Cameras in a govt office....

Re: Cameras in a govt office....

Postby pioneer » December 11th, 2013, 8:15 pm

They should just resign and go get a job in the private sector.

de_dougla_smurf

Postby de_dougla_smurf » December 11th, 2013, 8:18 pm

Dis ka ka hole.

Sec 15 of the osh act states that an employee has the right to refuse unsafe work if the work to be performed is immediately dangerous to life or health.

I can't see how CCTV is immediately dangerous to life or health. Phoqin govt workers again eh. Smh

Postby pioneer » December 11th, 2013, 8:20 pm

LoL they are so stupid it eh funny

Postby shogun » December 11th, 2013, 8:21 pm

Public Services Association (PSA) president Watson Duke has described the installation of four CCTV security cameras on the 11th floor at the Ministry of Trade, Industry and Development as a serious breach of employees’ right to privacy. In a telephone interview yesterday, Duke said he led 50 employees in a walkout from their job at the ministry because of the security cameras which were set up without employees’ consent. “It is to monitor the workers as a telling tool for their performance appraisals,” he said.

The installation of security cameras was part of the ministry’s plan to curb a “series of security incidents” throughout the seven floors it occupies at Nicholas Tower, Port-of-Spain, according to manager, corporate communications, Yolande Agard-Simmons. Agard-Simmons also denied that 50 employees walked out. She said it was about five.

In a media release, she said: “The installation of security cameras throughout the ministry is part of a comprehensive exercise being conducted for the personal safety of staff and that of the property of the ministry, which was planned several months ago.” Duke, however, said it was a violation of the condition of service to set up the cameras “over staff who carry out their daily duties.” “Only the PSA can alter those conditions of service,” he said.

As a result, Duke said, the PSA “physically removed” the cameras from the 11th floor, and moved them to the 17th floor, near the office of permanent secretary Sandra Indar. “We do not want cameras there (11th floor). They cannot keep violating employees rights. What they going to do with the footage?”

Agard-Simmons’ statement addressed this concern about monitoring workers, saying: “The intention of this security equipment is to be used for preventative and investigative purposes and not as part of any programme to continuously monitor the movements or performance of staff.” It said the footage, which will be video recordings only, will be the remit of the permanent secretary and the corporate services department.

Agard-Simmons said it was a mechanism that will “keep person and property safe,” and a series of cameras will be placed on different floors throughout the building, although not all have been installed as yet. One employee, who did not want to be identified, said the majority of staff welcomed the security cameras, as there have been incidents where personal effects and ministry equipment went missing. She added that there was no violation of privacy.

“We don’t understand why he (Duke) is doing this...The cameras are not in the bathrooms.” She said the PSA had no right to “deface” property by removing the camera equipment. “That is madness.” Minister Vasant Bharath is out of the country and could not be reached for comment.

http://guardian.co.tt/news/2013-12-11/v ... -says-duke

Duke should have a camera affixed to him everywhere he goes... never seen anyone look more like a "smartman" than him.

Postby pioneer » December 11th, 2013, 8:36 pm

Sounds like sufferers stealing from the fortunate folk...heard of those complaints first hand in that ministry.

Sufferers will always beatup, the majority of the ministry welcomes the initiative.

urabus

Postby urabus » December 11th, 2013, 9:48 pm

I'm sure its just about 5 long standing, old, public servants who kicking fuss .....

IMO, only if u have something to hide, then you'd protest the installation of the cameras.

saxman642

Postby saxman642 » December 11th, 2013, 10:35 pm

Steups!

At my job in the private sector:

-camera as I drive in compound
-cameras galore in basement for staff to park
-camera watching when I enter elevator in basement
-camera watching when I exit elevator on 1st floor
-camera again before I even reach my desk

Don't even think about them: I have nothing to hide

All Duke want to do is preserve laziness in the gov't workplace
(I wish for the day gov't employees - including perm secs - can be fired with [almost] the same ease as in the private sector.... gov't services would run that much more efficiently)

de_dougla_smurf

Postby de_dougla_smurf » December 11th, 2013, 10:46 pm

saxman642 wrote:Steups!

(I wish for the day gov't employees - including perm secs - can be fired with [almost] the same ease as in the private sector.... gov't services would run that much more efficiently)

I work for a security company. I know this feeling. Likewise, nothing to hide so I don't even remember they there.

