TTKA Kart racing cancelled today

Re: TTKA Kart racing cancelled today

Postby 16 cycles » February 10th, 2014, 11:12 am

^don't think the police carrying out the instructions aware of the 'politics'...

Postby crazybalhead » February 10th, 2014, 11:21 am

Politics you say?

Postby MG Man » February 10th, 2014, 11:42 am

politics schmolitics
You have companies like LiquiMoly, Lubetech etc who have invested in drivers and the sport, and now have no return on their investment. Imagine being a driver and having to explain to your sponsor why 'politics' is making them waste money
Imagine now trying to attract new sponsors to these sports :-/
the whole thing stinks

Postby wagonrunner » February 10th, 2014, 11:46 am

16 cycles wrote:^don't think the police carrying out the instructions aware of the 'politics'...

does it matter?
someone ends up either being responsible for the instruction, or ends up holding that end of the stick.

Confirmed Crime hotspot was overnight sensation.

So allow the PCA to do their job and workout how that was determined, and by whom.

src1983

Postby src1983 » February 10th, 2014, 11:54 am

Seems like you guys have a

"If I can't paly cricket, no one will play cricket" issue, too bad the young ones coming up have to be victims in this

RIPEBREDFRUIT

Postby RIPEBREDFRUIT » February 10th, 2014, 12:35 pm

Sounds as if its time to have talks with Pier 2 organisers to see if you can have Karting there again................

AutoSport

Postby AutoSport » February 10th, 2014, 12:43 pm

MG Man wrote:well Rawle, sorry to say, in light of all these events, we've elected to cancel the events we were looking to hold this year.....too much risk in us investing in events and then have police show up and say hard luck

And this is the second sponsor indicating their position on being involved.

Hope the "powers that be" reading and understanding where their evil and wicked deeds are once more sending this Sport.

Hear they are so intent on saying that they are in charge that some are asking if they are connected to the Mafia....

waxcmus

Postby waxcmus » February 10th, 2014, 12:48 pm

AutoSport wrote:
MG Man wrote:btw autosport, what happen to yuh phone? I tort yuh dead or something :-/

Not yet, but hear they working on it! :twisted:

I hope you bought and put down a spare windscreen.

Postby pete » February 10th, 2014, 12:50 pm

So what would the police do if you continue with the event? Did they draw their firearm or block the track for the people practicing? I don't understand what law is being broken if you were to just ignore them.

RIPEBREDFRUIT

Postby RIPEBREDFRUIT » February 10th, 2014, 12:53 pm

pete wrote:So what would the police do if you continue with the event? Did they draw their firearm or block the track for the people practicing? I don't understand what law is being broken if you were to just ignore them.

Remember police once took a Child riding a motorized toy on the savannah and took them down to the police station. what makes you think they wont arrest a kid in a kart?

Even though some may look smart in uniform they aren't!

Postby wagonrunner » February 10th, 2014, 12:57 pm

Isn't it the equivalent of TTPS coming into your weekend home, and telling you and all your guests you can't enjoy your day there and you have to leave?

Postby pete » February 10th, 2014, 12:59 pm

Exactly what it seems like to me. Or even a guy renting a space for his business and they come in and tell him he can't run his business because the area is a crime hotspot.

Postby MG Man » February 10th, 2014, 1:00 pm

as wagonrunner mentioned, forget which sour grape in the motor sport fraternity is creating chaos.....the real question (and the one the media should be encouraged to look into) is WHO in TTPS is authorizing dispatching officers to these events

plex

Postby plex » February 10th, 2014, 1:12 pm

Are there other locations karting can take place?

AutoSport

Postby AutoSport » February 10th, 2014, 1:13 pm

MG Man wrote:as wagonrunner mentioned, forget which sour grape in the motor sport fraternity is creating chaos.....the real question (and the one the media should be encouraged to look into) is WHO NOT IN TTPS is authorizing dispatching officers to these events

Fixed! :shock:

Postby wagonrunner » February 10th, 2014, 1:41 pm

AutoSport wrote:
MG Man wrote:as wagonrunner mentioned, forget which sour grape in the motor sport fraternity is creating chaos.....the real question (and the one the media should be encouraged to look into) is WHO NOT IN TTPS is authorizing dispatching officers to these events
Fixed! :shock:
so you're saying the TTPS personnel who showed were not instructed by a superior, but by a "member of the public"?
Anyone has a means of contacting Sgt. Wayne Mystar?
Last edited by wagonrunner on February 10th, 2014, 1:45 pm, edited 1 time in total.

src1983

Postby src1983 » February 10th, 2014, 1:43 pm

I can't see how police could show up and say "hey here's a hot spot go home" for them to cancel the event they would have to arrest everyone....

