500 people to get Land

Re: 500 people to get Land

Postby Gem_in_i » May 14th, 2013, 10:58 pm

So it was only the people who applied for the 'land for landless' programme who have chance to be selected?
What about previous applicants?

Postby nemisis » May 14th, 2013, 11:08 pm

Gem_in_i wrote:So it was only the people who applied for the 'land for landless' programme who have chance to be selected?
What about previous applicants?
how many times this has to be said hymc is hdc motto provided you don't know someone

spanish

Postby spanish » May 18th, 2013, 5:53 pm

So, you pay 200K - 300K for a lot of land and supposed to build a house in 6 months after that. And this is supposed to be for low-income earners right?
----------------------------------------------------------------------------

The land is not free
Originally printed at http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/The ... 59421.html

By Irene Medina Associate Editor
May 17, 2013
Minister of Housing, Land and Marine Affairs Dr Roodal Moonilal said yesterday there would be “fairness and transparency” in next Tuesday’s historic lotto draw for plots of lands by some 10,000 applicants, which would be monitored by accounting firm Ernst and Young.

Moonilal also made it clear that the “land is not for free,” and the Ministry was working out a proper structure to accommodate low-income earners.

The Housing Minister held a pre-draw media conference at the Land Settlement Agency (LSA) at Orange Grove Estate, Tacarigua, where officials of Ernst and Young were engaged in placing some 10,000 ballots of potential recipients into boxes in preparation for next Tuesday’s draw at the Southern Academy of the Performing Arts, (SAPA) San Fernando.

Moonilal said that the Land for the Landless Programme was launched in November last year, during which time, application forms were given to all 41 MPs as well as municipal corporations, and other offices of Government.

“I have been told that we have received in excess of 40,000 applicants for land, so far.”

He added, “This is the first major land distributing programme in the history of independent Trinidad and Tobago and we expect to deliver 10,000 lots over a three-year period.”

Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar is expected to preside over the distribution of the 500 plots of serviced house lots on Tuesday.

Moonilal explained that the 10,000 names represent a shortlist from the LSA’s database of persons who met the criteria for the acquisition of land. The boxes in which the shortlisted names are placed were escorted to Ernst and Young offices under police escort yesterday and will be delivered to SAPA on Tuesday, again under the watchful eyes of the police.

According to Moonilal, “We have asked accounting firm Ernst and Young to take control of the process to ensure fairness and transparency.

“Over the years we recognised we have almost 150,000 applicants for houses, but in some instances, a lot of those applicants, especially those in the lower income group preferred to build their own houses, once they got the land.”

He assured that the Ministry would provide guidance and technical support, and in some cases construct a concrete foundation, and provide a loan at a very small interest rate, and other facilities depending on the economic circumstances of successful applicants.

Moonilal described the lotto draw system as an “extremely bold initiative of the LSA,” adding that because of the very high demand for houses, and long waiting list, spanning some 15 to 25 years, his Ministry was taking a holistic approach to the problem.

“Our intention is to liaise with the private sector to develop a collaborative approach so the private sector can contribute in providing houses to citizens in T&T,” he said.

As it now stands, Moonilal said his Ministry distributes three houses a day and hardly a day passes when someone is not asking for a house.

“This Land for the Landless programme was inspired by the Prime Minister, who mandated early in her administration that we needed to develop a programme for land distribution,” according to Moonilal.

He reiterated, “The land is not free, people will pay...”

The lots are valued between $200,000 to $300,000 but will be sold at subsidised cost of $12 a square foot for plots comprising between 3,000 to 5,000 square foot.

As to the integrity of the lotto process, the paper on which persons’ ID numbers are written are water-marked and cannot be replicated.

