Re: Light blue Corolla stolen from Toyota compound

Postby snypaz » January 4th, 2014, 10:48 am

Bullocks...

Postby pete » January 4th, 2014, 11:53 am

Make a sign saying 'This japanese new car dealership let my car get stolen when it was brought for service, dont let it happen to you' and stand up by the entrance from early Monday. Would be interesting to see what they do in response.

Postby javishm » January 4th, 2014, 12:25 pm

dont they have cameras

Richard Marshall

Postby Richard Marshall » January 4th, 2014, 1:00 pm

The guy should get a brand new corolla with GPS all on the company's expense as compensation for their negligence and irresponsibility.

Postby nemisis » January 4th, 2014, 1:43 pm

Kal-El Ward wrote:The guy should get a brand new corolla with GPS all on the company's expense as compensation for their negligence and irresponsibility.
calm down calm down, he should get nothing, it's called a theft for a reason, let him take his quarrel to ttps and his insurance provider.

Postby Spitfir3 » January 4th, 2014, 1:50 pm

most companies have a disclaimer stating that they are not responsible for theft etc while on the compound im sure toyota has that policy as well so i doubt he would get anything other than their condolences.....also LOL at consumer affairs those guys ain't worth a fart

needless to say the fact that a car was stolen on their security enforced compound well that's just negligence...hope owner gets his ride back

Richard Marshall

Postby Richard Marshall » January 4th, 2014, 1:54 pm

Wow. Someone should spread the news and stain their name then. Disclaimers notice. Is level nonsense on my part. Toyota should lose their building to a fire or something.

Richard Marshall

Postby Richard Marshall » January 4th, 2014, 1:56 pm

This world so messed up. If I owned the company, or at least was the CEO, I would have compensated him. It's the right thing. I would take responsibility for negligence and irresponsibility. Also, security and anyone else in part would also feel it.

Postby hustla_ambition101 » January 4th, 2014, 2:03 pm

Kal-El Ward wrote:Wow. Someone should spread the news and stain their name then. Disclaimers notice. Is level nonsense on my part. Toyota should lose their building to a fire or something.

:roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll:

do you think before you type

Postby zoom rader » January 4th, 2014, 2:59 pm

Spitfir3 wrote:most companies have a disclaimer stating that they are not responsible for theft etc while on the compound im sure toyota has that policy as well so i doubt he would get anything other than their condolences.....also LOL at consumer affairs those guys ain't worth a fart

needless to say the fact that a car was stolen on their security enforced compound well that's just negligence...hope owner gets his ride back

Displaying a disclaimer notice does not prove jack chit it's just scare tactics . I remember years ago a car was stolen at the airport carpark the owner took the car park to court and won his case. The car park company had to compensate the owner for his loss. Owner or insurance company need to sue toyota.

Richard Marshall

Postby Richard Marshall » January 4th, 2014, 3:57 pm

Hustla, I do think before I type. Face it man. Everyday I realize how messed up the world is, and how people are to each other. Yeah. Burn down. I said it. That company full of evil on my part. Justice should be served. Everyday people are exploited. And no one does or gives a flying flute about it. Then again, the world just getting more evil. I should not care for anyone but myself. Right?

Postby Morpheus » January 4th, 2014, 4:12 pm

Lawd.......

Postby shogun » January 4th, 2014, 4:13 pm

goodear wrote:TTL didn't realize it was stolen till owner came to collect, real negligence on their part. Car gone since lunch time, found to be missing around 4 when owner came to collect. Pressure. Spoke to owner.

Well yes... Madness.

Postby cinco » January 4th, 2014, 4:32 pm

Spitfir3 wrote:most companies have a disclaimer stating that they are not responsible for theft etc while on the compound im sure toyota has that policy as well so i doubt he would get anything other than their condolences.....also LOL at consumer affairs those guys ain't worth a fart

Displaying a disclaimer notice does not prove jack chit it's just scare tactics . I remember years ago a car was stolen at the airport carpark the owner took the car park to court and won his case. The car park company had to compensate the owner for his loss. Owner or insurance company need to sue toyota.

Let dem fellas stay ignant.
Those posted notices are scare tactics and wont hold in court. Consumer affairs posted a notice in the papers about that a few years ago.

Postby cinco » January 4th, 2014, 5:12 pm

Kal-El Ward wrote:Hustla, I do think before I type. Face it man. Everyday I realize how messed up the world is, and how people are to each other. Yeah. Burn down. I said it. That company full of evil on my part. Justice should be served. Everyday people are exploited. And no one does or gives a flying flute about it. Then again, the world just getting more evil. I should not care for anyone but myself. Right?

