UTT Petroleum Engineering

iM@st@1

Re: UTT Petroleum Engineering

Postby iM@st@1 » May 28th, 2013, 2:20 pm

Numb3r4 wrote:With respect to getting jobs be careful with a degree, diploma, in Petroleum Engineering.

It is very specific unlike a degree in mechanical engineering which is much more broad based but no less intense and can satisfy more needs.

Also there is a limit as to how much people will get employed by service providers. The rigs that drill for BP, Niko and Bayfield Energy are usually foreign and come with their own crews.

With respect to the service companies yes they hire but the thing is it is contractual and they will fire once the drilling work is over and believe me drilling can be very seasonal work.

Given the fact that UWI also puts out its fair quantity of people the competition is immense.

I totally understand, my goal is to gain entry into the energy sector and it seems like the most logical step for me to take. Know the industry is extremely competitive as I've been told many times but with some proper qualifications it should at least help better my chances (ah hope). I've already done MEEET Lv1 so I could've continue down that path but I figure the pet deg. may better help me. Also have a IT background. Know it's gonna be hard but willing to try.

Romany wrote:Op go to the campus and talk to someone who is involved in the discipline. You wont get a good answer from these trolls on tuner especially blackstart who says UTT is only in existence a few years...
TTIT, JohnD, Valsayn teachers' have been in existence a good while now just under the conglomerate of UTT now

Petroleum and process degrees are both accredited.
Go to the campus and head to the department you are interested in if you are serious.

Regurgitated topic....

Wha you go do boi, that's how this site is but I have to disagree with ya abit cause I did get some helpful info from other tuners and some great advice from Geodude who's in the industry. Already went to the campus and applied so waiting to see if I get in or not.

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » May 28th, 2013, 3:02 pm

What I am advocating is that you stick to mechanical engineering as your discipline.....a much better base that would make you more employable in a range of industries and to be quite honest a good mechanical engineer will far surpass a petroleum engineer. You will have a larger knowledge base to draw from.

It is not to say you will be that way off the bat. You will have to spend time learning the field but you will be better of.

As always though this is your future you should do something you enjoy. The best thing is to go in for a meeting with the institute of your choosing.

trinivampire

Postby trinivampire » May 29th, 2013, 12:08 am

one thing ppl tend to forget is utt have part-time programmes, not everybody can afford to go to school full time
great news, process engineering:-
http://www.u.tt/index.php?articles=1&ar ... ncements=1

Postby sliderz1 » May 29th, 2013, 12:31 am

thats great news

upcoming techs should be pleased

iM@st@1

Postby iM@st@1 » May 29th, 2013, 11:27 am

Numb3r4 wrote:What I am advocating is that you stick to mechanical engineering as your discipline.....a much better base that would make you more employable in a range of industries and to be quite honest a good mechanical engineer will far surpass a petroleum engineer. You will have a larger knowledge base to draw from.

It is not to say you will be that way off the bat. You will have to spend time learning the field but you will be better of.

As always though this is your future you should do something you enjoy. The best thing is to go in for a meeting with the institute of your choosing.

I agree with ya 100% with regards to that and I will consider it. Thanks for your advice

trinivampire wrote:one thing ppl tend to forget is utt have part-time programmes, not everybody can afford to go to school full time
great news, process engineering:-
http://www.u.tt/index.php?articles=1&ar ... ncements=1

This is exactly the reason I chose UTT as I have a full time job.

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » May 30th, 2013, 7:07 pm

Well in that instance of having a full time job yes UTT does have greater flexibility with respect to timetables....

Good Luck and best wishes with your future endeavours.