Initially the house lots will be given out in the San Fernando areas while other plots are being developed.
------------------------------------------------------------

Postby eliteauto » May 18th, 2013, 6:04 pm

based on the article a lot of land will be sold at 60K

Postby hustla_ambition101 » May 18th, 2013, 6:05 pm

^^^The cost is going to be subsidized so they will be paying 12 per sq.ft, 60K per lot, while they give a big fcuk you to the people who work hard, have to pay 300K upward for a lot and still have to build and all the runarounds associated with the relevant authorities for approval etc

Postby pete » May 18th, 2013, 6:20 pm

Too late to become one of the 10,000?

What's the maximum and minimum salary to qualify?

mamoo_pagal

Postby mamoo_pagal » May 18th, 2013, 6:24 pm

hustla_ambition101 wrote:^^^The cost is going to be subsidized so they will be paying 12 per sq.ft, 60K per lot, while they give a big fcuk you to the people who work hard, have to pay 300K upward for a lot and still have to build and all the runarounds associated with the relevant authorities for approval etc

^^^this is best I din't bother being ambitious yes. Correct me if I am wrong but they not also going to get help to build a foundation?

Postby hustla_ambition101 » May 18th, 2013, 7:05 pm

pete wrote:Too late to become one of the 10,000?

What's the maximum and minimum salary to qualify?

Good question, there's a form on the ministry website but guidelines are vague wrt income

Postby sMASH » May 19th, 2013, 7:39 am

mamoo_pagal wrote:
hustla_ambition101 wrote:^^^The cost is going to be subsidized so they will be paying 12 per sq.ft, 60K per lot, while they give a big fcuk you to the people who work hard, have to pay 300K upward for a lot and still have to build and all the runarounds associated with the relevant authorities for approval etc

^^^this is best I din't bother being ambitious yes. Correct me if I am wrong but they not also going to get help to build a foundation?

and peeps, even on tuner, does want to tell me bout nation building, and being a model citizen... OUT WIT ALLYUH!!!

the work horse sector of this country gets the shaft; too much money to get hand outs, too little to do any thing but work hard.

but although i share your sentiments, i still believe that life is meant not to be fair, and u hadda make your own way. other people may get better deals and achieve more than me, but fleck dem. and don't tell me nutten bout being a contributory member of society, i will pay my taxes, and thats that.

Postby sMASH » May 19th, 2013, 7:48 am

the illuminator wrote:I don't think PP is doing good, though as a tangential point is better than Rowley...

even still, if giving land to people is what they want, so what? is only de moral thing to do...

yeah... kamla giving out land... evil, eviiiiiiil woman!! to give out land, which is required for shelter!! Basic needs are evill!

people do deserve shelter, but shelter is not land. they still have to build the shelter after they get the land.

u take land, then take money from taxes, then pay some large land owners, and give the land to the poor( if u go with what u have in black and white), while the others have to face down land prices in excess of 500k and and building costs just as high.

spanish

Postby spanish » May 19th, 2013, 8:24 am

sMASH wrote:
the work horse sector of this country gets the shaft; too much money to get hand outs, too little to do any thing but work hard.

Exactly. Your tax dollars go to fund these initiatives, yet you qualify for NONE of them. Not a single one.

Postby sMASH » May 19th, 2013, 8:42 am

i do not mind people getting stuff, i don't mean that things should be taken away, but there are two things that bother me.
the first is that it is unfair to the hard working middle sector, who has to work for every thing. i mean, let the prices be where they may, and let that be a measure of how much some one achieves materialistically. if they want secure shelter, then make high rise low income housing for the LOW INCOME people. if u want to get better, then work for better. the poorer u are and the more u beg and less shame u have, the more u get in this country.

the second thing is, there is a finite amount of land in this country, and the arable land is being used for housing. i do not find that the natural ecosystems should be encroached upon too much more, and that the arable land be maximized for food production. when u keep building single houses for single families the land area used for it would be quite a lot ( no pun intended).
which is why the high rise apartment complexes are the better way to go. u help out with low income housing, give people motivation to aim for something better, as well as not catastrophically destroy arable land and forests.

spanish

Postby spanish » May 19th, 2013, 2:50 pm

sMASH wrote:the first is that it is unfair to the hard working middle sector, who has to work for every thing.

