WTF THIS IS WHAT CARNIVAL COMES TOO F##K

Re: WTF THIS IS WHAT CARNIVAL COMES TOO F##K

Postby desifemlove » August 19th, 2014, 8:01 am

er....allyuh ent have to participate....

only ting worrying is lil chirren whining...

Postby TRAE » August 19th, 2014, 11:08 am

only miserable people would be against carnival-- and people who nobody wanna see in little pieces of clothing

Crackpot

Postby Crackpot » August 19th, 2014, 4:28 pm

TRAE wrote:only miserable people would be against carnival-- and people who nobody wanna see in little pieces of clothing

exactly :|

Postby TRAE » August 20th, 2014, 11:41 am

btw that pic was photochopped

Postby nervewrecker » August 20th, 2014, 11:56 am

speedist wrote:None whatsoever.

Rofl

Postby Slartibartfast » August 20th, 2014, 12:33 pm

I feel I should start writing some soca...

I understand why people don't like carnival (i'm not too fond of it myself) but I don't see the point in banning it. Teenagers have Zen, space, 51 and lots of other places to get pregnant so it won't stop that.

If anything, they could ban crappy soca music. It really makes the country look bad. Let the prize go to whoever could write a song with at least three verses, of 4 or more lines each (without repetition) and is not completely centered around sex, wining, grinding (or any similar activity of which vigorous gyration is a significant part), feting, partying, jumping up, down or to either side.

Look a quick example of a beautiful piece of music created for carnival. Carnival in itself is not bad.
phpBB [video]

Instead of just saying "Whey meh toco peeps, put up allyor han an an an an!!!" this song creatively carries the listener into the heart of the spirit of the people from Toco in a way that is both enlightening and enjoyable. This is what a classic is. Anytime a soca artist complain about not being able to sell records year round or that they making a "classic" tune I feel to slap them down. I set the bar high for our local arteeeests because I know what they are capable of.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » August 20th, 2014, 12:43 pm

"crappiness" is subjective. Allyuh need to take it down a notch even if you personally don't like some of the songs. People act like soca is the only thing going on in Carnival. Go to a calypso tent for more lyrical content if that's what you seeking.

Postby Slartibartfast » August 20th, 2014, 1:09 pm

Yup, that's why I would never say ban carnival as there really is a lot more to it.

I'm not saying all soca is bad (there has been an increase in quality over the past couple of years so there are some goodish ones). But to me soca is just the trini version to techno. It fun to jump up to; it cool to have as background music to keep things upbeat, but it is in no way the lyrical poetry that causes one to introspect them self upon listening to it like a lot of the classics do. A lot (not all) of the music is extremely simple with just a few instruments repeating a simple melody along with shouting over a very loud soca beat.

For a song to be great it should either have good lyrics or good music. Soca, in most cases, lacks both. What upsets me is that soca is promoted the most as "our" sound when it is not a good representation of our trini people that can be both intelligent and creative.

Postby desifemlove » August 20th, 2014, 2:22 pm

lulz.....ok allyuh who doh like wining/"vulgarity"...

doh go to fetes, or only those with no "vulgar dancing"...

go to high-end all inclusives...

have family/friend limes at home....

see...simple. doh like wining, doh do it..