Chromecast Is Google's $35 answer to AppleTV.

Re: Chromecast Is Google's $35 answer to AppleTV.

Postby ruffneck_12 » July 25th, 2013, 10:51 am

this is why I love google

they innovative as firetruck they doh try to buss price on yuh head like apple
35 fuggin dollaz

Postby pete » July 25th, 2013, 11:07 am

I'm tempted to try and pick one up next week. I wonder if it'll give 3 months of trinidad netflix

Postby sharkman121 » July 25th, 2013, 11:18 am

went to buy online last night, sold out oui... wonder when they restocking

Postby sharkman121 » July 25th, 2013, 11:18 am

ruffneck_12 wrote:this is why I love google

they innovative as firetruck they doh try to buss price on yuh head like apple
35 fuggin dollaz

ent..

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » July 25th, 2013, 11:29 am

pete wrote:I'm tempted to try and pick one up next week. I wonder if it'll give 3 months of trinidad netflix

I think netflix is netflix, same subscription
the region only depends on where you are.

so once you get the 3 months and you in T&T and don't have a VPN / IP Mask then you will get T&T netflix

Postby pete » July 25th, 2013, 11:30 am

Sold out online at BestBuy too.. damn

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » July 25th, 2013, 12:10 pm

^ i've been trying to buy a Google Nexus 4 and it's always sold out so I expect this to be worse regarding availability

Postby Sky » July 25th, 2013, 12:47 pm

Interesting product. I have a home theatre pc on my tv so it makes no sense to me. But will keep an eye on the support for it.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » July 25th, 2013, 1:16 pm

Sky wrote:Interesting product. I have a home theatre pc on my tv so it makes no sense to me. But will keep an eye on the support for it.
can you wirelessly stream or share content from your smartphone to your tv with your home theatre pc?

dean_spleen09

Postby dean_spleen09 » July 25th, 2013, 1:33 pm

he just wanted to let everyone he has a home theatre pc.

PapaC

Postby PapaC » July 25th, 2013, 1:43 pm

Love to see a veetle app with no ads.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » July 25th, 2013, 2:15 pm

PapaC wrote:Love to see a veetle app with no ads.
the service wouldn't be free.

Postby pioneer » July 25th, 2013, 2:21 pm

Sell five units, create the illusion of low supply

Demand suddenly goes up

profit/10

Postby Sky » July 25th, 2013, 2:34 pm

Sky wrote:Interesting product. I have a home theatre pc on my tv so it makes no sense to me. But will keep an eye on the support for it.
can you wirelessly stream or share content from your smartphone to your tv with your home theatre pc?

Content stays on the pc, but controlled from the phone. If my phone has content it would be small, so yea, I guess I can.

dean_spleen09 wrote:he just wanted to let everyone he has a home theatre pc.

SO?

Kerwyng

Postby Kerwyng » July 25th, 2013, 2:40 pm

Anyone able to update nexus devices over the air to 4.3 ?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » July 25th, 2013, 2:41 pm

Sky wrote:

Content stays on the pc, but controlled from the phone. If my phone has content it would be small, so yea, I guess I can.
its not the same

You'd have to copy photos and video from your phone to your htpc whereas this and a AppleTV will stream directly.

This is no where near the cost of an htpc either.

PapaC

Postby PapaC » July 25th, 2013, 4:43 pm

I won't mind paying for it. Once I getting a quality stream, and no ads I good.

Postby RASC » July 25th, 2013, 4:51 pm

RASC wrote:
Am I getting this right:

Streaming-your device can do other things
Mirroring-your device acts as a standard apple tv would.

??? Anyone

phreak

Postby phreak » July 25th, 2013, 6:01 pm

Google Chromecast won't come with free netflix anymore..

http://gizmo.do/r9UdJ4Y

Still good price though..

dean_spleen09

Postby dean_spleen09 » July 26th, 2013, 7:23 am

pete wrote:If it would let you stream video from the phone or tablet video player or music from the device it would be cool. The demo just showed them accessing stuff from the Google Music Store YouTube and Netflix

dean_spleen09 wrote:
Swisha wrote:the only supported apps so far are Netflix, YouTube, Google Play and whatever is in your Chrome browser.

u can't stream local media

open media with chrome , hit chromecast button ?

confirmed stream "local media" (stuff already on phone/pc)

http://www.reddit.com/r/Android/comment ... ed/cb9qrsv

Postby Habit7 » July 26th, 2013, 8:16 am

I have apple tv and was two minded about getting an iphone over an android phone.

But this just made the android look more attractive.

Postby pete » July 26th, 2013, 8:30 am

Nice!

Hopefullythe video players will get a chromecast button as well. If it does work it'll be much better than me having to connect my phone to the PS3 to watch movies on tv or using DLNA through PS3.

Postby Sky » July 26th, 2013, 8:43 am

Sky wrote:

its not the same

You'd have to copy photos and video from your phone to your htpc whereas this and a AppleTV will stream directly.

This was from someone who already had the means to have media easily put on their tv.
The price IS tempting still though. Hope Apple takes note.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » July 26th, 2013, 9:17 am

Sky wrote:
Sky wrote:

its not the same

This was from someone who already had the means to have media easily put on their tv.
The price IS tempting still though. Hope Apple takes note.
appletv currently does a lot more with alot more content than this device so the $99 vs the $35 is still very much worth it though you'd need an apple device to truly use it to its full potential.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » July 26th, 2013, 9:21 am

PapaC wrote:

I won't mind paying for it. Once I getting a quality stream, and no ads I good.
the problem is that someone can't steal a CBS or HBO feed and sell it to you legally. They can perhaps get away with putting it on veetle and selling ads since the service offers a lot of other amateur feeds.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » July 26th, 2013, 9:23 am

pete wrote:Nice!

Hopefullythe video players will get a chromecast button as well. If it does work it'll be much better than me having to connect my phone to the PS3 to watch movies on tv or using DLNA through PS3.
you ever used or seen AirPlay in action?

Postby Ignorant Ignis » July 26th, 2013, 9:34 am

samsung allshare does all this and more........ not seeing this device being usefull if you allready have a samsung smartv

Postby pete » July 26th, 2013, 9:43 am

pete wrote:Nice!

you ever used or seen AirPlay in action?

No I haven't. My dad nearly bought an apple TV but then I realised that his iphone 4 wouldn't let him use AirPlay anyway so told him not to waste his time/money as he'd have to buy the appletv AND a 4s/5 to do what he wanted it to.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » July 26th, 2013, 9:47 am

Ignorant Ignis wrote:

samsung allshare does all this and more........ not seeing this device being usefull if you allready have a samsung smartv
man win a smart tv and suddenly issa Samsung fanboy :lol:

But yes all share does that except it doesn't have iTunes built in.

Postby pete » July 26th, 2013, 9:50 am

So that's another... good thing?