The 'Speed Kills' Myth (anti-Mg Man thought process)

Re: The 'Speed Kills' Myth (anti-Mg Man thought process)

Postby Rory Phoulorie » September 16th, 2013, 4:42 pm

If the vertical and horizontal geometries of the Solomon Hochoy Highway between Chaguanas and Tarouba which was designed decades ago was based on a design speed of 80km/h, should the speed limit on that section of highway be raised to 120km/h?

If a driver runs off the highway by the Claxton Bay Overpass going 120km/h, which, say, is the revised speed limit, and a smart lawyer gets hold of the designs for the highway and sees that the design speed was 80km/h, who is to be held liable for the incident? The lawyer will make a case that the responsible authorities set a speed limit above what the highway was designed for and that they should be held liable for an unsafe speed limit.

It is not that simple a matter as the improvement in vehicle and tyre construction automatically warrants an increase in the speed limit on our nation's highways.

I have no issue with the speed limit of 80km/h on the highway and I do not feel that I am a hazard to the other drivers utilizing the road when I drive at that speed. I use the passing lane for just that, passing.

Postby pete » September 16th, 2013, 5:24 pm

The speed limit can vary at different parts of the Highway though. 80 in those areas and maybe 100 in others. I must be getting old but these days I don't mind driving at 80. Too many cars on the road to go any faster.

Postby ~Vēġó~ » September 16th, 2013, 5:51 pm

this was interesting....

Postby shogun » September 16th, 2013, 11:35 pm

^Yeah. Good watch.

Postby cinco » September 16th, 2013, 11:35 pm

pete wrote:The speed limit can vary at different parts of the Highway though. 80 in those areas and maybe 100 in others. I must be getting old but these days I don't mind driving at 80. Too many cars on the road to go any faster.

X2 i hit maybe 120-140 on overtaking then back to center lane and cruise at 80-100 too much mad ppl on d rd the more time i spend on the rd i realise this

Postby Morpheus » September 17th, 2013, 3:02 am

Even if I am at 120kmh, once the center(left lane in some sections s horrible!) or left lane clear, I'm there. Overtake and get back after a safe distance. Some people overtake and stay there. I'm sure you all have noticed that sometimes the extreme left lane has the better flow most times, which is really wrong-sided. Also at traffic lights, guess which lane has 3 times the amount of cars backed up compared to the others.

Anytime I see a vehicle pass me on the left for some reason or the other, I get left when it is safe to do so. Simple. I'm in the wrong lane. A vehicle passing you on the left should make something click in your head (for those that not brain dead to the world around them). Keep left except when overtaking should be followed regardless of your "speed".

I usually say, and i saw someone mention it as well here, if everyone followed that simple rule as well as using lane change indicators, we would not have as much sheit going on. Some jack arse overtaking happens because an equal jackarse doing 50kmh in the overtaking lane for miles on end and oblivious to the fact that people passing on the left.

What about when 3 vehicles pull off from the traffic light intersection and all doing 50kmh, all abreast of each other for 1/4 mile. :roll: :evil:

And don't start me on dump trucks, delivery vans, etc.

TMTT.............. (Too Much To Type)

Postby Morpheus » September 17th, 2013, 6:52 am

See?

Dump truck, stuck in right lane from Valsayn to my turn off at Trincity Mall.........doing over 80kmh for sure......in the wet :|

Yeah, light was red so I took a quick snap

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » September 17th, 2013, 9:38 am

pete wrote:The speed limit can vary at different parts of the Highway though. 80 in those areas and maybe 100 in others. I must be getting old but these days I don't mind driving at 80. Too many cars on the road to go any faster.

Same here.
Its just that to keep my mind at ease most times, in the hope of avoiding all of the above crazy scenarios, i try to drive faster and pass everyone, so that at some point, (however rarely it is), i end up away from the 50kph-on-the-right-lane-freaks and other mindless, mobile hairdressers,make up artist and communication specialists.

COROLLA KID

Postby COROLLA KID » September 17th, 2013, 6:08 pm

IMO they also need to set a Minimum Speed Limit also..
On morning drives to work some people does drive like they sight seeing, keeping back everyone else behind them..
Have you ever been in a traffic jam for hours and in the end notthing is causing the traffic?? well guess what its those same slow pokes that causes it, when they drive slow the person behind them has to drive even slower to maintaine a distance and the person behind him has to do the same and that causes a chain reaction, and traffic like crazy. The freeport traffic on mornings for example...if every body drive with a steady pace traffic will flow with ease.

