Should Dancehall & Hiphop "music" be banned?

Should violent dancehall and rap music be banned from national airwaves?

Yes
66%
No
34%

Total votes: 77

Cooloh

Re: Should Dancehall & Hiphop "music" be banned?

Postby Cooloh » September 3rd, 2013, 10:33 pm

I don't think it should be banned, I do however think that DJ's should be more mindful about what they hyping up the crowd to do. I've heard the DJ's before inciting violence and vulgar behaviour. Also parents should have a bigger role in training their kids. If you bring your kids up the right way, they won't be easily influenced. Teach them to think for themselves. I listen to dancehall and hip hop, but its purely entertaining for me.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » September 3rd, 2013, 10:42 pm

Ban it on airwaves for a waste of time. Men go simply get it off the net.

Re: Should Dancehall & Hiphop

Postby pioneer » September 3rd, 2013, 11:06 pm

rfari wrote:OP
is censure of art within ur 'first world' model?

You are yet to explain how exactly this mindless sound of dancehall music where DJ's and narrators the like, incite the listener to shoot and kill people is considered "art".

Explain that first, I have been asking this question for years now.

It seems as an easy label to use and pretend it's not a problem.

Even Jamaica has censored violent music.
Last edited by pioneer on September 3rd, 2013, 11:08 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby pioneer » September 3rd, 2013, 11:08 pm

All of you against censorship - So I guess it's OKAY for TV6 and CNC3 to show hardcore porn on a saturday morning?

Yeah man, wake ollor pickney up and leh dem watch porn, ha nuttin to hide dey.

/doublestandards

Postby goalpost » September 3rd, 2013, 11:47 pm

shogun wrote:Vast majority of that kind of music is utter trash. Over sexualized, glorifies criminality, ignorance and meant to identify with the lowest common denominator. And though i wish we could ban it all, i'd be a bit of a hypocrite, as i sometimes listen to hip hop (don't listen to dancehall) with not the best messages. Censorship is a slippery slope.

Thing is though, there are people that can't distinguish entertainment from lifestyle and seek to live their lives according to the messages in these morons' song.... not understanding these "entertainers" only seek to make a life/living on the backs and bodies of these followers.... and are RARELY anything like the image they project in their songs.

Just imagine a self hater like Kartel, could STILL have listeners.

Wah yuh go do?

This.
I listen to some dancehall, hardly ever know what the lyrics are, like the beats to some. But then again many people out there, as shogun pointed out, live according to some of these lyrics. And that's where the problem is.

Also lol at calling this genre of music "art".

Postby javishm » September 4th, 2013, 12:32 am

it could never happen....jus saying

Postby j.o.e » September 4th, 2013, 1:50 am

OP want police kickin down man door to seize Cd's and Ipods lol....... You tackling the problem from the wrong end.

Postby zoom rader » September 4th, 2013, 2:04 am

YES Ban they MC,
Ah set ah noise

more Indo music is needed

Cooloh

Postby Cooloh » September 4th, 2013, 2:27 am

zoom rader wrote:YES Ban they MC,
Ah set ah noise

Even SOME chutney music is obnoxious. :drinking: beat yuh wife, take horn.. bla bla bla..

They're all equally mindless. My point is: Use your brain to know where to draw the line between simply enjoyinh a catchy tune and taking the lyrics to heart. My 2 cents on the matter...

Postby zoom rader » September 4th, 2013, 3:42 am

Cooloh wrote:
zoom rader wrote:YES Ban they MC,
Ah set ah noise

Even SOME chutney music is obnoxious. :drinking: beat yuh wife, take horn.. bla bla bla..

They're all equally mindless. My point is: Use your brain to know where to draw the line between simply enjoyinh a catchy tune and taking the lyrics to heart. My 2 cents on the matter...
That is not indo music it is noise and does not qualify an original indo music

Cooloh

Postby Cooloh » September 4th, 2013, 3:52 am

Agreed.

silvyrsurfyr

Postby silvyrsurfyr » September 4th, 2013, 4:21 am

BOOM!!!

LONG LIVE HIPHOP!!!

Postby Morpheus » September 4th, 2013, 5:43 am

I listen to old school rap and dancehall. Nuff gun lyrics and violence. Had way more lyrical content than nowadays - don't ask me about ANY song from the past 5 years, 85% chance I have no clue what you talking bout.
As mentioned before, some......a lot of people can't distinguish between fantasy and reality. Real life has no reset button/respawn. Musicians create scenarios and stories to sell records and gain popularity, etc. Even love song/scenarios are "made up".
Cutty Ranks had one setta gun tune, maybe dem older Dons used to listen to him?
Anyway, the problem is fragile minds and weak backbones. Everybody want to be "in de mix". Otherwise they would not be carrying on so. *see stupid dress codes. Especially the most dotish hanging pants :roll:

BTW: Our copycat tendencies is our biggest problem. It would not be so bad if we used to copy the good things though. Steups. Those types of DJs need to some good burners. Can't they use better judgement? Open allyuh eyes nah. :roll:

Also party promoters name their events such garbage. You can definitely tell what type of crowd is going to attend. "No draws", "If yuh horning", etc. WTF is that??? And people going!!!

My answer? I really dunno nah. I guess you can't censor..........or maybe you can but how you controlling/monitoring that?

Or maybe we should just raise our children better? How bout banning idiots from having children? Especially more than 1!!!

Let me stop eh. I could go on and on......

Postby Trini Hookah » September 4th, 2013, 5:49 am

Side note, thing in pink from vid looked pretty swanky.

Postby rfari » September 4th, 2013, 6:19 am

rfari wrote:OP
is censure of art within ur 'first world' model?

