Reversing mileage anyone?

Re: Reversing mileage anyone?

Postby Team Loco » February 28th, 2014, 11:29 am

When I put my vehicle up for sale I will be so proud to put the high mileage. At least I can boast and say my vehicle looking like new although its on 500000kms

Postby toyolink » February 28th, 2014, 12:27 pm

Roll back mileage has become such a significant aspect of the used car industry locally that its difficult to make pronouncements on same.
Presently,most owners of foreign used vehicles just resign themselves to the 'fact' and smarter ones are executing service procedures 'as if' high mileage to protect their asset.
Issues of honesty and morality seems to be subject to financial expedience as are so many things which should define appropriate behavior.

Postby Team Loco » February 28th, 2014, 12:48 pm

toyolink wrote:Roll back mileage has become such a significant aspect of the used car industry locally that its difficult to make pronouncements on same.
Presently,most owners of foreign used vehicles just resign themselves to the 'fact' and smarter ones are executing service procedures 'as if' high mileage to protect their asset.
Issues of honesty and morality seems to be subject to financial expedience as are so many things which should define appropriate behavior.

Well said

Postby SMc » February 28th, 2014, 12:58 pm

Just so I have an idea, what would be a good example of the difference of the amount of money that can be made by having a lower (rollback or not) mileage?

Eg a 3yr old Tiida with 20K will typically sell for XXX wherby the same car with 40K will sell for YYY? I just curious.

Postby j.o.e » February 28th, 2014, 1:08 pm

I think it's not only a matter of difference in price. But speed of sale. It might have 50 used Tiida for sale in the classifieds.....biggest differentiator is mileage. who u gonna call first?
But i think on a regular car u can make 10-20 based on mileage I would guess

Postby MaxPower » February 28th, 2014, 5:21 pm

lol i know when someone posting for someone else you state that one time.
OP see the imps up he get and blame it on he man yes, well yes fada...i could do it, but not for you and that stink attitude. dont pm

ALIS

Postby ALIS » February 28th, 2014, 7:05 pm

I wonder if I put in my two cents in on this topic if I will get banned? LOL

But seriously, this is just wrong, may not be illegal here, but should be, imagine buying a car because of what you see on the odo, only to have to fork out hundreds if not thousands to do repairs....

Postby j.o.e » February 28th, 2014, 7:08 pm

Kerwin
That mileage is not real
It dangerous
I want to buy, but it looking dangerous
I want buy, but it looking dangerous
So I prefer to buy brand new

Postby Bizzare » February 28th, 2014, 7:41 pm

no son

ALIS

Postby ALIS » February 28th, 2014, 8:36 pm

OK, with regards to thew roll back mileage issue:

the odometer is used to log the miles/kms a vehicle has traveled within its lifetime. Thats a given. However, what many don't seem to realize is that, the same mileage logged also reflects the amount of wear and tear every moving part has been subject to, in that, its not only engine components that are affected, but also suspension and drive-train components.

Many times these things are overlooked due to sheer ignorance of the fact until you require engine and or suspension work in short time, especially if the vehicle has been rewinded from a very high range, which sadly is the case with a lot of the imported used cars currently entering our shores.

There is even the inclusion of ELVs (End of Life vehicles) being shipped in due to the lack of any restrictions or quality controls regarding used car imports.

Then there is the false economy that is created by putting these inflated prices on vehicles that are really just a fraction of what they are being sold for when faced with their REAL value. I can go on here but I don't know if mods will allow as this is a part of ALIS' core business - Odometer verification, vehicle history reports, etc... and I while I don't mind giving my take on it, it may be considered unwarranted advertising..... I've been warned before LOL

Postby javishm » March 1st, 2014, 3:14 am

nervewrecker wrote:Put it on 4 block, engage reverse and put a brick on the x pedal.

