Whats considered a good salary in TnT?

Re: Whats considered a good salary in TnT?

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » July 28th, 2014, 9:45 am

DFC wrote:$500 a week? allyuh men does eat crix everyday or what?

Well a good friend of mine taught me anything besides crix and cheese or crix and tea is trying to be a rich man. Infact he is currently an electrical engineer after he recently graduated from UWI with his Bsc in Electrical and Computer Engineering and he is currently perusing a masters degree and still eats crix. LOL

He was pointing that out to me recently, he said I was too spoiled and too rich just because I bought doubles and a coke. I taught he was on crack but the reality is the man was correct, he now has his own corolla and his degree with a decent enough Job soon to be promoted.

I learn to ban my belly from that individual, I will be down to $150 a week starting September as I am seeking to get a transfer to fulltime classes. Negotiating with my dad for $200 a week as $150 will be very tight especially traveling half the country to reach POS everyday.

But yes its doable for the greater good if you ask me. I honestly just happy for the small amount I get that helping me correct the mistakes I have made. I am greatful for that much atleast, is true I could ah be making $5k a month atleast if I wanted, not like I don't have my education but it has other things in life I making a sacrifice to pursue.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » July 28th, 2014, 9:48 am

kjaglal76v2 wrote:u have a car?

No but this is my form of transport to work, I ride approx 10 miles in total for the day to commute back and forth to work. I did manage to buy it at a $2500 at mikes bikes that I got for building a website for a client.

But spent $100 after to service it at bike inn and replace a spoke

kjaglal76v2

Postby kjaglal76v2 » July 28th, 2014, 9:51 am

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:

No but this is my form of transport to work, I ride approx 10 miles in total for the day to commute back and forth to work. I did manage to buy it at a $2500 at mikes bikes that I got for building a website for a client.

all the best on yur studies pal,when u finally make it u.wud appreciate all you have & hopefully wont squander it

Postby Les Bain » July 28th, 2014, 9:55 am

With a foundation like that, he'll go far. Will age better too.

urabus

Postby urabus » July 28th, 2014, 9:56 am

It really boils down to one's lifestyle

I have experienced how a change in lifestyle within the last say 6 months for me, has put a slight strain on my finances that's worked quite fine for me for the past 5 plus years.

I always wonder though how our parents did it, with the very little they had, no big education, nor big time jobs, but they were able to provide.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » July 28th, 2014, 9:58 am

kjaglal76v2 wrote:all the best on yur studies pal,when u finally make it u.wud appreciate all you have & hopefully wont squander it

^ yeah man thanks

My dream is to be a Computer Engineer, specializing in Robotics Engineering. I picked it because money has never ever been my immediate concern, would just like to be paid to do what I love.

Atleast this way I know how to save money now and won't squander it later on.

Postby DFC » July 28th, 2014, 10:21 am

bro, play a lil mark every now and then.

Thats a tight budget to live on.

Postby Spitfir3 » July 28th, 2014, 10:22 am

for a single person living a simple life i would say 8k is a decent base

if you already have a house then even around 6k is efficient

a comfortable baller life for a single person would be about 20k
Last edited by Spitfir3 on July 28th, 2014, 3:27 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Slartibartfast » July 28th, 2014, 10:25 am

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:

Lol @ servicing the bike. Only a man that love his bike like a car would talk about it like that. I saying this as someone that used to ride to and from work and making $1250 fortnightly back in the day. I saved up and paid $2800 for my bike (Fuji Nevada). That was in 2010 and I still treat the bike like a baby. My ride to and from work was only about 6 miles total though.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » July 28th, 2014, 10:30 am

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:
DFC wrote:$500 a week? allyuh men does eat crix everyday or what?

Well a good friend of mine taught me anything besides crix and cheese or crix and tea is trying to be a rich man. Infact he is currently an electrical engineer after he recently graduated from UWI with his Bsc in Electrical and Computer Engineering and he is currently perusing a masters degree and still eats crix. LOL

He was pointing that out to me recently, he said I was too spoiled and too rich just because I bought doubles and a coke. I taught he was on crack but the reality is the man was correct, he now has his own corolla and his degree with a decent enough Job soon to be promoted.

I learn to ban my belly from that individual, I will be down to $150 a week starting September as I am seeking to get a transfer to fulltime classes. Negotiating with my dad for $200 a week as $150 will be very tight especially traveling half the country to reach POS everyday.

But yes its doable for the greater good if you ask me. I honestly just happy for the small amount I get that helping me correct the mistakes I have made. I am greatful for that much atleast, is true I could ah be making $5k a month atleast if I wanted, not like I don't have my education but it has other things in life I making a sacrifice to pursue.
good!

How old are you?

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » July 28th, 2014, 10:36 am

^28, thats why I wanna do classes fulltime since part time is taking a little too long. Don't want to take too long to finish it these things.

I have a bunch of IT papers including an advanced diploma in Computing. But really Computer Engineering is what I wanted to do, the advanced dip granted me entry into the Bsc Engineering program. I would much prefer sacrifice and take a longer time to get this as opposed to the IT field.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » July 28th, 2014, 10:41 am

DFC wrote:bro, play a lil mark every now and then.

