Is it possible to import a car older than 6 years old

Re: Is it possible to import a car older than 6 years old

Postby 88sins » May 28th, 2014, 12:36 pm

gready123456 wrote:Returning resident

iirc THIS is it. & iirc said vehicle cannot ever be sold w/o permission from the Commissioner of Transport

Postby javishm » May 28th, 2014, 2:46 pm

saw an old bettle for sale in st augustine by foreign used centre

gready123456

Postby gready123456 » May 28th, 2014, 2:55 pm

iirc THIS is it. & iirc said vehicle cannot ever be sold w/o permission from the Commissioner of Transport

if u have family living abroad let them buy the car keep it for a year and then ship it to Trinidad it can be licensed no matter the age as long as its the car of a returning resident. then it has to stay in their name for another year in trinidad before it can be sold and transfered..

Eaton Guo

Postby Eaton Guo » May 28th, 2014, 11:06 pm

javishm wrote:saw an old bettle for sale in st augustine by foreign used centre

yuss definitely going to check this out.

Mr.Bollywood

Postby Mr.Bollywood » May 29th, 2014, 6:33 am

juss saying since everyone interested in beetles so much, it has about 5 for sale in the Diamond Vale area, only one I really check out was in great condition and the guy was calling $9000 for it!

scotty_buttons

Postby scotty_buttons » May 30th, 2014, 6:37 am

gready123456 wrote:

if u have family living abroad let them buy the car keep it for a year and then ship it to Trinidad it can be licensed no matter the age as long as its the car of a returning resident. then it has to stay in their name for another year in trinidad before it can be sold and transfered..

Do they have to keep it for a year before bringing it to Trinidad.
It also states somewhere that the resident should have intentions of permanently staying in Trinidad :lol:

gready123456

Postby gready123456 » May 30th, 2014, 10:17 am

scotty_buttons wrote:
gready123456 wrote:

Do they have to keep it for a year before bringing it to Trinidad.
It also states somewhere that the resident should have intentions of permanently staying in Trinidad :lol:

YES and who checking to see if u staying in trinidad permanently ??

69firebird

Postby 69firebird » June 14th, 2014, 10:22 pm

well tuners, i was kinda confused cuz i see older cars on the road with new plates already(not really new but like PBW plates on a 70s car)and i know abt the whole returning resident deal but i find i was seeing too much...so i inquired abt it from a customs officer and he told me that once u have a good enough reason to import a car (like a classic muscle car or so) ministry would give u an import licsence and a letter where u will be able to import whatever car and then with the letter u cud get plates for it....has anyone heard abt this cuz this is the first time i hear it...

kerwinishere

Postby kerwinishere » June 14th, 2014, 10:51 pm

69firebird wrote:well tuners, i was kinda confused cuz i see older cars on the road with new plates already(not really new but like PBW plates on a 70s car)and i know abt the whole returning resident deal but i find i was seeing too much...so i inquired abt it from a customs officer and he told me that once u have a good enough reason to import a car (like a classic muscle car or so) ministry would give u an import licsence and a letter where u will be able to import whatever car and then with the letter u cud get plates for it....has anyone heard abt this cuz this is the first time i hear it...

It is possible. PDC plates on this classic

69firebird

Postby 69firebird » June 14th, 2014, 11:09 pm

kerwinishere wrote:
69firebird wrote:well tuners, i was kinda confused cuz i see older cars on the road with new plates already(not really new but like PBW plates on a 70s car)and i know abt the whole returning resident deal but i find i was seeing too much...so i inquired abt it from a customs officer and he told me that once u have a good enough reason to import a car (like a classic muscle car or so) ministry would give u an import licsence and a letter where u will be able to import whatever car and then with the letter u cud get plates for it....has anyone heard abt this cuz this is the first time i hear it...

It is possible. PDC plates on this classic

dayum, well look how life just get a lil btr...

kerwinishere

Postby kerwinishere » June 14th, 2014, 11:12 pm

scotty_buttons

Postby scotty_buttons » June 15th, 2014, 7:29 am

Obviously those are cars from the US. Likely returning nationals brought them in. No rocket science there.

kerwinishere

Postby kerwinishere » June 15th, 2014, 7:37 am

Fact is they were registered

Postby javishm » June 15th, 2014, 11:29 am

kerwinishere wrote:Fact is they were registered

As a returning resident it can be done

scotty_buttons

Postby scotty_buttons » June 15th, 2014, 12:43 pm

kerwinishere wrote:Fact is they were registered

That was known for years. It not gonna benefit any of us unless you're living in another country for years and decide to come back here

Richard Marshall

Postby Richard Marshall » June 15th, 2014, 2:48 pm

Why register a returning resident vehicle that's from the 80's, and not a vehicle that's over 6yrs old? Where's the logic in that? This government is messed up. :evil:

Postby pete » June 15th, 2014, 3:33 pm

How so? If you are living in another country and either like the car or wouldn't really get much if you were to sell and prefer to bring it back it removes the stress of having to get it off your hands before coming back. I am not completely sure but I think you only get to do it once vs a foreign used car which you can bring for yourself every three years.

hondablood

Postby hondablood » June 15th, 2014, 5:34 pm

make sure and check these driving shells properly tuners,saw a couple advertised on trini cars for sale and here and when i went and checked them most were and cut in half and joined back,raise those floor mats and do a proper check pple as the sellers not telling you this

jaggie

Postby jaggie » June 17th, 2014, 7:54 am

pete wrote:The new amendments to the mvrta had an allowance for vintage cars over 30 years to be able to be imported. There may be a chance in the future.

2ND time I heard about this...vintage cars....anybody got info?

Postby pete » June 17th, 2014, 8:14 am

viewtopic.php?f=4&t=563964

http://mtr.gov.tt/home/sites/default/fi ... 014%29.pdf

“antique vehicle” means a private motor vehicle or commercial vehicle,
which is at least thirty years old;

The Authority may register a vehicle as an antique vehicle where -
(a) the vehicle has been tested for originality and safety and certified
by the Authority as an antique vehicle;
(b) there is in force in respect of the vehicle a policy of insurance in
respect of third party risks as complies with the requirements of
the Motor Vehicles Insurance (Third Party Risks) Act; and
(c) upon application for registration, the owner pays the prescribed
fee

iDynamic

Postby iDynamic » September 2nd, 2014, 12:18 pm

pete wrote:http://www.trinituner.com/v3/forums/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=563964

http://mtr.gov.tt/home/sites/default/fi ... 014%29.pdf

“antique vehicle” means a private motor vehicle or commercial vehicle,
which is at least thirty years old;

The Authority may register a vehicle as an antique vehicle where -
(a) the vehicle has been tested for originality and safety and certified
by the Authority as an antique vehicle;
(b) there is in force in respect of the vehicle a policy of insurance in
respect of third party risks as complies with the requirements of
the Motor Vehicles Insurance (Third Party Risks) Act; and
(c) upon application for registration, the owner pays the prescribed
fee

Can anyone confirm if this is possible yet ? ... I'm also seeing the documentation online
ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1409674633.019432.jpg

shermantank

Postby shermantank » September 2nd, 2014, 1:13 pm

i was looking at sbt japan and i sure many tuners bought from dem already cuz u really save a fortune...wen i first was on the site i got excited seeing dem old 5 series bmw but then i remembered d 6 years rule....i aint see nuttin wrong bringing in dem older vehicles...i guess dey aint wanna crowd up d roads....but whoever have a link to bring in older vehicles lemme know

9YDMS

Postby 9YDMS » September 2nd, 2014, 1:27 pm

in for the info on registering an antique!

iDynamic

Postby iDynamic » September 2nd, 2014, 4:31 pm

Calor wrote:in for the info on registering an antique!

Awaits response from someone

9YDMS

Postby 9YDMS » September 2nd, 2014, 4:56 pm

^I can just imagine the amout of antiques people gonna be importing...from 240z to jags :evilbat: ..this sounds too good to be true but time will tell :!:

iDynamic

Postby iDynamic » September 2nd, 2014, 7:00 pm

Calor wrote:^I can just imagine the amout of antiques people gonna be importing...from 240z to jags :evilbat: ..this sounds too good to be true but time will tell :!:

Well it has to be true because the documentation for it is on the governments website, the question is if it's already in effect

aidan

Postby aidan » September 2nd, 2014, 8:02 pm

iDynamic wrote:
Calor wrote:in for the info on registering an antique!

Awaits response from someone

een for info

Postby pete » September 2nd, 2014, 10:19 pm

The bill hasn't passed as yet.

Postby desifemlove » September 3rd, 2014, 8:41 pm

Why should restrictions exist? as long as it meets the roadworthiness regulations, i doh get why it does matter.

So if a person imports a kit car, or some real old Ford from 1920 or something, s/he has to get it registered? even if it just for show and not to drive?

9YDMS

Postby 9YDMS » September 7th, 2014, 8:56 pm

Mr.Bollywood wrote:juss saying since everyone interested in beetles so much, it has about 5 for sale in the Diamond Vale area, only one I really check out was in great condition and the guy was calling $9000 for it!

contact # for the person selling the VW ?