Do You Get Charged For Illegal Tint?

Re: Do You Get Charged For Illegal Tint?

Postby shogun » June 5th, 2014, 10:26 am

Mercenary wrote: I think is time we get the re-usable tint.

The onus shouldn't be on the public to be guessing what's legal and not. They need to get their act together and tell the us what the regulations regarding tints are.

White CZ4A

Postby White CZ4A » June 5th, 2014, 11:05 am

Don't know if it's changed. But had 20% on my car about 2 years ago. Was in a roadblock, they saw it and I was expecting a charge. Then he said I need to remove it right now. So I asked why. Officer said that he cannot allow me to continue with the car as is and that I needed to remove it or the car would be impounded. Not knowing the law I removed it plus got a ticket for illegal tint.

Really not sure if that was legal or not but I complied.

Postby zoom rader » June 5th, 2014, 11:15 am

Why beat up, just dont have ANY tint on ur car and avoid de hassle. They can see you without any tint but can't see you on ur motorbike where your sun visor is shaded on ur helmet .
De bops likes to feel a lil important now and then and if they don't like you then pay de fine.

Postby shogun » June 5th, 2014, 11:21 am

You seeing that sun lately?. Tints aren't just for style inno.

zoom rader wrote: and if they don't like you then pay de fine.

That's what worries me. That all the ambiguity with regards to tints is just what some unscrupulous officers need to harass the public.

Postby zoom rader » June 5th, 2014, 11:25 am

shogun wrote:You seeing that sun lately?. Tints aren't just for style inno.

zoom rader wrote: and if they don't like you then pay de fine.

That's what worries me. That all the ambiguity with regards to tints is just what some unscrupulous officers need to harass the public.

I know what you saying, it's part reason why best thing females don't get charged as often as males. Too bad if u fit the gangster profile.
Just keep ur car legal and avoid some bops that getting horn .

Postby Spitfir3 » June 5th, 2014, 11:32 am

i have i think either 20 or 30% on all 4 doors and never had a problem however the front windshield only has a small strip so i think that helps my case since most the time they just look through that

chelsealife

Postby chelsealife » June 5th, 2014, 11:37 am

i have 10% cold steel all round wit 20% black behind dat n a 35% whole screen in d front. Never get pressure from poluce YET. Avoid major roads

JoKeR1980

Postby JoKeR1980 » June 5th, 2014, 11:42 am

nah OP, you doh get charge for illegal stuff

Postby TRAE » June 5th, 2014, 11:47 am

Joker wazzup ninja?

thepunisherer

Postby thepunisherer » June 5th, 2014, 11:58 am

shottah_crew wrote:
kerwinishere wrote:
-Roach- wrote:I double check the post date just to make sure yes... :\

Ent.

Last time I checked it was 35-front and 20-back. Not sure if that change. Anyone know the charge?

Wrong. There is no right %. As long as the Police say they cannot clearly see inside from outside, they entitled to charge and allyuh go fight it out in court.

^^^ This
So if you Black and its overcast.......
You gonna have a bad time.

killercow

Postby killercow » June 5th, 2014, 12:13 pm

nervewrecker wrote:Have 20% on both vehicles and does be all over. Never got a problem and police never bother me.

thelem wrote:OP. Don't get tied up with your fresh tint. I had 20 right around installed last year and was worried too. It now looks like 35. Trini Sun is a hell of a thing.

X100
In 2 months or less (in dry season) da go look lighter than 20% but slightly darker than 35%.

On another note if yuh really want to get away with dark tint buy a big truck.
I does see dem big truck men with G5 and 3% ColdSteel and never see one
geh pull over / strip yet.

Bimmerhead

Postby Bimmerhead » June 5th, 2014, 4:09 pm

ahaha how they stripping that wit a ladder?

JoKeR1980

Postby JoKeR1980 » June 5th, 2014, 8:21 pm

man like Trae, I dey, wuz de scene

Postby hustla_ambition101 » June 5th, 2014, 9:26 pm

20% + dark grey interior since 2007 checking in......

Postby Hook » June 6th, 2014, 7:03 am

Didn't we beat this topic to death years ago?