Thats a tight budget to live on.

lol I real bad at gambling.

But I renewing my powerseller on tuner starting September. The few website contracts and PC repairs as little as they may be would definitely help out that $150 a week.

In all honesty trinituner does be a great help.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » July 28th, 2014, 10:47 am

Slartibartfast wrote:Lol @ servicing the bike. Only a man that love his bike like a car would talk about it like that. I saying this as someone that used to ride to and from work and making $1250 fortnightly back in the day. I saved up and paid $2800 for my bike (Fuji Nevada). That was in 2010 and I still treat the bike like a baby. My ride to and from work was only about 6 miles total though.

Boy I does park this bike in my room. LOL does lift it with one hand and walk up the stairs with it on my back. But yes I love my bike, its a Giant Revel 3 I had a Fuji Nevada 1.6D before this it was matte black. This giant like the fuji is full aluminum. Man I does do everything with this baby, commute to work, exercise, buy groceries etc. lol

I even went to Trincity mall the other day with it. Its a great form of transport it don't cost me anything really and I lost 4 inches on the waist since I had it. Feel quite much healthier now.
Last edited by EFFECTIC DESIGNS on July 28th, 2014, 10:48 am, edited 1 time in total.

kjaglal76v2

Postby kjaglal76v2 » July 28th, 2014, 10:47 am

i kno u pulling ah fresh b14 once things start go yur way financially

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » July 28th, 2014, 10:51 am

kjaglal76v2 wrote:i kno u pulling ah fresh b14 once things start go yur way financially

yeah for sure, rfari have ah bess one I hear.

Ah hear this is rfari one, I won't lie when I see this pic I know yes this is my dream car but I want ah Sr20 een it.

kjaglal76v2

Postby kjaglal76v2 » July 28th, 2014, 10:54 am

i kno the owner of that car & it aint rfari

kjaglal76v2

Postby kjaglal76v2 » July 28th, 2014, 10:55 am

and yes it have a sr20vvl

Postby S_2NR » July 28th, 2014, 11:07 am

After reading this thread I know effectic life story. Wtf

Postby Spitfir3 » July 28th, 2014, 11:50 am

effective is an inspiration, send him laventille to inspire the youths

Postby Slartibartfast » July 28th, 2014, 12:08 pm

Respect to Effective for making the effort to stay on the straight and narrow. As part of the same generation as Effective I can tell you first hand that not a lot of people our age know or even care about sacrifices anymore.

Postby Ted_v2 » July 28th, 2014, 1:04 pm

S_2NR wrote:After reading this thread I know effectic life story. Wtf

the struggle is real

Postby Ted_v2 » July 28th, 2014, 1:09 pm

ideally i can see myself living with a salary of around 7k a month, i can safely pay all my bills and expenses.
maintain a vehicle and still occasionally splurge.

Note.
I dont have to pay rent,nor pay for a vehicle.

just mind meh arse

Postby AllTrac » July 28th, 2014, 1:12 pm

after reading this thread i know to duck ah lime if i hear effectic gonna be there cause he gonna drink everybody rounds and when is his turn he gonna get ah sudden phone call

PapaC

Postby PapaC » July 28th, 2014, 1:25 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:
kjaglal76v2 wrote:all the best on yur studies pal,when u finally make it u.wud appreciate all you have & hopefully wont squander it

^ yeah man thanks

My dream is to be a Computer Engineer, . I picked ispecializing in Robotics Engineeringt because money has never ever been my immediate concern, would just like to be paid to do what I love.

Atleast this way I know how to save money now and won't squander it later on.

You have a nice project to do next year once you get in if that is your field. Once the course project doesn't change for System Dynamics.

jmccomie

Postby jmccomie » July 28th, 2014, 1:57 pm

$150 a week? nah Effectic on jones with allyuh

Postby desifemlove » July 28th, 2014, 2:11 pm

ent $30,000 a month seen as "bess" salary?

Ent it like everywhere else, as in obligations, needs, wants, industry averages, national comparisons?

So $30,000 a month for a single man wit no chirren is cool. same for a family of two parents and 5 chirren in a 4 bedroom house, mortgage and 2 cars, not so much.

Postby Spitfir3 » July 28th, 2014, 3:19 pm

AllTrac wrote:after reading this thread i know to duck ah lime if i hear effectic gonna be there cause he gonna drink everybody rounds and when is his turn he gonna get ah sudden phone call

nah..he go say he goin gas station real quick to "pressure he bike tire"

Postby SR » July 28th, 2014, 3:23 pm

After reading this thread its clear that my salary is way below what men quoting here for comfortable living.

Sends off a letter to d rasta for lanate

Re: Whats considered a good salary in TnT

Postby DVSTT » July 28th, 2014, 3:30 pm

Agreed. Time to open a Lil car wash on the side

Postby Slartibartfast » July 28th, 2014, 3:39 pm

So if I only makin 5K I could live a partially comfortable life?

Crappy car
crappy bed
crappy clothes
crappy apartment
crappy TV
Bess couch

for everything else there's mastercard