I hope some of those slow poke reading this, and STOP driving under 40kmh on mornings when people trying to reach to work!!

Postby wagonrunner » September 17th, 2013, 6:53 pm

COROLLA KID wrote:I hope some of those slow poke reading this, and STOP driving under 40kmh on mornings when people trying to reach to work!!

there was a meeting and an agreement was reached for 40.2km/h. enjoy

Postby MG Man » September 18th, 2013, 9:18 am

I do a brisk 70k in the left lane at night....suits me fine :-p

Postby pete » September 18th, 2013, 9:31 am

Is that 10km/hr reduction from the speed limit because of one adverse condition being present - darkness?

If the speed limit was 100kph would you drive at 90 at night or the same 70?

Postby cinco » September 18th, 2013, 9:36 am

pete wrote:Is that 10km/hr reduction from the speed limit because of one adverse condition being present - darkness?

If the speed limit was 100kph would you drive at 90 at night or the same 70?

he probably does the same i do
drive till the speed feels comfortable for conditions and traffic just so happens that it falls between 80-100 for me most of the time

Postby MG Man » September 18th, 2013, 9:47 am

^^^correct
without looking at the speedo and driving at a pace that feels comfortable for me, I usually end up doing 70k

Postby Razkal » September 18th, 2013, 11:02 am

exactly my sentiments. maintain a speed comfortable to you and dictated by present road conditions.

people should be subjected to a year of Autocross before being let loose on the nations roads. i honestly hate to be driven anywhere, by anyone other than myself. i prefer drive alone and meet the crew wherever the lime is.

Postby wagonrunner » September 18th, 2013, 11:12 am

Razkal wrote:people should be subjected to a year of Autocross before being let loose on the nations roads.

i have similar sentiments.
persons should demonstrate awareness and car control via a test course before being licensed, or renewed.

Postby cinco » September 18th, 2013, 11:21 am

Razkal wrote:people should be subjected to a year of Autocross before being let loose on the nations roads.

persons should demonstrate awareness and car control via a test course before being licensed, or renewed.

lol ppl doh even sit down in a car now and they gettin license at their door

Postby MG Man » September 18th, 2013, 11:25 am

double edged sword
in pretty much every case where young drivers were given such experience early, it resulted in overconfidence. Most had an accident within 6 months :-/ (based on studies I've read but cannot remember stats or sources...well one was in Road & Track)

Postby Monk BANzai » September 18th, 2013, 11:27 am

yall hilarious... I maintain a speed of.... as if the speed limits enacted are for you....no wait...rephrase...as if TRINI'S give an Alphabet about speed limits here...

they only take note of it when the see a white and blue running slow on the left lane.....then they look at dey speedo....match the speed of the police car...see "buh wait....dem doing a brisk 100kph!" and then presses to 120kph..and passs them.....some not so skilled will remain at teh 100kph BEHIND the police ON the passing lne until either: the police car turns off or...the Police car ends up in traffic which makes the passing lane faster.

again...i wish that EVERYONE does 80kph on our roads for ONE day...and see what happens....ONE day @ 80kph.....all dis self righteous "ohhh! i think teh vertical and horizontal.....CRAP will fly right out the window.....and then the govt is to be blamed for everyone doing 80kph...

Reading some of your comments here is really hilarious...some I know for a fact maintain the speed-limits...and its noble of yall....others? give me a fackin break!

:drinking:

Postby j.o.e » September 18th, 2013, 11:33 am

Didnt read whole thread but i personally think 80km/h is too slow and I think a speed limit of 120km/h is reasonable. I also believe there should be a minimum hway speed. If someone car breaking down fine... but if you can't travel above a certain speed find yourself on the closest main road and off the hway

Postby pete » September 18th, 2013, 11:35 am

What will happen if everyone drives at 80kph?

Postby wagonrunner » September 18th, 2013, 11:38 am

pete wrote:What will happen if everyone drives at 80kph?

same as bottleneck traffic.
with no gaps. and all vehicles at 80km/h. congestion. nothing overtaking anyhting. just the 80km/h march down the road.

those who know what its like to be overtaken by the PM convoy will know what i mean.
you can't pass them, so everything meets them, and the line starts.

New_SPECIES

Postby New_SPECIES » September 18th, 2013, 11:50 am

MG Man wrote:high speed limit, low speed limit, bumbassery will always claim lives
Every fculing Sunday, I drive to Princes Town and I swear every dumb cnut has to cross the white line around a corner
Not to mention the dumb cnuts who gee fyahz to overtake just before the blind hill overlooking Usine Ste Madeline pond, and then on the short stretch just before the sharp left................
I am pretty sure local stats would confirm most local fatalities do not result from doing 160 on the highway.
Properly designed highways can facilitate 120kph speed limits, but when you have sheit like the 'humps' on the Claxton Bay bend (northbound), and crumbling asphalt, PLUS nannyfarts who insist on doing 80k in the overtaking lane, it increases the risk of some sort of drama
Sadly traffic laws are really made for the lowest common denominator (ie the shitass driver) and not for skilled drivers.............

What he said!....... X2

Postby MG Man » September 18th, 2013, 11:57 am

lol you know my speed and you know how shart de gearing in mih car is :-p

COROLLA KID

Postby COROLLA KID » September 19th, 2013, 8:52 am

COROLLA KID wrote:I hope some of those slow poke reading this, and STOP driving under 40kmh on mornings when people trying to reach to work!!

there was a meeting and an agreement was reached for 40.2km/h. enjoy

WOW......i said stop driving under 40km/h i didn't say go crazy on the road....40.2km/h ? wagonrunner you could handle all that G-Force bai?

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » September 19th, 2013, 9:44 am

BANzai Rastafarai wrote:yall hilarious... I maintain a speed of.... as if the speed limits enacted are for you....no wait...rephrase...as if TRINI'S give an Alphabet about speed limits here...

they only take note of it when the see a white and blue running slow on the left lane.....then they look at dey speedo....match the speed of the police car...see "buh wait....dem doing a brisk 100kph!" and then presses to 120kph..and passs them.....some not so skilled will remain at teh 100kph BEHIND the police ON the passing lne until either: the police car turns off or...the Police car ends up in traffic which makes the passing lane faster.

again...i wish that EVERYONE does 80kph on our roads for ONE day...and see what happens....ONE day @ 80kph.....all dis self righteous "ohhh! i think teh vertical and horizontal.....CRAP will fly right out the window.....and then the govt is to be blamed for everyone doing 80kph...

Reading some of your comments here is really hilarious...some I know for a fact maintain the speed-limits...and its noble of yall....others? give me a fackin break!

:drinking:

Lemme know when the everyone @ 80k happening??

i staying home that day

Postby wagonrunner » September 19th, 2013, 12:43 pm

COROLLA KID wrote:WOW......i said stop driving under 40km/h i didn't say go crazy on the road....40.2km/h ? wagonrunner you could handle all that G-Force bai?
nah i didn't support that increase. I'll be chauffeured.

Computerman

Postby Computerman » September 19th, 2013, 12:45 pm

Razkal wrote:Maintain a speed comfortable to you and dictated by present road conditions.
Agreed.
Additionally, please do not purposefully aggravate other road users!

Postby MG Man » September 19th, 2013, 2:49 pm

same thing that happens on some US urban 55mph highways, I suppose :-/
speaking of 55mph, did u know the reason the US lowered it's highway speeds to 55 had NOTHING to do with safety? It was a measure taken during the fuel crisis :-/ (from '74 to '87, federal law prohinited speeds above 55
Another inneresting tidbit: during the fuel crisis, there was a public outcry in the US to ban motor racing, since all those racing cars were wasting fuel...some sharp tack pointed out that all the fuel consumed by football and baseball teams, with their jets, transporters, plus legions of fans every weekend, made car racing fuel consumption look like a joke. At that point, the anti-racing folks shat thefuck up...............
ok that's my bag of useless trivia for the day
:mrgreen:

Postby wagonrunner » September 19th, 2013, 2:58 pm

same :?: :?: :idea: :idea: thing that happens on some US urban 55mph highways, I suppose :-/
and that's with a functional public transport system (busses & trains) which we don't have.

how exactly did you arrive at "same"?

ImageImage