You are yet to explain how exactly this mindless sound of dancehall music where DJ's and narrators the like, incite the listener to shoot and kill people is considered "art".

Explain that first, I have been asking this question for years now.

It seems as an easy label to use and pretend it's not a problem.

Even Jamaica has censored violent music.

I listen to it and i dont shoot ppl. So the music doesnt incite anything. Btw how many patrons were gundown on the boat??

Postby rfari » September 4th, 2013, 6:29 am

shogun wrote:
rfari wrote:Buh doh be on kartel dan. We go fite

Scene. i know thaz your boy inno :lol: ...but i'm tellin' you, them fellas only about that dollar.

Just wilin u dan :mrgreen:

Postby pioneer » September 4th, 2013, 8:19 am

j.o.e wrote:OP want police kickin down man door to seize Cd's and Ipods lol....... You tackling the problem from the wrong end.

You clearly did not read my first post properly, please exit thread

K.k

uncle sam

Postby uncle sam » September 4th, 2013, 9:00 am

a person must be an idiot to let music get to their psyche and get involved in violence..

If this argument is justifiable then bye bye all violent movies, games, news......

Postby ruffneck_12 » September 4th, 2013, 10:11 am

Even the quality of the music itself drop

Everytime I hear the woman sing in "pull up to meh bumper" , I does wanna jam an ice pick in meh ears
She cyar sing, and they record she rel dotish to my ears.

I surprised that they cud make an okay-ish beat, when they can't even record/master a track good

Postby rfari » September 4th, 2013, 10:29 am

a person must be an idiot to let music get to their psyche and get involved in violence.. <br /><br />If this argument is justifiable then bye bye all violent movies, games, news......

Exactly.
Censorship of dancehall music some rell third world thinking

Postby redmanjp » September 4th, 2013, 10:44 am

i think they shouldn't be an outright ban but only allow a clean/edited version on the airwaves

yes they cud listen to the uncut version on cd/mp3 but we shouldn't promote violence on the airwaves

while most of us are not influenced by it i think those who living in at risk/depressed areas are- they are the ones who committing the crimes

Postby 88sins » September 4th, 2013, 10:52 am

Say they ban all violence suggestive music from the airwaves, and go a step further to ban movie violence as well, when the killings rapes & robberies don't stop then what? Remove the ban? Ban something else & see if that works?
That kind of censorship is an attempt to control every persons thoughts, voice and acts. that is the hardest thing to do, practically impossible. You may be able to control one if you put out some serious long term effort, but the trifecta isn't as easy to accomplish.
This issue is a lot bigger than a speaker box or a LCD screen, and needs to be handled as such, anything else is a waste of time. But I have to admit, it would be a step in the right direction

Postby gt4tified » September 4th, 2013, 11:04 am

I remember some time ago (think 25 years) when ppl use to say ban heavy metal cuz that is devil music, ban rap because that is gansta music. This seems to be the same thing in principle, coming full circle.

I don't listen to dancehall, or what passes for it nowadays. Hiphop, yes but limited to what I want to listen to. I think it all comes down to freedom of choice...nobody forcing you to buy their music, and you can always switch a radio station unless yuh have an analogue tuner and the white string burst. If yuh in a taxi/maxi that playing it, after the first time learn yuh lesson and buy earphones/headphones like everybody else. Hell, most phones coming with a pair of earbuds now in any case.

A very well-known reverend once told me, "Music is neutral, its the lyrics that count".

DevilZ

Postby DevilZ » September 4th, 2013, 11:48 am

censorship is not the answer, people have to understand that art be it music, movies, comics, games whatever is not real...life is real the way a character in a song, a movie or a game would operate is not how normal people would.

Personally i like gangsta rap, dancehall, metal and anything ridiculous and the only vice i have is drinking rum an smoking...i never get in any serious fight, doh have a million an one baby mamas, i never rob nobody and i successfully completed university (undergrad) and looking to further my education and advance my career

Postby AllTrac » September 4th, 2013, 11:56 am

i agree with the ban on religious grounds as dancehall and hip hop is DEVIL TINNNNGGGGGG!!

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » September 4th, 2013, 11:56 am

like pio want ppl to protest 100 times woss than d beetham ppl ....... :|

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » September 4th, 2013, 11:59 am

sadly this ched will amount to nothing and will not be remembered in a few weeks.

toyota2nr

Postby toyota2nr » September 4th, 2013, 12:26 pm

rfari wrote:
pioneer wrote:But lady gaga doesn't preach violence in her music?

The subject here is violence.

Dancehall music doesnt have any bearing on crime. Its art

Total nonsense. What part of that is art? BAN IT! BAN IT! BAN IT!

The issue here is the effect the 'music' has on individuals. The Beetham Incident alone demonstrates that this savage, primitive noise that some call music should be banned from the airwaves and blocked from being accessed on the internet.

The downfall of our society started in the late 80's early 90's when this Jamaican ghetto nonsense was allowed to infest our country. This clap trap is literally inciting our illiterate unintelligent youth to commit crime en masse. Vybz Kartel and Movado didn't come from upscale areas in Jamaica but from ghetto areas much like Beetham, Laventille, Sea Lots, Morvant, La Horquetta, Enterprise, East POS etc. So guess who the youths there gonna look up to?

:evilbat:

Postby MG Man » September 4th, 2013, 12:31 pm

ched = fail
every generation tries to blame some form of music for something they don't like
nex ting Pios gonna want to ban vaginas because they encourage rape

G-T

Postby G-T » September 4th, 2013, 12:46 pm

I think if people listens to LOTR's, Life of Pi soundtracks and classical music, this world would be a much better place... :wink: