Need Help Upgrading Laptop

Advent

Re: Need Help Upgrading Laptop

Postby Advent » April 29th, 2014, 3:10 pm

lol at linux comment.........anyways Op you dont need to run a defrag program, windows 7 and up automatically does this.

bossmann

Postby bossmann » April 29th, 2014, 3:23 pm

Yeah but all defraggers are not created equal

rsxpert

Postby rsxpert » April 29th, 2014, 5:12 pm

well I might try the third option killercow gave but I may just buy a new hard drive.. but what's the real difference between the SSD? and also where can I buy these? Im looking for about a 1tb HDD to use in the laptop this time

Postby Spitfir3 » April 29th, 2014, 5:29 pm

if you are looking at a 1tb harddrive forget about SSD then because those come in very small sizes don't read me wrong doh they do come in larger sizes but the amount of money you would spend on one could probably get you a new laptop

supertech sells SSD at a reasonable price if you still decide to go that route you might get it in like 120gb size

lastly unless you plan on using that storage then all you need to do is like i suggested redo the operating system that will surely make it work faster if it doesn't then you would have a hardware issue most likely the harddrive would be bad but in that case the operating system might not even load

rsxpert

Postby rsxpert » April 29th, 2014, 5:56 pm

well where can I get a 1TB HDD at a good price? NOT SSD
I wanna try the clean install and have room for a dual boot just incase (on the 1TB)

rsxpert

Postby rsxpert » April 29th, 2014, 6:00 pm

oh btw is there like a 500 -700GB SSD? and around what price are they?

EDIT: i know Intel Celeron B830 1.8ghz Processor and the motherboard is an Gateway EG50_HC_HR which is Socket 988B rPGA and i found some cpu for socket 988b rpga so i was wondering if i can upgrade the cpu on this laptop to something like Intel Core i5 2520M or Intel Core i7 2720QM?

Postby skylinechild » April 30th, 2014, 10:22 am

rsxpert wrote:well I might try the third option killercow gave but I may just buy a new hard drive.. but what's the real difference between the SSD? and also where can I buy these? Im looking for about a 1tb HDD to use in the laptop this time

key difference is SPEED. SSD drives have NO MOVING PARTS- they are essentially just big flash drives - that are used for hard drives. the chips and controllers that make up this type of hard drive are designed for speed.

rsxpert wrote:oh btw is there like a 500 -700GB SSD? and around what price are they?

EDIT: i know Intel Celeron B830 1.8ghz Processor and the motherboard is an Gateway EG50_HC_HR which is Socket 988B rPGA and i found some cpu for socket 988b rpga so i was wondering if i can upgrade the cpu on this laptop to something like Intel Core i5 2520M or Intel Core i7 2720QM?

go for a samsung SSD 500Gb...a powerseller on tuner has then at an ok price.if you cant afford the 500gb then go for the 250GB

see link >> viewtopic.php?f=11&t=393359

to answer you last question yes - but with exceptions.
the processor you found must be the same socket type-(which it is) it must also the the laptop version- specially built for a laptop -not for a desktop- and the BIOS must be able to recognize the new CPU - just update to the latest BIOS before swapping out processors.

lastly and most importantly- the faster you go the hotter you run - ensure you get the proper cooling fan and heat pipe assembly for the new processor and use artic silver thermal paste.

the swapping processor is a bit overkill...spend your money on the SSD and RAM...wipe and reload the os and you will definitely see the improvement.

TIP. you said you have DDR3 memory DDR3 memory comes in different speeds find out the maximum speed of memory your laptop can use and buy that...also buy it in matched pairs...same capacity and same speed. ie two 4gb sticks to give a total of 8GBs -

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/DDR3_SDRAM

Postby Spitfir3 » April 30th, 2014, 10:56 am

agreed about the processor upgrade being overkill, if you're going that route is better to just buy another laptop and done, ram and hardrive upgrade are the easiest things to do and either won't cost you a kidney

Postby skylinechild » April 30th, 2014, 11:06 am

Spitfir3 wrote:agreed about the processor upgrade being overkill, if you're going that route is better to just buy another laptop and done, ram and hardrive upgrade are the easiest things to do and either won't cost you a kidney

also if you buy the quality RAM ( not markvision hynix) and a good SSD you will likely see the boost in performance youre looking for.

Advent

Postby Advent » April 30th, 2014, 11:42 am

if he buys shitty ram he can adjust d timing on then :P

rsxpert

Postby rsxpert » April 30th, 2014, 6:06 pm

skylinechild wrote:
Spitfir3 wrote:agreed about the processor upgrade being overkill, if you're going that route is better to just buy another laptop and done, ram and hardrive upgrade are the easiest things to do and either won't cost you a kidney

also if you buy the quality RAM ( not markvision hynix) and a good SSD you will likely see the boost in performance youre looking for.

is Kingston ddr3 good then? Ill upgrade the ram and then consider probably getting the 120GB SSD .. didn't consider the price so high :shock: but I agree they are good..

and this is my pc "Memory Type: DDR3 PC3-12800, DDR3 PC3-14900, DDR3 (non-ECC)"
so just making sure ... PC3-14900 is the highest speed right?

Postby skylinechild » May 1st, 2014, 8:34 am

rsxpert wrote:
skylinechild wrote:

is Kingston ddr3 good then? Ill upgrade the ram and then consider probably getting the 120GB SSD .. didn't consider the price so high :shock: but I agree they are good..

and this is my pc "Memory Type: DDR3 PC3-12800, DDR3 PC3-14900, DDR3 (non-ECC)"
so just making sure ... PC3-14900 is the highest speed right?

kingston has two different lines of memory the KVR- Kingston value ram- performs well and the HYPER X - gaming memory that you can adjust the timing on it etc...

kingston KVR is good enough...if you cant get kingston other brands to consider is corsair and crucial

and yes DDR3 PC3-14900 is the highest speed your laptop supports, also referred to as DDR3-1866J*,DDR3-1866K,DDR3-1866L, DDR3-1866M*

the highest speed value RAM kingston has is DDR3 1600 -12800MHZ
http://www.amazon.com/dp/B0089JIDUI

if you want faster - this is what you want
http://www.amazon.com/Crucial-Ballistix ... 3+pc3-1866

rsxpert

Postby rsxpert » May 1st, 2014, 9:48 am

ill go with the crucial one time :) thanks for the help
especially for the link to the ram

Postby skylinechild » May 1st, 2014, 3:27 pm

rsxpert wrote:ill go with the crucial one time :) thanks for the help
especially for the link to the ram

check on crucials website to make sure you laptop make and model is listed - to ensure the memory you want will work with the laptop. :!:

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » May 1st, 2014, 3:49 pm

Recently I find that tune up programs don't work like they used too. ..a fresh windows install works wonders though

SSD prices have come down significantly over the last couple of yrs. ... If you are complaining now what would you have said when it was almost US$3 per gigabyte.
It is honestly worth the price; can be carried over to another system after your current system gives out (once the drive still works :smile: )

with 4gb of RAM your system will wear though the ssd faster as it will be using it for virtual memory. so it is worth upgrading your memory as well...

It is worth mentioning that if the cost of the upgrades cover the majority of the cost of a new machine. .. consider getting a new machine. ... Sometimes upgrading just isn't feasible...

Postby skylinechild » May 1st, 2014, 6:02 pm

kamakazi wrote:Recently I find that tune up programs don't work like they used too. ..a fresh windows install works wonders though

SSD prices have come down significantly over the last couple of yrs. ... If you are complaining now what would you have said when it was almost US$3 per gigabyte.
It is honestly worth the price; can be carried over to another system after your current system gives out (once the drive still works :smile: )

with 4gb of RAM your system will wear though the ssd faster as it will be using it for virtual memory. so it is worth upgrading your memory as well...

It is worth mentioning that if the cost of the upgrades cover the majority of the cost of a new machine. .. consider getting a new machine. ... Sometimes upgrading just isn't feasible...

makes sense...so lets put dollars to cents here

New 250Gb samsung SSD drive $1400TT - online from on tuner
crucial ballistix DDR3 8Gb kit memory module - 85USD -from amazon - X$6.50 =$552.50
total =$1952.50

new laptop that has an intel i5 processor or higher - cheapest is $4000

so which would you rather spend?? $4000 for a new laptop or half that cost in upgrades...?? :lol:

but yes you are right - depending on the age of the machine and such and current hardware specs of said machine sometimes its easier to buy a new one..in the OP case..just upgrade... 8-)