Anyway, 2014 time, anyone noticed that a ridiculous number of vehicles tinting the entire front windshield, including some protective services vehicles?
Doesn't the law specify the maximum allowable width of the band across the windscreen?

Postby crazybalhead » June 6th, 2014, 7:04 am

It does hook, no more than 8"

cyb3rphantom

Postby cyb3rphantom » June 6th, 2014, 7:53 am

Well i lucky then i rockin meh g3 titanium on doors,50% whole windscreen and 20% titanium back windscreen almost 2 yrs now,and d officers doh bother me atal!!

Postby S_2NR » June 6th, 2014, 8:21 am

on the subject, what is your take on doubling on tint.
my 20 faded now, feeling to add another 20 on top. would it look bad?

src1983

Postby src1983 » June 6th, 2014, 8:44 am

S_2NR wrote:on the subject, what is your take on doubling on tint.
my 20 faded now, feeling to add another 20 on top. would it look bad?

Why not just replace?

Postby Hook » June 6th, 2014, 8:49 am

The old tint wouldn't have little scratches etc on it?

Postby S_2NR » June 6th, 2014, 8:51 am

the old tint dont have any scratches.
i want to go darker but not 5% dark.
my tint fade so much it look lighter than 35 right now.
so im thinking the 20% on what looks like 50% would give me what i want.

Jaipaulsingh

Postby Jaipaulsingh » June 6th, 2014, 9:04 am

So ollur can't just send down the glass and put on your interior lights when you see the police, or like ollur hotboxing it all the time?

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » June 6th, 2014, 9:09 am

Exactly 20% all round. Looks really dark if all glass up.

When I see the cops I roll down the front and crack the back and have never get stopped!

Mercenary

Postby Mercenary » June 6th, 2014, 9:24 am

They make you send up the glass sometimes. Even with sunroof open they harassing.

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » June 6th, 2014, 9:28 am

Never did that to me and I have to pass outside the new Licencing Office 4 -5 times a day and there is a lot of roadblocks there. Must have gone thru at least 20 blocks there in recent time

I do not bring down all the glasses to make it obvious!

So far no stops!

Postby shogun » June 6th, 2014, 1:45 pm

PariaMan wrote:When I see the cops I roll down the front and crack the back and have never get stopped!

Heard accounts of them having drivers roll up their windows, when they suspect the driver might be trying to conceal his/her tint.

And this is an example of how bad things are, when the public willingly accepts having to resort to tactics like this. Why can't they just make the regulations available to the public?. Some officers are in questionable physical health as it is. Then why is the possibility of me getting a ticket/inconvenienced being determined by each individual officer's eyesight?.

Postby DFC » June 6th, 2014, 1:49 pm

Doubling your tint makes no sense.

if you put 20% ontop another 20% you will get 40% tint which defeating the whole purpose of having dark tint.

shottah_crew

Postby shottah_crew » June 6th, 2014, 2:02 pm

DFC wrote:Doubling your tint makes no sense.

if you put 20% ontop another 20% you will get 40% tint which defeating the whole purpose of having dark tint.

So we should take off 15% of the 20% to get our 5%.

Postby nervewrecker » June 6th, 2014, 2:52 pm

Hook wrote:Didn't we beat this topic to death years ago?

Anyway, 2014 time, anyone noticed that a ridiculous number of vehicles tinting the entire front windshield, including some protective services vehicles?
Doesn't the law specify the maximum allowable width of the band across the windscreen?

You mentioned something about sirens in another thread too. I see Min. of Food production have sirens now.

S2nr, remove the old tint. When some get old they get patches, start to peel and / or flake. Dont wnat that happening under your fresh tint.

Postby Chimera » June 6th, 2014, 3:11 pm

shogun wrote:
PariaMan wrote:When I see the cops I roll down the front and crack the back and have never get stopped!

Heard accounts of them having drivers roll up their windows, when they suspect the driver might be trying to conceal his/her tint.

yup they make me roll up all my windows in a road block once, but i open my sunroof so the police officer wasn't sure and he call a license officer

who then tell me to take off the back glass tint (really couldn't see anything inside the car tho)