(No longer Looming) US shutdown.

Re: Looming US shutdown.

Postby shogun » October 1st, 2013, 9:19 am

RASC wrote:
ray786 wrote:So is it safe to say the Republicans are holding the citizens at ransom, for a policy that is labled obama health care......

RASC - would like to hear y u say hardly likely... ppl are not likely to get paid for work/services rendered from today....

It's happened many times before , and in some cases the markets maintained or even improved.

It's not as doom and gloom as you can imagine. Markets just opened...let's see what happens.

Well, it really just isn't about the markets inno?

Thousands of people living check to check (or cheque, take your pick), won't get paid.... while those Bastards in Congress still get paid.

Postby Habit7 » October 1st, 2013, 9:33 am

shogun wrote:
Habit7 wrote:Both sides guilty....

Really?

What exactly is there to debate, or negotiate?

The A.H.A, (Obamacare) has been signed in to law since 2009. Can it be amended and improved in the future, through conventional means?... of course it can and should. Holding the country at ransom, because you don't get your way, just can't be the way congress chooses to go. They tried in the courts, on the grounds that it (Obamacare) was thought to be unconstitutional... and the courts ruled otherwise. There really is nothing to negotiate. What's the president to do?... negotiate knowing that those on the right, want to defund a signed law?
The Democrats have rejected every offer from the Republicans to at least delay Obamacare. The Republicans are throwing everything in their arsenal to try to properly govern the country, I believe that is valiant. And at least from our perspective, do you want the US health care to start resembling our own? Then you dont totally support Obamacare either.

shogun wrote:Have you EVER heard of government, threatened with not being funded over a law signed by a SITTING president?. Laying blame evenly here, is just not correct. The Republicans are being brats.

Government shutdowns have been survived before. In the 1970s they were commonplace – at least, until a legal ruling that forced non-essential workers to stay at home rather than work for IOUs. The second of Bill Clinton's standoffs with Newt Gringrich lasted 21 days over New Year 1995-6.

This time, however, the US economy is in much weaker shape, with a fragile recovery seen as vulnerable to the dip in consumer confidence that a protracted shutdown would probably bring. More worryingly, the debt ceiling breach expected on October 17 presents an incentive for diehards on both sides to keep fighting their corner as long as possible.

If a shutdown is not resolved within a week or so, the two issues are likely to be conflated into one giant standoff that threatens not just federal workers but the world economy.

http://www.theguardian.com/world/2013/s ... g-analysis

Postby shogun » October 1st, 2013, 10:10 am

Habit7 wrote:The Democrats have rejected every offer from the Republicans to at least delay Obamacare. The Republicans are throwing everything in their arsenal to try to properly govern the country, I believe that is valiant. And at least from our perspective, do you want the US health care to start resembling our own? Then you dont totally support Obamacare either.

You do know, that even with the delay, the Republicans sole mission, is to defund and completely repeal Obamacare, right? There are no suggestions, for amendments or improvements. They want it gone, or amended into ineffectiveness.

Do you really believe, that this was a Republican law, they'd stand for this kind of tactic?

Or, furthermore, you think the "Dems" would ever stoop this low?

Habit7 wrote:Government shutdowns have been survived before. In the 1970s they were commonplace – at least, until a legal ruling that forced non-essential workers to stay at home rather than work for IOUs. The second of Bill Clinton's standoffs with Newt Gringrich lasted 21 days over New Year 1995-6.

This time, however, the US economy is in much weaker shape, with a fragile recovery seen as vulnerable to the dip in consumer confidence that a protracted shutdown would probably bring. More worryingly, the debt ceiling breach expected on October 17 presents an incentive for diehards on both sides to keep fighting their corner as long as possible.

If a shutdown is not resolved within a week or so, the two issues are likely to be conflated into one giant standoff that threatens not just federal workers but the world economy.

Yeah, it's been 17 or 18 years since the last, but...

The Republicans are trying to totally defund the presidents center-piece legislative accomplishment, even AFTER being upheld in the courts. C'mon... they KNOW that was NEVER going to happen. Let me put it this way. The Republicans wanted to include concessions that would effectively kill the Affordable Healthcare Act. It's no secret they have a problem with those 30 million extra people signing on to receive free healthcare... and are willing to do anything to stop it... Ah lie?.

Habit7 wrote:The Republicans are throwing everything in their arsenal to try to properly govern the country, I believe that is valiant.

Are these the same Republicans that refused to put the cost of last two wars, on the books, leaving it to Obama to FINALLY do so, in 2009?.

The same ones that turned a blind eye to what was happening with the banks, leading up to the 2008 crash?

The same ones that spend like drunks when they're in office, and sober up the minute they are not?

Can't be.
Last edited by shogun on October 1st, 2013, 5:14 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Postby RASC » October 1st, 2013, 10:53 am

shogun wrote:
RASC wrote:
ray786 wrote:So is it safe to say the Republicans are holding the citizens at ransom, for a policy that is labled obama health care......

RASC - would like to hear y u say hardly likely... ppl are not likely to get paid for work/services rendered from today....

It's happened many times before , and in some cases the markets maintained or even improved.

It's not as doom and gloom as you can imagine. Markets just opened...let's see what happens.

Well, it really just isn't about the markets inno?

Thousands of people living check to check (or cheque, take your pick), won't get paid.... while those Bastards in Congress still get paid.

Living pay cheque to pay cheque on a federal employee salary/benefits/tax exemptions?
Then they SERIOUSLY need to see financial advise and readjust their living standards.
Federal employees shouldn't be living pay cheque to pay cheque unless their completely irresponsible and/or going through a family emergency. I'm generalising a bit here, but these ppl shouldn't be scrunting.

Postby Habit7 » October 1st, 2013, 10:56 am

I dont really have the energy...

The US governance structure is designed for this to happen and to force compromise. There is a significant amount of ppl who require changes in the bill and the Republicans are representing them.

Postby shogun » October 1st, 2013, 11:00 am

Habit7 wrote:I dont really have the energy

And i don't have the time, right now.

To be Cont'd. :lol:

Postby Dizzy28 » October 1st, 2013, 11:04 am

Habit7 wrote:I dont really have the energy...

The US governance structure is designed for this to happen and to force compromise. There is a significant amount of ppl who require changes in the bill and the Republicans are representing them.

This!!

ray d saint

Postby ray d saint » October 1st, 2013, 12:14 pm

Postby RASC » October 1st, 2013, 1:23 pm

ray786 wrote:Image

8-) Exactly.

Postby DVSTT » October 1st, 2013, 1:35 pm

Postby Monk BANzai » October 2nd, 2013, 12:21 pm

no longer looming...

YET!!! Congressmen will continue to get paid....
http://edition.cnn.com/2013/10/02/polit ... ?hpt=hp_t2

Re: (No longer Looming) US shutdown.

Postby teems1 » October 2nd, 2013, 1:02 pm

You have to think like a Republican, do an Atticus Finch and put yourselves in their shoes and walk around for a day.

As a big corp or company owner, one of your best bargaining tools to hire/keep/intimidate/underpay employees is the health benefits/insurance associated with the job.

Implementing Obamacare would basically remove one if the most powerful tools from the table, thus taking some control away from the companies. This is one of the main reasons the Republicans are fighting this tooth and nail to get it delayed. Every year they can delay it, is another year they can exert their control over employees.

Postby zoom rader » October 2nd, 2013, 1:13 pm

Meanwhile, Cuba pays its goverment workers

Postby teems1 » October 2nd, 2013, 1:18 pm

zoom rader wrote:Meanwhile, Cuba pays its goverment workers

You are aware the average salary of workers in Cuba is 20USD per month right?

Postby zoom rader » October 2nd, 2013, 1:25 pm

teems1 wrote:

Yup, with free heath care, education, housing ect.

Postby RASC » October 2nd, 2013, 1:29 pm

teems1 wrote:

You're an advocate of socialism?

