SAD- Indian dancing is now a criteria for SEA.

Re: SAD- Indian dancing is now a mandatory criteria for SEA.

Postby Ronaldo95163 » June 11th, 2014, 11:19 am

That a rhetorical question?

Because I was really serious :|

What does all this unnecessary garbage have to do with academics?

Halfbreed07

Postby Halfbreed07 » June 11th, 2014, 11:20 am

Girls who learned to "indian dance" from a young age also lean how to rotate that pelvis region in tight little circles, if you know what i mean.
MOE +1 for investing in youth.

Postby Team Loco » June 11th, 2014, 11:26 am

zoom rader wrote:I said this before and will continue to to say it.

Carnival is trini biggest problem for crime, unwanted kids, unsociable behaviour and lazy mentality . For years preschoolers have been taught to wine like dog , juk your waist and this leads to the problems that we now face with teenage moms, the child father and mother syndrome.
Any form of classical dance is far better that any wine like dog and juk you waist routine set amongst kids.

It's is also misleading and mischievous as it is not only indian dance that is being introduced but all other forms of classical dance and art is being introduced. Dance and arts is being introduced to stop this country from producing unsociable behaviour. The past few days we have seen crime infested kids that were killed as a result of their unsociable behaviour. It's never to late to change.

My sentiments exactly

Advent

Postby Advent » June 11th, 2014, 11:31 am

Halfbreed07 wrote:Girls who learned to "indian dance" from a young age also lean how to rotate that pelvis region in tight little circles, if you know what i mean.

#buss out laughing yes :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

G-T

Postby G-T » June 11th, 2014, 12:01 pm

Ok lets put aside the thought that every child have to enroll in “Indian Dancing”. Dance lessons is exciting for children, it is a wonderful activity for kids, capable of fostering a positive self image, it can teach a child self confidence, self discipline, poise and grace. If the child is introduced to dance at an early age they will likely develop a love of the arts and a passion for rhythm and movement.

Dancing also a way for a child to exercise, it can improve cognitive skills since it prepares the brain for learning.

FYI Indian dancing has multiple styles such as Barata Natyam, Manipuri, Odissi, Kathak, Kathakali, Mohini Attam, Andhra Natyam and Kuchipudi. (Classical Indian Dancing)

Postby Chimera » June 11th, 2014, 12:04 pm

G-T wrote:FYI Indian dancing has multiple styles such as Barata Natyam, Manipuri, Odissi, Kathak, Kathakali, Mohini Attam, Andhra Natyam and Kuchipudi. (Classical Indian Dancing)

what type is this

G-T

Postby G-T » June 11th, 2014, 12:07 pm

^no clue..

Postby Spitfir3 » June 11th, 2014, 12:28 pm

AllTrac wrote:This should of been mandatory long time ago, but im happy none the less, next step is to make tassa one of our national instrument and to be taught in all schools.

also make pholourie and doubles our official national food
give them an open choice on it doh
Last edited by Spitfir3 on June 11th, 2014, 1:09 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Postby K74T » June 11th, 2014, 12:29 pm

Halfbreed07 wrote:btw are christian prayers still being said at government schools in morning assemblies?

Yes

Postby 88sins » June 11th, 2014, 12:33 pm

If they want to introduce it, it should be voluntary & there should be a variety, not just 1 thing & thats all & yuh HAVE to take it. That is one sure way to make any program fail

This kinda thing has been tried in the US & UK before, with mixed results. Those countries realized it takes more than just school activities to fix these type of issues, so they implement other social programs, like boys & girls club, big brother/big sister program etc. You can never remedy the issue of antisocial behavior & irresponsibility of the nations youth with only the addition of dance classes to a schools curriculum. That is a problem that starts in the home when bad examples are set by the child's parents/guardians/mentors, & no discipline is taught to them nor penalties issued for offenses the child commits. Yuh force a yute to put on a tights & a tutu & prance he ass around like a fairy whole day doing whatever kinda "dance" yuh feel would help his behavior/cognitive skills/motor skills /coordination of whatever else yuh think be wrong with him/her, & it ain't gonna fix squat. He/she would just have one more thing to do in school, & then is back to d same old indiscipline & antisocial conduct.

but what ever, allyuh do allyuh ting.

TriniAutoMart

Postby TriniAutoMart » June 11th, 2014, 12:44 pm

Thread title is misleading. According to the MOE website it's:

Perform folk dances - local and of other lands.

http://www.moe.gov.tt/Curriculum_pdfs/P ... _Music.pdf (page 50)

Halfbreed07

Postby Halfbreed07 » June 11th, 2014, 12:51 pm

OP is non indo, he can't be blamed for his lack of comprehension.

keithdlancerboss

Postby keithdlancerboss » June 11th, 2014, 1:01 pm

Implement it quick!!! I have a daughter in standard 2 and would love for her to be a part of it. As long as they dance to classical Indian music and not chutney :grin: some African dance would be appreciated too.

src1983

Postby src1983 » June 11th, 2014, 1:37 pm

Op should change the topic

WM_Tuner

Postby WM_Tuner » June 11th, 2014, 2:26 pm

I think the problem is not that it's taught but that its part of the evaluation for SEAS. If you want to teach ethnic dances etc, make it voluntary ..and not part of the evaluation for where you go to school ...