Which would entail they having to explain in a report why the arrests and we all know they can't put "being in a crime hot spot"

Its great you all keeping the sport alive, and should continue, but i understand that a lot of money is involved putting on these events

Postby wagonrunner » February 10th, 2014, 1:47 pm

src1983 wrote:But i understand that a lot of money is involved putting on these events

Share some of your understand if you would please.
I'm a member of one of the non-profit organizations which put on events, serving a 2nd term on its executive.
There are costs. Sometimes we do operate in the red or break about even. 2013 was at an overall loss. With hopes of doing better this year by remedying some situations.
What has been taking place thus far in 2014 has not been beneficial to that as seen by sponsor's responses.

src1983

Postby src1983 » February 10th, 2014, 1:53 pm

Thats what I am saying, it would be hard to keep on putting on events just to have them cancelled based on the whim of police, when there are irrecoverable expenses.

Postby pete » February 10th, 2014, 1:55 pm

As neutral as they may be, if all the motoring organisations were to stop holding events at ARC, ARC will be losing out on a LOT of free income.

Any lawyers have advised what the police could possibly charge you for if you were to refuse to leave and continue driving around in the carpark?

Postby pete » February 10th, 2014, 1:57 pm

63. (1) Any person who, except under and in accordance
with the written permission of the Commissioner of Police,
promotes or takes part in a race or trial of speed between motor
vehicles on a road shall be liable to a fine of two thousand dollars
and to imprisonment for six months.
(2) A person convicted of an offence under this section
shall, unless the Court for special reasons thinks fit to order
otherwise and without prejudice to the power of the Court to
order a longer period of disqualification, be disqualified for a
period of twelve months from the date of the conviction from
holding or obtaining a driving permit.

Michael Knight...

Postby Michael Knight... » February 10th, 2014, 2:00 pm

Dunno if this is useful info but there is a piece of land next to a place called "Advance" on the highway near El Socorro, just after where lifestyle motors has a few Suzukis. It's directly opposite a police station and looks like its big enough to host a D&W or Karting event, why not look into there instead of this Arima Race Club place?

Anyone know where I'm talking about?
Last edited by Michael Knight... on February 10th, 2014, 8:15 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby wagonrunner » February 10th, 2014, 2:02 pm

A sunday daylight crime hot spot. Really should have invited them to make as many patrols as they deem necessary and continue.

src1983

Postby src1983 » February 10th, 2014, 2:05 pm

Ironiclly, if you are in an accident in said carpark the police would calmly tell you, this is private property and settle with your insurance. Happened to me a while back in gulf city.

Postby 16 cycles » February 10th, 2014, 2:13 pm

so....what be the officers' names / badge numbers then?

Postby wagonrunner » February 10th, 2014, 2:23 pm

16 cycles wrote:so....what be the officers' names / badge numbers then?

THIS!!!!

Exploring.
http://www.ttps.gov.tt/Services.aspx
ARC events do not seem to fall under any of these. so no "licences" required.

ruff neck chicken

Postby ruff neck chicken » February 10th, 2014, 3:18 pm

so with all of this, is there anything participants/supporters/sponsors can do?

Postby zoom rader » February 10th, 2014, 3:22 pm

pete wrote:63. (1) Any person who, except under and in accordance
with the written permission of the Commissioner of Police,
promotes or takes part in a race or trial of speed between motor
vehicles on a road shall be liable to a fine of two thousand dollars
and to imprisonment for six months.
(2) A person convicted of an offence under this section
shall, unless the Court for special reasons thinks fit to order
otherwise and without prejudice to the power of the Court to
order a longer period of disqualification, be disqualified for a
period of twelve months from the date of the conviction from
holding or obtaining a driving permit.

Ok it say Road, does that mean private road aswell?
what if you are staging dirt motorbike racing on a private estate , permission needed?

kjaglal76

Postby kjaglal76 » February 10th, 2014, 3:30 pm

police was jus doin their job imho

Postby pete » February 10th, 2014, 3:31 pm

(c) For the purposes of this subsection—
“owner” in relation to any land includes any person in lawful
occupation of such land; and
“private road” means any privately owned street, road or open
space to which the public are granted access conditionally.

But that subsection only talks about road signs.. so I don't think they could even swing that either.

Well kjaglal, that's why there's things called LAWS which govern how the country is supposed to operate and not just based on people's humble opinions.

Their job is to uphold the LAW, there were no laws being broken, therefore they were NOT "just doing their job".