Postby Habit7 » October 2nd, 2013, 1:31 pm

^^^Nah he likes the PNM gimme gimme syndrome only when the context fits him.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » October 2nd, 2013, 1:40 pm

pressure for visa now

Postby zoom rader » October 2nd, 2013, 1:42 pm

RASC wrote:
teems1 wrote:

You're an advocate of socialism?

Nope, but cuba did the right thing by kicking the US out.
They have higger life expectancy rates that US
A better standard of living than many latin nations.
Less crime that US.
They dont invent wars when it suits them.

Xplode

Postby Xplode » October 2nd, 2013, 1:44 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:pressure for visa now

how ?
if you show strong ties ,good job ,family why it should be hard

Xplode

Postby Xplode » October 2nd, 2013, 1:44 pm

how ?

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » October 3rd, 2013, 6:33 am

Xplode wrote:

how ?

if you family in the states,it doh be easy...and it has begun since last month,real people being turned back..

JoKeR1980

Postby JoKeR1980 » October 4th, 2013, 10:46 am

hehehehehe

https://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set ... 938&type=1

Stephen makes one couple's dream come true after their wedding gets canceled by the government shutdown.

http://samuel-warde.com/2013/10/colbert ... m-wedding/

Stephen Colbert performed a dream wedding for a couple who’s wedding plans were ruined by the recent government shutdown.

Mike Cassesso and MaiLien Le had planned to be married at the Jefferson Memorial, the location of their first date, but due to the shutdown the park was shutdown indefinitely.

After playing a Today Show clip detailing Mike and MaiLien’s plight, Colbert reminded viewers that on the first night of the shutdown he promised that “as leader of the Colbert Nation and Earl Lord of the Afterscape, I would provide all canceled government services, and that includes weddings.”

Postby redmanjp » October 4th, 2013, 12:46 pm

RASC wrote:

some economists say it can happen- especially since they STILL recovering from a previous one which was the worst in decades

Postby Monk BANzai » October 4th, 2013, 11:38 pm

Congress has another hurdle coming up....Approval the Raising of the US Debt Ceiling...if stalled the economy wud drop by .03%.....

ALIS

Postby ALIS » October 5th, 2013, 10:11 pm

You think the Reps really give a sheit about the American economy and how the current impasse they have orchestrated affects the American working class? These Reps are a bunch of Millionaires and Billionaires who do not care about the American system, or people, they are just hell bent on getting Obama out and stopping all his policies dead in its tracks...... Don't think for a moment the race card is not lurking in the background..... They still thinking that being white is superior.

Not to mention when import bills and commitments cannot be met, whats an exporting country to do??? Case in point, our LNG.....

Postby shogun » October 5th, 2013, 10:24 pm

ALIS wrote:You think the Reps really give a sheit about the American economy and how the current impasse they have orchestrated affects the American working class? These Reps are a bunch of Millionaires and Billionaires who do not care about the American system, or people, they are just hell bent on getting Obama out and stopping all his policies dead in its tracks...... Don't think for a moment the race card is not lurking in the background..... They still thinking that being white is superior.

I wish they'd pay for it politically. But their states that elected them, are filled with the same effed up Anti Anything Obama, right winged nuts and hypocrites.

I just love the Republicans' false/fake concern, for those affected, when they're being interviewed. Just classic.

Postby maj. tom » October 6th, 2013, 8:59 pm

Welcome to the real American dream. Corporate America and lobbyist control the masses.

"The Century of the Self" documentary series by Adam Curtis and "Sicko" by Michael Moore.

ingalook

Postby ingalook » October 7th, 2013, 12:15 am

Anytime there is a "BIG" newstory in the US - start paying real attention o the "small" stories... when that Zimmerman crap was going on they sentenced Bradley Manning... who know what crap they do this time :shock:

Postby Monk BANzai » October 14th, 2013, 6:43 pm

IMF tells US to "Get it together"

major hurdle coming up thursday.... else the US defaults on its 17plus TRILLION National Debt.

maybe the Chinese was right...