Postby Dizzy28 » June 11th, 2014, 2:48 pm

Incorrect thread title is incorrect!!

moses_boss12
Location: The Beautiful Hills of.................... Hellshire!!

Postby moses_boss12 » June 11th, 2014, 3:56 pm

This post this just shows why we have a bunch of irrational, insensitive, ignorant backsides in this country :roll: :roll: ..Just a post to shake up some bacchanal. What a waste!!! and persons who were commenting and acting like clowns your damn self without the facts take a look at the link.. :!: :!: .. stop making a fool of yourself. We will never move forward if only bacchanal catches our attention. LOOK AT ISSUES

Good Afternoon

http://www.moe.gov.tt/Curriculum_pdfs/P ... _Music.pdf

Halfbreed07

Postby Halfbreed07 » June 11th, 2014, 4:03 pm

I tort this was der ole tork 4rum tho.

Postby Trini Hookah » June 11th, 2014, 4:08 pm

Ronaldo95163 wrote:That a rhetorical question?

Obama said no child left behind, at least he tried yes.

Postby toyolink » June 11th, 2014, 4:13 pm

Unfortunate use of free speech/expression is demonstrated in the title of this thread.
Only goes to show what can happen when an idle mind gets engaged in 'ole talk'.

Postby S_2NR » June 11th, 2014, 4:16 pm

Halfbreed07 wrote:Girls who learned to "indian dance" from a young age also lean how to rotate that pelvis region in tight little circles, if you know what i mean.

this man right here knows what he talking about.

Postby eliteauto » June 11th, 2014, 5:55 pm

any introduction of cultural activities should be welcomed, especially at a young age, particularly if it transcends into a community affair, we sorely are lacking in community spirit especially in urban areas

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » June 11th, 2014, 7:00 pm

eliteauto wrote:we sorely are lacking in community spirit especially in urban areas
nah man, look at the solidarity when burning tyres and protesting :|

bignog

Postby bignog » June 11th, 2014, 7:12 pm

Old folks say " doh put a loaded gun in a monkey hand " ....why? .....cause he go shoot wile wile ...........jus put soup kitchen an pan in all the school den dey go hush up..........if yuh eh like that .....check meh location

Postby Ronaldo95163 » June 11th, 2014, 7:15 pm

Trini Hookah wrote:
Ronaldo95163 wrote:That a rhetorical question?

Obama said no child left behind, at least he tried yes.

kjaglal76v2

Postby kjaglal76v2 » June 12th, 2014, 12:49 am

i agree with the classical.indian dance programs!!

litos

Postby litos » June 12th, 2014, 3:16 am

RIPEBREDFRUIT wrote:All of you with children in primary schools, what do you think of the this.
A now mandatory part of the assessment of your child is DAnce and movement.

I have no problem with that, but offer students a choice, modern dance, Tai chi, African dancing, latin dancing etc..............

Why is it that this will be based only on Indian dancing and your child MUST adhere to this ridiculous stupidity?

you seriously kicking a fuss for this? i didnt know people were still so backward and culturally poor.

let me ask you something.... if they were learning Ballet, would you be ok with it? and if so why?

examine this question and the answer you derive and then examine your position here.

it is my opinion that you..... over-ripebreadfruit ....are not so incensed by the dance thing as much as you are by the indian thing.

poor fellow!

jaggie

Postby jaggie » June 12th, 2014, 4:26 am

RIPEBREDFRUIT wrote:All of you with children in primary schools, what do you think of the this.

I have no problem with that, but offer students a choice, modern dance, Tai chi, African dancing, latin dancing etc..............

Why is it that this will be based only on Indian dancing and your child MUST adhere to this ridiculous stupidity?

CLEARLY A RACIST!!!....yes, OP you very sad...

bluespeed

Postby bluespeed » June 12th, 2014, 5:13 am

Ronaldo95163 wrote::lol:

Primary schools gonna be producing fags now

better to have fags than a 9year old illiterate gangster who will eventually get corn form team NEDTF!!!

bignog

Postby bignog » June 12th, 2014, 5:52 am

jaggie wrote:

CLEARLY A RACIST!!!....yes, OP you very sad...

My 0.02 exactly ......they does come out here camouflage.........but yuh get make out ......he rather he son wear tights to do ballet