a 7
It was designed as a cross between a saloon and a sportscar.
If you consider it as it was intended , you will realize its full of win.

Skyline007

Postby Skyline007 » November 30th, 2014, 7:51 pm

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Plj4DW8rT2s

Mazda RX8 - Stop / Start procedure guide is this so?

Coppershot

Postby Coppershot » November 30th, 2014, 8:30 pm

Postby pete » November 30th, 2014, 9:31 pm

That start stop procedure is only if you're switching it off without letting it heat up. It pumps a lot if fuel in at startup and if you switch off without it burning off might flood it if you try to start again.

Postby j.o.e » November 30th, 2014, 9:36 pm

the flooding was mostly a problem for 2004/05 cars...was fixed in subsequent yrs....car pretty much revved itself by idling higher

Postby pete » November 30th, 2014, 10:35 pm

Yeah and unfortunately most down here are pre-2006 models. After 2006 all were 6 port engines and the auto were 6speed. Earlier autos were 4 speed and suffered a lot. I was thinking to buy an auto one but didn't think I could particular have it as a daily driver for my wife.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » December 1st, 2014, 7:27 am

the rx8 ched in autotech forum has some very useful points..those who dislike roti should check it out

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » December 1st, 2014, 7:30 am

ah lil roti love
100_1084.JPG
100_1084.JPG (337.17 KiB) Viewed 2714 times

Postby j.o.e » December 1st, 2014, 8:58 am

Bout dat roti life....having a roti powered car is a privilege not a right.