One of my co-workers complains about this every day.

It never had any income restriction to apply for state housing. When you go by TTMF, they will just assess you and say how much you qualify for. Now with this land thing, the middle class just get restricted from the beginning. Where the $8000 maximum income suddenly come from when that not even on the application form? So middle class not landless too? Why not just have a tiered subsidy structure or something like that?

This whole land for the landless thing looking like some kinda gimmick.

Postby hustla_ambition101 » May 19th, 2013, 4:00 pm

Voter padding 2.0

TriniAutoMart

Postby TriniAutoMart » May 20th, 2013, 11:23 am

Is there a deadline?

Public Advisor

Postby Public Advisor » May 20th, 2013, 11:38 am

*$kїđž!™ wrote:http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/500 ... 06141.html

500 to get land chance
Random draw on live TV

By Anna Ramdass anna.ramdass@trinidadexpress.com
Story Created: May 13, 2013 at 9:36 PM ECT
Story Updated: May 13, 2013 at 11:37 PM ECT
There will be a live televised draw next Tuesday where some 500 lucky persons will have the opportunity to get a lot of land, Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar said last night.
She was speaking at the United National Congress (UNC) Monday night forum at the Tunapuna Hindu School, Pasea Extension, Tunapuna.
Persad-Bissessar said in four months approximately 40,000 persons applied for land, under the “Land for the Landless” programme.
She said of this 40,000, some 10,000 persons were short-listed based on a point system detailed in the application form.
Points, she said, were given based on several criteria, including family size, persons with disabilities, State employees and more.
Persad-Bissessar said 500 sealed receipt numbers, will be drawn from a transparent container that will have all 10,000 short-listed applications.
The process, she assured, will be fair and equal.“It will be randomly drawn in front of a public audience and on national television. I will not stand for any backroom deals or persons names being moved up the list,” said Persad-Bissessar.She emphasised that once an applicant is selected, it is not automatic that a lot of land will be allocated.
Persad-Bissessar said a process of verification will follow.
The Prime Minister said she was moved by a letter to the editor in the newspaper signed by S Williams who was asking how to qualify for a home.
Persad-Bissessar said this was one of the reasons that apart from the housing programme through the Housing Development Corporation, there was also the programme to allocate land.
“And I told our Minister of Housing, that this plan must be 100 per cent transparent -- and I told him that no one should ever wonder how or when the land is being distributed,” said Persad-Bissessar.
The “Land for the Landless” programme, she said, must be fair to all citizens, no matter religion or race or politics or space or place or gender.
“Everyone must have an equal chance to own a home,” said Persad-Bissessar.

I know people on the inside, so take it from me....

Nothing done by this or any Government is "Transparent" or "Fair"........and no one is ever "Lucky" to get one..

It is always 'known' by the officials and everything...I MEAN EVERYTHING...... is fixed!

So dont be fooled...

Postby nervewrecker » May 20th, 2013, 4:54 pm

Just wanna know:

I - they check to see what you have in the bank when they doing the verifying thingy?

II - is it a house alone you restricted to building on the land? Can you put up a structure and rent it out?

Postby ~Vēġó~ » May 20th, 2013, 6:12 pm

I way too rich to be poor and way too poor to be rich.....facked either way with nutt'n to geh!!!!

Postby nemisis » May 20th, 2013, 6:16 pm

~Vēġó~ wrote:I way too rich to be poor and way too poor to be rich.....facked either way with nutt'n to geh!!!!

chevy3k

Postby chevy3k » May 20th, 2013, 9:45 pm

Public Advisor wrote:
*$kїđž!™ wrote:http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/500 ... 06141.html