Put gas accordingly

read the ched title and this was my thoughts

Antiviru$

Postby Antiviru$ » March 1st, 2014, 8:01 am

Co-worker had a bad experience with this, he bought a car from a dealer, registered (i think) bt not no big business place an thing. after 2monts the transmission gave out, informed the dealer who said he can do nun... All the man did was google the chassis# and the original car frm japan came up with 170,000+ kms..... process of taking the dealer to court...

ALIS

Postby ALIS » March 1st, 2014, 8:11 am

Antiviru$ wrote:Co-worker had a bad experience with this, he bought a car from a dealer, registered (i think) bt not no big business place an thing. after 2monts the transmission gave out, informed the dealer who said he can do nun... All the man did was google the chassis# and the original car frm japan came up with 170,000+ kms..... process of taking the dealer to court...

Good luck with that, he should get the paperwork to prove from a documented source, not just the internet.

Pointman-IA

Postby Pointman-IA » March 1st, 2014, 12:38 pm

ALIS wrote:OK, with regards to thew roll back mileage issue:

the odometer is used to log the miles/kms a vehicle has traveled within its lifetime. Thats a given. However, what many don't seem to realize is that, the same mileage logged also reflects the amount of wear and tear every moving part has been subject to, in that, its not only engine components that are affected, but also suspension and drive-train components.

Many times these things are overlooked due to sheer ignorance of the fact until you require engine and or suspension work in short time, especially if the vehicle has been rewinded from a very high range, which sadly is the case with a lot of the imported used cars currently entering our shores.

There is even the inclusion of ELVs (End of Life vehicles) being shipped in due to the lack of any restrictions or quality controls regarding used car imports.

Then there is the false economy that is created by putting these inflated prices on vehicles that are really just a fraction of what they are being sold for when faced with their REAL value. I can go on here but I don't know if mods will allow as this is a part of ALIS' core business - Odometer verification, vehicle history reports, etc... and I while I don't mind giving my take on it, it may be considered unwarranted advertising..... I've been warned before LOL

WELL SAID.
I just laugh when someone says "Boi, I get my Tiida in mint condition, engine only done 22,000 kms".

And then 2 months after, "Boi, ah looking for ah head and block for the car. I think the tranny gone too".

Postby skylinechild » March 1st, 2014, 5:51 pm

Pointman-IA wrote:I just laugh when someone says "Boi, I get my Tiida in mint condition, engine only done 22,000 kms".

And then 2 months after, "Boi, ah looking for ah head and block for the car. I think the tranny gone too".

now imagine yuh buy something that parts expensive for - like a subaru...and is a boxer engine - no mango tree mechanic handing that jus so.. and all kinda problems.. :lol:

ALIS

Postby ALIS » March 1st, 2014, 6:03 pm

skylinechild wrote:
Pointman-IA wrote:I just laugh when someone says "Boi, I get my Tiida in mint condition, engine only done 22,000 kms".

now imagine yuh buy something that parts expensive for - like a subaru...and is a boxer engine - no mango tree mechanic handing that jus so.. and all kinda problems.. :lol:

That's why we say: "Verify before you buy!" The Vehicle History Reports that we produce is highly useful in this regard in many ways!

Postby VexXx Dogg » March 1st, 2014, 7:55 pm

@ALIS, how much for that service?
What info do you need, and how reliable is the information that you provide?

ALIS

Postby ALIS » March 1st, 2014, 8:23 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:@ALIS, how much for that service?
What info do you need, and how reliable is the information that you provide?

For the service: all we need is the chassis number and last sighted or indicated mileage.
Cost is $795.00 each
Package of three units/reports: $1995.00

If you are not satisfied with the actual info in hand against what you are seeing either online or in person, we will happily give you a credit towards us importing a unit that is pre-inspected and odometer certified for you.

Reliability of info? Let's just say it's very robust, legally..

Also, the information is NOT derived locally or sourced from the internet as some would suggest...

ALIS

all4lee

Postby all4lee » March 2nd, 2014, 12:08 pm

Mileage :roll:
s14_03_02__12_04_12.jpg
s14_03_02__12_04_12.jpg (22.13 KiB) Viewed 1842 times