But yuh see, the regular pios rostered shift of 9:00am to 11:30am go be real hard to maintain with them cameras around...

Postby javishm » December 11th, 2013, 11:08 pm

at the end of the day the only thing causing this retaliation is pure laziness

Postby shogun » December 11th, 2013, 11:26 pm

Those doing the work they're there to do, will soon get used to the cameras and they'll become a non-issue.

turbo_monkey

Postby turbo_monkey » December 11th, 2013, 11:58 pm

Good initiative. Time for them lazy skylarking beeches to get up and start doing their jobs properly and efficiently and actually work for their money like the rest of us.

toyota2nr

Postby toyota2nr » December 12th, 2013, 12:11 am

zoom rader wrote:^^^ You want to distory what PNM took years to build

Indeed....productivity is a definite no no

pluggie

Postby pluggie » December 12th, 2013, 2:31 am

If they are questioning the fact that its breaching privacy , then the government should then turn the wheel and say the reason its being installed is ,its a security initiative to protect the assets in government offices...

Postby zoom rader » December 12th, 2013, 2:54 am

I am certain its all these PNMites in govt wuk beating up over this, they lazy in govement and lazy in wuk

Postby ~Vēġó~ » December 12th, 2013, 4:50 am

need to outfit all schools with cameras too!!!!

Postby skylinechild » December 12th, 2013, 6:25 am

shogun wrote:

Those doing the work they're there to do, will soon get used to the cameras and they'll become a non-issue.

same thing where i work....alot of cameras..i pay no mind to them.
used the camera once to zoom in on a construction worker......zoomed in real real close to see him using his measuring tape.... wrong sided... :lol:

Postby nemisis » December 12th, 2013, 6:38 am

Where I work I pay particular care to remain in view of the cameras at all times. if anything happens, goes missong, broken, etc I don't have to beat up just check your dvr. Especially how money does be passing through my hands I feel invincible because of the cams.

RIPEBREDFRUIT

Postby RIPEBREDFRUIT » December 12th, 2013, 7:47 am

online porn subscription from that particular building just went down by over 80%- stop the masturbating under the desk and do some work for a change allyuh stinking peeneemites

Postby Sky » December 12th, 2013, 8:18 am

God I hope the lot of them get fired...

Postby Morpheus » December 12th, 2013, 8:48 am

LoL at labelling all PNMites. Allyuh good yes.

I am for the cameras too. Once you doing your job, cameras shouldn't bother you. Sometimes I even smile and wave if I in a good mood. It's time for the incompetence and laidback poor customer service to stop!

De cameras in the work areas, not the toilets! Tell dem cool dey herbs nah. Steups...

Postby shogun » December 12th, 2013, 8:54 am

Morpheus wrote:LoL at labelling all PNMites. Allyuh good yes.

You's take orn anything RBF & Zoom have to say?

Everyone knows is PNM penis-envy they totin'... especially RBF.

Postby Morpheus » December 12th, 2013, 8:59 am

shogun wrote:

I know eh but would be nice to one day see them in a thread and PNM not uttered from their li.....fingers.

PNM must be tattoed on their inner eyelids :lol:

SMH

Postby shogun » December 12th, 2013, 9:07 am

Them so will never see past their own ignorance. What's even funnier is that i'm almost positive some of the people casually broad-brushing ALL the workers, are some of the biggest time wasters and inefficient saps, at their own places of employment. Wah yuh go do?. Tuner is heaven for chronic gum bumpers.

Postby desifemlove » December 12th, 2013, 11:32 am

er.. so equipment for DEY SAFETY amidst a HIGH CRIME RATE, and dey complaining lololololol.. bess laugh ah had dis morning...

Unless they put cameras in washrooms, had no prior consultation with staff, or have no signs saying dey under surveillance, so what? stueps.. any excuse to cause ruckus/bacchanal, eh?

Postby desifemlove » December 12th, 2013, 11:33 am

Morpheus wrote:
shogun wrote:

I know eh but would be nice to one day see them in a thread and PNM not uttered from their li.....fingers.

PNM must be tattoed on their inner eyelids :lol:

SMH

if so, then de Book of Revelation is probably true... :lol: :?

Postby X2 » December 12th, 2013, 1:39 pm

What Dem worry? Cctv don't keep track of how much time Dem gangsta spending on farmville and candy crush...

cracker

Postby cracker » December 12th, 2013, 1:57 pm

...and we wonder why this country cannot get anyway.