You hadda be a twin yunno.
One person cyah be dat dotish nah

bee_z

Postby bee_z » January 4th, 2014, 5:38 pm

would recommend contacting toyota international head office via email or telephone. notify them of your experience and keep all your paperwork, receipts and such handy in case they request it.International companies usually take customer complaints very seriously.
Remember when the suzuki dealership here was refusing to service RORO suzuki, suzuki international deemed it a breech of contract.

saxman642

Postby saxman642 » January 4th, 2014, 6:57 pm

You mean this case?

http://www.newsday.co.tt/crime_and_court/0,159919.html

A MAN whose car was stolen from the Piarco International airport car park was on Wednesday awarded $55,000 for a Nissan Sunny in a judgement consented to by the Airports Authority of Trinidad and Tobago (AATT).

Rudy Sookhan of Barrackpore sued the AATT on the basis that since no vehicle is allowed to enter or leave the airport’s car park arbitrarily, the authority’s security firm owes motorists a duty to ensure thieves do not steal people’s vehicles.

Sookhan of Cumuto Road, contended in a lawsuit that AATT’s policy at the Piarco Airport, aims at ensuring that motorists do not leave the car park without producing the electronically generated parking ticket. How, therefore, was someone able to drive out with his car on April 18, 2010, Sookhan’s attorney Asaf Hosein asked in a suit for claim filed in court.

The suit claimed that at about 11.30 am on the day in question, his client parked his car after being issued with a machine-generated parking ticket at the airport’s entrance. In the lawsuit, Sookhan described the airport as fenced and manned by security guards. There are also close circuit CCTV cameras on the compound.

According to the lawsuit, when Sookhan returned at about 12.55 pm to retrieve his car, it was missing. He reported the matter to a security guard who advised him to file a report at the Piarco Police Station.

Sookhan contended as a ground to his lawsuit against AATT, that despite Disclaimer notices in the car park, it was the responsibility of security guards to ensure thieves do not drive off with people’s car from the airport’s car park. He stated that the guard at the exit booth, allowed his car to leave the car park, without the thief presenting a ticket, or paying the penalty fee.

The lawsuit cited the procedure for leaving the airport’s car park with a car, when one loses the machine-generated ticket. And when police officers arrived at the car park to investigate, he enquired from the guard at the booth if the cameras were working, but was questioned why he was politicising the issue of the theft.

The AATT challenged the lawsuit but in a consent order entered into with Sookhan’s attorney in the San Fernando High Court before Justice Mira Dean Armorer, the authority agreed to pay.

The judge ordered that the AATT pay Sookhan $41,000 for loss of the vehicle, $4,000 for loss of use and $10,000 in legal cost. Attorney Robin Ottway represented the AATT.

Richard Marshall

Postby Richard Marshall » January 4th, 2014, 7:00 pm

Cinco where you really comin from Dan?

Richard Marshall

Postby Richard Marshall » January 4th, 2014, 7:01 pm

Saxman, thanks for the information.

Postby Bizzare » January 4th, 2014, 7:54 pm

pete wrote:Make a sign saying 'TTTL let my car get stolen when it was brought for service, dont let it happen to you' and stand up by the entrance from early Monday. Would be interesting to see what they do in response.

u wanna lose yuh wuk on tuner orr? :P

Re: Light blue Corolla stolen from Japanese car dealer compo

Postby Chimera » January 4th, 2014, 7:58 pm

LOLL @ title change

Richard Marshall

Postby Richard Marshall » January 4th, 2014, 8:11 pm

Japanese dealer now? Paid cover up?

Postby Morpheus » January 4th, 2014, 8:13 pm

^^Lawd. You reminding me of a few past tuners. LoL. Wheyyyy

ALIS

Postby ALIS » January 4th, 2014, 8:31 pm

TTTL is liable for cost and loss since the vehicle was accepted withing their compound for servicing. Talk done. It ain't have no fine print thing cause it was not parked for visiting.

speedmelter

Postby speedmelter » January 4th, 2014, 8:37 pm

~Vēġó~ wrote:yuh mean they irresponsible!

think he meant that they are responsible for the vehicle going missing

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » January 4th, 2014, 8:40 pm

Kal-El Ward wrote:Japanese dealer now? Paid cover up?

Nah no cover up. For now looking like no stonewalling by dealer so not trying to wild up d scene.

Postby M_2NR » January 4th, 2014, 9:37 pm

I think its more than obvious who was the dealer though.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » January 4th, 2014, 10:08 pm

story not sounding too right...I am sure there is more to this.....

Richard Marshall

Postby Richard Marshall » January 5th, 2014, 1:16 am

So after all the ruckus, the truth finally comes out.

snypaz

Postby snypaz » January 5th, 2014, 2:34 am

You can't bash companies on tuner. The thread name change is probably because of that?