500 to get land chance
Random draw on live TV

By Anna Ramdass anna.ramdass@trinidadexpress.com
Story Created: May 13, 2013 at 9:36 PM ECT
Story Updated: May 13, 2013 at 11:37 PM ECT
There will be a live televised draw next Tuesday where some 500 lucky persons will have the opportunity to get a lot of land, Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar said last night.
She was speaking at the United National Congress (UNC) Monday night forum at the Tunapuna Hindu School, Pasea Extension, Tunapuna.
Persad-Bissessar said in four months approximately 40,000 persons applied for land, under the “Land for the Landless” programme.
She said of this 40,000, some 10,000 persons were short-listed based on a point system detailed in the application form.
Points, she said, were given based on several criteria, including family size, persons with disabilities, State employees and more.
Persad-Bissessar said 500 sealed receipt numbers, will be drawn from a transparent container that will have all 10,000 short-listed applications.
The process, she assured, will be fair and equal.“It will be randomly drawn in front of a public audience and on national television. I will not stand for any backroom deals or persons names being moved up the list,” said Persad-Bissessar.She emphasised that once an applicant is selected, it is not automatic that a lot of land will be allocated.
Persad-Bissessar said a process of verification will follow.
The Prime Minister said she was moved by a letter to the editor in the newspaper signed by S Williams who was asking how to qualify for a home.
Persad-Bissessar said this was one of the reasons that apart from the housing programme through the Housing Development Corporation, there was also the programme to allocate land.
“And I told our Minister of Housing, that this plan must be 100 per cent transparent -- and I told him that no one should ever wonder how or when the land is being distributed,” said Persad-Bissessar.
The “Land for the Landless” programme, she said, must be fair to all citizens, no matter religion or race or politics or space or place or gender.
“Everyone must have an equal chance to own a home,” said Persad-Bissessar.

I know people on the inside, so take it from me....

Nothing done by this or any Government is "Transparent" or "Fair"........and no one is ever "Lucky" to get one..

It is always 'known' by the officials and everything...I MEAN EVERYTHING...... is fixed!

So dont be fooled...

100% IS 100%
I was taught in primary school that it means "ALL" "ENTIRETY"
how is this 100% transparent when approximately 30,000 applicants have been eliminated from having a chance???

Postby nervewrecker » May 20th, 2013, 9:52 pm

Public advisor seems to know something.

I didn't apply but if you who have De link up, pm it nuh.

Public Advisor

Postby Public Advisor » May 21st, 2013, 10:46 am

nervewrecker wrote:Public advisor seems to know something.

I didn't apply but if you who have De link up, pm it nuh.

The people I know is not "high" enough to help...

They take instructions on who to give what etc...

So don't get excited when you hear things like "Lottery System",
"Live TV Draw", "Fair", "Transparent", etc...

Just use links in high places of you have them or just do like the rest of us and work hard, save, invest, buy, build...

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » May 21st, 2013, 11:27 am

I see the program going on now...why eet have so much ppl they...if Kamla call ah name and ah see some1 from the crowd get up,I'd mash up meh tv...srs.

Postby mero » May 21st, 2013, 12:58 pm

inb4Robocopgets15lotsofland

Postby goalpost » May 21st, 2013, 6:12 pm

soooo...anybody get land?

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » May 22nd, 2013, 8:57 am

as far as I understand,them aint give out no 500hunjed,one friggin hoax....Ctv only show bout 20 names call and daz was it.some1 who was down there said is real sheit.

subayar

Postby subayar » May 22nd, 2013, 10:10 am

heard a lot a of ministry officials get lots this goverment doing everything to help they friends and family ppl who need these things like food card , houses cant get anything if u dont have family and friends in high places......

Postby AllTrac » May 22nd, 2013, 10:11 am

I know i will come under fire for this but i have a good source that confirmed the Rambachan got 7 lots, indirectly ofcourse.

Postby hustla_ambition101 » May 22nd, 2013, 11:04 am

AllTrac wrote:I know i will come under fire for this but i have a good source that confirmed the Rambachan got 7 lots, indirectly ofcourse.

Like they fraid ban :lol: :lol: :lol:

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » May 22nd, 2013, 11:35 am

AllTrac wrote:I know i will come under fire for this but i have a good source that confirmed the Rambachan got 7 lots, indirectly ofcourse.

ehhhhhhhh,look ting.